SHANAYSHA SAULS CHAIR

> CHERYL BOST VICE CHAIR



FRANCHESCA BROWN ROSE MARIA LI PAUL PINSKY EDWARD ROOT

## BLUEPRINT FOR MARYLAND'S FUTURE ACCOUNTABILITY AND IMPLEMENTATION BOARD NOMINATING COMMITTEE

## Accountability and Implementation Board Nominating Committee Announces Nominees

July 16, 2025 – The Accountability and Implementation Board Nominating Committee (AIBNC) is required to submit at least two nominees to the Governor to fill a vacancy on the Accountability and Implementation Board (AIB). Existing members of the AIB may be renominated for reappointment. The AIB is tasked with overseeing implementation of the Blueprint for Maryland's Future legislation. On May 22, 2025, AIBNC released the application publicly, along with information on the process to apply for consideration to serve on AIB. The announcement was shared through the 1,000 plus AIB listserv, posted on the AIBNC website, posted on the Maryland General Assembly website, and emailed to all the members of the General Assembly (http://dls.maryland.gov/policy-areas/aib-nominating-committee).

A total of 36 valid applications were submitted by the May 22 deadline. The majority of the applicants reside in Prince George's County (8), Montgomery County (7), and Baltimore City (5); with other applicants living in Anne Arundel (2), Frederick (2), Howard (2), St. Mary's (3), and one each from Caroline, Carroll, Charles, and Talbot counties. Slightly more than half of the applicants were female (20). A majority of applicants were Black (15) and White (14); the remaining applicants identified their race Asian (4) and Hispanic (3).

In accordance with the Open Meetings Act and the Public Information Act, AIBNC held one meeting in May and two meetings in July and voted for the nominees in open session. To be selected by AIBNC, an applicant must receive at least four favorable votes with at least one favorable vote cast by one of the two appointees of the Governor, Senate President, and House Speaker. Each nominee selected by the Governor shall serve for a term of six years, ending on June 30, 2031.

## The following nominees were unanimously selected by the Nominating Committee.

## Accountability and Implementation Board Nominees (in alphabetical order)

				<u>Areas of Expertise</u> *						
<u>Nominee</u>	County of Residence	Race	Gender	<u>1</u>	<u>2</u>	<u>3</u>	<u>4</u>	<u>5</u>	<u>6</u>	<u>7</u>
Harper, David	Caroline County	White	Male							
Manko, Joseph	Baltimore City	Asian	Male							
Quick-McQueen, Contina	St. Mary's County	Black	Female							
Seelke, John	Montgomery County	Hispanic	Male							
Tobin, Joanna	Anne Arundel County	White	Female							
Werner, Robin	Talbot County	White	Female							

\*(1) early education through secondary policy; (2) post-secondary education policy; (3) teaching in public schools; (4) strategies used by top-performing state and national education systems in the world; (5) leading and implementing systemic change in complex organizations; (6) financial auditing and accounting; (7) other.

The AIB must, to the extent practicable for a seven-member board, reflect the geographic, racial, and gender diversity of the State, as well as collectively reflect the six areas of expertise specified in the law. AIBNC considered these factors and the individual qualities of each applicant when choosing the nominees from the applicant pool. Brief biographical information is provided for each nominee below.

To fill the three vacancies on the AIB, the Governor must select the individuals to appoint to AIB from among AIBNC's slate of nominees within 30 days of receiving the slate.

**David Harper, Jr**. has 25 years of Maryland community college service, including his current role as Vice President for Workforce and Academic Programs and former role as Dean for Faculty and Teaching at Chesapeake College, in Wye Mills. He is serving as the vice-chair for the Maryland Association of Community Colleges affinity group for Chief Academic Officers and was the past president of the Caroline County Chamber of Commerce. Mr. Harper has deep roots in the Eastern Shore, coming from a farming family, leading to his passion for education through outdoor adventure and experiential education and social work. He maintains that connection through continued work as a farmhand at the Rolling Acres Farm in Preston.

**Joseph Manko** (*nominee for reappointment*), was appointed to the Accountability and Implementation Board in 2021 and serves as the member representative to the Pillar 4 Advisory Committee. Mr. Manko was an elementary school principal in the Baltimore City Public Schools for 10 years before assuming his current position at The Abell Foundation as the Education Program Officer. Prior to that, he taught in the Baltimore City Public Schools, where he earned National Board Certification from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards. Under Mr. Manko's leadership, his elementary school became one of the highest performing schools in Baltimore City for both student achievement and parent and community engagement. He was also an adjunct professor at Towson University and Johns Hopkins University.

**Contina Quick-McQueen, Ph.D.,** has 29 years of experience in public elementary and secondary education in St. Mary's County, including as a principal of Great Mills High School, Leonardtown Elementary School, and Greenview Elementary School and, currently, as Supervisor of Instruction, College and Career Readiness for St. Mary's Public Schools. She is a National Board Certified teacher and reading specialist and earned a Doctorate in Educational Leadership and Policy from the University of Maryland, College Park Campus in 2016. She has served as a member of an Expert Review Team since 2022.

**John Seelke, Ph.D.**, has two decades of experience as a secondary and university-level mathematics educator in Maryland and Washington, D.C, including extensive work with mathematics assessments. He earned his Doctorate in Education, Policy and Leadership at the University of Maryland, College Park Campus in 2018. He is currently serving as the chair of the Accountability and Implementation Board Pillar 2 Advisory Board (High Quality and Diverse Teachers and Leaders). Mr. Seelke is a two-time Fulbright Specialist Award winner and participated in the prestigious international exchange program in Asuncion, Paraguay, in 2019 and Mexico City, Mexico, in 2022.

**Joanna Tobin** is an educational policy professional with experience in both public and private education systems from primary to post-secondary levels. She is the past president and a current member of the Anne Arundel County Board of Education and served as chair of the board's policy committee. In the private sector, she is chair of the Site Visit Accreditation Teams for the American Academy for Liberal Education, evaluating public charter networks, and a senior moderator for seminar programs for The Aspen Institute, a nonpartisan forum that brings together diverse individuals to address critical societal issues through dialogue, leadership development, and policy programs.

**Robin Werner** is the Director of Teaching and Learning for Talbot County Public Schools. She has almost two decades of experience in Maryland public schools, including extensive experience providing career and technical education as a science and CTE teacher and program supervisor and is the President Elect of the Maryland Career and Technical Administrators Association. Ms.Werner is the Talbot County 2013-2014 Teacher of Year. She has served on the AIB Pillar 3 Advisory Committee (College and Career Readiness) since July 2022.