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The Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr. 
The Honorable Michael E. Busch 
Honorable Members of the General Assembly 
October 31, 2007 
Page 2 
 
Further, DLS recommends that the board’s termination date be extended by 10 years to July 1, 
2018.  Draft legislation to implement the recommended statutory changes is included as an 
appendix to this report.   
 
 We would like to acknowledge the cooperation and assistance provided by the board, its 
staff, and many licensees and stakeholders throughout the review process.  The board was 
provided a draft copy of the report for factual review and comment prior to its publication; its 
written comments are included as an appendix to this report. 
 
       Sincerely, 
 
 
 
       Karl S. Aro 
       Executive Director 
 
KSA/mll 
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Executive Summary 
 
 
 Pursuant to the Maryland Program 
Evaluation Act, the Department of 
Legislative Services (DLS) has evaluated 
the Maryland State Board of Morticians and 
Funeral Directors (the board), the State 
entity charged with regulating the funeral 
industry in Maryland.  The 11 
recommendations in this evaluation are 
summarized below. 
 
Recommendation 1:  Statute should be 
amended to reinstate the pre-1997 
requirement that apprentices complete 
2,000 working hours and repeal the 
education fulfillment requirements 
imposed on applicants in order to qualify 
for licensure as an apprentice.  An 
individual must complete two-thirds of an 
approved mortuary science program with a 
minimum 2.0 grade point average to be 
eligible for an apprentice license.  Once a 
license is issued, the apprentice must 
complete a minimum 1,000 working hours 
in a licensed funeral establishment.  Chapter 
662 of 1997 reduced the minimum number 
of apprenticeship hours from 2,000 to 1,000 
and implemented the educational 
requirements an individual must have before 
seeking an apprentice license.  Through 
interviews with stakeholders, DLS found 
that the current 1,000-hour minimum 
requirement may be insufficient to 
adequately prepare apprentices for the 
practice of mortuary science. 
 
Recommendation 2:  The board should 
report to specified committees on or 
before December 1, 2010, on the outcome 
of reopening the funeral director license 
including the number of (1) students 
enrolled in the funeral director program 
at the Community College of Baltimore 

County (CCBC); (2) applicants for a 
funeral director apprenticeship license; 
and (3) funeral director licenses issued.  
Prior to October 1, 2007, the funeral director 
license had been closed to new applicants 
since 1973.  Chapter 186 of 2007 reopened 
the funeral director license to new licensees.  
Reopening of the license has provided an 
alternative licensure path for those who do 
not wish to perform embalming.  The State’s 
sole mortuary science program, at CCBC, is 
implementing a new associate’s degree in 
applied science and funeral service for 
funeral director students. 
 
Recommendation 3:  If the October 2007 
court decision regarding corporate 
licensure is not appealed or is upheld on 
appeal, the board should (1) draft 
emergency regulations regarding the 
issuance of new corporation licenses; 
(2) develop and distribute application 
forms for new applicants; (3) issue new 
corporation licenses to qualified 
applicants; and (4) draft an 
Administration bill amending statute to 
implement the order of the court.  
Generally, a funeral establishment may only 
be owned by a licensed mortician, funeral 
director, or surviving spouse; however, a 
corporation license, of which there are 58 in 
Maryland, allows a corporation to own a 
funeral establishment if all services are 
provided by licensed individuals.  New 
corporation licenses have not been issued by 
the board since 1945; only existing licenses 
may be renewed.  On October 17, 2007, in 
the case of Brown, et al. v. Hovatter, et al., a 
U.S. District Court ruled that the board may 
not enforce the provisions of the Morticians 
Act that restrict new corporate ownership of 
funeral homes in Maryland with indefinite 
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exemptions for corporation licenses held as 
of June 1, 1945.  If the ruling stands, the 
board must implement a process for issuing 
new corporation licenses – even if statute 
remains unchanged. 
 
Recommendation 4:  If the ruling in the 
corporate licensure lawsuit stands and 
another ownership option becomes 
available to surviving spouses, the board 
should explore whether there is a 
continued need for the surviving spouse 
license.  A surviving spouse license allows 
the licensee to continue the operation of a 
funeral establishment and assist with the 
planning and conducting of funeral services 
for that business under the supervision of a 
licensed mortician or funeral director.  
Surviving spouses currently have no other 
option under Maryland law to permanently 
retain a family funeral business due to the 
moratorium on corporation licenses.  
However, if the October 2007 decision 
regarding corporate licensure stands and 
corporation licenses become available, the 
surviving spouse license could become 
unnecessary. 
 
Recommendation 5:  The board, in 
conjunction with the Department of 
Health and Mental Hygiene (DHMH), 
should work closely with the Governor’s 
Office to ensure that the current 
17 percent board vacancy rate is 
addressed as soon as possible.  The board 
should also be diligent in anticipating 
departures due to the consecutive two-
term limitation.  The board is currently 
2 members shy of a full 12-member board.  
Two consumer members vacated the board 
in April 2006 and July 2007.  With the 
consumer membership cut in half, the board 
should utilize the support resources of 
DHMH in facilitating ongoing 
communication with the Governor’s 

Appointments Office regarding these 
vacancies. 
 
Recommendation 6:  The board should 
evaluate its ongoing revenues and 
expenditures, its fund balance, and the 
appropriate level for corporation license 
fees.  As part of the evaluation, the board 
should determine any further costs 
associated with the corporate licensure 
lawsuit as well as any changes in licensure 
patterns and staffing needs due to the 
ruling.  The board should submit a report 
to specified committees on or before 
December 1, 2008, on this evaluation, 
including any observed changes in 
licensure patterns, any proposals to alter 
the existing corporation license renewal 
fee, and a plan to reduce the fund balance 
to 25 percent of biennial operating costs.  
Although the board’s fund balance exceeds 
the DHMH target of 25 percent of costs, the 
board could face additional expenditures 
associated with the corporate licensure 
lawsuit or potential changes in licensing 
patterns or staffing needs due to the ruling. 
 
Recommendation 7:  Statute should be 
amended to require a disclosure 
statement in each preneed contract that 
clearly states that all funeral costs may 
not be covered under the preneed 
contract.  The seller of preneed goods must 
disclose to the consumer all goods and 
services that are reasonably expected to be 
required at the time of need but are not 
included in the preneed contract as well as 
the buyer’s cancellation and refund rights.  
However, this disclosure does not have to be 
in the contract itself.  While some licensees 
include this language prominently in their 
preneed contracts, a statutory requirement 
would make its inclusion consistent and 
mandatory. 
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Recommendation 8:  The board should 
develop a consumer pamphlet that can be 
used to educate family members upon the 
death of a loved one who has a preneed 
contract about the items covered under 
the contract and those not covered, 
specifically incidental and other fees that 
may be charged when the contract is 
executed.  Through interviews with 
licensees, DLS found that much of the 
confusion regarding preneed contracts arises 
because the person entering into the contract 
is not the same person enforcing the contract 
at the time of need.  Preneed contract 
holders may not always clearly convey to 
their decedents that additional incidental or 
mechanical fees are due when the preneed 
contract is executed.  Further efforts could 
benefit consumers and their loved ones and 
limit future complaints due to 
misunderstandings. 
 
Recommendation 9:  At a minimum, 
statute should be amended to require the 
board to inspect all Maryland 
crematories annually under a uniform 
crematory statute that imposes the same 
inspection requirements on all 
crematories regardless of location.  
Specifically, crematory regulations under 
the Maryland Morticians Act should be 
extended to all State crematories.  All 
Maryland crematories should be required 
to file an annual statement describing the 
crematory’s location, ownership status, 
number and names of employees, last 
Maryland Department of the 
Environment (MDE) inspection, and 
expiration date of the MDE-issued 
five-year permit to operate.  On request, 
the annual statements should be made 
available by the board to the public for 
inspection.  Crematory operators who fail 
a board inspection or do not file an 
annual statement should be subject to 

informal disciplinary action imposed by 
the board. 
 
Uncodified language should be adopted 
requiring the board to report to specified 
committees on or before December 1, 
2011, regarding the information gathered 
from annual statements.  All 28 Maryland 
crematories are subject to emissions 
regulations enforced by MDE.  However, 
only crematories operated by a board 
licensee are subject to additional regulation.  
Past legislative proposals to provide dual 
oversight of cremation by the board and the 
Office of Cemetery Oversight have failed; 
however, both entities agree that that a need 
for more stringent regulation exists.  Given 
that the board already inspects crematories 
on funeral establishment grounds on a 
voluntary basis and has the expertise and 
fiscal stability to carry out broader 
regulatory oversight, the board should be 
given statutory authority to ensure that all 
crematories are inspected and subject to the 
requirements found under the Maryland 
Morticians Act. 
 
Recommendation 10:  The General 
Assembly may wish to consider further 
strengthening regulatory authority over 
cremation by amending statute to require 
all crematory owners and employees who 
handle human remains to complete a 
certification program.  Certification could 
be offered by an organization authorized 
to do so by the board.  Any such 
certification programs proposed by 
applicant organizations should include a 
component on environmental safety, 
incinerator operation and safety, and 
applicable State laws and regulations.  
There are no formal training requirements 
imposed on crematory operators.  
Competence among crematory operators 
cannot adequately be assessed absent 
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minimal training or education requirements.  
Twelve states require certification of 
crematory operators including West 
Virginia, and, most recently, New York. 
 
Recommendation 11:  Statute should be 
amended to extend the termination date 
of the State Board of Morticians and 
Funeral Directors to July 1, 2018.  In 
addition, the board should report to 
specified committees on or before 
October 1, 2009, regarding the status of 
the nonstatutory recommendations 
contained in this report.  DLS finds that 
the board is efficient and effective in its 

licensing, complaint, inspection, and 
disciplinary functions.  The board has 
followed up on past DLS sunset 
recommendations and implemented 
suggestions for improving its operations 
such as complaint tracking.  Furthermore, 
the board has improved its financial 
situation as well as licensee compliance with 
regulations such as preneed requirements.  
DLS finds that the board conducts itself in a 
productive, professional manner and has 
been successful at protecting consumer 
interests. 
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Chapter 1.  Introduction 
 
 
The Sunset Review Process 
 
 This evaluation was undertaken under the auspices of the Maryland Program Evaluation 
Act (§ 8-400 et seq. of the State Government Article), which establishes a process also known as 
sunset review.  Enacted in 1978, the Maryland Program Evaluation Act requires the Department 
of Legislative Services (DLS) to periodically evaluate certain State agencies according to a 
statutory schedule.  The agencies subject to review are usually subject to termination unless 
legislative action is taken to reauthorize them.  The Legislative Policy Committee decides 
whether to waive an agency from full evaluation.  If waived, legislation to reauthorize the agency 
must be enacted or a full evaluation of the organization is completed the subsequent year. 
 
 The State Board of Morticians and Funeral Directors is one of about 70 entities currently 
subject to evaluation.  The board last underwent a full evaluation as part of sunset review in 2000 
and ensuing legislation, Chapter 156 of 2002, extended the board’s termination date from July 1, 
2002, to the current termination date of July 1, 2008.  A preliminary evaluation conducted in 
2005 recommended the board be waived from further review the following year.  However, the 
General Assembly did not take action on the legislation to extend the board’s termination date 
during the 2006 or 2007 sessions.  Consequently, this full evaluation is being undertaken to 
provide the General Assembly with additional information in determining whether to reauthorize 
the board and for what period of time.  Recommendations to improve the operations of the board 
are also provided.  If the legislature does not take action during the 2008 session, the board will 
terminate on July 1, 2008. 
 
 
The Death Care Industry in Maryland 
 
 Maryland’s death care industry includes the funeral industry, cemeteries, burial goods 
providers, and crematories.  The Office of Cemetery Oversight, housed within the Department of 
Labor, Licensing, and Regulation, regulates cemeteries and associated burial goods sales under 
the Maryland Cemetery Act.  The funeral industry – licensed funeral providers and funeral 
establishments, including the sale of burial goods by those licensees – is subject to regulation by 
the State Board of Morticians and Funeral Directors within the Department of Health and Mental 
Hygiene (DHMH).  Cremation is minimally regulated in Maryland – the Maryland Department 
of the Environment enforces emissions standards; some additional regulation is applicable only 
to funeral service providers under the Maryland Morticians Act. 
 
 At some point in their lives, almost everyone attends a funeral.  It is a ritual that provides 
people with an opportunity to commemorate the life of a loved one and support others in 
grieving.  The national average cost of a funeral, steadily rising each year, is now approximately 
$6,500.  As the massive Baby Boomer population ages, the demand for funeral goods and 
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services will only grow.  Thus, a strong, professional board governing the industry is important 
to ensure that Maryland consumers receive quality goods and services and that the preparation 
and final disposition of human bodies are handled with respect and according to all applicable 
health and safety regulations. 
 
 
The State Board of Morticians and Funeral Directors 
 
 The board is one of 18 health occupations boards housed within DHMH.  Established in 
1902 as the State Board of Undertakers, the board is one of the oldest health occupations boards 
in Maryland.  Over the course of its 105-year history, the board’s legislative authority to oversee 
and regulate funeral service providers and funeral establishments has evolved to meet emerging 
developments in the funeral service industry and the practice of mortuary science.  In 1937, 
1981, and 2007, respectively, the board was renamed the State Board of Funeral Directors and 
Embalmers, the State Board of Morticians, and, most recently, the State Board of Morticians and 
Funeral Directors. 
 
 Board Membership, Structure, and Mission 
 
 The 12-member board consists of 8 practitioner members and 4 consumer members, as 
shown in Appendix 1.  Members are appointed by the Governor with the advice of the Secretary 
of Health and Mental Hygiene and with the advice and consent of the State Senate.  Board 
members serve staggered four-year terms and are subject to a consecutive two-term limitation.  
The board is empowered to adopt bylaws, rules, and regulations to carry out the provisions of the 
Maryland Morticians Act.  The board president, first vice president, second vice president, and 
secretary serve as the board’s executive officers. 
 
 Although DHMH provides administrative and policy support, almost all day-to-day 
activities are managed by the board and its staff.  A full-time executive director, licensing 
coordinator, investigator, and office secretary provide support for board operations, and an 
Assistant Attorney General is assigned to the board.  A designee of the board is responsible for 
administering a special fund, the State Board of Morticians and Funeral Directors Fund, to cover 
the actual documented direct and indirect costs of fulfilling the statutory and regulatory duties of 
the board.  Fees collected by the board must be reasonable and set to approximate the cost of 
maintaining the board. 
 
 Members of the board meet on a monthly basis, with the exception of August.  Most of 
the board’s work is delegated to one of eight standing committees:  Apprenticeship, Complaint, 
Continuing Education, Executive, Inspection/Establishment, Legislative, Preneed, and 
Rehabilitation.  Each board member serves on at least one committee but is free to raise 
questions or concerns regarding the findings and recommendations of any of the standing 
committees.  The Executive and Legislative committees each comprise the board’s four 
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executive officers; all other committees are chaired by a board member and include 
representation by at least one consumer member and one practitioner member. 
 
 Charged with the mission of protecting the health and welfare of the public and 
promoting quality funeral service practices in the field of mortuary science, the board serves the 
following five major functions: 
 
• licensing and regulating funeral service providers, including morticians, funeral directors, 

surviving spouses, and apprentices; 
 
• licensing, inspecting, and regulating funeral establishments; 
 
• receiving and resolving complaints regarding licensees and funeral establishments; 
 
• establishing standards for the practice of mortuary science; and 
 
• providing education to consumers regarding the funeral service industry. 
 
 Recent Legislation Largely Broadens Board’s Licensing Activities 
 
 As shown in Exhibit 1.1, since the board last underwent a full evaluation in 2000, the 
General Assembly has expanded the board’s licensing duties, clarified its inspection authority, 
and strengthened regulation of preneed contracts.  A more in-depth discussion of preneed 
regulation may be found in Chapter 4 of this report. 
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Exhibit 1.1 

Board of Morticians and Funeral Directors 
Recent Legislation 

 
Year Chapter Change 

   
2002 156 Extended the termination date of the board to July 1, 2008 and, in accordance 

with a DLS recommendation, authorized the board to provide advance notice to 
a funeral establishment of an upcoming inspection. 
 

2002 525 Established a license for the personal representative of a deceased mortician’s 
estate for continuation of a mortuary science business. 
 

2005 220 Authorized the board to audit a licensee that receives preneed funds, places 
preneed funds in a trust, or enters into a preneed contract and issue subpoenas 
and administer oaths in connection with a preneed audit. 
 

2007 185, 186 Created an apprentice license for funeral directors; specified that the practical 
experience required of apprentice funeral directors may not include 
embalming; authorized two or more licensed funeral directors to practice 
mortuary science as a partnership; authorized one or more licensed funeral 
directors to practice mortuary science as a professional association; expanded 
the rehabilitation committee functions to serve funeral directors; and renamed 
the board and the associated fund. 

 
Source:  Department of Legislative Services 
 
 
 
Research Activities 
 
 To complete this evaluation, staff of DLS engaged in extensive research activities, 
including: 
 
• reviewing State statutes and regulations regarding the funeral industry; 
 
• interviewing board staff and board members; 
 
• observing the board in action during its meetings; 
 
• reviewing board meeting minutes; 
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• visiting the board’s office to analyze administrative processes and procedures; 
 
• analyzing license, financial, complaint, and inspection data; 
 
• accompanying board staff on site visits to funeral establishments regulated by the board; 
 
• interviewing trade industry representatives, State officials, crematory operators, surviving 

spouse licensees, and other interested parties; 
 
• reviewing documents filed by both parties involved in a recent lawsuit seeking to require 

the board to issue new corporation licenses as well as the October 17, 2007 federal court 
ruling in that lawsuit; 

 
• researching regulation of the death care industry in other states; and 
 
• conducting general research on the evolving funeral industry. 
 
 
Report Organization 
 
 This chapter provides a summary of the sunset review process, an overview of the death 
care industry, a description of the State Board of Morticians and Funeral Directors, a summary of 
recent legislation impacting the board, and a list of the research activities undertaken to complete 
this evaluation.  Chapter 2 contains an analysis of the board’s major functions, including 
licensing, inspections, and complaints.  Chapter 3 reviews the membership and financial 
resources of the board.  Chapter 4 examines the policy issues of preneed contracts and the 
regulation of cremation in Maryland.  Chapter 5 presents DLS’ central recommendation about 
the board.  Additional recommendations are included in each chapter as appropriate. 
 
 As supplements to the report, Appendix 1 contains a roster of the current board members 
and staff.  Appendix 2 contains draft legislation to implement the statutory recommendations 
contained in the report.  The State Board of Morticians and Funeral Directors reviewed a draft of 
this report and provided the written comments included as Appendix 3.  Appropriate factual 
corrections and clarifications have been made throughout the document. 
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Chapter 2.  Major Board Functions 
 
 
Board Issues More Than 1,500 Licenses Biennially 
 
 The Maryland Morticians Act expressly prohibits the practice of mortuary science by an 
unlicensed individual and further limits the operation of funeral establishments by corporations.  
Therefore, the board’s central function is the issuance of the eight types of licenses shown in 
Exhibit 2.1.  Licenses are issued on a biennial basis with the exception of apprentice licenses, 
which are annual, and executor licenses, which are one-time only.  Mortician licenses are 
renewed in even-numbered years while other licenses are renewed in odd-numbered years.  
Specific licensure requirements are discussed below. 
 
 

Exhibit 2.1 
Number of Licenses Issued by the State Board of Morticians 

Fiscal 2003 through 2008* 
 

2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008*

Mortician (Original and Renewal) 51 863 37 888 33 900

Funeral Director (Renewal) 29 0 25 0 17 0

Surviving Spouse (Original and Renewal) 9 0 11 0 11 0

Executor (Original) 1 0 0 0 0 0

Apprentice (Original and Renewal) 59 64 81 55 51 55

Funeral Establishment (Original and Renewal) 276 13 298 8 299 20

Corporation (Renewal) 59 0 58 0 58 0

Courtesy Card (Original and Renewal) 133 11 106 6 101 6

Total Number of Licenses Issued 617 951 616 957 570 981
 
* Fiscal 2008 data are estimated. 
Note:  Numbers do not include licenses issued for inactive status to morticians. 
Source:  State Board of Morticians and Funeral Directors 
 
 
 Adequacy of Apprenticeship Hours in Question 
 
 One of the basic requirements for licensure as a mortician or funeral director is the 
successful completion of an apprenticeship.  An individual must complete two-thirds of an 
approved mortuary science program with a minimum 2.0 grade point average to be eligible for 
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an apprentice license.  Once a license is issued, an apprentice may assist a licensed mortician or 
funeral director as part of a training program.  The apprentice must participate in at least 
20 funerals and complete at least 1,000 working hours in a licensed funeral establishment.  An 
apprentice who wishes to become a licensed mortician must also assist in the embalming of at 
least 20 human bodies. 
 
 Prior to 1997, an apprenticeship encompassed the completion of 2,000 working hours, 
just less than one year, in a funeral establishment.  Chapter 662 of 1997 reduced this number 
from 2,000 to 1,000 hours, or less than six months.  The legislation also established the 
requirement for an individual to have completed two-thirds of a mortuary science program 
before seeking an apprentice license. 
 
 The 2005 Department of Legislative Services (DLS) preliminary sunset evaluation 
recommended that the board determine the appropriate length of apprenticeship hours.  In 
response, the board supported House Bill 1570 of 2006, which would have reinstated the 
2,000-hour apprenticeship requirement and repealed the requirement for completion of a portion 
of the mortuary science program prior to application.  This legislation did not pass. 
 
 Licensees (including board members) and others interviewed by DLS for this evaluation 
reported that the 50 percent reduction in apprenticeship hours has been a disappointment and has 
failed recent mortuary science graduates.  Some went so far as to say that the new generation of 
graduates is not perceived to be as well-prepared as their predecessors for independent practice.  
Interviewees stressed that hands-on learning is a must in the funeral industry; however, some 
apprentices stationed in more remote locations do not assist in many more than the minimum 20 
embalmings during the apprenticeship.  A few practitioners also noted that delaying the start of 
the apprenticeship until the applicant has completed two-thirds of the mortuary science program 
results in some students spending thousands of dollars on mortuary science school only to find 
that the practical side of mortuary science does not appeal to them. 
 
Recommendation 1:  Statute should be amended to reinstate the pre-1997 requirement that 
apprentices complete 2,000 working hours and repeal the education fulfillment 
requirements imposed on applicants in order to qualify for licensure as an apprentice. 
 
 Mortician License Is Most Comprehensive and Prevalent 
 
 The most comprehensive license issued by the board is the mortician license, which 
authorizes licensees to arrange for the final disposition of a dead human body, prepare a dead 
human body for disposition – including disinfecting or preserving a body, and operate a licensed 
funeral establishment.  To qualify for a mortician license, an applicant must graduate with a 
degree in mortuary science or its equivalent, complete an apprenticeship, and pass the national 
and State board exams governing the practice of mortuary science.  In fiscal 2007, there were 
over 900 licensed morticians in Maryland. 
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 Funeral Director License, Once Frozen, Now Open to New Licensees 
 
 A funeral director license authorizes the licensee to practice all aspects of mortuary 
science except embalming and to own a funeral establishment.  Until recently, the board had not 
issued funeral director licenses in over 34 years.  Instead, only those practicing prior to May 
1973 were able to renew their licenses.  As shown in Exhibit 2.1, this limitation resulted in the 
steady decline in the number of funeral directors to only 17 in fiscal 2007. 
 
 Chapter 186 of 2007, effective October 1, reopened the funeral director license to new 
licensees.  Individuals seeking licensure must meet all requirements of a licensed mortician with 
the exception of demonstrating competency in embalming.  Although the license is now open, 
the board does not anticipate a significant increase in applications.  Furthermore, any increase 
would likely not be seen for at least two years as prospective applicants must first complete the 
educational and apprenticeship requirements for licensure. 
 
 The State’s sole mortuary science program, at the Community College of Baltimore 
County (CCBC), is implementing a new associate’s degree in applied science and funeral service 
for funeral director students.  Funeral director students will be required to sit in on the 
embalming theory class but will be exempt from the lab component and will have to make up the 
lab credit with another theory course.  The college currently awards associate’s degrees to 
approximately 25 students per year; college officials do not expect more than 2 additional 
students per year under the new program. 
 
Recommendation 2:  The board should report to the Senate Education, Health, and 
Environmental Affairs Committee and the House Health and Government Operations 
Committee on or before December 1, 2010, on the outcome of reopening the funeral 
director license including the number of (1) students enrolled in the funeral director 
program at CCBC; (2) applicants for a funeral director apprenticeship license; and 
(3) funeral director licenses issued. 
 

Federal Court Strikes Down Longstanding Statute Restricting 
Corporate Licensure 

 
 Generally, under the Maryland Morticians Act, a funeral establishment may only be 
owned and operated by a licensed mortician, funeral director, or surviving spouse; however, 
58 corporation licenses are also held in Maryland.  This license allows a corporation to own and 
operate a funeral establishment as long as all services are provided by licensed individuals.  Each 
corporation license authorizes the operation of one establishment, which also must have a 
separate funeral establishment license; a corporation may operate a branch funeral establishment 
if that branch establishment was in operation on or before October 1, 1964.  Of the 
58 corporation licenses, approximately half are held by licensed morticians, whose businesses 
are structured as corporations, while the remaining half are owned by national corporate chains. 
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 Prior to 1937, there was no limit on the number of corporation licenses issued by the 
board.  That year, amidst growing concerns over unlicensed individuals working for funeral 
establishments licensed as corporations, the General Assembly authorized the board to phase out 
the licensure of corporations, grandfathering in those already licensed.  However, an exception 
was later made for funeral establishments whose owners had served in World War II.  
Ultimately, a corporation license could only be renewed if a corporation held that license on June 
1, 1945, and the license had been renewed continuously since then.  Corporation licenses held in 
this manner have been sold to other corporations and renewed by the new corporate owner, but 
no new licenses have been issued.  The current renewal fee for a corporation license is the 
highest imposed by the board:  $875. 
 
 On October 17, 2007, in the case of Brown, et al. v. Hovatter, et al., a U.S. District Court 
ruled that the board may not enforce the provisions of the Morticians Act that restrict new 
corporate ownership of funeral homes in Maryland with indefinite exemptions for corporation 
licenses held as of June 1, 1945.  If the ruling stands, the board needs to implement a process for 
issuing new corporation licenses – even if statute remains unchanged. 
 
 Limitation on Corporation Licenses Had Survived Many Recent Challenges 
 
 Chapter 209 of 1996 established the Task Force to Examine the State’s Cemetery and 
Funeral Industry; the final report of the task force noted that the law should be changed to allow 
issuance of additional corporation licenses.  A bill to do so was introduced on behalf of the task 
force during the 1997 session, but that legislative proposal did not pass.  Proposals to lift or 
modify the limitation on corporate licensure were also introduced in subsequent years – over the 
nine consecutive legislative sessions from 1997 through 2005, 13 bills were considered.  During 
the 2004 session, the Federal Trade Commission submitted written comments to the sponsor of 
House Bill 795 in support of the bill’s removal of corporate licensure restrictions, citing potential 
“harm [to] consumer welfare by stifling innovation and allowing existing firms to charge higher 
prices.”  None of the proposals received favorable consideration, and only one proposal (which 
was amended to require study of the issue) received a vote of the full chamber in which it 
originated.  Thus, until the recent judicial ruling, the General Assembly had maintained the 
statutory restriction on corporation licenses. 
 
 Legal Arguments in the Lawsuit Against the Board 
 
 In March 2006, five entrepreneurs, with the assistance of the Institute for Justice, sued the 
board in U.S. District Court for the District of Maryland claiming that the restriction on 
corporate licensure is unconstitutional under the commerce clause and the equal protection and 
due process clauses of the Fourteenth Amendment.  The plaintiffs alleged that the prohibition 
discriminates against out-of-state commerce because, on balance, the statute imposes burdens on 
interstate commerce that substantially exceed their benefits.  The restrictions, the plaintiffs 
asserted, also violate the plaintiffs’ right to earn an honest living free from unreasonable 
government interference and discrimination. 
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 In response to the plaintiffs’ commerce clause claim, the board asserted that the statute 
regulates even-handedly:  requirements for licensing apply to both Maryland residents and 
nonresidents, and any burdens on interstate commerce are incidental and outweighed by the 
benefits.  During legal proceedings, the board stated that the protection of consumers through 
regulation of the corporate structure of businesses is well-recognized and legitimate.  The board 
countered the plaintiffs’ equal protection and due process claims with the argument that there is a 
rational basis for requiring that funeral establishments be owned by licensed morticians, with the 
exception of the surviving spouse and executor licensees.  By way of example, the board noted 
that two other states, Pennsylvania and New Hampshire, limit corporate ownership of funeral 
homes.  New Hampshire’s statute states that “no corporation … shall be issued a license as a 
funeral director.” Pennsylvania law requires that all the corporation’s “shareholders [must be] 
licensed funeral directors or the members of the immediate family of a licensed funeral director.” 
 
 The Court’s Ruling in the Lawsuit 
 
 On October 17, 2007, the court issued a mixed decision.  The court ruled in favor of the 
plaintiffs by enjoining enforcement of the provisions of the Maryland Morticians Act that 
prohibit the issuance of new corporation licenses.  The court questioned whether there is still a 
legitimate State interest in preserving the economic investments of the original owners of 
corporate funeral homes since over 95 percent of corporation licenses had been sold at least once 
by 2006.  Thus, in 2006, only three corporation licenses were still held within the same family as 
in 1945 when the current statutory restriction was imposed.  Although the Morticians Act 
prevents both in-state corporations and national, out-of-state chain corporations alike from newly 
owning and operating a funeral home as a corporate entity, the court found that the prohibition 
failed a “less strict scrutiny” test.  In its analysis, the court determined that the board’s consumer 
protection defense is “no more than” speculative and that the board had offered little 
demonstrable evidence that corporate funeral homes pose a discrete risk to the public. 
 
 However, the court ruling did not modify the provision requiring a corporation’s 
mortuary science business to be practiced by a licensed individual.  Further, the court sided with 
the board in ruling that the current requirements associated with licensing funeral establishments 
are permissible.  Thus, each funeral establishment itself must still be licensed by the board before 
it may be used for preparing remains, viewing, and conducting services.  In this case, statute 
allows ownership by a licensed mortician or funeral director or by a holder of a surviving spouse 
or corporation license.  Other provisions of statute still require owner-operators that are not 
licensed as morticians to have their embalming services provided by a licensed mortician.  
Further, all other services must be provided under the supervision of either a licensed mortician 
or licensed funeral director.  The court noted that the legislature “could have rationally 
determined that the public’s health, safety, and welfare are furthered by requiring that a licensed 
mortician own the funeral home where mortuary science is practiced.”  The court declined 
questioning the licensing requirement under a substantive due process or equal protection 
challenge, finding that the licensing requirement is rationally related to the achievement of a 
legitimate State interest and objective. 
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 At publication of this report, it is unclear whether either party will appeal the decision − 
although the board advises it will likely do so.  If the decision is not appealed, the board must 
take steps to implement the court’s order and begin immediate licensure of new corporation 
licensees. 
 
Recommendation 3:  If the October 2007 decision is not appealed by either party or is 
upheld on appeal, the board, with assistance from the Legislative Committee and board 
counsel, should (1) draft emergency regulations to implement a process for issuing new 
corporation licenses to qualified applicants and submit the regulations to the 
Administrative, Executive, and Legislative Review Committee for approval; (2) develop 
and distribute application forms for new corporation license applicants; (3) issue new 
corporation licenses to applicants that meet the applicable requirements under the 
emergency regulations; and (4) draft an Administration bill amending statute to implement 
the order of the court. 
 

Surviving Spouse and Executor Licenses Allow Continuation of 
Business 

 
 Due to the statutory limitations on ownership of a funeral business, two licenses exist to 
allow for the continuation of a business in the event of the death of a licensed mortician or 
funeral director:  the temporary executor license and the permanent surviving spouse license.  
Both licenses allow the licensee to continue the operation of the funeral establishment and assist 
with the planning and conducting of funeral services for that business.  However, a licensed 
mortician or funeral director must provide direct supervision, and a licensed mortician has to 
perform any embalming. 
 
 The legally appointed personal representative of a deceased licensee’s estate may obtain a 
temporary executor license to allow for continuation of the business until it is sold or the 
personal representative attains other licensure under the board.  An executor license is valid for 
six months and cannot be renewed.  Since inception of the license in fiscal 2003, the board has 
issued only one executor license. 
 
 A surviving spouse must contact the board within 30 days of the death of a licensed 
funeral director or mortician and apply for a surviving spouse license.  Within six months of the 
issuance of the license, a surviving spouse has to take the board’s exam on State law; should the 
licensee fail the exam twice, the license becomes null and void.  A surviving spouse must also 
obtain 12 continuing education units every two years.  A surviving spouse license may be 
renewed indefinitely on a biennial basis.  As of fiscal 2007, there were 11 surviving spouse 
licensees. 
 
 In the 2000 full sunset evaluation of the board, DLS recommended that the surviving 
spouse license be phased out with existing licensees grandfathered in to allow them to retain 
ownership of their family businesses.  This recommendation was based on the then-defunct 
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funeral director license, which is similar in scope to the surviving spouse license in that both 
licensees can practice mortuary science with the exception of embalming.  The recommendation 
was opposed by industry associations and was not adopted by the General Assembly.  In 
conducting this most recent board evaluation, DLS reexamined the surviving spouse license, 
including interviewing several licensees.  Since 2000, the funeral director license has been 
reopened to new applicants, providing an alternative licensure path for those who do not wish to 
perform embalming. 
 
 DLS found that the complaint rate against surviving spouse licensees is low and 
surviving spouse licensees appear to provide the same level of service to consumers as other 
licensees.  Furthermore, surviving spouses have not had any other option under Maryland law to 
permanently retain a family funeral business due to the longstanding moratorium on corporation 
licenses. 
 
 Given these findings and the requirements for maintaining a surviving spouse license, 
DLS does not recommend any changes to the surviving spouse license at this time.  If the ruling 
regarding corporation licenses stands, the surviving spouse license could become unnecessary 
since another avenue for maintaining the family funeral business would become available – for 
example, obtaining a temporary executor license and then a corporation license.  Even so, the 
existing option of obtaining a surviving spouse license provides sufficient protection of the 
public and does not require restructuring of the family business as a corporation.  The executor 
license, which only authorizes temporary ownership, would likely not require any change based 
on the ruling. 
 
Recommendation 4:  If the ruling in the corporate licensure lawsuit stands and another 
ownership option becomes available to surviving spouses, the board should explore 
whether there is a continued need for the surviving spouse license. 
 
 Like Providers, All Establishments Must Be Licensed 
 
 A funeral establishment license must be acquired before an establishment may be used 
for the preparation of the remains, viewing, and conducting funeral services.  The establishment 
must be owned by at least one licensed mortician or funeral director or the holder of a surviving 
spouse or corporation license.  Services have to be provided by a licensed practitioner.  There are 
307 licensed funeral establishments in Maryland. 
 
 Courtesy Cards Allow Interstate and International Transport of Bodies 
 
 A courtesy card license authorizes an individual who practices mortuary science in 
another state or country to transport dead human bodies into or out of Maryland to the other state 
or country of licensure.  However, the courtesy card licensee may not practice mortuary science 
in Maryland.  The board issued 107 courtesy cards during the 2006-2007 license renewal period. 
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Board Monitors and Enforces Morticians Act through Complaint Process 
 
 The board fields complaints from consumers, courts, employers, and other licensees 
regarding the operation of funeral establishments and the behavior of licensees and their 
employees.  Except in cases of an emergency, all complaints must be submitted in writing.  As 
shown in Exhibit 2.2, in fiscal 2003 through 2007, the board received between 42 and 82 new 
complaints annually.  Compared to approximately 45,000 deaths recorded in Maryland each 
year, the annual complaint total is relatively low. 
 
 

Exhibit 2.2 
Complaint Activity 

Fiscal 2003 through 2007 
 
 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007

Complaint Volume  
New Complaints 76 50 67 82 42
Pending Complaints from Prior Year 23 24 37 8 2
Total Complaints 99 74 104 90 44
  
Type of Complaint  
Preneed Contracts 36% 40% 50% 26.2%
Unlicensed Individuals 28% 10.5% n/a 14.3%
Advertising 14% n/a 4.9% 7.1%
Unprofessional Conduct 10% 9% 13.4% 9.5%
Fee Dispute n/a 10.5% 4.9% 9.5%
Referral to Office of Cemetery Oversight n/a 4.5% n/a n/a
Inability to View Body n/a 4.5% n/a n/a
Death Certificate Issues n/a 4.5% n/a 16.6%
Refusal to Release Body n/a 3% n/a n/a
Embalming Without Consent n/a 3% n/a n/a
Other 12% 10.5% 26.8 16.8%
 
Note:  Analyses of types of complaints received by the board in fiscal 2003 were not available.  The fiscal 2004 
analysis does not include the same data fields outlined in the fiscal 2005 analysis. 
Source:  State Board of Morticians and Funeral Directors 
 
 
 After Peak, Number of Complaints Drops Dramatically 
 
 After declining in 2004, the number of new complaints rose in both fiscal 2005 and 2006 
to a high of 82 complaints.  In each of these fiscal years, complaints about preneed contracts 
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represented 40 to 50 percent of total complaints.  In fiscal 2006, the board initiated many of the 
preneed complaints to draw attention to the importance of complying with preneed regulations as 
many licensees were submitting their annual preneed compliance reports late.  The board’s 
disciplinary actions regarding preneed compliance reports, coupled with enhancing licensee 
education options, appear to have resulted in a dramatic reduction in the number of late 
submissions and contributed to the decline in the number of preneed complaints from 41 in fiscal 
2006 to 11 in fiscal 2007.  A more in-depth discussion of preneed regulation is included in 
Chapter 4. 
 
 In the 2005 preliminary evaluation of the board, DLS noted that there had been growth in 
the number of complaints carried over from prior years between fiscal 2003 and 2005.  This 
backlog of complaints was largely due to a vacancy in the investigator position.  The board also 
advises that a backlog of cases at the Attorney General’s Office contributed to the number of 
pending cases.  As shown in Exhibit 2.2, with the assistance of a full complement of staff, the 
board had all but eliminated this backlog as of fiscal 2007. 
 
 Complaint Process Often Results in Closure or Informal Action 
 
 The complaint process is set in motion once the office receives a written complaint; the 
complaint is immediately date stamped and given a case number.  A complaint log containing the 
following information is then created:  the case number, the licensee’s name, the licensee’s 
board-issued number, the complainant’s name, the alleged violation(s) in order of priority, and 
the date of the board’s receipt of the complaint.  The board is authorized to conduct an 
unannounced inspection to investigate a complaint. 
 
 As soon as practical, a letter of acknowledgment is sent to the complainant, and the 
licensee is also given a copy of the complaint.  The complaints are referred to the board’s 
Complaint Committee, but all board members also receive a copy of the complaint.  If the 
Complaint Committee finds that the board lacks jurisdiction over the complaint or that the 
complaint is without sufficient grounds to move forward, then the complaint is dismissed.  
However, if the complaint merits informal action against the licensee, the board issues one of the 
following to a licensee:  a cease and desist order, a letter of education, a letter of advice, or an 
informal letter.  In rare cases, the findings of the Complaint Committee necessitate formal action 
against the licensee; then the Office of the Attorney General is advised of the board’s intent.  
Data related to the complaint resolution process are recorded on a spreadsheet. 
 
 The vast majority of complaints received by the board in fiscal 2006 and 2007 resulted in 
either closure of the case (30.1 and 54.8 percent, respectively) or informal action against 
licensees (46.3 and 33.3 percent, respectively).  Formal action was taken against licensees in 16 
cases (19.5 percent) in fiscal 2006 and 2 cases (4.8 percent) in fiscal 2007. 
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 Complaint Tracking Ability Improved with New System 
 
 A new electronic tracking system using the Microsoft Access database program has 
greatly improved the accuracy of the annual complaint report as well as the board’s ability to 
report on more aspects of licensee activity.  The preliminary evaluation conducted in 2005 raised 
a concern regarding the complaint tracking system and recommended that, given the low volume 
of complaints, the board implement a comprehensive complaint tracking system that allows a 
user to run reports on the number of complaints received each fiscal year by licensee, the length 
of time needed to resolve a complaint, and outcome categories.  At that time, complaints were 
tracked by an Excel spreadsheet; each annual complaint report necessitated a separate count of 
the types of complaints received.  However, in July 2006, the office launched an online 
complaint management system to better track complaints.  The database program includes 
various fields that can be searched and sorted.  Data dating back to 1997, a full 10-year spectrum, 
have been input into the database and may be searched when running reports on, for instance, a 
licensee’s disciplinary history. 
 
 
Board Promptly Inspects Funeral Establishments Annually 
 
 To ensure that all 307 funeral establishments meet State and federal standards, the 
board’s investigator inspects each funeral establishment.  Board regulations require these 
inspections to be done annually; statute is silent on the frequency of such inspections.  
Establishments can also be inspected at any time based on a complaint or in the interest of public 
health and safety.  Each inspection reviews such areas as the health, sanitation, and proper usage 
of the facility.  Inspections also ensure that proper documentation is furnished to clients, 
establishment signs and advertising are accurate, and proper records are maintained. 
 
 In the 2000 full evaluation of the board, DLS recommended that legislation be enacted to 
clarify the definition and intent of an unannounced inspection of funeral establishments to 
support the board’s inspection policy.  Chapter 156 of 2002 allowed advance notice that the 
investigator may be in the region of the funeral establishment within the following 14 days if 
such notice was given solely to ensure that a licensed mortician would be onsite for the 
inspection. 
 
 DLS finds that the board continues to ensure that each funeral establishment is inspected 
on an annual basis.  As of September 2007, the board investigator had already inspected nearly 
one-third of funeral establishments for fiscal 2008. 
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Chapter 3.  Board Resources 
 
 
Recent Board Vacancies Reduce Consumer Member Representation 
 
 The board is currently 2 members shy of a full 12-member board.  Two consumer 
members vacated the board in April 2006 and July 2007.  The board hopes to fill the vacancies 
by the summer of 2008. 
 
 Under § 7-202 of the Health Occupations Article, the board’s membership must comprise 
four consumer members and eight licensed morticians or funeral directors.  Historically, the 
licensees serving on the board have been morticians due to the much larger number of morticians 
compared with funeral directors. 
 
 To the extent practical, the Governor is responsible for filling a vacancy on the board 
occurring during the term of an appointed member within 60 days of the date of vacancy.  It is 
not clear why 18 months have passed since the first consumer board member departed without 
being replaced.  Due to regular attendance by the remaining members, the board has conducted 
its business without interruption.  The board indicated that the Governor’s Appointments Office 
is aware of the vacancies, and the board has solicited applications for appointments at each of the 
board meetings following a member’s departure.  With the consumer membership of the board 
cut in half, the board should utilize the broad administrative and policy support resources of the 
Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DHMH) to its advantage in facilitating ongoing 
communication with the Governor’s Appointments Office regarding these vacancies. 
 
Recommendation 5:  The board, in conjunction with DHMH, should work closely with the 
Governor’s Office to ensure that the current 17 percent board vacancy rate is addressed as 
soon as possible.  The board should also be diligent in anticipating departures due to the 
consecutive two-term limitation. 
 
 
Board Enjoys Healthy Fiscal Status 
 
 The board became self-supporting in 1992 when the General Assembly established 
special funds for most of the health occupations boards.  The board’s special fund is supported 
entirely by fees collected from licensees and continuing education vendors.  As shown in 
Exhibit 3.1, the board’s fiscal 2007 year-end fund balance was $153,730, 34 percent of its 
operating budget that year. 
 



18 Sunset Review:  Evaluation of the State Board of Morticians and Funeral Directors 
 

 

 
Exhibit 3.1 

State Board of Morticians and Funeral Directors Fund History 
Fiscal 2003 through 2008 

 

 FY 2003 FY 2004 FY 2005 
 

FY 2006  
 

FY 2007 
Estimated 
FY 2008 

Beginning Balance $97,923  $50,508 $148,495 $171,854 $254,618 $153,730 
Revenues Collected 326,648 461,608 312,871 492,560 350,350 496,240 
Total Revenues Available $424,571 $512,116 $461,366 $664,414 $604,968 $649,970 
       
Direct Costs $314,763 $293,880 $216,861 $338,346 369,259 335,626 
Indirect Costs 59,300 69,741 72,651 71,450 81,979 82,765 
Total Expenditures $374,063 $363,621 $289,512 $409,796 $451,238 $418,391 
       
Annual Surplus/(Deficit) (47,415) 97,987 23,359 82,764 (100,888) 77,849 
Biennial Surplus/(Deficit)  50,572  106,123  (18,124) 
       
Ending Balance $50,508 $148,495 $171,854 $254,618 $153,730 $231,579 
       
Ending Balance as a 
  Percentage of Total Costs 

14% 41% 59% 62% 34% 55% 

 
Note:  Revenue and expenditure figures include receipt and repayment of loans in fiscal 2004 though 2006. 
Source:  State Board of Morticians and Funeral Directors 
 
 
 DHMH has determined that a 25 percent surplus is sufficient for a board of this size to 
fund any unforeseen revenue shortfalls or other unexpected expenditures.  Because this board’s 
licensure activity occurs on a biennial basis and most licensees (morticians) now renew in even-
numbered fiscal years, revenues have been much higher in even-numbered years than in odd-
numbered years.  The ability to carry over a fund balance allows the board to cover its direct 
costs as well as the indirect costs charged by DHMH in both years of the licensing cycle.  
Maintaining a fund balance also allows the board to keep fees at the same level for several years. 
 
 Since fiscal 2003, board revenues have ranged from about $300,000 to $500,000.  
Expenditures have varied from just under $300,000 to $450,000.  Revenues and expenditures 
fluctuate due to the biennial license renewal cycle.  Board revenues jumped in fiscal 2006 most 
likely due to a large number of new licensees, including 25 new morticians.  Expenditures 
dipped in fiscal 2005 due to a 50 percent staff vacancy rate for a significant portion of the year.  
In fiscal 2007, expenditures peaked due to printing costs and litigation expenses associated with 
the corporate licensure lawsuit, as well as moving expenses and one-time equipment and 
computer purchases.  Expenditures are expected to decline in fiscal 2008, but this estimate 
assumes no further expenditures due to the lawsuit. 
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Though Fund Balance High, Lawsuit Makes Quick Spend Down Shortsighted 
 
 The board’s fund balance increased dramatically from fiscal 2003 to 2004 due to a 
reduction in expenditures resulting from staff vacancies and an increase in licensure fees.  The 
fund balance has continued to grow to a high of 62 percent of total costs in fiscal 2006.  As 
expenditures outpaced revenues in fiscal 2007, the board was able to draw down the fund 
balance to 34 percent.  Beginning in fiscal 2006, the fund balance follows a “see saw” pattern, 
peaking in even-numbered years as revenues rise with the renewal of mortician licenses and 
declining in odd-numbered years.  The board’s recent biennial expenditures of approximately 
$865,000 exceed biennial revenues of approximately $845,000.  Therefore, the board is moving 
into a “spend-down” mode and should begin to reduce its fund balance, although slowly, through 
routine ongoing expenditures. 
 
 In the late 1990s, the board had amassed a large fund balance.  In seeking to comply with 
a directive from the budget committees to reduce its fund balance to 25 percent, the board 
waived license renewal fees for one licensing period.  Unfortunately, the board miscalculated its 
short-term future needs, and this action resulted in the depletion of the reserve fund.  To cover 
expenditures and replenish its fund balance, the board had to borrow money from other boards 
and significantly increase fees. 
 
 Although the fund balance exceeds the DHMH target of 25 percent, the board could face 
additional expenditures in fiscal 2008 due to its defense of the corporate licensure lawsuit and 
any potential appeals of the ruling.  The board could be required to pay some of the plaintiff’s 
legal costs.  Corporation license renewal fees comprise roughly 6 percent of biennial board 
revenues ($52,500).  If the ruling lifting the longstanding moratorium on corporation licenses 
stands, there would likely be additional corporation licensees and associated revenues.  Thus, the 
board would need to set an initial license fee and likely reduce the current $875 biennial renewal 
fee to reflect the costs associated with issuance of this type of license. 
 
 While the board’s fund balance is twice the target level, in light of past experience of the 
board and the potential for appeals of the ruling, it would be shortsighted for the board to 
proactively reduce its fund balance in fiscal 2008.  Nevertheless, the fund balance should be 
reevaluated at year-end and, if the balance remains high, the board should submit a plan to spend 
down the balance to approximately 25 percent of total costs on a biennial basis. 
 
Recommendation 6:  The board should evaluate its ongoing revenues and expenditures, its 
fund balance, and the appropriate level for corporation license fees.  As part of the 
evaluation, the board should determine any further costs associated with the corporate 
licensure lawsuit as well as any changes in licensure patterns and staffing needs due to the 
ruling.  The board should submit a report to the Senate Education, Health, and 
Environmental Affairs Committee and the House Health and Government Operations 
Committee on or before December 1, 2008, on this evaluation, including any observed 
changes in licensure patterns, any proposals to alter the existing corporation license 
renewal fee, and a plan to reduce the fund balance to 25 percent of biennial operating costs. 
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Chapter 4.  Policy Issues Impacting the Board 
 
 
Preneed Contracts Offer Consumer Choice but Can Be Misunderstood 
 
 Maryland consumers enjoy the option of controlling the eventual location, services, and 
goods associated with their funeral by entering into a preneed contract for funeral services and 
goods with a licensed mortician, funeral director, or surviving spouse.  These consumers have 
the freedom to decide everything from the method of final disposition, cremation or burial, to 
related urns and caskets and memorial service arrangements. 
 
 Regulatory Authority Over Preneed Contracts Expanded 
 
 The Maryland Morticians Act provides regulatory oversight in the area of preneed 
contracting.  Under § 7-405 of the Health Occupations Article, only a licensed mortician, 
licensed funeral director, or holder of a surviving spouse license may offer or agree to provide 
services or merchandise under a preneed contract.  The seller of preneed goods must disclose to 
the consumer all goods and services that are reasonably expected to be required at the time of 
need but are not included in the preneed contract as well as the buyer’s cancellation and refund 
rights.  However, this disclosure does not have to be in the contract itself. 
 
 Furthermore, within 10 days after receiving a preneed contract payment, the seller must 
deposit the payment into an interest-bearing escrow or trust account with a banking institution or 
savings and loan association that is insured by an agency of the federal government.  Under 
certain circumstances, including the sale of a preneed seller’s business, the seller must refund to 
the buyer all payments and interest held for the buyer.  If the buyer of preneed goods or services 
decides to enter into an irrevocable trust with the seller, certain additional consumer disclosures 
must be made and specific trust requirements apply to the sale. 
 
 The legislature strengthened the board’s regulatory authority over preneed contracting in 
2005 by passing Chapter 220, which authorizes the board to audit a licensee that receives 
preneed funds, places preneed funds in a trust, or enters into a preneed contract and to issue 
subpoenas and administer oaths in connection with a preneed audit.  Practically speaking, the 
board investigator picks a random preneed contract from a funeral establishment’s files during 
the annual inspection.  Toward the end of each fiscal year, the board also requires each funeral 
establishment licensee to submit an annual preneed account compliance report prepared by a 
certified public accountant and reviewed by the board’s Preneed Committee. 
 
 Isolated Case of Fraud Leaves Maryland Consumers Uncompensated 
 
 In March 2007, a federal grand jury indicted the owner-operator of a Baltimore funeral 
home for bank, mail, and wire fraud relating to an alleged fraudulent scheme to obtain over 
$525,000 in prepaid funeral expense accounts from Maryland consumers.  The indictment 
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alleges that the owner-operator entered into prepaid contracts with a number of consumers; 
instead of depositing the prepaid advances into a bank account as trustee, the owner-operator 
forged letters authorizing the payment of customer funds to the owner-operator and the funeral 
home’s employees.  The owner-operator then allegedly deposited proceeds in bank accounts 
owned by the owner-operator and the funeral home.  No matter the outcome of the case, the 
affected consumers may never recover these lost preneed funds.  The case of absconding with 
client funds appears to be an isolated one. 
 
 Legislation creating a Family Security Trust Fund, which the board supported, would 
have reimbursed consumers for losses incurred under preneed contracts due to the wrongdoing of 
board licensees; the bills failed in 2002 (House Bill 756), 2004 (House Bill 138), and most 
recently in 2007 (House Bill 1410).  The board advises that industry representatives plan to 
reintroduce the bill with assistance from a member of the General Assembly. 
 
 Room for Improvement in Consumer Education 
 
 In the 2005 preliminary sunset evaluation, the Department of Legislative Services (DLS) 
observed that detailed statutory provisions governing the execution of preneed contracts may not 
be fully understood by the sellers of those goods and services.  This observation was based on 
sharp increases in the number and proportion of complaints related to preneed contracts.  DLS 
recommended that the board address the rising number of preneed complaints and noted that the 
board might wish to consider using its regulatory authority to impose a mandatory minimum 
preneed continuing education requirement on licensees – a certain number of the 12 continuing 
education requirements being devoted to promoting education in this area.  As noted in Chapter 
2, such complaints have since dropped dramatically – in part due to enforcement of regulations.  
In addition, in October 2006, the board’s Continuing Education Committee began authorizing 
licensees to earn preneed continuing education courses offered by approved program sponsors.  
To date, six distinct preneed continuing education courses have been approved and offered to 
licensees.  The board is in the process of approving, internally, regulations for submission to the 
legislature’s Administrative, Executive, and Legislative Review (AELR) Committee.  The 
proposed regulations would require that 1 of the 12 continuing education courses for renewal be 
devoted to preneed education. 
 
 Ultimately, regulation of preneed contracts may not prevent large-scale defrauding of 
customers, as the U.S. Attorney alleges occurred in the case of the Baltimore funeral home 
owner-operator.  Such breaches of fiduciary duty are rare.  For the vast majority of licensees who 
comply with the laws and regulations of the Maryland Morticians Act, the current regulation and 
enforcement efforts of the board, coupled with the continuing education requirements, are largely 
sufficient. 
 
 Some complaints are inevitable as preneed contracts become more popular and because 
the person entering into the contract is not the same person enforcing the contract.  A number of 
licensees interviewed by DLS indicated that, when confronted with a bill for services not 
covered by a decedent’s preneed contract, a relative often complains “But Mom said that 
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everything was covered.”  What may not have been disclosed to the relative by the decedent is 
that incidental or mechanical fees are due when the preneed contract is executed.  Without the 
decedent to corroborate that this information was disclosed prior to entering into the contract, a 
dispute may arise between relatives of the decedent and licensees. 
 
 Nonetheless, the board could improve its efforts in the area of consumer education.  
Further efforts could benefit consumers and their loved ones and limit future complaints due to 
misunderstandings. 
 
Recommendation 7:  Statute should be amended to require a disclosure statement in each 
preneed contract that clearly states that all funeral costs may not be covered under the 
preneed contract. 
 
Recommendation 8:  The board should develop a consumer pamphlet that may be used to 
educate family members upon the death of a loved one who has a preneed contract about 
the items covered under the contract and those not covered, specifically incidental and 
other fees that may be charged when the contract is executed. 
 
 
Cremation Growing in Popularity but Without Uniform Regulation 
 
 Nationwide, as well as in Maryland, cremation is growing in popularity.  According to 
the Cremation Association of North America (CANA), nearly 785,000 cremations were 
performed in the United States in 2005, accounting for 32 percent of all deaths that year.  In 
Maryland alone, more than 12,000 cremations, accounting for almost 28 percent of all State 
deaths, were performed in 2005.  The percentage of cremations performed nationally and within 
the State is expected to rise significantly by 2010 to almost 33 and 39 percent, respectively.  By 
2025, CANA estimates that more than 57 percent of Americans will be cremated instead of 
interred.  CANA cites the consumer’s interest in cost savings as the primary reason for choosing 
cremation over a traditional burial.  However, many crematory owner-operators interviewed by 
DLS cited a cultural shift and growing acceptance of the practice by individuals and religious 
groups, accounting for such a spike. 
 
 A few high-profile cases involving crematories have drawn the general public’s attention 
to the risks associated with the practice of cremation.  The Tri-State Crematory, located in Noble, 
Georgia, received international media attention in February 2002.  The operator of the crematory 
simply stopped cremating human remains since the late 1990s and instead amassed over 300 
bodies in a storage shed and in vaults throughout the property.  Georgia officials were simply 
unable to identify several bodies while others were decomposed to their skeletal remains.  More 
recently, in September 2005, the remains of a 20-month-old child were mistakenly cremated at a 
Maryland funeral home.  The parents had intended to bury the child’s remains; instead, the 
parents were told that the child’s body was mixed up with another body.  These incidents 
underscore the growing concern over the limited regulation of the crematory industry and, more 
specifically, the need for more than basic emissions standards that apply universally to all 
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Maryland crematories.  When errors occur regarding the misidentification of bodies prepared for 
internment, they are reversible.  Bodies may be exhumed for further examination; families put at 
ease.  But when a body is inadvertently cremated, the damage is irreversible. 
 
 Current Law Provides Minimal Regulation Over Cremation 
 
 Of the 28 crematories located in Maryland, 23 are located on funeral establishment 
grounds.  All crematories – those located on cemetery grounds, funeral establishment grounds, 
and freestanding independent crematories – are subject to emissions regulations enforced by the 
Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE).  However, only crematories operated by a 
person or entity licensed by the board (essentially those on funeral establishment grounds) are 
subject to additional statutory provisions under the Maryland Morticians Act.  Limited 
recordation requirements imposed on such licensees under the Act mandate the placement of a 
metal or plastic identification tag in a container holding the cremains (cremated remains) and 
require that a complete file of a cremation be maintained.  A licensee or agent of a licensee is 
also prohibited from indicating that a burial or funeral casket is required for cremation.  The 
board also informally inspects, with permission from the funeral establishment operators, a 
licensee’s onsite crematory during the regularly scheduled annual inspection of the 
establishment.  However, the board’s authority to inspect crematory facilities has been 
questioned.  Practically speaking, this has resulted in an added layer of regulation imposed on 
morticians and funeral directors who operate crematories on funeral establishment grounds. 
 
 All other crematories, including those located on cemetery grounds and independent 
crematories, are subject to only MDE regulatory authority.  To operate any crematory within 
Maryland, the owner must procure separate permits to construct and operate the facility.  A valid 
permit to construct a crematory facility is good for the life of the facility; however, a permit to 
operate a crematory is subject to a five-year limitation and conditioned on the satisfactory 
completion of an annual inspection.  The MDE inspector witnesses a cremation during the 
annual inspection, thereby ensuring that each facility operates with a functioning retort, more 
commonly known as a crematorium furnace; the infamous Tri-State Crematory operator was able 
to dump over 300 bodies on crematory grounds because of a loophole that exempted the Georgia 
crematorium from inspection. 
 
 When a complaint regarding crematory emissions is received by MDE, a follow-up 
inspection is conducted.  If necessary, a notice of violation is issued to the crematory operator, 
and if the violation is not corrected, a corrective order from the Office of the Attorney General is 
issued.  An MDE official indicated that, in the past 12 years, MDE has not taken any action 
beyond a notice of violation against a crematory operator; essentially, a permit to operate a 
crematory has not been revoked by MDE in at least a decade. 
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 There are no consumer protection measures in place that statutorily prohibit the 
cremation of more than one decedent in one container or prohibit the simultaneous cremation of 
pet and human remains.  Furthermore, there are no formal training requirements imposed on 
crematory operators.  Competence among crematory operators cannot adequately be assessed 
absent minimal training or education requirements. 
 
 Regulation in Neighboring Jurisdictions Varies 
 
 Crematories and their operators are not inspected by the state’s regulatory board 
overseeing funeral establishments in 11 states and the District of Columbia; 32 states inspect 
crematories at least once every three years.  Neighboring states are split:  Delaware, the District 
of Columbia, and Pennsylvania do not inspect crematories, while Virginia and West Virginia 
inspect triennially and annually, respectively (see Exhibit 4.1). 
 
 A quarter of the State’s funeral establishment-owned crematory operators were 
interviewed by DLS, and a majority of those interviewed indicated that further regulation of the 
crematory industry is needed.  The inspector could take away valuable information, one person 
suggested, from a routine inspection and share any commonly asked questions or helpful 
suggestions with other State crematory operators through the board’s quarterly newsletter or 
through a continuing education course. 
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Exhibit 4.1 

Crematory Regulation in Neighboring States 
 
State Statutory Language 
  
Delaware No current licensure, certification, or inspection provisions are imposed by the 

Board of Funeral Services.  However, human remains may not be cremated until 
they are identified by next of kin, the person authorized to make funeral 
arrangements, or the medical examiner.  Also, human remains must be 
transported to a crematory using a cot or receptacle. 

  
District of Columbia No current licensure, certification, or inspection provisions are imposed by the 

Board of Funeral Directors. 
  
Pennsylvania No current licensure, certification, or inspection provisions are imposed by the 

Board of Funeral Directors. 
  
Virginia A crematorium, cemeterian, memorial society, or other establishment, 

organization, or person may not cremate a dead human body without having 
registered with the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers.  Crematory 
establishments are inspected triennially by the board.  The board may suspend or 
revoke a crematory registration under certain circumstances. 

  
West Virginia All crematory operators must be certified by the Board of Funeral Service 

Examiners.  To obtain a certificate, the operator has to complete a class on 
cremation and operating a crematory, remit a fee, and complete other 
requirements the board prescribes.  The physical crematory is issued a separate 
license issued by the board and inspected by the board annually.  Operator 
certificates and crematory licenses are renewed biennially. 

 
Source:  Department of Legislative Services’ review of Del. Code § 3100 through 3123 (2007); D.C. Code §§ 3-401 
through 3-420 (2007); Pa. Code §§ 479.1 through 480.11 (2007); Va. Code §§ 54.1-2800 through 54.1-2825 (2007); 
and W.Va. Code §§ 30-6-1 through 30-6-32 (2007). 
 
 

New York and Several Other States Have Implemented Certification 
Requirements 

 
 According to CANA, 12 states require certification of crematory operators:  Arizona, 
California, Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, Nebraska, North Carolina, New Hampshire, South 
Carolina, Texas, West Virginia, and, most recently, New York.  Although CANA offers training 
to all crematory operators – and not just CANA members – in the area of environmental 
considerations, packaging and handling of human remains during the cremation process, and 
crematory operations, CANA supports additional measures taken by states.  Half of Maryland 
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crematories are members of CANA, but membership is not contingent on the fulfillment of any 
educational requirements. 
 
 In 2007, New York enacted legislation requiring certification of crematory employees by 
an approved organization.  CANA is currently the only approved organization and offers 
certification courses at four state sites consisting of all-day classroom instruction that covers 
principles of combustion, cremation and the environment, basics of operating cremation 
equipment, and a segment on New York state laws, rules, and regulations.  In order to complete 
the certification process, applicants must pass an 85-question open book examination offered by 
CANA.  Certification, unlike the biennial certification requirement imposed by West Virginia, is 
valid for five years.  Existing crematory employees have until the end of 2007 to become 
certified in order to handle a crematorium while new employees must be certified within one 
year of their employment. 
 

In the Absence of Legislation, Board Seeks to Strengthen Regulation of 
Cremation 

 
 Legislative proposals that would have provided for dual oversight of cremation by the 
board and the Office of Cemetery Oversight were introduced during the 2001, 2002, and 2003 
sessions; all of these proposals failed.  In 2005, DLS recommended in sunset evaluations of the 
Office of Cemetery Oversight and the board that both entities work with MDE in formulating an 
appropriate regulatory framework for cremation.  That has not happened.  Although the chair of 
the Office of Cemetery Oversight’s advisory council and the president of the board exchanged 
written correspondence from May through October 2006 regarding the need for crematory 
regulation, the parties failed to reach an agreement on how to implement any regulations.  
Nevertheless, in 2006, the office agreed in its response to a DLS publication that a need for more 
stringent crematory regulation exists; it did not challenge the DLS recommendation that the 
board be given the authority to regulate all State crematories, including free-standing crematories 
and crematories located on cemetery and funeral establishment grounds.  The board already 
inspects crematories on funeral establishment grounds on a voluntary basis and has the expertise 
and fiscal stability to carry out broader regulatory oversight. 
 
 During the 2006 legislative interim, the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene 
(DHMH) submitted proposed regulations to the AELR Committee that would require 
(1) inspection of a funeral establishment’s crematory to ensure that the crematory is maintained 
and operated in accordance with the board’s regulations; (2) crematory operators to post all 
licenses and permits; and (3) furnaces to be used exclusively for the final disposition of human, 
as opposed to pet remains.  The proposed regulations were published in the Maryland Register 
on December 8, 2006.  The committee delayed the adoption of the regulations, and DHMH never 
moved forward for final action.  The regulations remain on hold due to the committee’s action. 
 
 While the board’s proactive efforts to regulate its own licensees by way of the inspection 
regulations are commendable, Maryland consumers who choose to be cremated in facilities 
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located on cemetery grounds or independent property would not benefit.  Due to the inability of 
the board and the Office of Cemetery Oversight to reach an agreement on which entity should 
enforce such provisions and the fact that 82 percent of crematories in Maryland are located on 
funeral establishment grounds, the board should be given statutory authority to ensure that all 
crematories are inspected and subject to the requirements found under the Maryland Morticians 
Act.  This would ensure that all Maryland consumers of cremation services receive equal 
protection by way of regulation of all crematory establishments. 
 
Recommendation 9:  At a minimum, statute should be amended to require the board to 
inspect all Maryland crematories annually under a uniform crematory statute that imposes 
the same inspection requirements on all crematories regardless of location.  Specifically, 
crematory regulations under the Maryland Morticians Act should be extended to all State 
crematories.  All Maryland crematories should be required to file an annual statement 
describing the crematory’s location, ownership status, number and names of employees, 
last MDE inspection, and expiration date of the MDE-issued five-year permit to operate.  
On request, the annual statements should be made available by the board to the public for 
inspection.  Crematory operators who fail a board inspection or do not file an annual 
statement should be subject to informal disciplinary action imposed by the board. 
 
Uncodified language should be adopted requiring the board to report to the Senate 
Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee and the House Health and 
Government Operations Committee on or before December 1, 2011, regarding the 
information gathered from annual statements. 
 
Recommendation 10:  The General Assembly may wish to consider further strengthening 
regulatory authority over cremation by amending statute to require all crematory owners 
and employees who handle human remains to complete a certification program.  
Certification could be offered by an organization authorized to do so by the board.  Any 
such certification programs proposed by applicant organizations should include a 
component on environmental safety, incinerator operation and safety, and applicable State 
laws and regulations. 
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Chapter 5.  Conclusion 
 
 
Board Effectively Regulates Licensees and Protects Consumers 
 
 The Department of Legislative Services (DLS) finds that the board is efficient and 
effective in its licensing, complaint, inspection, and disciplinary functions.  The board has 
followed up on past DLS sunset recommendations and implemented suggestions for improving 
its operations such as complaint tracking.  Furthermore, the board has improved its financial 
situation as well as licensee compliance with regulations such as preneed requirements.  In 
conducting this evaluation, DLS found board members and staff to be proactive and responsive. 
 
 Overall, DLS finds that the board conducts itself in a productive, professional manner 
and has been successful at protecting consumer interests.  Therefore, DLS recommends that the 
board’s termination date be extended for 10 years.  In the interim, the board should report on its 
implementation of the nonstatutory recommendations included in this report and continue to 
work with the General Assembly to improve oversight and regulation of the death care industry. 
 
Recommendation 11:  Statute should be amended to extend the termination date of the 
State Board of Morticians and Funeral Directors to July 1, 2018.  In addition, the board 
should report to the Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee and 
the House Health and Government Operations Committee on or before October 1, 2009, 
regarding the status of the nonstatutory recommendations contained in this report. 
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Appendix 1.  Board Membership and Staff 
 
 

Board Members 
 

Licensed Morticians and Funeral Directors 
 

Michael J. Ruck, Sr. – President 
Brian L. Haight, Jr – 1st Vice President 
Gladys A. Sewell – 2nd Vice President 

David L. Hovatter – Secretary 
Donald V. Borgwardt 
Robert Bradshaw, Jr. 
Marshall W. Jones, Jr. 

Michael D. Kruger 
 

Consumers 
 

Rev. Henry Green 
Vernon L. Strayhorn, Sr. 

Consumer Vacancy* 
Consumer Vacancy* 

 
 
 

Staff 
 

Laurie Sheffield-James – Executive Director 
LouAnn Cox– Licensing Coordinator 

Grant D. Gerber – Board Counsel 
Lawrence M. Blickman – Health Occupations Investigator 

Sheryl McDonald – Office Secretary 
 
 
 
 
* Appointments for the vacancies are expected by summer 2008. 
Source:  State Board of Morticians and Funeral Directors 
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Appendix 2.  Draft Legislation 
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Appendix 3.  Written Comments of the 
State Board of Morticians and Funeral Directors 
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