

June						
1	2	3	4	5	6	7
8	9	10	11	12	13	14
15	16	17	18	19 H	20	21
22	23	24	25	26	27	28
29	30					

July							
		1	2	3	4 H	5	
6	7	8	9	10	11	12	
13	14	15	16	17	18	19	
20	21	22	23	24	25	26	
27	28	29	30	31			

August							
					1	2	
3	4	5	6	7	8	9	
10	11	12	13	14	15	16	
17	18	19	20	21	22	23	
24 31	25	26	27	28	29	30	

September							
	1 H	2	3	4	5	6	
7	8	9	10	11	12	13	
14	15	16	17	18	19	20	
21	22	23	24	25	26	27	
28	29	30					

October						
			1	2	3	4
5	6	7	8	9	10	11
12	13 H	14	15	16	17	18
19	20	21	22	23	24	25
26	27	28	29	30	31	

	November							
						1		
2	3	4	5	6	7	8		
9	10	11 H	12	13	14	15		
16	17	18	19	20	21	22		
$\frac{23}{30}$	24	25	26	27 H	28 H	29		

December						
	1	2	3	4	5	6
7	8	9	10	11	12	13
14	15	16	17	18	19	20
21	22	23	24	25 H	26	27
28	29	30	31			

# Department of Legislative Services **General Assembly of Maryland Dates of Interest** 2025 Interim

June	1	Other than emergency bills and as otherwise provided, earliest date for 2025 enacted bills to take effect
July	1	Effective date for budgetary, tax, and revenue bills
August	4-6	National Conference of State Legislatures (Boston, Massachusetts)
	17-20	Council of State Governments, Eastern Regional Conference ( <i>Providence, Rhode Island</i> )
	29	Deadline for executive agency submission of FY 2027 budgets
September	2	Deadline for executive agency submission of departmental legislation to Governor
October	1	Customary date for 2025 enacted bills to take effect
	20	Report due from the Capital Debt Affordability Committee
November	1	Statutory deadline for members of the General Assembly to request drafting of prefiled bills
	20	Statutory deadline for members of the General Assembly to approve drafted bills for prefile introduction
December	20	Report due from the Spending Affordability Committee
	TBA	Board of Revenue Estimates' forecast of State revenues for FY 2026 and 2027 (generally mid-December)
	ТВА	Compilation of Legislative Committee Reports on Interim Activities to be submitted to the Legislative Policy Committee and the General Assembly
January 2026	14	First day of the 2026 session of the General Assembly

(Wednesday) (Monday, April 13, is the last day of the 2026 90-day legislative session)

# HOLIDAYS AND OTHER OBSERVANCES

June July September October	19 4 1 12 1-2	Juneteenth* Independence Day* Labor Day* Defenders' Day Yom Kippur	November December	11 27 28 14 22	Veterans' Day* Thanksgiving Day* American Indian Heritage Day* First day of Hanukkah Last Day of Hanukkah
	13 22-24	Indigenous People's Day (Columbus Day) Rosh Hashanah		25	Christmas Day*

\*State Holiday

The Department of Legislative Services does not discriminate on the basis of age, ancestry, color, disability, gender identity, genetic information, marital status, national origin, pregnancy race, religion, sex, or sexual orientation in the admission or access to its programs, services, or activities. The Department's Information Officer has been designated to coordinate compliance with the nondiscrimination requirements contained in Section 35.107 of the Department of Justice Regulations. Requests for assistance should be directed to the Information Officer at the telephone numbers shown below

Library and Information Services Department of Legislative Services, 90 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401-1991 Baltimore /Washington Area: 410-946-5400/5410 Other Maryland Areas: 1-800-492-7122, ext. 5400/5410 TTY: 410-946-5401 TTY users may also use the Maryland Relay Service E-mail: libr@mlis.state.md.us Home Page: http://mgaleg.maryland.gov



DEPARTMENT OF LEGISLATIVE SERVICES · OFFICE OF POLICY ANALYSIS

March 3, 2025

# **General Assembly of Maryland**

### Leadership **President of the Senate** Bill Ferguson

SENATE

President Pro Tem Malcolm Augustine

**Majority Leader** Nancy J. King

**Deputy Majority Leader** Arthur Ellis

> **Majority Whip** Joanne C. Benson

**Deputy Majority Whips** Katie Fry Hester Benjamin F. Kramer Cory V. McCray Charles E. Sydnor, III

**Minority Leader** Stephen S. Hershey, Jr.

> **Minority Whip** Justin Ready

#### **STANDING COMMITTEES**

**Budget and Taxation** Chair - Guy Guzzone Vice Chair - Jim Rosapepe

Education, Energy, and the Environment Chair - Brian Feldman Vice Chair - Cheryl C. Kagan

> Finance Chair - Pamela Beidle Vice Chair - Antonio Hayes

**Judicial Proceedings** Chair - William C. Smith, Jr. Vice Chair – Jeff Waldstreicher

**Executive Nominations** Chair - Clarence K. Lam Vice Chair - C. Anthony Muse

Rules Chair - Shelly Hettleman Vice Chair - Arthur Ellis

Leadership Speaker of the House

**HOUSE OF DELEGATES** 

Adrienne A. Jones **Speaker Pro Tem** 

Dana Stein **Deputy Speaker Pro Tem** 

Jared Solomon **Majority Leader** David Moon

**Deputy Majority Leader** Kriselda Valderrama

> **Majority Whip** Jazz Lewis

**Chief Deputy Majority Whips** Vaughn Stewart Melissa Wells

> **Deputy Majority Whips** Marlon Amprey Charlotte Crutchfield Andrea Fletcher Harrison Julian Ivev Steve Johnson Lesley Lopez Julie Palakovich-Carr

Sheila Ruth Karen Toles Courtney Watson

**Minority Leader** Jason C. Buckel

**Minority Whip** Jesse Pippy

**Assistant Minority Leader** April Rose

**Assistant Minority Whip** Brian Chisholm

**Chief Deputy Minority Whip** Wayne Hartman

**Deputy Minority Whips** Kevin B. Hornberger Seth Howard Susan McComas Charles J. Otto Teresa Reilly William Valentine

### **STANDING COMMITTEES**

Appropriations Chair - Ben Barnes Vice Chair - Mark S. Chang

**Economic Matters** Chair - C.T. Wilson Vice Chair - Brian M. Crosby

**Environment and Transportation** Chair - Marc Korman Vice Chair - Regina T. Boyce

**Health and Government Operations** Chair - Joseline Peña-Melnyk Vice Chair - Bonnie Cullison

> Judiciary Chair – Luke Clippinger Vice Chair - J. Sandy Bartlett

Wavs and Means Chair-Vanessa E. Atterbeary Vice Chair - Jheanelle K. Wilkins

**Rules and Executive Nominations** Chair - Anne Healey Vice Chair - Marvin E. Holmes, Jr.

STATUTORY COMMITTEES

Cybersecurity, Information Technology, and Biotechnology Senate Chair - Katie Fry Hester House Chair - Anne Kaiser

> **Ending Homelessness** Senate Chair - Mary-Dulany James House Chair -Vacancy

Fair Practices and State Personnel Oversight Senate Chair – Katie Fry Hester House Chair – Vacancy

> **Federal Relations** Senate Chair – Jeff Waldstreicher House Chair – Lily Qi

**Gaming Oversight** Senate Chair – Cory V. McCray House Chair – Vacancy

Legislative Ethics Senate Chair - Charles E. Sydnor, III House Chair - J. Sandy Bartlett

Legislative Information Technology and Open

Government Senate Chair - Vacancy House Chair - Luke Clippinger

**Management of Public Funds** Senate Chair – Arthur Ellis House Chair - Courtney Watson

Spending Affordability Senate Chair – Jim Rosapepe House Chair – Mark S. Chang

**Unemployment Insurance Oversight** Senate Chair – Benjamin F. Kramer House Chair – Lorig Charkoudian

Workers' Compensation Benefit and Insurance Oversight Senate Chair – Arthur Ellis House Chair – Andrea Fletcher Harrison

03-03-2025

Legislative Policy Committee Senate Chair – Bill Ferguson House Chair - Adrienne A. Jones

Administrative, Executive, and Legislative Review

> Audit and Evaluation Senate Chair – Shelly Hettleman House Chair – Jared Solomon

Chesapeake / Atlantic Coastal Bays Critical Area Senate Chair – Mary Washington House Chair – Dana M. Stein

> Children, Youth, and Families Senate Chair – Mary-Dulany James House Chair – Kevin M. Harris

Senate Chair - Mary L. Washington House Chair - Samuel I. Rosenberg