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Juvenile court jurisdiction

2Maryland Courts and Judicial Proceedings Section 3-8A-03

Maryland’s Juvenile Courts have jurisdiction over youths under 
18 years old charged with delinquent acts. 

Statutory exclusions:

! 14 years and older; charged with an act punishable by life imprisonment
! 16 years and older; specific driving offenses
! 16 years and older; specific serious crimes, including:



Statutory exclusions

3Maryland Courts and Judicial Proceedings Section 3-8A-03; DJJ Data Resource Guide (2019)

239Appendices

Appendix S
offenSeS unDer original aDult Court JuriSDiCtion for youtH unDer 18

AUTOMATIC ADULT JURISDICTION 
                                                                                   Source:  § 3-8A-03 of the Maryland Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article

    AGE 14 AND OLDER          AGE 16 AND OLDER 

x Murder – 1ST Degree 

x Rape – 1ST Degree 

x Any attempts of above 

x Any conspiracies of above 

______________________________
Abbreviations:
CL = Criminal Law Article 
CP = Criminal Procedure Article 
PS = Public Safety Article

Serious/Violent Offenses:
x Kidnapping

x Assault – 1st Degree 
       (CL, §3-202) 

x Carjacking & Armed 
             Carjacking (CL, § 3-405)

x Murder – 2nd Degree
x Attempted Murder –2nd

Degree (CL, §2-206) 

x Voluntary Manslaughter

x Rape – 2nd Degree
x Attempted Rape – 2nd

Degree
      (CL, §3-310)

x Robbery w/ Dangerous Weapon 
x Attempted Robbery w/ 

Dangerous Weapon
(CL, §3-403)

x Sex Offense-- 3rd

(CL, 3-307(a)(1)) (IF force, a 
weapon, or threat of force used)

Firearms Offenses: 
x Wear, Carry, Transport Handgun (CL, §4-203)
x Possession of Unregistered Short-barreled Shotgun 
       or Short-barreled Rifle (PS, §5-203(a)) 
x Possession of Regulated Firearm (PS, §5-133--convicted of prior 

disqualifying offense, etc.) 
x Minor in Possession of Regulated Firearm (PS, § 5-133(d)(1)) 
x Use Wear, Carry, Transport Firearm during Drug Trafficking 

Crime (CL, §5-621)
x Use of Firearm in Commission of Crime of Violence or Felony 

(CL, §4-204)
x Possess, Own, Carry, Transport Firearm by Drug Felon  
      (CL, §5-622)
x Possess, Sell, Transfer Stolen Regulated Firearm (PS, §5-138)
x Sell, Rent, Transfer Regulated Firearm (PS, §5-134(b))
x Sell, Rent, Transfer Regulated Firearm to Minor (PS, §5-

134(d))
x Use or Possess Machine Gun in commission/attempted 

commission of Crime of Violence (CL, §4-404)
x Use or Possess Machine Gun for Offensive or Aggressive 

Purpose (CL, §4-405) 
Miscellaneous:

x Any felony IF prior felony conviction as an adult
x Non-incarcerable Traffic & Boating Offenses 
x Domestic Violence Peace Order requests are heard in the 

adult court where the victim is:  the current or former spouse of 
the respondent; a cohabitant of the respondent; a person related to 
the respondent by blood, marriage or adoption; a parent, 
stepparent, child, or stepchild of the respondent or victim who 
resides or resided with the respondent or victim for at least 90 
days within 1 year before the filing of the petition; a vulnerable 
adult; or an individual who has a child in common with the 
respondent. CP, §3-8A-03(d)(6). The juvenile court retains 
jurisdiction over violations of this section by a juvenile.

Automatic Adult Jurisdiction – When Transfer to Juvenile Court is Prohibited (CP, §4-202(c)) 

x In an unrelated case, Juvenile was convicted of any of the above offenses (excluding “non-incarcerable traffic & boating” and excluding if adult 
jurisdiction is created only by a prior, non-excluded felony offense).   

x Offense is 1st degree murder and the juvenile was 16 or 17 years of age when the alleged crime was committed 

~ . Maryland 
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Pathways to adult court

4
Md. Code Ann., Cts. & Jud. Proc. § 3-8A-06; § 3-8A-03

!Discretionary Waiver
Maryland’s Juvenile Courts may waive the exclusive jurisdiction over any youth age 15 and   
older for any alleged offense, or for youths not yet 15 years old but who are alleged to have    
committed a crime which is punishable by life imprisonment.

• Maryland’s Juvenile Courts may not waive jurisdiction unless a court determines, by 
a preponderance of the evidence presented at the hearing, that the child is an unfit 
subject for juvenile rehabilitative measures.

!Once an adult, always an adult
Maryland’s Juvenile Court does not have original jurisdiction over youth previously
convicted as an adult of a felony and who is subsequently alleged to have committed an act
that would be a felony if committed by an adult.



Brain development in healthy youths

5Dev Rev. 2008 Mar; 28(1): 78–106.

Adolescence brings changes in 
the limbic system resulting in 
greater sensitivity to rewards, 
threats, novelty, and peers. In 
contrast, it takes longer for the 
cortical region, which is 
implicated in cognitive control 
and self-regulation, to develop.
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Why strive to avoid adult court?

6

Youth&lack&full&autonomy

Youth&lack&maturity&and&responsibility

Youth&are&susceptible&to&negative&influences

Youth&in&adult&system&face&higher&risk&of&abuse

Roper v. Simmons, 543 U.S. 551 (2005); Juvenile Law Center (2020)



Best practices
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! Juvenile courts should have original jurisdiction over youth for matters involving 
delinquent behavior.

! Youth should not be automatically transferred to the jurisdiction of the adult court.

! Juvenile court judges who are trained and equipped to assess the individual needs 
of youth should decide whether the youth can be rehabilitated in the juvenile justice 
system.



Legislative measures some 
states have taken
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Raise the age

9S.234 (Act 201)

Some states are taking steps to expand juvenile courts 
jurisdiction for youths above 18 years old.

In May 2018, Vermont became the first state to set its juvenile justice age threshold 
above 18. By the year 2022, with some exceptions for violent offenses, all teens 
including 19-year-olds will be treated as juveniles.



Limit waivers to adult court

10
Prop 57 (2016); S.B. 367 (2015); S 2003 (2015) 

Three states have recently repealed their presumptive waiver 
provisions.

! California (2016) – Prop 57 requires all cases involving juveniles to begin in juvenile 
court.

! Kansas (2015) – SB 367 creates a rebuttable presumption for juvenile court jurisdiction.

! New Jersey (2015) – S 2003 requires prosecutors seeking waiver of cases to adult court 
to include a written statement including facts used in assessing the waiver factors along 
with an explanation of how those facts support waiver for each youth.



Reduce delay

11
Montana Code Sec. 41-5-206; Ga. Code § 15-11-151

! Montana’s Youth Court Act requires that the hearing to determine youth court 
adjudication take place within 30 days of the probable cause determination.

! Georgia Code requires the petition alleging dependency to be filed within five days of the 
preliminary hearing if the child has been removed from their home, or 30 days if the 
child has been released.



Repealed statutory exclusions

12
Prop 57 (2016); H.B. 339 (2019); SB 1008 (2019) 

Three states have recently repealed their statutory exclusion 
provisions.

! California (2016) – Prop 57 requires all cases involving juveniles to begin in 
juvenile court.

! Florida (2019) – HB 339 overrides the previous standard of a prosecutor-
determined direct file and requires a due process hearing which acts as a “second 
opinion” on the prosecutor’s direct file decision.

! Oregon (2019) – SB 1008 requires that all youth cases start in juvenile court, 
including serious crimes like Robbery 1, Attempted Murder, and Kidnapping.



Limit statutory exclusions

13
HB 9 (2017); HB 3718 (2015); S 916 (2016); HB 239 (2020); SB 6160 (2018)

Several states have recently narrowed their statutory exclusion provisions.

! Delaware (2017) – HB 9 gives judges discretion to direct cases to Family Court for youth 
charged with serious felony offenses like charges involving youths possessing firearms or 
deadly weapons in the commission of a felony.

! Illinois (2015) – HB 3718 eliminates mandatory transfers to adult court for armed robbery 
with a firearm and aggravated vehicular hijacking with a firearm.

! South Carolina (2016) - S 916 raised the floor of transfer eligibility from 16 to 17.
! Utah (2020) - HB 239 narrowed the list of offenses with original adult court jurisdiction 

to murder alone.
! Washington State (2018) – SB 6160 narrowed the list of eligible offenses for original adult 

court jurisdiction, giving juvenile courts discretion to adjudicate 1° robbery, 1° drive by 
shooting, 1° burglary, and violent offense committed while armed with a firearm.



Group discussion
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