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The Honorable Bill Ferguson, President of the Senate
The Honorable Adrienne A. Jones, Speaker of the House of Delegates
Members of the General Assembly

Ladies and Gentlemen:

We are pleased to present you with The 71 Day Report — A Review of the 2020 Legislative
Session.

As you know, due to the public health crisis surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic, the
Maryland General Assembly adjourned early on March 18, 2020. In April 2020, the department
published the 2020 Session Major Issues Review, which provided an overview of the fiscal 2021
budget as well as major issues addressed by the General Assembly in the 2020 session. The 71
Day Report discusses additional legislation considered by the General Assembly that was not
covered in the 2020 Session Major Issues Review.

The 71 Day Report is divided into multiple parts, each dealing with a major policy area.
Each part contains a discussion of the majority of bills passed in that policy area, including
comparisons with previous sessions and current law, background information, as well as a
discussion of significant bills that did not pass. Bills passed by the General Assembly that were
subsequently vetoed by Governor Lawrence J. Hogan, Jr. for policy reasons or as a result of the
economic challenges resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic are also discussed in the report.

We hope this report will be of assistance to you, and we remain available through telework
to assist you however you may need during this difficult time.

" Sincerely,
Vi f At Ry Ritng
Victoria L. Gruber Ryan Bishop
Executive Director Director
vicg@mlis.state.md.us ryan.bishop@mlis.state.md.us
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Part B
Taxes

Property Tax

Property Tax Administration
Business Personal Property Tax Filing Requirements

In Maryland, there is a tax on business-owned personal property that is imposed and
collected by local governments. Personal property generally includes business property, including
furniture, fixtures, office and industrial equipment, machinery, tools, supplies, inventory, and any
other property not classified as real property. To provide for uniform assessments, the State
Department of Assessments and Taxation (SDAT) is responsible for assessing all personal
property. Each county or municipal government is responsible for issuing the tax bills and
collecting the tax. Senate Bill 115 (Ch. 529) alters a reference to a specified personal property tax
report and is intended to clarify the different filing requirements for business entities that have and
do not have personal property. Only businesses with personal property are required to file a
personal property report; however, all business entities in the State must file an annual report with
the appropriate fee.

Assessment of Country Club and Golf Course Property

The Budget Reconciliation and Financing Act of 2020, Senate Bill 192 (Ch. 538), included
a provision that alters the special use assessment for country clubs and golf courses that enter into
or extend the term of a specified agreement with SDAT on or after June 1, 2020. The assessment
increases from $1,000 per acre to the lesser of market value or $2,000 per acre (year one),
$3,500 per acre (year two), and $5,000 per acre (year three). Beginning in the fourth year of the
agreement or the extended term, the annual per acre assessment increases by a specified percentage
based on a calculated assessment rate index.
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Property Tax Credits
Homeowners’ and Renters’ Property Tax Credit Programs

The Homeowners’ Property Tax Credit Program is a State funded program (i.e., the State
reimburses local governments) providing credits against State and local real property taxation for
homeowners who qualify based on a sliding scale of property tax liability and income.

The Renters’ Property Tax Credit Program provides financial assistance for elderly,
disabled, and certain low-income renters from the cost attributable to State and local real property
taxes. The concept behind the program is that renters indirectly pay property taxes as part of their
rent and thus should have some protection, as do homeowners. The program makes payments
directly to eligible renters to provide relief for the “assumed property tax” that renters indirectly
pay as part of their rent.

Senate Bill 48 (Ch. 507) alters various deadlines for the application and processing for the
homeowners’ and renters’ property tax credits. The Act (1) extends the deadline to apply for the
Renters’ Property Tax Credit Program from September 1 to October 1; (2) extends the deadline to
apply for the Homeowners’ Property Tax Credit Program from September 1 to October 1;
(3) specifies that SDAT must make the application for the Homeowners’ Property Tax Credit
Program available by February 15; and (4) changes the date by which SDAT must request county
governments to prepare a tax bill that reflects the final tax liability after the application of the
Homeowners’ Property Tax Credit from May 1 to April 15.

Homestead Property Tax Credit Program

The Homestead Property Tax Credit Program (assessment caps) provides tax credits
against State, county, and municipal real property taxes for owner-occupied residential properties
for the amount of real property taxes resulting from an annual assessment increase that exceeds a
certain percentage or “cap” in any given year. The State requires the cap on assessment increases
to be set at 10% for State property tax purposes; however, local governments have the authority to
lower the cap. In fiscal 2020, 21 counties had assessment caps below 10%.

House Bill 1076 (Ch. 420) alters the deadline for a new owner of a dwelling to apply to
SDAT to have the date of the deed accepted as the date of transfer of the dwelling for purposes of
the homestead property tax credit. The deadline for submitting the application is extended from
September 1 of the first taxable year following the date of the deed to September 1 of the second
taxable year after the date of the deed. House Bill 1076 provides that the property tax is not due
on a dwelling for the second taxable year following the date of the deed until 30 days after a revised
tax bill is sent to the homeowner if the homeowner submits an application to have the date of the
deed accepted as the date of transfer of the dwelling for purposes of the homestead property tax
credit after May 1 of the first taxable year following the date of the deed and there is a reduction
in property tax resulting from the tax credit. House Bill 1076 also requires SDAT to include in its
notice to homeowners regarding the homestead property tax credit that an individual may apply to
the department to have the date of deed accepted as the date of transfer for purposes of the tax
credit.
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Disabled Veterans

Senate Bill 417/House Bill 257 (Chs. 629 and 630) authorize local governments to grant
a property tax credit for the dwelling house of disabled veterans who meet certain eligibility
requirements. Local governments are authorized to continue providing the property tax credit to
the surviving spouse of the veteran. In order to qualify for the property tax credit, the disabled
veteran’s federal adjusted gross income for the immediately preceding taxable year cannot exceed
$100,000. The amount of the property tax credit is based on the disabled veteran’s level of
service-connected disability.

Disabled Military Personnel and Surviving Spouses

Senate Bill 700 (Ch. 642) alters the eligibility criteria of a local property tax credit
established for elderly individuals and veterans by extending eligibility to certain disabled military
personnel under the age of 65. Eligible individuals include specified active duty, retired, or
honorably discharged members of (1) the uniformed services of the United States as defined in
10 U.S.C. § 101; (2) the military reserves; or (3) the national guard. To qualify for the property tax
credit, the individuals must have a service-connected disability as defined in a local law. In
addition, a surviving spouse of these individuals who has not remarried also qualifies for the
property tax credit. Local governments are authorized to establish the criteria that define a
service-connected disability of an eligible individual.

Local Income Tax Offset

Local governments are authorized to grant a property tax credit against the county or
municipal property tax imposed on real property in order to offset increases in local income tax
revenues resulting from a county income tax rate in excess of 2.6%. House Bill 1200 (Ch. 445)
alters the eligibility criteria for this local property tax credit. In order to be eligible for the property
tax credit, the homeowner must have an application for the homestead property tax credit on file
with SDAT. Any increase in county property tax revenue resulting from the Act may not be
counted toward a property tax revenue limitation provision in a county charter. The Act is
applicable to all taxable years beginning after June 30, 2022.

Property Tax Exemptions
Racing and Community Development Act of 2020

Among the many provisions related to the redevelopment of Laurel Park and Pimlico Race
Course, Senate Bill 987 (Ch. 590) provides a property tax exemption for the interests of a person
in the real property of or an improvement at the Laurel Park or Pimlico Race Course racing facility
sites for the duration of specified long-term agreements.

For further discussion of Senate Bill 987, see the subpart “Horse Racing and Gaming”
within Part H — Business and Economic Issues of the 2020 Session Major Issues Review.


http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=sb0417&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=hb0257&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=sb0700&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=hb1200&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=sb0987&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=sb0987&ys=2020rs

B-4 The 71 Day Report
Maryland Farm Bureau

Senate Bill 802/House Bill 889 (Chs. 634 and 635) exempt from State and local property
taxes property owned by the Maryland Farm Bureau that is used exclusively for (1) the agricultural
education of the public; (2) aiding and encouraging agriculture in the State; (3) assisting in the
collection, analysis, and dissemination of information relating to agriculture; or (4) the
maintenance of a natural or recreational area for public use.

Data Center Personal Property

Senate Bill 397 (Ch. 640) provides a sales and use tax exemption for the sale of qualified
data center personal property for use at a qualified data center. In addition, Senate Bill 397
authorizes local governments to reduce or eliminate the percentage of the assessment of any data
center personal property used in a qualified data center that is subject to local property tax.

For a further discussion of Senate Bill 397, see the subpart “Sales Tax” within this part of
this 71 Day Report.

Tax Sales

Chapter 730 of 2019 established the State Tax Sale Ombudsman within SDAT and
authorized counties and municipalities to withhold from tax sale dwellings of homeowners who
are low income, over 65 years old, or are disabled, in accordance with criteria established by the
local jurisdiction. Chapter 730 also required SDAT to conduct an annual survey of each county
and any municipality that conducts a tax sale to obtain specified data. SDAT must analyze and
summarize the information collected through the survey annually in a report and (1) publish the
report on its website and (2) on or before December 31 each year, submit the report to specified
committees of the General Assembly.

House Bill 1181 (Ch. 440) alters and expands the data collection and reporting
responsibilities of SDAT regarding tax sales that are required by Chapter 730 of 2019.

Special Taxing Districts and Tax Increment Financing
Eastern Shore Counties

House Bill 1500 (Ch. 481) authorizes code counties in the Eastern Shore Class — Caroline,
Kent, Queen Anne’s, and Worcester counties — to establish special taxing districts, impose
ad valorem or special taxes, and issue bonds for the purpose of financing the cost of certain
infrastructure improvements.

For a further discussion of House Bill 1500, see the subpart “Local Government —
Generally” within Part D — Local Government of this 7/ Day Report.
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Charles County

Senate Bill 431/House Bill 345 (Chs. 174 and 175) authorize Charles County to use its
authority related to tax increment financing and special taxing districts for convention, conference,
and visitors’ centers and related purposes, subject to specified conditions.

For a further discussion of Senate Bill 431/House Bill 345, see the subpart “Economic
Development” within Part H — Business and Economic Issues of this 7/ Day Report.

Local Property Taxes
Baltimore City

Senate Bill 63 (Ch. 509) reauthorizes Baltimore City to grant a property tax credit for
specified newly constructed dwellings by extending the termination date of the property tax credit
from June 30, 2019, to June 30, 2025. Senate Bill 63 also alters eligibility requirements for the
property tax credit and the calculation of the tax credit. An eligible dwelling is defined as
residential real property that is a newly constructed dwelling or a substantially rehabilitated
dwelling.

Baltimore County

House Bill 505 (Ch. 226) authorizes Baltimore County to grant a property tax credit for
the dwelling of an individual (1) who has resided in the dwelling for at least 30 consecutive years;
(2) whose combined income does not exceed $60,000; and (3) who is at least 65 years old. The
amount of the property tax credit equals 100% of any increase in the county property tax rate
exceeding $1.10 (per $100 of assessment).

Frederick County

Senate Bill 264/House Bill 353 (Chs. 178 and 179) authorize Frederick County to provide
a grant to an eligible elderly or disabled renter instead of a property tax credit.

Garrett County

Senate Bill 354/House Bill 787 (Chs. 327 and 328) increase the interest rate for overdue
property taxes in Garrett County from 1.0% to 1.5%.

Prince George’s County

Chapter 402 of 2012 authorized Prince George’s County to exempt specified economic
development projects located in designated focus areas from county real property taxes.
House Bill 434 (Ch. 206) repeals the June 30, 2021 termination date of this authorization. In
addition, the Act authorizes Prince George’s County to enter into multiple payment in lieu of taxes
agreements for different phases of an economic development project.
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St. Mary’s County

House Bill 414 (Ch. 199) authorizes St. Mary’s County to grant up to a 25% property tax
credit for commercial real property that is located in an eligible area of the county and has had
improvements made on the property on or after July 1, 2020. The duration of the property tax
credit may not exceed 10 years. St. Mary’s County must define any areas of the county and
improvements to the property that are eligible for the property tax credit. The county may provide
for the amount and duration of the property tax credit and other provisions necessary to administer
the tax credit. The Act also extends the termination date for the authority of St. Mary’s County to
impose a transfer tax from July 1, 2020, to October 1, 2024.

House Bill 155 (Ch. 84) repeals a requirement in St. Mary’s County that excess funds from
the emergency services tax that exceed the budgetary needs of emergency services providers be
used to reduce the emergency services tax rate for the next fiscal year. Under the bill, any excess
funds may be used to reduce the emergency services tax rate.

Somerset County

The Somerset County Commissioners may exempt from county taxation factories,
manufacturing industries, fabricating or assembling facilities, and industrial plants; the land,
machinery, and tools that those facilities use; and stock in trade or products of the facilities that
are located in the county. Senate Bill 352/House Bill 761 (Chs. 317 and 318) establish that certain
limitations on the duration of this property tax exemption for manufacturing property in
Somerset County do not apply to an exemption granted to Eastern Shore Forest Products, Inc.

Income Tax

Pass-through Entities and Corporations

Under the federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017, the deduction for state and local taxes
paid is limited to $10,000 — $5,000 for married taxpayers filing separately — in aggregate of income
or sales taxes, real property taxes, and certain personal property taxes through tax year 2025. In
response to this limitation, several states have enacted or proposed legislation subjecting
pass-through entities (PTE) to an entity-level income tax in order to allow state and local taxes to
be deducted notwithstanding the Ilimitation. Under current Internal Revenue Service
interpretations, taxes paid by entities are fully deductible and not subject to the limitation.
Senate Bill 523 (Ch. 641) authorizes a PTE to elect to be taxed at the entity level for the income
tax. A PTE must pay the tax imposed on nonresident entity members as required under current
law. An individual or corporation that is a member of a PTE may claim a tax credit against the
State income tax equal to the tax paid by the PTE on the member’s share of the PTE’s taxable
income.

Prior to tax year 2018, corporations were generally required to use either a three-factor
apportionment formula of payroll, property, and sales, with sales double weighted or, in the case
of a manufacturing corporation, a one-factor formula based on sales, referred to as a single sales
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factor formula. Chapters 341 and 342 of 2018 phase in a requirement that all corporations subject
to the corporate income tax, with an exception for specified worldwide headquartered companies,
use a single sales factor formula to apportion income to the State. Senate Bill 523 alters the number
of employees that a worldwide headquartered company must have for purposes of the single sales
apportionment exemption. If the parent corporation is a franchisor, it must be part of a group of
corporations that employs at least 400 full-time employees at the parent corporation’s principal
executive office that is located within the State, among other requirements, to be considered a
worldwide headquartered corporation.

Tax Credit Legislation

House Bill 45 (Ch. 38) alters the Opportunity Zone Enhancement Program by (1) limiting
the enhanced tax benefits available under the program to tax years 2019 through 2026;
(2) restricting eligibility for the enhanced benefits under the biotechnology investment incentive
and cybersecurity investment incentive tax credit programs; (3) requiring businesses to pay the
greater of 120% of the State or county minimum wage; and (4) altering certain application and
reporting requirements. House Bill 45 also prohibits golf courses, country clubs, tanning salons,
and bail bondsmen from participating in the More Jobs for Marylanders Program.

The Historic Revitalization Tax Credit Program provides tax credits for commercial, small
commercial, and owner-occupied residential property rehabilitations. House Bill 862 (Ch. 633)
allows, subject to specified requirements, the commercial tax credit to be transferable.
House Bill 759 (Ch. 314) allows the rehabilitation of a condominium or cooperative project to
qualify for the small commercial tax credit if the rehabilitation is undertaken by the governing
body of the condominium or cooperative housing corporation, and the rehabilitation targets only
the common elements of the structure.

Chapter 389 of 2017 established a credit against the State income tax for the costs of
installing an energy storage system. House Bill 980 (Ch. 636) alters the energy storage system tax
credit by (1) increasing to $150,000 the maximum tax credit that may be claimed for a system
installed on commercial property and (2) specifying that a person that owns or pays for the
installation of a system that supplies electrical energy intended for use on a residential or
commercial property may claim the tax credit.

Under the More Jobs for Marylanders Program, there is a credit against the State income
tax for individuals or corporations that employ an eligible apprentice. Senate Bill 751 (Ch. 643)
extends the termination date of the apprenticeship income tax credit by five years and alters the
tax credit program by altering the definition of an apprentice, increasing the credit from $1,000 to
$3,000 for each eligible apprentice under specified circumstances, and limiting the amount of
credits that can be claimed by a taxpayer. The Act also removes the $500,000 annual cap on the
program and creates an apprenticeship tax credit reserve fund. The Governor must include in the
annual budget bill an appropriation to the fund, and the amount of credits that can be awarded each
year cannot exceed the amount appropriated to the fund.
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Subtraction Modification Legislation

House Bill 1510 (Ch. 482) creates a subtraction modification for the value of the rental
expense subsidy received by a Howard County resident under the Live Where You Work Program
of the Downtown Columbia Plan.

Chapter 519 of 2016 established a subtraction modification of up to $5,000 of the income
earned by a law enforcement officer if (1) the officer resides in the political subdivision in which
the officer is employed and (2) the crime rate in the political subdivision exceeds the State’s crime
rate. House Bill 276 (Ch. 631) expands the subtraction modification for local law enforcement
officers by extending eligibility to law enforcement officers of the Maryland-National Capital Park
Police and Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission Police Force.

Tax Administration

House Bill 621 (Ch. 632) extends the time period in which local jurisdictions must
reimburse the local income tax reserve account pursuant to specified refunds resulting from the

final decision under Maryland State Comptroller of the Treasury v. Brian Wynne, et ux.,
431 Md. 147 (2013).

Sales Tax

Exemptions
Aircraft Materials, Parts, and Equipment

Senate Bill 121 (Ch. 638) exempts from the State sales and use tax the sale of materials,
parts, or equipment used to repair, maintain, or upgrade aircraft or the avionics systems of aircraft
if the aircraft has (1) a maximum gross takeoff weight of less than 12,500 pounds or (2) a maximum
gross takeoff weight of 12,500 pounds or more and is primarily used in interstate or foreign
commerce.

Artificial Hearing Devices

House Bill 1326 (Ch. 637) exempts from the State sales and use tax the following parts
and equipment for an artificial hearing device: (1) a custom-made earmold; (2) a battery charger;
or (3) areceiver. The Act also repeals an existing exemption for a replacement cord for an artificial
hearing device.

Construction Material and Warehousing Equipment

Senate Bill 185 (Ch. 639) exempts from the State sales and use tax a sale of construction
material or warehousing equipment purchased by a person solely for use in a qualified opportunity
zone in Baltimore County or a target redevelopment area in Washington County. The Act defines
“qualified opportunity zone” as any real property owned or leased by a person in Baltimore County
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that (1) was designated as an enterprise zone and an opportunity zone by January 1, 2020, and
(2) was previously owned at any time by the United States or its subsidiaries, successors, or
assigns. A “target redevelopment area” is any real property owned or leased by a person in
Washington County that (1) was designated as an enterprise zone as of January 1, 2020, and was
previously owned at any time by CSX Railroad or its subsidiaries, successors, or assigns or (2) was
previously owned at any time by the United States or its subsidiaries, successors, or assigns.

Data Centers

A data center houses computer systems, computer storage equipment, and associated
infrastructure that businesses use to organize, process, store, and disseminate large amounts of
data. Senate Bill 397 (Ch. 640) exempts from the State sales and use tax the sale of qualified
personal property for use at a qualified data center if, within three years after submitting an
application for the exemption, an individual or corporation has (1) invested at least $2.0 million in
qualified data center personal property and created at least five qualified positions for a data center
located within a Tier I area or (2) invested at least $5.0 million in qualified data center personal
property and created at least five qualified positions for a data center located in any other area of
the State.

Finally, Senate Bill 397 authorizes local governments to reduce or eliminate the percentage
of the assessment of any data center personal property used in a qualified data center. For further
discussion of the personal property tax exemption under this Act, see the subpart “Property Tax”
within this part of this 7/ Day Report.

Licensed Caterers

Senate Bill 843 (Ch. 644) exempts from the State sales and use tax the sale of materials,
equipment, or supplies to a licensed caterer if they are (1) to be used by the caterer to perform a
contract for catering services and (2) intended for resale by the caterer and to be used directly or
predominantly by the caterer in performing a catering contract. The exemption does not apply if
the licensed caterer is a food service facility that is primarily engaged in the preparation and service
of food to the general public at the facility.

Peer-to-peer Car Sharing

A peer-to-peer car sharing program is an online platform that is in the business of
connecting vehicle owners with drivers to enable the sharing of motor vehicles for financial
consideration. Chapter 852 of 2018 established (1) a regulatory framework for peer-to-peer car
sharing in the State and (2) a sales and use tax rate of 8% for related sales and charges, which
terminates June 30, 2020. Chapter 735 of 2019 specified that if the 8% tax rate terminates,
peer-to-peer car sharing programs will be considered marketplace facilitators and thereby
responsible for collecting and remitting the 6% State sales and use tax, beginning July 1, 2020.
Senate Bill 573 (Ch. 567) extends the termination date of the 8% sales and use tax rate on
peer-to-peer car sharing through June 30, 2021, and requires the Department of Legislative
Services to study and report to the General Assembly by December 31, 2020, on specified taxes
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and fees relating to short-term vehicle rentals and peer-to-peer car sharing in this State and other
states.

Digital Products and Electronic Smoking Devices

Other sales tax legislation relating to digital products and electronic smoking devices was
addressed in the 2020 Session Major Issues Review.

Miscellaneous Taxes

Estate Tax

House Bill 219 (Ch. 111) authorizes the Comptroller to examine the Maryland estate tax
return of a predeceased spouse in order to validate a deceased spousal unused exclusion (DSUE)
election and the amount of DSUE exclusion claimed by an estate. The Act does not provide the
Comptroller authority to impose an additional tax on the estate of the predeceased spouse beyond
that provided under current law. The Act conforms State law to federal law by requiring an
individual to file a Maryland estate tax return within two years after the date of death of a decedent
if the return is filed solely for the purpose of making a DSUE election. The Act also clarifies the
calculation of the DSUE amount in the event that the last predeceased spouse was a Maryland
resident who died before January 1, 2019.

Admissions and Amusement Tax

Senate Bill 465 (passed) alters the distribution of State admissions and amusement (A&A)
tax revenues. The bill extends a budget mandate for the Maryland E-Nnovation Initiative Fund
(MEIF), provides a distribution of revenues from the A&A tax on electronic bingo to the Town of
Chesapeake Beach and the Michael Erin Busch Sports Fund (contingent upon the taking effect of
House Bill 1659 (passed)), and maintains the required $1 million distribution to the Maryland
State Arts Council beyond fiscal 2021. For a discussion of the bill’s changes to MEIF, see the
subpart “Higher Education” within Part L — Education of this 7/ Day Report. For a discussion of
House Bill 1659, see the subpart “Economic Development” within Part H — Business and
Economic Issues of this 7/ Day Report.

On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed both of these bills due to concerns regarding the
economic challenges resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic.

Transfer Tax

House Bill 414 (Ch. 199) extends the termination date for St. Mary’s County’s authority
to impose a transfer tax to October 1, 2024. For a further discussion of House Bill 414, see the
subpart “Property Tax” within this part of this 7/ Day Report.
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House Bill 848 (Ch. 342) requires that revenue derived from the Montgomery County
agricultural land transfer tax be used for agricultural land preservation programs or other programs
that support agriculture in the county and prohibits the tax from applying to a land transfer if the
land was subject to the tax at the time of a previous transfer. The Act also requires that the tax be
reduced by 65% if the land was assessed on the basis of any assessment other than the farm or
agricultural use assessment for five or more full consecutive taxable years before the transfer.

House Bill 1454 (Ch. 477) authorizes Howard County to increase the local transfer tax rate
above the 1% required rate and requires the additional revenue to be used for various purposes. In
addition, the Act exempts the conveyance of moderate income housing units from the tax.

Miscellaneous Local Taxes

House Bill 1161 (Ch. 435) alters the type of mobile home tax that Washington County
may impose by repealing the authority to impose a tax based on the gross receipts of mobile home
parks. Instead, the Act authorizes the county to impose a tax on the assessed value of mobile
homes.

Other legislation relating to miscellaneous taxes was addressed in the 2020 Major Issues
Review.
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Part C
State Government

State Agencies, Offices, and Officials/Regulations

State Agencies
Maryland Capitol Police

The Department of General Services (DGS) has jurisdiction over the operation,
maintenance, and protection of certain buildings and public grounds in Annapolis and Baltimore.
The Maryland Capitol Police (MCP) is a full-service police department within DGS that provides
law enforcement and security services for certain State buildings and certain State parking lots and
garages in Annapolis and Baltimore.

Senate Bill 561 (Ch. 564) expands the jurisdiction of DGS and MCP to include any
State-owned or State-leased buildings and grounds, including extending 1,000 feet in any direction
from the boundaries of those buildings and grounds. However, the Act specifies that the Presiding
Officers of the General Assembly have the final authority over the use of and access to State
legislative buildings in Annapolis by the members of the General Assembly, their staff, and
personnel of the Department of Legislative Services.

The Secretary of General Services must appoint the Chief of MCP, who serves at the
pleasure of the Secretary. The chief must supervise and direct the affairs and operations of MCP.
Within the limits of any appropriation, and as the Secretary determines necessary, the Secretary
must appoint police employees for the efficient administration of MCP. The Secretary must make
each police employee appointment from a list of eligible candidates in accordance with the
provisions of the State Personnel and Pensions Article.

Within the jurisdiction of MCP, an MCP officer has all of the powers granted to a peace
officer and a police officer of the State, provided the officer meets the legal requirements set forth
by the Maryland Police Training and Standards Commission and is designated by DGS as a police
officer. Each police employee, including an individual who is appointed to MCP for training before
regular assignment as a police employee, must remain in a probationary status for a period of

C-1


http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=sb0561&ys=2020rs

C-2 The 71 Day Report

one year after the date of appointment to MCP. The Secretary may terminate the employment of a
police employee in probationary status for any reason that the Secretary considers sufficient.

Baltimore Police Department

Although the Baltimore Police Department (BPD) is a State agency, the State does not
control the appointment or removal of the police commissioner and is not responsible for providing
funding for the operations of the police department. However, the State retains the ability to amend
the law relating to the department in order to implement policy changes.

Chapter 73 of 2019 requires the Office of Legislative Audits (OLA), beginning
July 1, 2020, and at least once every six years thereafter, to conduct an audit of BPD to evaluate
the effectiveness and efficiency of the financial management practices of BPD. Senate Bill 140
(Ch. 535) makes several changes relating to the existing requirement for OLA to conduct an audit
of BPD to evaluate the effectiveness and efficiency of the financial management practices of BPD.
Specifically, the Act (1) allows for multiple audits to be conducted; (2) requires that the scope and
objectives of the audit or audits be determined by the Legislative Auditor; (3) specifies that the
employees or authorized representatives of OLA must have access to and may inspect the records,
including those that are confidential by law, of BPD and the Baltimore City government to perform
the required audits; and (4) requires the Baltimore City government to make available to OLA all
city employees, records, and information systems deemed necessary by the Legislative Auditor to
conduct the required audit or audits.

Special Education Ombudsman

Senate Bill 504 (Ch. 562) establishes the Special Education Ombudsman in the Office of
the Attorney General to serve as a resource to provide information and support to parents, students,
and educators regarding special education rights and services. The ombudsman must arrange for a
toll-free telephone number, available in English as well as other appropriate languages, to assist
an individual seeking information or advice about special education. Information about the
ombudsman and toll-free number must be provided as specified. By July 1, 2022, and each July 1
thereafter, the ombudsman must, consistent with federal and State privacy laws, submit a report to
certain committees of the General Assembly regarding (1) the number and type of calls made to
the toll-free number; (2) the types of complaints filed by parents; (3) a summary of services
provided by the ombudsman over the previous year; and (4) recommendations concerning the
State’s implementation of special education services and procedures.

Canal Place Preservation and Development Authority

Chapter 789 of 2018 established a Task Force on the Canal Place Preservation and
Development Authority to determine how to alter the powers of the authority as a State agency in
order to align the mission and purpose of the Canal Place Heritage Area with that of other certified
heritage areas. The task force was required to submit its findings and recommendations to the
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Senate Budget and Taxation Committee and the House Appropriations Committee by
June 1, 2019; however, no report was ever issued.

Senate Bill 421/House Bill 735 (Chs. 618 and 619) are emergency measures that
reestablish the Task Force on the Canal Place Preservation and Development Authority to be
staffed by the Maryland Department of Planning. The task force will complete the work begun
under Chapter 789 and determine how to alter the powers of the authority as a State agency in
order to align the mission and purpose of the Canal Place Heritage Area with that of other certified
heritage areas. To the extent practicable, the members of this reestablished task force must be the
same as the members originally appointed under Chapter 789. The task force must report its
findings and recommendations to the Senate Budget and Taxation Committee and the House
Appropriations Committee by September 1, 2020.

Land Acquisition

Senate Bill 148/ House Bill 125 (both passed) prohibit the Board of Public Works (BPW)
from approving the acquisition of specified real property worth at least $500,000 unless BPW
provides the Legislative Policy Committee with a justification for the acquisition. The bills require
BPW, on request of the co-chairs of the Legislative Policy Committee, to provide a cost-benefit
analysis of a proposed acquisition. Certain acquisitions are exempt from the requirements of the
bills, including specified acquisitions of property for land preservation and conservation purposes,
primarily by the Department of Natural Resources; property acquired by either the Maryland
Aviation Administration or the Maryland Port Administration; or federally owned military
property. On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bills for policy reasons.

Seniors and Vulnerable Adults

Under State law, it is a criminal offense for a person to knowingly and willfully obtain by
deception, intimidation, or undue influence the property of an individual who the person knows or
reasonably should know is at least 68 years of age or is a vulnerable adult with the intent to deprive
that individual of the individual’s property.

Senate Bill 407 (passed) establishes the Senior and Vulnerable Adult Asset Recovery Unit
in the Office of the Attorney General. The bill requires the Governor to include an annual
appropriation of at least $250,000 in the State budget to carry out the bill’s requirements. At the
direction of the Attorney General, the unit is required to use the funding to (1) hire new staff for
the unit and (2) investigate and assist the unit in bringing civil actions. The bill authorizes the unit
to bring a civil action for damages, as specified, against a person who violates the State’s
prohibition against exploitation of a vulnerable adult on behalf of the victim of the offense or, if
the victim is deceased, the victim’s estate. The unit is authorized to recover damages for property
loss or damage and, if the unit prevailed in an action, the costs of the action could be recovered for
use by the Office of the Attorney General. On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bill due to
concerns regarding the economic challenges resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic.
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Electronic Notification

Senate Bill 83 (Ch. 518) authorizes, but does not require, a unit of State government to
deliver a notice or communication to an individual by electronic means instead of by first class
mail if the unit has received the individual’s consent. The unit must meet the requirements of the
federal 21st Century Communications and Video Accessibility Act and the requirements of the
Maryland Uniform Electronic Transactions Act in obtaining the individual’s consent. The Act does
not allow a unit to substitute electronic communication if the unit is in the Judicial Branch; the
notice concerns eligibility, benefits, or services for certain medical assistance programs; or the
notice is required to be delivered by certified or registered mail.

Open Meetings

Under the Open Meetings Act, with limited exceptions, a public body must (1) meet in
open session in locations reasonably accessible to potential attendees and (2) provide reasonable
advance notice of the time and location of meetings, including, when appropriate, whether any
portion of a meeting will be conducted in closed session. Senate Bill 363/House Bill 421 (Chs. 202
and 203) apply specific requirements of the Open Meetings Act to the Maryland Stadium
Authority, the State Board of Elections, the Emergency Number Systems Board, the Public Service
Commission, and the Maryland Transportation Authority. These bodies must hold meetings in an
open session and provide reasonable advance notice of the meeting time and location.
Additionally, these bodies must (1) post open meeting agendas in a publicly available website at
least 48 hours in advance, unless there is a special unanticipated meeting; (2) post open meeting
minutes on a publicly available website within two business days after approval; (3) make live
video streaming of open sessions publicly available, as specified; and (4) maintain meeting
minutes and recordings in a certain manner.

Protection of Personal Information — Public Institutions of Higher
Education

State law requires certain units of State or local government that collect an individual’s
personal information to implement and maintain reasonable security procedures and practices
appropriate to the nature of the information collected and the nature of the unit and its operations,
including a written information security policy. Similarly, a unit that uses a nonaffiliated third
party as a service provider and discloses personal information about an individual must require
that the third party implement and maintain reasonable security procedures and practices.

House Bill 1122 (Ch. 429) expands and enhances the security protocols that govern the
collection, processing, sharing, and disposal of certain types of personally identifiable information
(PII) by public institutions of higher education in the State.

The Act requires each public institution of higher education to review and designate
systems within the respective institution as systems of record based on specified criteria. The Act
also establishes numerous technical specifications for the protection of institutions’ information
systems and PII. Broadly, each public institution of higher education must:
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] develop and adopt a privacy governance program to govern each system of record,

° develop and adopt an information security and risk management program for the protection
of PIIL, as specified;

° publish a privacy notice on its website, as specified;
° follow specified procedures when destroying PII records; and
° follow specified procedures when it discovers or is notified of a breach of the security of

one of its systems.

The Act takes effect October 1, 2024.

Maryland Efficient Grant Application Council

Senate Bill 630/House Bill 1539 (Chs. 484 and 485) establish the Maryland Efficient
Grant Application Council. The council is tasked with studying and making recommendations to
the Governor’s Grants Office and the Department of Budget and Management regarding the entire
life cycle of a grant and the creation of materials for use by grant-making agencies. The council is
required to solicit input from certain stakeholders, including grant-making agencies and
organizations representing local governments, grant professionals, experts in nonprofit accounting
and auditing, and nonprofit service providers. The council must submit its findings and
recommendations to the Department of Budget and Management and the General Assembly by
July 1, 2024.

Deferred Maintenance Reporting

House Bill 1061 (Ch. 415) requires annual reporting on deferred maintenance to the Senate
Budget and Taxation Committee and the House Appropriations Committee by an entity
responsible for facilities maintenance for a convention facility or a facility at an institution of
higher education that receives at least $2.0 million of capital funding from the State. The report
must include the dollar amount that the reporting entity spends per square foot on deferred
maintenance, the total value of the backlog for deferred maintenance, the process for facility
condition assessment, the number of hours devoted to inspecting and analyzing the need for repairs
and maintenances, and the entity’s plan to address all deferred maintenance projects.

Veterans
Homes for Veterans

The Maryland Department of Veterans Affairs oversees Charlotte Hall Veterans Home,
which is a Medicare- and Medicaid-certified facility that includes an assisted living unit and a
skilled nursing unit. Senate Bill 341/House Bill 12 (Chs. 23 and 24) broaden the population of
veterans eligible for residency at Charlotte Hall Veterans Home by basing eligibility on whether
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an individual is a veteran who was honorably discharged from active service from any uniformed
service of the United States, rather than a specified list of uniformed services that may change over
time.

Special Registration Plates

Chapter 742 of 2009 established the Maryland Veterans Trust Fund. Money in the fund
may be used to make grants and loans to veterans and their families and to support programs that
serve veterans in the State. The Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) issues a special registration
plate for certain veterans or veterans’ organizations. House Bill 646 (Ch. 286) requires MVA to
charge an additional fee when issuing special registration plates for veterans and veterans’
organizations. The additional fee must result in a surplus of at least $10 for each new registration
plate issued and must be credited to the Maryland Veterans Trust Fund.

Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority Whistleblower
Protection

The Maryland Whistleblower Law protects State Executive Branch employees who
disclose information believed to evidence abuse of authority, gross mismanagement or waste of
money, a substantial and specific danger to public health or safety, and/or a violation of the law.
The Whistleblower Law prohibits reprisal against an employee who, after making a disclosure,
seeks a remedy provided by any law or policy. A complaint under this statute must be brought
within six months after the complainant first knew of, or reasonably should have known of, the
violation of the whistleblower protection.

The Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA) was established to
construct and operate a rapid rail transit system through an interstate compact among the State, the
District of Columbia, and the Commonwealth of Virginia. House Bill 402 (Ch. 193) applies the
Maryland Whistleblower Law to all employees of WMATA, subject to the Commonwealth of
Virginia and the District of Columbia either enacting similar whistleblower protections or waiving
their sovereign immunity as applied to WMATA for the purpose of providing whistleblower
protections, as specified.

The Act also amends the WMATA Compact to specify that the sovereign immunity of the
Commonwealth of Virginia, the District of Columbia, and Maryland does not extend to WMATA
for the purposes of claims brought against WMATA by an employee or former employee under
(1) the federal False Claims Act or (2) a law enacted by one of the compact signatories that
authorizes a private right of action for an alleged violation of a law intended to provide
whistleblower protections. The Act’s changes to the WMATA Compact are contingent on
comparable laws being enacted by the Commonwealth of Virginia and the District of Columbia.

Registering Trademarks

The Secretary of State (SOS) reviews applications for marks and maintains a registry.
Senate Bill 23 (Ch. 501) makes changes to the application process, certificates of registration
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issued by SOS, and definitions for the classes under which goods and services are registered. For
a further discussion of Senate Bill 23, see the subpart “Business Regulation” within Part H —
Business and Economic Issues of this 7/ Day Report.

Elections

Election Administration

Following the death of U.S. Congressman Elijah Cummings on October 17, 2019, the
Governor issued a proclamation on October 28, 2019, declaring that a special primary election be
held on February 4, 2020, and a special general election be held on April 28, 2020, to fill the
vacancy in the office of Representative in Congress for the 7th Congressional District of Maryland.
Senate Bill 251 (Ch. 10) makes various changes, primarily to dates and deadlines relating to
special elections to fill a vacancy in the office of Representative in Congress and, in some cases,
relating to special elections more generally. The Act includes provisions concerning when the
Governor may decline to call a special election, the date of a special election, candidate filings and
nominations, certification and display of ballots, and transmittal of results, among other things.
The Act also allowed a candidate in the regular primary election for Representative in Congress
for the 7th Congressional District to withdraw the candidacy within two days after the special
primary election held on February 4, 2020, for that office.

Candidacy

State law generally prohibits the name of a candidate who is defeated for the nomination
for a public office from appearing on the ballot at the next succeeding general election as a
candidate for any office, with certain exceptions. Senate Bill 390 (Ch. 552), which takes effect
January 1, 2021, further prohibits a candidate who is defeated for the nomination for a public office
from filing a certificate of candidacy as a write-in candidate at the next succeeding general election
as a candidate for any office. A vote for a write-in candidate is not counted if the write-in candidate
has not filed a certificate of candidacy.

Absentee Voting

State law allows any registered voter the option to vote by absentee ballot without having
to provide a reason that the voter cannot vote in person. Senate Bill 145/House Bill 37 (Chs. 36
and 37) are emergency measures that require the State Board of Elections (SBE) and the local
boards of elections to refer to absentee ballots as “mail-in ballots” and absentee voting as “mail-in
voting” in all communications with voters and the general public. Public communications
regarding mail-in voting must include a statement that mail-in voting is referred to as absentee
voting in the Maryland Constitution, the Annotated Code of Maryland, and the Code of Maryland
Regulations. Senate Bill 145/House Bill 37 also require that envelopes used to return absentee
ballots that are delivered to voters by mail include prepaid postage. Voters have the option of
attaching postage to reduce the costs to the local boards. SBE is required to reimburse the local
boards for 50% of the cost of the prepaid postage.
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Campaign Material

“Campaign material” is defined by State law as any material that (1) contains text, graphics,
or other images; (2) relates to a candidate, a prospective candidate, or the approval or rejection of
a question or a prospective question; and (3) is published, distributed, or disseminated. Any
material that is defined as campaign material must include an “authority line” that identifies the
person responsible for the campaign material. House Bill 216 (Ch. 110), which takes effect
January 1, 2021, alters the definition of campaign material to include an automated or prerecorded
oral communication.

House Bill 465 (Ch. 216) requires certain persons who use a bot to publish, distribute, or
disseminate campaign material online to another person in the State for the purpose of influencing
an election to disclose in a clear and conspicuous manner on the campaign material that the person
is using a bot to publish, distribute, or disseminate the material. Persons subject to the Act’s
requirements include candidates, campaign finance entities, certain persons making independent
expenditures and electioneering communications, certain participating organizations, and agents
of any of these persons. A “bot” is defined as an automated online account where all or
substantially all of the actions or posts of that account are not the result of a person. A person who
violates the Act is subject to civil and criminal penalties. SBE is authorized to seek to remove a
bot that violates the Act. The Act specifies that it does not impose a duty on service providers of
online platforms.

Campaign Finance

SBE is responsible for administering the State’s campaign finance laws. SBE is required
to receive, or in its discretion audit, campaign finance reports filed by campaign finance entities,
account books and records kept by campaign finance entities, certain other reports filed by persons
making election-related expenditures, and certain records kept by persons making election-related
expenditures. In addition, SBE has the authority to investigate certain potential violations of
campaign finance law and may impose civil penalties for certain violations of campaign finance
law. House Bill 1222 (Ch. 449) requires the Department of Budget and Management, for
fiscal 2021, to create two new State positions for SBE for the purpose of employing staff to enforce
campaign finance violations and to ensure compliance with campaign finance law.

State law allows a member of the General Assembly to distribute a legislative newsletter.
A “legislative newsletter” is defined as an unsolicited document used by a member of the
General Assembly without supervision by or coordination with the General Assembly to
disseminate information to a constituent, voter, or potential voter about the member’s performance
in legislative office or one or more issues of public interest chosen by the member. A member may
pay for the publication expenses of a legislative newsletter out of the account of a campaign finance
entity. If publication expenses are paid from the account of a campaign finance entity, the
campaign finance entity must comply with all requirements regarding expenditures and campaign
material. A member may also pay for the publication expenses of a legislative newsletter out of
the personal funds of the member or the member’s spouse if certain conditions are met, including
the filing of a certain campaign finance report with SBE within 10 days after the first mailing or
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distribution of each issue of the newsletter. Publication expenses of a legislative newsletter may
not be paid from public funds.

Senate Bill 537 (Ch. 563) alters the provisions governing legislative newsletters. The Act
creates a distinction between an “unofficial legislative newsletter” and an “official electronic
legislative newsletter” and imposes different requirements on each type of newsletter. An
unofficial legislative newsletter replaces the existing legislative newsletter, retaining the same
definition. However, the Act requires that publication expenses of an unofficial legislative
newsletter be paid only by the authorized candidate campaign committee of a member of the
General Assembly. The Act prohibits the publication expenses of an unofficial legislative
newsletter from being paid from the personal funds of any individual. Accordingly, the Act repeals
provisions of existing law relating to the filing of campaign finance reports when publication
expenses of a legislative newsletter are paid from the personal funds of the member or the
member’s spouse. The Act defines an “official electronic legislative newsletter” as a document
that is electronically distributed and is used by a member of the General Assembly with supervision
by or coordination with the General Assembly to disseminate information about one or more issues
of public interest chosen by the member. An official electronic legislative newsletter may include
a link to a social media account of the member only if the social media account (1) is used to
communicate legislative and constituent information; (2) is not primarily used for electoral
purposes, as defined in SBE regulations; (3) is not used for the economic gain of the member; and
(4) except for a usual and customary constituent service, is not used for the economic gain of
another person.

Ethics

Legislative Newsletters

Members of the General Assembly generally may send electronic legislative newsletters
using the electronic newsletter system provided by the General Assembly in accordance with
guidance issued by the Presiding Officers. Senate Bill 537 (Ch. 563) establishes standards for the
inclusion of a link to a social media account for an incumbent member of the General Assembly
in an official electronic legislative newsletter. For a more detailed discussion of Senate Bill 537,
see the subpart “Elections” within this part of this 7/ Day Report.

State Ethics Commission

The State Ethics Commission, with advice from the Secretary of Budget and Management,
is responsible for determining whether an individual in an executive unit is a “public official” for
purposes of the Maryland Public Ethics Law. House Bill 159 (Ch. 87) requires secretaries of
principal Executive Branch departments, presidents of senior higher education institutions, and
units of State government to provide, on request of the commission and in a timely manner, any
information necessary in making such determinations.
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Public Ethics Violations and Crimes

A former member of the General Assembly, Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Attorney
General, Comptroller, or State Treasurer may not assist or represent another party for
compensation in a matter that is the subject of legislative action for one calendar year from the
date the official leaves State office. The limitation does not, however, apply to representation of a
municipal corporation, county, or State governmental entity. House Bill 315 (Ch. 164) expands
this restriction to include a former Secretary of a principal department of the Executive Branch. In
addition, House Bill 315 increases the minimum and maximum penalties for bribery. Specifically,
the minimum monetary penalty is increased from $1,000 to $5,000, and the maximum monetary
penalty is increased from $10,000 to $25,000.

Local Government

The Maryland Public Ethics Law includes restrictions on an individual or a business entity
with an interest in, or specified connection to, land that is the subject of an application for a land
use decision in Prince George’s County. Specifically, these individuals or business entities may
not make a campaign contribution to the county executive, a member of or candidate for the county
council, or a slate that includes the county executive or a member or candidate for the county
council during the pendency of the application. House Bill 282 (Ch. 151) removes the county
executive and a slate that includes the county executive from the persons that may not receive
these contributions.

The Maryland Public Ethics Law requires a bi-county commission (the Maryland-National
Capital Park and Planning Commission, the Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission, and the
Washington Suburban Transit Commission) to submit annual reports to the governing body of
each county in which it operates on (1) conflict of interest issues and regulations during the year
covered and (2) lobbying before the bi-county commission and regulation of that lobbying by the
commission. House Bill 370 (Ch. 185) requires a bi-county commission, on or before
April 30 each year, to (1) prepare and submit the annual reports on conflicts of interest and
lobbying covering the previous calendar year and (2) publish the reports on the bi-county
commission’s website.

Procurement

Procurement Preferences
Certified Local Farm Enterprise Program

During the 2019 interim, the Department of General Services (DGS), the Maryland
Department of Agriculture (MDA), and the Maryland Agriculture and Resource-Based Industry
Development Corporation (MARBIDCO) led a workgroup to study strategies for increasing the
procurement of food grown in Maryland under State contracts. Senate Bill 985/House Bill 1488
(both passed) implement recommendations of that workgroup. The bills establish the Certified
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Local Farm Enterprise Program in MDA to encourage State agencies (including public four-year
universities) to achieve an overall goal of purchasing 20% of the agency’s total procurement
contract dollar value for food from certified local farm enterprises. A certified local farm enterprise
is one that meets specified nutrient management requirements in current law and is certified by
MDA.

The Office for the Certified Local Farm Enterprise Program is established in MDA, to
administer the program and must (1) develop guidelines for each unit to consider when
determining the appropriate participation goal for each food contract procurement; (2) develop
procedures governing how the participation of certified local farm enterprises is counted toward
contract goals; and (3) adopt regulations to maximize notice to, and the opportunity to participate
in the food procurement process by, a wide range of local farm enterprises. The bills further
establish a Certified Local Farm Enterprise Food Aggregation Grant Fund, administered by
MARBIDCO, to establish and operate food aggregation, storage, processing, and distribution sites
across the State through grants and near-equity investments.

On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bills due to concerns regarding the economic
challenges resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic.

Minority Business Enterprise Program

The State’s Minority Business Enterprise (MBE) program requires that a statewide goal
for participation by certified MBEs in State contracts be established biennially through the
regulatory process. The current goal is 29% of the total value of contracts awarded with applicable
subgoals for women- and minority-owned businesses.

Both public-private partnerships (P3) and offshore wind projects were previously subject
to the requirements of the State’s MBE program, but statutory authorization for the application of
the MBE program to these projects terminated several years ago. Senate Bill 442 (Ch. 553)
restores the applicability of the State’s MBE program to P3s established under existing law and to
offshore wind projects authorized in existing law. The Board of Public Works (BPW) may not
approve a P3 agreement until a reporting agency, if permissible under the U.S. Constitution,
establishes reasonable and appropriate MBE participation goals and procedures for the project, as
specified. To the extent practicable and consistent with the U.S. Constitution, approved applicants
for a proposed offshore wind project must comply with the State’s MBE program. Further, the Act
extends the application of the MBE program to construction projects and procurements as they
relate to video lottery terminals for three additional years — until July 1, 2023. The Maryland
Department of Transportation must conduct specified analyses of MBE requirements for P3s and
offshore wind energy projects to evaluate compliance with any federal and constitutional
requirements. The provisions related to P3s and offshore wind projects terminate June 30, 2023,
which coincides with the statutory termination of the MBE program.

Payment of Employee Health Care Expenses by State Contractors

Chapters 686 and 687 of 2019 require BPW to adopt regulations that require all bidders,
contractors, and subcontractors on State-funded construction projects to pay certain employee
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health care expenses. House Bill 583 (Ch. 264) alters the definition of subcontractor as it relates
to the payment of employee health care expenses by contractors and subcontractors on State
construction projects to include a person added to a construction contract with the State after the
contract is awarded. The Act limits the application of existing provisions requiring the payment of
employee health care expenses to subcontractors providing only construction services rather than
providing goods or any type of services under a contract. The Act also extends less stringent
compliance requirements for contractors and subcontractors by one year.

Energy Use in State Buildings

State law defines an energy performance contract (EPC) as an agreement for the provision
of energy services in which a person agrees to design, install, finance, maintain, or manage energy
systems or equipment to improve the energy efficiency of a building or facility in exchange for a
portion of the energy savings. House Bill 662 (Ch. 289) codifies and implements the requirements
of an executive order by the Governor, which requires that the State reduce energy consumption
in State-owned buildings by 10% by 2029 compared with a fiscal 2018 baseline. Annually, DGS
must analyze all State-owned buildings to identify which buildings are least energy-efficient and
conduct an energy audit of at least two million square feet of the least energy-efficient State-owned
buildings; the audits must identify low-cost measures to increase energy efficiency. State agencies
that receive energy audits must implement the identified measures to the fullest extent practicable.
Additionally, DGS must develop a comprehensive utility records management database and use
the database to monitor each agency’s energy use, track changes resulting from the measures, and
calculate any energy cost savings. Beginning July 1, 2020, provisions promoting the State’s energy
efficiency goals must be included in Requests for Proposals for space to be leased to the State that
would obligate the State to pay utility bills for the leased space. In addition to codifying the
executive order, the Act also institutes new requirements for State agencies that plan, pursue, and
enter into an EPC. Specifically, a State agency must consult with DGS during the development
phase of a project that will require an EPC. An agency pursuing an EPC must receive final approval
from DGS before submitting the proposed contract to BPW for approval. An agency that has
entered into an EPC must submit any required annual measurement and verification reports to
DGS for review. Finally, the Act repeals obsolete provisions related to energy conservation in
State buildings.

Personnel

Impact of Budget Actions on State Employees

All State employees, except those represented by the American Federation of State,
County, and Municipal Employees (AFSCME), received a 1.0% general salary increase effective
January 1, 2020, as a result of overperforming revenues in fiscal 2019. In addition, the fiscal 2021
budget includes a 2.0% general salary increase effective January 1, 2021, although law
enforcement union members are provided with a 5.0% increase and funding for increments
effective on July 1, 2020. There is no funding for merit salary increases for most State employees.
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The size of the regular State workforce decreases by 535 positions to 80,881 regular positions in
fiscal 2021.

The Budget Reconciliation and Financing Act of 2020, Senate Bill 192 (Ch. 538), includes
a provision restricting estimated nonwitholding income tax revenues, if realized, to be used to
provide employees belonging to specified collective bargaining units up to a 2.0% cost-of-living
adjustment (or up to 3.0% for AFSCME represented units) in fiscal 2021. For a more detailed
discussion of the impact of budget actions on State employees, see Part A — Budget and State Aid
of the 2020 Session Major Issues Review.

Compensation and Staffing Requirements

Within the State Personnel Management System (SPMS), there are two pay plans — the
Standard Pay Plan and the Executive Pay Plan. The Standard Pay Plan includes all positions in
SPMS and all other positions for which the Secretary of Budget and Management has authority to
administer pay. A pay rate is subject to any limitations included in the State budget. An amendment
to the Standard Pay Plan may not take effect unless sufficient money is available in the budget to
cover the resulting pay rates.

Senate Bill 639 (Ch. 572) requires that, in a fiscal year in which an upward pay scale
adjustment is made for initial appointments to specified nursing positions in a State facility,
specified nursing supervisory positions must receive at least an equivalent upward pay scale
adjustment. A facility is defined in the Act as specified health care facilities and a regulatory entity
within the Maryland Department of Health (MDH). The Act also links the pay scale for a physician
clinical specialist position, a physician clinical staff position, a security attendant position at the
Clifton T. Perkins Hospital (Perkins) that is required to complete a correctional training course,
and a nurse case reviewer position to the pay scale for other positions, generally those in the same
or related facilities. General fund expenditures for MDH increase by at least $4.65 million in
fiscal 2021 for pay equity increases to specified physician, nursing, and security attendant
positions.

Senate Bill 693 (Ch. 576) requires the pay rate for specified employees at Perkins who are
not receiving a forensic pay premium to be at least two grades higher than their pay rate effective
June 30, 2020. The Act requires the pay rate for certain Behavioral Health Administration and
Developmental Disabilities Administration employees to be equal to the pay rate of similarly
trained, qualified, or licensed Perkins employees under specified conditions. Additionally, the Act
specifies staffing requirements for a facility that had a forensic admission rate greater than 75%
for the immediately preceding fiscal year. General fund expenditures increase by at least
$10.1 million beginning in fiscal 2021 to increase the salary of specified employees within MDH.

State Employee Grievance Proceedings

An employee in SPMS may file a grievance. A grievance is a dispute between an employee
and the employer about the interpretation of, and application to, the employee of a personnel policy
or regulation adopted by the Secretary of Budget and Management or any other policy or regulation
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over which management has control. Grievances are not permitted over pay grades, the timing or
amount of statewide pay increases, or other specified items. In addition, Maryland Department of
Transportation (MDOT) employees may file a grievance in writing within 30 days of the alleged
cause of complaint or knowledge of the complaint. In the MDOT personnel system, a grievance is
a cause of complaint arising between a Transportation Service employee and MDOT over the
interpretation and application of regulations, rules, or policies over which management has control.

During the 2019 session, the General Assembly passed House Bill 891 (Ch. 6). The
Governor vetoed the bill, but the General Assembly overrode the veto during the 2020 session,
and the bill became law in January 2020. Chapter 6 expands the application of State employee
grievance proceedings to include a dispute between an employee and the employer about the
interpretation and application of any term or condition of a memorandum of understanding
between the State and the exclusive representative. The State employee grievance proceedings
apply to other independent personnel systems; however, the Act does not apply to Maryland
Transit Administration employees. The Secretary of Transportation must adopt regulations that
address procedures for redressing of grievances, under the broader application of “grievance” in
the Act.

State Employee Transfer Practices

The Child Support Administration (CSA) of the Department of Human Services may enter
into cooperative reimbursement agreements with local governments that wish to carry out child
support enforcement within their jurisdiction. A county or circuit court under a cooperative
agreement may request that the responsibility for support enforcement be transferred to CSA.
Harford County has requested that its enforcement function be transferred to CSA.

Senate Bill 137/House Bill 407 (Chs. 196 and 197) transfer all the functions, powers, and
duties of the child support unit of the Harford County State’s Attorney’s Office to CSA. The
transfer includes all employees of the unit on June 30, 2020, other than the assistant State’s
Attorneys. If appointed by the Office of the Attorney General (OAG) to continue providing child
support enforcement services, the assistant State’s Attorney positions also transfer. All of these
employees must remain members of the Employees’ Pension System.

State Employees and Safeguard Practices
Reasonable Accommodation

The Maryland Commission on Civil Rights enforces the State’s laws against employment
discrimination and on reasonable accommodation found in Title 20 of the State Government
Article. The State’s laws regarding discrimination in employment generally apply to employers
with at least 15 employees, including the State. Disabilities caused or contributed to by pregnancy
or childbirth are temporary disabilities for all job-related purposes, and must be treated as such,
under any health or temporary disability insurance or sick leave plan available in connection with
employment. Reasonable accommodation is defined as an accommodation for an employee’s
disability caused or contributed to by pregnancy and that does not impose an undue hardship on
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the employee’s employer. If an employee requests a reasonable accommodation, the employer
must explore with the employee all possible means of providing the reasonable accommodation.

Senate Bill 225/House Bill 523 (Chs. 233 and 234) generally codify existing practice for
most State agencies by requiring a unit of State government to provide reasonable accommodations
for an employee with a limitation caused or contributed to by pregnancy or childbirth. A limitation
includes (1) a temporary disability caused or contributed to by pregnancy or childbirth and (2) a
restriction on the ability of an employee to perform job functions caused or contributed to by
pregnancy or childbirth. Reasonable accommodations include changing the employee’s job duties
or work hours, relocating the employee’s work area, providing mechanical or electrical aids,
transferring the employee to a less strenuous or less hazardous position, or providing leave.

Maryland Whistleblower Law

The Maryland Whistleblower Law protects State Executive Branch employees who
disclose information believed to evidence abuse of authority, gross mismanagement of money, a
substantial danger to public health or safety, and/or a violation of the law.

The Juvenile Justice Monitoring Unit within OAG investigates the needs of children under
the jurisdiction of the Department of Juvenile Services (DJS) and determines whether their needs
are being met in compliance with State law. This includes reporting on allegations of abuse and
on treatment of and services for youth held in facilities. House Bill 1514 (Ch. 483) prohibits a
supervisor, appointing authority, or head of a principal unit from taking or refusing to take any
personnel action as a reprisal against an employee of DJS who discloses information to the Director
of Juvenile Justice Monitoring or the unit’s staff relating to the unit’s duties. An employee who
discloses information may seek a remedy as provided under the Maryland Whistleblower Law.
The Secretary of Juvenile Services must provide all DJS employees with written notice of these
protections and remedies, and information on the whistleblower protections and remedies must be
included in the department’s employee handbook and in any new employee orientation or training.

Maryland Competitive Pharmacy Benefits Manager Marketplace Act

House Bill 1150 (Ch. 434) requires the Department of Budget and Management to use a
reverse auction to select a pharmacy benefits manager for the Maryland Rx Program under the
State Employee and Retiree Health and Welfare Benefits Program. A reverse auction is an
automated bidding process conducted online that starts with an opening price and allows qualified
bidders to counteroffer a lower price for multiple rounds of bidding. For a further discussion of
House Bill 1150, see the subpart “Health Insurance” within Part J — Health and Human Services
of this 71 Day Report.
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Pensions and Retirement

Member Contributions

The State Police Retirement System (SPRS) and the Law Enforcement Officers’ Pension
System (LEOPS) are defined pension benefit plans for individuals serving in certain State and
local law enforcement positions. Members of SPRS are required to contribute 8% of their normal
salary and, at the current benefit accrual rate, stop accruing benefits after 28 years of service.
Members of LEOPS are required to contribute 7% of their normal salary and, at the current benefit
accrual rate, stop accruing benefits after 32 years and 6 months of service. Senate
Bill 587/House Bill 588 (Chs. 265 and 266) exempt members of SPRS and LEOPS from making
member contributions after they reach the maximum benefit accrual level for their respective
plans.

Calculation of Pension Benefits

Under State pension law, an annuity is the part of a retirement allowance that is derived
from the accumulated contributions of the member. Senate Bill 764/House Bill 948 (Chs. 387 and
388) require that, if the annuity of a member or former member of specified plans in the State
Retirement and Pension System (SRPS) is greater than the individual’s normal service retirement
allowance, the retirement allowance must be equal to the annuity. The Acts apply (1) to members
or former members of the Teachers’” Combined System, the Employees’ Combined System, SPRS,
the Correctional Officers’ Retirement System, and LEOPS and (2) retroactively to specified
individuals who had their retirement accounts created or adjusted on or after October 1, 2013.

Member Services Administration

Chapter 214 of 2009 required the SRPS board to adopt regulations regarding the
monitoring and recording of incoming telephone calls to employees of the Member Services
Division of the State Retirement Agency for training and quality control purposes. Senate Bill 463
(Ch. 557) requires the SRPS board to also adopt regulations regarding the monitoring and
recording of outgoing telephone conversations initiated by the virtual hold callback feature of the
SRPS automated call distribution system for training and quality control purposes. The board must
also adopt regulations that provide rules for the retention of call recordings and that prohibit the
retention of any recordings, including recordings of incoming calls, for longer than 10 years.

General Assembly

Legislative Newsletters

Senate Bill 537 (Ch. 563) modifies and establishes rules governing official and unofficial
legislative newsletters. The Act authorizes an official legislative newsletter to include a link to a
legislator’s social media account if the social media account meets the criteria established in the


http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=SB0587&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=SB0587&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=hb0588&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=sb0764&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=hb0948&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=sb0463&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=SB0537&ys=2020rs

Part C — State Government C-17

Act. For a more detailed discussion of Senate Bill 537, see the subpart “Elections” within this part
of this 71 Day Report.

Commissions, Task Forces, and Workgroups with Legislative
Membership

Each year, the General Assembly creates various groups to conduct in-depth studies of
public policy issues. The following bills relate to commissions, task forces, and workgroups that
include members of the General Assembly in their memberships.

House Bill 1363 (Ch. 460) establishes the Two Generation Family Economic Security
Commission within the Department of Human Services to study and evaluate policies to mitigate
multigenerational poverty. The commission includes two members of the Senate, including
one member of the Senate Budget and Taxation Committee, and two members of the House of
Delegates, including one member of the House Appropriations Committee. For a more detailed
discussion of House Bill 1363, see the subpart “Social Services” within Part J — Health and Human
Services of this 71 Day Report.

House Bill 436 (Ch. 207) establishes the Task Force on the Economic Future of Western
Maryland to study the current economic conditions of Western Maryland and make
recommendations on potential methods to improve the economies of Allegany, Garrett, and
Washington counties. The task force includes one member of the Senate and one member of the
House of Delegates, both of whom must be members of the Western Maryland Delegation. For a
more detailed discussion of House Bill 436, see the subpart “Economic Development” within
Part H — Business and Economic Issues of this 7/ Day Report.

House Bill 739 (Ch. 309) establishes the Law Enforcement Body Camera Task Force to
study options and make recommendations for the economical storage of audio and video
recordings made by law enforcement body-worn cameras. The task force includes two members
of the Senate and two members of the House of Delegates. For a more detailed discussion of House
Bill 739, see the subpart “Public Safety” within Part E — Crimes, Corrections, and Public Safety
of this 71 Day Report.

House Bill 1336 (passed) establishes the Partial Expungement Workgroup to study and
develop a plan and legislative recommendations for enabling the expungement of criminal charges
that are not currently eligible for expungement under the “unit rule.” The workgroup includes
two members of the Senate and two members of the House of Delegates. On May 7, 2020, the
Governor vetoed the bill for policy reasons. For a more detailed discussion of House Bill 1336,
see the subpart “Criminal Procedure” within Part E — Crimes, Corrections, and Public Safety of
this 71 Day Report.
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Program Evaluation (Sunset Review)

The Maryland Program Evaluation Act (MPEA) is used by the General Assembly as a
mechanism to monitor and evaluate approximately 70 regulatory boards, commissions, and other
agencies of the Executive Branch of State government. Entities subject to MPEA may be evaluated
by the Department of Legislative Services (DLS) as directed by the Legislative Policy Committee,
the Joint Audit and Evaluation Committee, the Executive Director of DLS, the Director of the
Office of Program Evaluation and Government Accountability, or by legislation. Most such
entities are subject to termination. Accordingly, the evaluation process is better known as sunset
review.

This session, legislation extended the termination dates of the following regulatory entities.
Any significant substantive changes to an entity’s powers and duties are discussed in the
appropriate subject area parts of this 7/ Day Report.

The State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners licenses and regulates veterinarians,
registered veterinary technicians, veterinary hospitals, and animal control facilities in the State.
House Bill 549 (Ch. 249) extends the termination date of the board by 10 years to July 1, 2031,
and requires the board to report annually to the Governor and the General Assembly on its
disciplinary activities for the previous fiscal year.

The State Board of Professional Counselors and Therapists licenses and regulates
professional counselors, alcohol and drug counselors, marriage and family therapists, professional
art therapists, and behavior analysts in the State. Senate Bill 182/House Bill 303 (Chs. 158 and
159) extend the termination date of the board by five years to July 1, 2026, and require the board
to submit semiannual reports to the Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs
Committee and the House Health and Government Operations Committee beginning
October 1, 2020, and until October 1, 2025.

The State Board of Dental Examiners licenses and regulates dentists and dental hygienists
in the State. Senate Bill 306 (Ch. 548) extends the termination date of the board by 10 years to
July 1, 2031, and requires the board to submit a specified report to the Senate Education, Health,
and Environmental Affairs Committee and the House Health and Government Operations
Committee by December 1, 2020.

The Maryland Home Improvement Commission licenses and regulates home improvement
contractors and salespersons in the State and administers the Home Improvement Guaranty Fund.
Senate Bill 116 (Ch. 530) extends the termination date of the commission by 10 years to
July 1, 2032.

The State Real Estate Commission licenses and regulates real estate brokers, associate
brokers, and salespersons in the State and administers the Real Estate Guaranty Fund.
Senate Bill 6 (Ch. 493) extends the termination date of the commission by 10 years to
July 1, 2032.
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The State Board of Pilots licenses and regulates pilots in the State. Pilotage is the act of
guiding a marine vessel by a person who is licensed to conduct the ship into or out of port or
through dangerous water. Senate Bill 71 (Ch. 511) extends the termination date of the board by
10 years to July 1, 2032.

Other legislation relating to the General Assembly, including sunset legislation related to
the Maryland Program Evaluation Act, was addressed in Part C — State Government and Part J —
Health and Human Services of the 2020 Major Issues Review.


http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=SB0071&ys=2020rs

C-20 The 71 Day Report



Part D
Local Government

Local Government — Generally

Resilience Authorities

Resilience financing authorities are generally quasi-governmental instrumentalities that
can be established at the State, county, or municipal level that focus on infrastructure resilience
and related issues. Many examples of such entities are referred to as “green banks” — particularly
if they also fund clean or renewable energy initiatives. Many resilience projects do not generate
an obvious revenue stream, which makes traditional forms of financing difficult. Financing for
resilience infrastructure can incorporate nontraditional methods, such as resilience bonds, which
monetize future avoided costs (such as losses due to a flood) to fund current investments.

Resilience authorities are a form of revenue authority. The structure of these entities
depends on their purpose. A common characteristic is an ability to finance projects (for the public
benefit) outside of the normal governmental budget/debt issuance process, meaning that the debt
is not considered government debt. Bonds are a common financing method, although how the
bonds are structured varies.

Senate Bill 457/House Bill 539 (Chs. 235 and 236) authorize counties and municipalities
to solely or jointly establish and fund resilience authorities, subject to specified requirements.
Resilience authorities may issue and sell State and local tax-exempt bonds for resilience
infrastructure projects and other related financing purposes. Bonds issued by resilience authorities
are limited obligations and are not a pledge of the faith and credit or taxing power of the
local governments; however, the local governing body may dedicate any revenues of the
local government for repayment of bonds and to support the operations or resilience infrastructure
projects of a resilience authority. A resilience authority must, at least annually, report to the
incorporating local government on the activities of the resilience authority, and a related report
must also be provided to specified committees of the General Assembly each year.
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Except as limited by local law, a resilience authority may exercise all powers necessary or
convenient to undertake, finance, manage, acquire, own, convey, or support resilience
infrastructure projects. Subject to certain limitations, Senate Bill 457/House Bill 539 authorize a
local government, by local law, to:

° set or change the powers, structure, organization, procedures, programs, or activities of the
resilience authority;

. determine the revenue sources of the resilience authority, including the use of general fund
revenue and general obligation bonds;

o establish the budgetary and financial procedures of the resilience authority; and
o terminate the resilience authority.

On termination of a resilience authority (1) title to all property of the resilience authority
must be transferred to and be vested in the incorporating local government and (2) all obligations
of the resilience authority must be transferred to and assumed by the incorporating local
government.

Income Tax Disparity Grants

The disparity grant program provides noncategorical State aid to low-wealth jurisdictions
for county government purposes. Disparity grants address the differences in the abilities of
counties to raise revenues from the local income tax, which for most counties is one of the larger
revenue sources.

House Bill 737 (passed) alters the enhanced State funding provided under the disparity
grant program to jurisdictions with a local income tax rate of 3.2% by (1) increasing the minimum
grant amount from 67.5% to 75% and (2) repealing the termination date for the enhanced funding.
As a result, eligible jurisdictions will receive at least 75% of their formula allocation under the
disparity grant program beginning in fiscal 2022. On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bill
due to concerns regarding the economic challenges resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic.

Land Use

Senate Bill 118 (Ch. 532) establishes statutory definitions for “alcohol production” and
“agricultural alcohol production” in the Land Use Article. Either or both definitions may be (but
are not required to be) adopted by a local jurisdiction by local ordinance, resolution, law, or rule.

Alcohol production is defined as an activity related to the manufacture, packaging, storage,
promotion, or sale of alcoholic beverages that is carried out by an alcoholic beverages
manufacturing license holder. It includes the use of an area to provide tastings of alcoholic
beverages or accommodate the license holder’s customers. Agricultural alcohol production is
defined as an activity that (1) is carried out by an alcoholic beverages manufacturing license
holder; (2) occurs on agricultural land; and (3) is related to the manufacture, packaging, storage,
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promotion, or sale of alcoholic beverages that use ingredients produced on the agricultural land or
any associated agricultural land. It includes the use of an area to provide tastings of alcoholic
beverages or accommodate the license holder’s customers.

Southern Maryland Code Counties — Collective Bargaining

There are four classes of code counties, based on the geographic region of the State where
the county is located. The classes are Central Maryland, Eastern Shore, Southern Maryland, and
Western Maryland.

Senate Bill 430/House Bill 443 (Chs. 209 and 210) grant Southern Maryland code
counties the authority to enact a local law to provide regular county employees, with specified
exceptions, collective bargaining rights with binding arbitration. A local collective bargaining law
enacted by a Southern Maryland code county must provide definitions of and remedies for unfair
labor practices and prohibit strikes or work stoppages by represented regular employees. A local
law enacted in accordance with the Acts may not affect the rights and duties of a county and any
exclusive representatives under local laws enacted in accordance with existing collective
bargaining rights for public safety officers. The only county in the Southern Maryland class that
has adopted code home rule is Charles County.

Eastern Shore Code Counties — Special Taxing Districts

Special taxing districts are defined geographic areas within which a special tax is imposed
on property owners to fund infrastructure improvements or services. Most special taxing districts
are created by local governments, but a small number of State-created special taxing districts also
exist.

House Bill 1500 (Ch. 481) grants to Eastern Shore code counties broad authority to create
special taxing districts, impose ad valorem taxes, and issue bonds for purposes of financing
infrastructure improvements. The types of infrastructure improvements authorized include storm
drainage systems, water and sewer systems, roads, lighting, parking, parks and recreational
facilities, libraries, schools, transit facilities, and solid waste facilities. The Act applies to Caroline,
Kent, Queen Anne’s, and Worcester counties.

Bi-county Agencies

Maryland has three bi-county agencies that operate within and on behalf of the residents of
both Montgomery County and Prince George’s County — the Washington Suburban Sanitary
Commission (WSSC), the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission
(M-NCPPC), and the Washington Suburban Transit Commission (WSTC).

WSSC is among the largest water and wastewater utilities in the country, providing water
and sewer services to 1.8 million residents in Montgomery and Prince George’s counties. It has
approximately 460,000 customer accounts, serves an area of around 1,000 square miles, and
currently employs more than 1,700 people. The commission operates three reservoirs, two water
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filtration plants, and six wastewater treatment plants. The six wastewater treatment facilities, as
well as the Blue Plains Advanced Wastewater Treatment Plant, handle more than 200 million
gallons of wastewater per day. The commission maintains more than 5,700 miles of water main
lines and more than 5,500 miles of sewer main lines.

M-NCPPC was empowered by the State in 1927 to acquire and administer a regional
system of parks within the Maryland-Washington Metropolitan District and administer a general
plan for the physical development of the area. Additionally, in 1970, M-NCPPC became
responsible for managing the Prince George’s County public recreation program.

WSTC, established in 1965, is responsible for administering the Washington Suburban
Transit District and is authorized to develop a transportation system, including mass transit
facilities, for Montgomery and Prince George’s counties. It coordinates mass transit programs with
the two county governments, the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA),
and the Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT). MDOT provides annual operating
grants to the commission, which then provides funding to WMATA for operation of the Metrorail,
Metrobus, and MetroAccess systems.

Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission
Prohibited Discrimination — Genetic Information and Family Responsibilities

WSSC is prohibited from discriminating against a person on the basis of sex, race, creed,
color, age, mental or physical disability, sexual orientation, religion, marital status, gender identity,
or national origin. House Bill 1560 (Ch. 487) prohibits WSSC from discriminating against a
person on the basis of genetic information or family responsibilities.

The Act defines “genetic information™ as information (1) about chromosomes, genes,
gene products, or inherited characteristics that may derive from an individual or family member;
(2) obtained for diagnostic and therapeutic purposes; and (3) obtained at a time when the individual
to whom the information relates is asymptomatic for the disease. Genetic information does not
include (1) routine physical measurements; (2) chemical, blood, and urine analyses that are widely
accepted and in use in clinical practice; (3) tests for the use of drugs; or (4) tests for the presence
of the human immunodeficiency virus. The Act defines family responsibilities as the legal
responsibility for the care and support of a dependent individual.

In addition, WSSC may not enter into a contract unless the contract contains a provision
obliging the contractor (1) not to discriminate in any manner against an employee or an applicant
for employment on the basis of sex, race, creed, color, age, mental or physical disability, sexual
orientation, religion, marital status, gender identity, or national origin and (2) to include a similar
nondiscrimination provision in all subcontracts. The Act adds that the nondiscrimination provision
must also prohibit discrimination on the basis of genetic information.
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Legislation Affecting Multiple Bi-county Agencies
Income Tax Subtraction Modification

Chapter 519 of 2016 established a subtraction modification of up to $5,000 of the income
earned by a law enforcement officer if (1) the officer resides in the political subdivision in which
the officer is employed and (2) the crime rate in the political subdivision exceeds the State’s crime
rate. House Bill 276 (Ch. 631) extends eligibility for the subtraction modification to M-NCPPC
Police and the WSSC Police Force. For a further discussion of House Bill 276, see the subpart
“Income Tax” within Part B — Taxes of this 7/ Day Report.

Conflicts of Interest and Lobbying

The Maryland Public Ethics Law requires bi-county commissions to adopt and submit to
the State Ethics Commission specified regulations relating to conflicts of interest and lobbying.
House Bill 370 (Ch. 185) requires M-NCPPC, WSSC, and WSTC to (1) submit specified annual
reports for the previous calendar year on conflicts of interest and lobbying by April 30 each year
and (2) publish the reports on the commission’s website. For a further discussion of
House Bill 370, see the subpart “Ethics” within Part C — State Government of this 7/ Day Report.
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Part E
Crimes, Corrections, and Public Safety

Criminal Law

First Degree Assault — Strangulation

A person commits a first-degree assault if the person (1) intentionally causes or attempts
to cause serious physical injury to another person or (2) commits an assault with a firearm. Senate
Bill 212/House Bill 233(Chs. 119 and 120) expand the crime of felony first-degree assault to
include the commission of an assault by intentionally strangling another. The Acts define
strangling as impeding the normal breathing or blood circulation of another person by applying
pressure to the other person’s throat or neck. A violator is subject to the existing statutory penalty
for felony first-degree assault of imprisonment for up to 25 years.

Sexual Solicitation of a Minor through Parent, Guardian, or Custodian

A person may not knowingly solicit a minor or a law enforcement officer posing as a minor
to engage in activities that would be unlawful for the person to engage in under the laws on (1) rape
in the second degree; (2) sexual offense in the third degree; (3) engaging in prostitution;
(4) receiving the earnings of a prostitute; (5) abduction of a child younger than age 16 for the
commission of a sexual crime; (6) procuring or soliciting prostitution; or (7) maintaining a house
of prostitution, with the intent to commit any of these crimes. Senate Bill 231/House Bill 246
(Chs. 128 and 129) add to the existing crime of sexual solicitation of a minor by prohibiting a
person from knowingly soliciting the consent of a parent, guardian, or custodian of a minor, or a
law enforcement officer posing as a parent, guardian, or custodian of a minor, to engage in
activities with the minor that would be unlawful for the person to engage in under the above
enumerated prohibitions with the intent to commit any of those crimes. The Acts retain the current
maximum penalty of imprisonment for 10 years and/or a fine of $25,000 for a first offense of
sexual solicitation of a minor and create a new maximum penalty of imprisonment for 20 years
and/or a fine of $50,000 for a second or subsequent offense.
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Hate Crimes
Motive — 2nd Lieutenant Richard Collins, III’s Law

Under the hate crime laws, a person may not engage in certain criminal acts because
another person or group is homeless or because of another person’s or group’s race, color, religious
beliefs, sexual orientation, gender, disability, or national origin. Senate Bill 606/House Bill 917
(Chs. 367 and 368) alter the law to prohibit the commission of these acts if they are motivated
either in whole or in substantial part by another person’s or group’s race, color, religious beliefs,
sexual orientation, gender, disability, or national origin.

Use of an Item or Symbol to Threaten or Intimidate

Senate Bill 161/House Bill 5 (Chs. 21 and 22) prohibit a person from placing or inscribing
an item or a symbol, including an actual or depicted noose or swastika, whether temporary or
permanent, on any real or personal property, public or private, without the express permission of
the owner, owner’s agent, or lawful occupant of the property, with the intent to threaten or
intimidate any person or group of persons. Violators are guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by
imprisonment for up to three years and/or a $5,000 fine.

Interference with Equines

A person may not commit the following acts against a horse used for racing, breeding, or
a competitive exhibition of skill, breed, or stamina: (1) willfully and maliciously interfere with,
injure, destroy, or tamper with the horse; (2) willfully start, instigate, engage in, or further an act
that interferes with, injures, destroys, or tampers with the horse; or (3) commit an act that tends to
interfere with, injure, destroy, or tamper with the horse. House Bill 171 (Ch. 93) expands
application of the existing prohibitions to all equines and applies the prohibitions to equines used
for any lawful activity. “Equine” includes horses, donkeys, mules, and ponies. The Act specifies
that the prohibitions do not apply to the owner of the equine or a person acting on behalf of or at
the direction of the owner of the equine and alters the existing penalty provision such that violators
are guilty of a misdemeanor, rather than a felony, and on conviction are subject to a fine of up to
$1,000 and/or imprisonment for up to one year, rather than imprisonment of between one and
three years.

Abuse or Neglect of a Vulnerable Adult — Severe Emotional Distress

Under the prohibition on abuse or neglect of a vulnerable adult in the second degree, a
caregiver, a parent, a household member, a family member, or other person who has permanent or
temporary care or responsibility for the supervision of a vulnerable adult may not cause abuse or
neglect of the vulnerable adult. House Bill 33 (Ch. 34) expands the crime of abuse or neglect of a
vulnerable adult in the second degree by prohibiting a caregiver, a parent, a household member, a
family member, or other person who has permanent or temporary care or responsibility for the
supervision of a vulnerable adult from intentionally and maliciously inflicting severe emotional
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distress on the vulnerable adult. A violation is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum penalty
of imprisonment for five years and/or a $5,000 fine.

Criminal Organizations

House Bill 1083 (Ch. 422) makes several changes to provisions of law relating to criminal
gangs. The Act (1) replaces references to “criminal gang” with “criminal organization” and makes
corresponding changes; (2) expands the list of underlying crimes for criminal organization
offenses; and (3) specifies that assets divested from criminal organizations as a result of local
investigations and prosecutions must go to local jurisdictions to be used only on specified services
and law enforcement-related efforts. The Act also requires the Attorney General, in consultation
with the Maryland State’s Attorneys’ Association, to develop a plan for a formal process for
oversight of prosecutions involving criminal organizations. The Attorney General must report to
the Governor and the General Assembly on the plan that is developed by December 31, 2020.

Repeal of Crime of Sodomy

House Bill 81 (Ch. 45) repeals the crime of sodomy under State law and makes conforming
and technical changes due to the repeal. The Act prohibits the expungement of a conviction for
sodomy, as the offense existed prior to October 1, 2020, under certain circumstances, and clarifies
that evidence of a witness’s conviction for sodomy as it existed prior to October 1, 2020, is not
admissible as evidence to prove a witness’s conviction of an infamous crime.

Controlled Dangerous Substance Schedules

House Bill 674 (Ch. 298) alters the lists of substances designated as controlled dangerous
substances (CDS) under schedules in the Maryland Controlled Dangerous Substances Act. The
Act conforms the classification and nomenclature in the State’s statutory schedules to the federal
CDS schedules while retaining the State’s more stringent classification and treatment of specified
substances.

Criminal Procedure

Crime Victim Protections
Prohibition Against Waiver of Rights

An investigation by the Baltimore Sun determined that between 2017 and 2018, more than
200 sexual assault victims in the Baltimore region were prompted by law enforcement agencies to
waive their rights to an investigation. Senate Bill 807 (Ch. 584) prohibits a law enforcement
agency from presenting a victim of sexually assaultive behavior with a form that (1) relieves the
law enforcement agency of an obligation to the victim; (2) precludes or defines the scope of an
investigation into an act allegedly committed against the victim; (3) prevents or limits a
prosecution of such an act; or (4) limits a private right of action of the victim pertaining to such an
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act or to the victim’s interaction with the law enforcement agency. Each law enforcement agency
is required to adopt a policy to enforce this prohibition by January 1, 2021. If a law enforcement
agency violates these provisions, an affected victim may bring an action seeking injunctive or
declaratory relief.

Sexual Assault Evidence Kits

Senate Bill 406/House Bill 425 (Chs. 204 and 205) require a physician, a qualified health
care provider, or a hospital, when seeking compensation from the Criminal Injuries Compensation
Board (CICB) for services provided to a victim of an alleged rape, sexual offense, or child sexual
abuse, to provide written or electronic verification, signed by a physician or qualified health care
provider, to CICB that specified services were rendered to a victim of one of the applicable
offenses. The request for compensation may not include a narrative describing the alleged offense
or a photograph of the victim.

Chapter 659 of 2017 established the Maryland Sexual Assault Evidence Kit Policy and
Funding Committee to, among other things, develop and disseminate best practice information and
recommendations regarding the testing and retention of sexual assault evidence collection Kkits.
The committee’s 2019 annual report noted that because recent advancements in forensic science
have extended the window during which DNA can be collected, policies should allow
reimbursement for the collection and submission of cervical swabs taken within 15 days of a sexual
assault. Accordingly, Senate Bill 406/House Bill 425 also alter the services for which
compensation from CICB may be requested by allowing a physical and sexual assault forensic
examination to be eligible for compensation from CICB when the examination is conducted within
15 days of the alleged crime or a longer period as provided by regulation.

Victims of Human Trafficking — Motion to Vacate Judgment

Senate Bill 206/House Bill 242 (Chs. 126 and 127) authorize a person convicted of
specified qualifying offenses to file a motion to vacate the judgment if the person’s participation
in the offense was a direct result of being a “victim of human trafficking.” A victim of human
trafficking is a person who has been subjected to an act of another committed in violation of Title 3,
Subtitle 11 of the Criminal Law Article (sex trafficking and marriage trafficking) or specified
federal statutes. The Acts (1) expand upon existing statutory provisions that authorize a person
convicted of prostitution under such circumstances to petition to vacate the judgment; (2) eliminate
an existing requirement that the motion to vacate be signed and consented to by the State’s
Attorney and make other procedural changes; and (3) authorize a person whose conviction is
vacated to petition for expungement of the conviction.

Victims and Witnesses to Domestically Related Crimes

Senate Bill 213 (Ch. 539) authorizes the victim of or witness to a domestically related
crime (one committed by a defendant against a victim who meets specified relationship
requirements) or a delinquent act that would be a domestically related crime if committed by an
adult, or a victim’s representative, to request the withholding of the address or telephone number
of the victim, victim’s representative, or witness before the trial or adjudicatory hearing. The Act
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expands the process under an existing statutory provision that only authorizes such requests in
situations involving a felony or a delinquent act that would be a felony if committed by an adult.

Criminal History Records

Section 10-110 of the Criminal Procedure Article authorizes an individual who is convicted
of any of a list of approximately 100 offenses or an attempt, a conspiracy, or a solicitation of any
of these offenses, to file a petition for expungement of the conviction, subject to specified
procedures and requirements. House Bill 1336 (passed) makes several changes to the law
regarding expungement of criminal charges. Specifically, the bill (1) adds fourth-degree burglary
to the list of misdemeanors eligible for expungement under these provisions (effective
October 1, 2020); (2) prohibits the Maryland Judiciary Case Search from in any way referring to
the existence of records of a charge in a case with electronic records if the charge resulted in
acquittal, dismissal, or nolle prosequi, except nolle prosequi with the requirement of drug or
alcohol treatment (effective January 1, 2021); and (3) establishes the Partial Expungement
Workgroup to study and develop a plan and legislative recommendations for enabling the
expungement of criminal charges that are not eligible for expungement due to the “unit rule”
(effective June 1, 2020, and terminating June 30, 2021). In general, if two or more charges arise
from the same incident, transaction, or set of facts, they are considered to be a unit. If a person is
not entitled to expungement of one charge or conviction in a unit, the person is not entitled to
expungement of any other charge in the unit. On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bill for
policy reasons.

House Bill 83 (passed) also prohibits the Maryland Judiciary Case Search from in any way
referring to the existence of a District Court criminal case in which a charge of possession of
marijuana under § 5-601 of the Criminal Law Article is the only charge in the case and the charge
was disposed of before October 1, 2014. On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bill for policy
reasons.

Evidence

Testimony of In-custody Witnesses

Senate Bill 534/House Bill 637 (Chs. 281 and 282) require a State’s Attorney to take
specified actions regarding testimony from an “in-custody witness.” An in-custody witness means
an individual, other than an accomplice or a co-defendant, who (1) is incarcerated at the time that
the individual offers or provides testimony against a suspect or defendant and (2) receives, or has
an expectation of receiving, a benefit in return for the testimony. An in-custody witness does not
include a confidential informant who does not provide testimony against a suspect or defendant.
Among other requirements, if a State’s Attorney obtains testimony from an in-custody witness,
the State’s Attorney must make a written record of specified information, including whether the
witness received a benefit, and, if so, what the benefit is or will be. The information must be
reported to the Governor’s Office of Crime Prevention, Youth, and Victim Services and disclosed
to the defendant. The office must securely store and maintain the reported information and may
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disclose it only to (1) a State’s Attorney, or designee; (2) the Attorney General, or designee; and
(3) the State Prosecutor, or designee.

Unavailability of Witness

While evidentiary rules generally exclude hearsay from being admitted into evidence, there
are exceptions. For example, under § 10-901 of the Courts and Judicial Proceedings Article, a
statement is not excluded by the hearsay rule and is admissible during the criminal trial of a
defendant charged with specified crimes of violence or felony drug crimes if the statement is
offered against a party who, through wrongdoing, has caused the unavailability of the witness who
made the statement. Senate Bill 64/House Bill 40 (Chs. 607 and 608) are emergency measures
that lower, from clear and convincing evidence to a preponderance of the evidence, the standard
of proof needed to admit evidence under this limited exception to the hearsay rule. Senate Bill 64
also expands the application of this hearsay exception to all felony criminal cases.

Use of Cell Site Simulators

A “cell site simulator” is a device that mimics a cell tower and captures identifying
information of electronic devices that are in the range of the device. According to information
published by the American Civil Liberties Union, numerous law enforcement agencies in over half
the states, including Maryland and the District of Columbia, use cell site simulator technology to
track the location of cell phones. Senate Bill 246/House Bill 499 (Chs. 222 and 223) authorize a
court to issue an order authorizing or directing a law enforcement officer to use a cell site simulator.
The Acts establish requirements for a court order and the use of any information obtained relating
to the use of a cell site simulator and apply existing provisions relating to an application for an
order to obtain location information by law enforcement and the duration of such an order to the
use of cell site simulator technology by law enforcement. The Acts also require each law
enforcement agency to post on its website and report to the Governor and the General Assembly
the number of times a cell site simulator was used by the law enforcement agency during the
previous calendar year; these requirements terminate September 30, 2025.

Compensation to Individuals Erroneously Sentenced, Convicted, and
Confined

Senate Bill 797/House Bill 985 (both failed) would have made several changes to existing
provisions pertaining to payments by the Board of Public Works (BPW) to an individual
erroneously convicted, sentenced, and confined under State law for a crime the individual did not
commit. Among other things, the bills would have (1) modified the procedures and criteria for
eligibility, including requiring an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) in the Office of Administrative
Hearings to make specified findings related to eligibility and compensation; (2) authorized an ALJ
to direct an appropriate State agency or service provider to provide the individual with specified
benefits, such as health care and housing accommodations, free of charge; and (3) required, rather
than authorized, BPW to provide compensation to such individuals using a newly established
method of calculating compensation. The bills would have applied retroactively and would have
increased general fund expenditures by at least $2.7 million in fiscal 2021.
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Juvenile Law

Subject to specified exceptions, the juvenile court has jurisdiction over children alleged to
be delinquent or in need of supervision and children alleged to have committed a violation
specified in a citation. The juvenile court also has jurisdiction over juvenile peace orders.

Fines, Fees, and Costs

A law enforcement officer authorized to make arrests is required to issue a citation to a
child if the officer has probable cause to believe that the child is violating specified offenses,
including prohibitions against (1) the use or possession of less than 10 grams of marijuana;
(2) consuming or possessing alcohol on public school premises; or (3) using or possessing tobacco
products. If the juvenile court finds that a child has committed a violation specified in a citation,
it may impose a civil fine of up to $25 for a first violation and up to $100 for a second or subsequent
violation. House Bill 36 (Ch. 35) repeals the authority of the juvenile court to impose a civil fine.
Additionally, the Act repeals statutory provisions that authorize the juvenile court (1) to impose
reasonable court costs against a respondent found to be delinquent, or the respondent’s parent,
guardian, or custodian; (2) to assess attorney’s fees against any party or a parent of the child for
the services of an attorney appointed to represent a child in a juvenile proceeding; and (3) after
giving the parent a reasonable opportunity to be heard, to order either or both parents to pay a
sum in the amount that the court directs to cover the support of the child wholly or partly. The Act
further provides that on October 1, 2020, the balance of any court-ordered fines, fees, or costs
previously assessed, as specified, are unenforceable and uncollectable, and the applicable portion
of any judgment is vacated.

Juvenile Records

In general, police and court records concerning a child are confidential, and their contents
may not be divulged, by subpoena or otherwise, except by court order upon a showing of good
cause or in certain circumstances relating to notification of a local superintendent or nonpublic
school principal upon the arrest of a child for specified offenses.

Juveniles Charged as Adults

Under current law, the juvenile court does not have jurisdiction over children at least
16 years old who are alleged to have committed specified violent crimes, children at least 14 years
old who are charged with a crime punishable by life imprisonment, and children who have
previously been convicted as an adult of a felony and are subsequently alleged to have committed
an act that would be a felony if committed by an adult. However, a circuit court may transfer a
case involving such a child to the juvenile court if such a transfer is believed to be in the interests
of the child or society (reverse waiver). A reverse waiver is not permitted if the child was convicted
in an unrelated case excluded from the jurisdiction of the juvenile court, or the alleged crime is
murder in the first degree, and the accused child was at least 16 years old when the alleged crime
was committed.
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Senate Bill 314 (passed) establishes that certain provisions relating to the confidentiality
of juvenile records apply to all police and court records concerning a child excluded from the
jurisdiction of the juvenile court from the time of the child’s arrest until (1) the time for the filing
of a motion to transfer to juvenile court under the Maryland Rules has expired and no such motion
has been filed or (2) a motion to transfer to juvenile court has been denied. In addition, the bill
establishes certain exceptions to provisions of law relating to the confidentiality of juvenile police
records. Specifically, provisions of law relating to the confidentiality of juvenile police records do
not prohibit law enforcement agencies, the Department of Juvenile Services (DJS), or the criminal
justice information system from including, in the law enforcement computer system, information
about (1) an outstanding criminal court ordered writ of attachment for the sole purpose of
apprehending a child named in the writ; (2) an outstanding criminal court issued warrant for the
sole purpose of apprehending a child named in the warrant; or (3) a missing child.

A law enforcement agency is also not prohibited from releasing to the public photographs
and identifying information regarding a missing child, a child who has escaped from a correctional
unit, or a child over whom the court does not have jurisdiction pursuant to specified statutory
provisions and who is subject to arrest or an arrest warrant issued by a criminal court.
Senate Bill 314 specifies that the release of photographs and information under these
circumstances, as well as related circumstances authorized in current law, may only be when
necessary and for the sole purpose of facilitating apprehension of a child and ensuring public
safety. In addition, under the bill, if a case is transferred to the juvenile court, existing provisions
relating to the confidentiality of juvenile records continue to apply to all police and court records
concerning the child. The criminal charge is also subject to expungement, as authorized under
current law. On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bill for policy reasons.

Children in Need of Assistance

All court records pertaining to a child in a child in need of assistance (CINA) proceeding
are confidential, and their contents may not be divulged, by subpoena or otherwise, except by order
of the court on good cause shown. However, personnel of the court, a party or a party’s counsel, a
court-appointed special advocate for the child, or authorized personnel of the Social Services
Administration and local departments of social services (LDSS), as specified, may review the
records.

House Bill 1069 (Ch. 419) specifies that provisions of law regarding the confidentiality of
court records in CINA cases do not prohibit DJS from reviewing the court record, if DJS is
providing treatment, services, or care to a child who is the subject of the record. The Act also alters
statutory provisions regarding access to court records in juvenile matters by specifying that the
Department of Human Services or LDSS may access and use the records if the entities are
providing treatment, services, or care to a child who is the subject of the record. In addition, the
Act repeals conditions that limited the use of the juvenile court records to circumstances in which
the records were being used for a purpose relevant to the provision of the services or care and in
coordination with DJS.
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State Advisory Board for Juvenile Services

Among other duties, the State Advisory Board for Juvenile Services recommends policies
and programs to improve juvenile services in the State, participates in planning the development
and use of available resources to meet the needs of DJS, and consults with the Secretary of Juvenile
Services on each aspect of the State’s juvenile services program.

The advisory board consists of representatives from various entities, including DJS, the
Maryland State Department of Education, the Department of State Police (DSP), the Judiciary,
and the General Assembly. It also includes seven members of the general public, some of whom
must meet specified requirements. Advisory board members are appointed by the Governor.
Senate Bill 467/House Bill 872 (Chs. 353 and 354) expand the membership of the advisory board
to include two DJS employees with different job titles who are recommended by the President of
the American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees, Council 3.

Department of Juvenile Services
Whistleblower Protection

The Maryland Whistleblower Law protects State Executive Branch employees who
disclose information believed to evidence abuse of authority, gross mismanagement or waste of
money, a substantial and specific danger to public health or safety, or a violation of the law. The
Whistleblower Law prohibits reprisal against an employee who, after making a disclosure, seeks
a remedy provided by any law or policy.

The Juvenile Justice Monitoring Unit within the Office of the Attorney General
investigates the needs of children under the jurisdiction of DJS and determines whether the
children’s needs are being met in compliance with State law. This includes reporting on allegations
of abuse and on the treatment of and services for youth held in facilities.

House Bill 1514 (Ch. 483) prohibits a supervisor, appointing authority, or head of a
principal unit from taking or refusing to take any personnel action as a reprisal against an employee
of DJS who discloses information to the Director of Juvenile Justice Monitoring or staff of the
Juvenile Justice Monitoring Unit relating to the unit’s duties. An employee who discloses
information may seek a remedy as provided under current law. The Secretary of Juvenile Services
must provide all DJS employees with written notice of these protections and remedies, and
information on the whistleblower protections and remedies must be included in the department’s
employee handbook and in any new employee orientation or training.

Public Resources Organizing to End Crime Together Program

Senate Bill 929 (passed) establishes the Public Resources Organizing to End Crime
Together (P.R.O.T.E.C.T.) Program and related requirements for DSP, the Department of Public
Safety and Correctional Services, DJS, and the Governor’s Office of Crime Prevention, Youth,
and Victim Services. The bill requires DJS to work with various other entities to establish and
operate (1) a warrant apprehension task force partnership and (2) collaborative district officer
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supervision teams that provide intense supervision, including increased home visits, of juvenile
violent offenders. DJS must make diligent efforts to fully implement the bill’s provisions as
quickly as possible and may adopt implementing regulations. By December 31 annually, DJS must
report to the Governor and the General Assembly on the progress made in implementing the
requirements of the bill, as specified. In addition, by December 1, 2020, DJS must submit to
specified legislative committees and the Baltimore City Delegation a report detailing plans for
reducing the number of sworn officers used to staff the Baltimore City Juvenile Justice Center. For
a more detailed discussion of Senate Bill 929, see the subpart “Public Safety” within this part of
this 71 Day Report.

On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bill for policy reasons.
Facilities

DJS may establish and operate the facilities that are necessary to properly diagnose, care
for, train, educate, and rehabilitate children who need such services. DJS operates 13 facilities
across the State.

House Bill 673 (Ch. 297) includes the Garrett Children’s Center as a facility that DJS is
specifically authorized by statute to operate. The facility to be named the Garrett Children’s Center
is currently the Savage Mountain Youth Center (SMYC) in Garrett County. In 2018, SMYC was
rebuilt into a hardware secure facility to serve youth with more significant needs. Renaming
SMYC reflects the programming change and addresses concerns from local residents and
legislators about the existing name. Furthermore, the new name is consistent with the current
practice of naming DJS facilities by location.

Public Safety

Firearms

Repeal of Handgun Permit Review Board

During the 2019 session, the General Assembly passed Senate Bill 1000/House Bill 1343.
The Governor vetoed the bills, but the General Assembly overrode the veto during the 2020
session, and the bills became law in January 2020 (Chs. 2 and 4). The Acts repeal the Handgun
Permit Review Board. A person who is denied a permit to wear, carry, or transport a handgun, or
a renewal of such a permit, or whose permit is revoked or issued with restrictions by the Secretary
of State Police, may request to directly appeal the decision to the Office of Administrative Hearings
(OAH) instead of requesting that the board review the decision and then appealing the board’s
decision to OAH. The Acts (1) authorize an individual with a hearing request pending before the
board on the effective date of the Acts, after specified notice by the Department of Public Safety
and Correctional Services, to file an amended request for a hearing by OAH and (2) require OAH
to schedule and conduct a de novo hearing on the matter, as specified.
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Firearm Crime Study

House Bill 1629 (Ch. 491) requires the Office of the Attorney General (OAG) to (1) study
information regarding firearm crimes committed in the State since August 1, 2015, as specified;
(2) identify specified information for each 9-1-1 request for emergency assistance involving a
firearm crime; (3) study information regarding firearm injuries and fatalities occurring in the State
since July 1, 2020, as specified; and (4) with regard to crime firearms, study, report, compile,
collect, and gather specified information. All State and local law enforcement agencies and other
governmental units must provide OAG with any and all information necessary to complete the
study. OAG must report to the Governor and the General Assembly, by specified dates, specified
findings and conclusions regarding firearm crimes committed, firearm injuries and fatalities
occurring, and crime firearms recovered. The Act terminates December 31, 2022.

Other legislation relating to firearms was discussed in the 2020 Session Major Issues
Review.

Crime Fighting Measures
Crime Plan and Law Enforcement Councils

Senate Bill 907 (passed) is an emergency bill that establishes the Law Enforcement
Coordinating Council within the Department of State Police (DSP) to prevent and reduce crime by
(1) coordinating and focusing State resources and (2) ensuring interagency communications and
intelligence sharing. DSP must establish a regional law enforcement council for each of the regions
established by the council in the comprehensive crime plan established by the council. The bill
establishes membership, duties, and reporting requirements for the council and the regional
councils and requires DSP to provide staff for the council and each regional council. Beginning
July 1, 2020, the Governor’s Office of Crime Prevention, Youth, and Victim Services
(GOCPYVS) must submit a semiannual report describing how State assets are being deployed to
prevent crime. On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bill for policy reasons.

Public Resources Organizing to End Crime Together Program

Senate Bill 929 (passed) establishes the Public Resources Organizing to End Crime
Together (P.R.O.T.E.C.T.) Program and related requirements for DSP, the Department of Public
Safety and Correctional Services (DPSCS), the Department of Juvenile Services (DJS), and
GOCPYVS. For fiscal 2022 and each year thereafter, the Governor must include in the annual
budget bill (1) an appropriation sufficient to fully fund the bill’s requirements and (2) an additional
appropriation of at least $500,000 for GOCPY VS to hire and manage specified staff.

Specifically, the bill:

° requires GOCPY'VS to select 10 high-crime micro-zones within the State and create, as a
civilian position, an End the Violence P.R.O.T.E.C.T. coordinator position for each
high-crime micro-zone;
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requires DSP, the Division of Parole and Probation (DPP), and DJS to establish and operate
a warrant apprehension task force partnership;

requires the Baltimore Police Department (BPD), DJS, and DPP to establish and operate
collaborative district officer supervision teams that provide intensive supervision,
including increased home visits, of adult and juvenile violent offenders;

requires that the Baltimore Pretrial Complex be staffed by DPSCS and prohibits the use of
BPD sworn officers to staff the Baltimore Pretrial Complex;

authorizes the State and Baltimore City to enter into a memorandum of understanding to
give State law enforcement agencies and BPD concurrent jurisdiction over 1-83 and [-295
in Baltimore City;

requires, on or before December 1, 2020, DJS and BPD to submit a report detailing plans
for reducing the number of sworn officers used to staff the Baltimore City Juvenile Justice
Center; and

requires, by December 31 annually, DSP, DJS, DPSCS, GOCPYVS, and Baltimore City
to each report to the Governor and the General Assembly on the progress made in
implementing the requirements of the bill.

On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bill for policy reasons.

Maryland Violence Intervention and Prevention Program Fund and Advisory
Council — Alterations

Senate Bill 708 (passed) requires the Governor to include in the annual budget bill an

appropriation composed of at least $3.0 million in general funds to the Maryland Violence
Intervention and Prevention Program Fund; (2) alters the authorized uses of the fund; and (3) alters
the application requirements for grants from the fund. The bill also (1) alters the membership of
the Maryland Violence Intervention and Prevention Advisory Council and expands its duties and
(2) expands the duties of the Executive Director of the Governor’s Office of Crime Prevention,
Youth, and Victim Services relating to the fund and the council. In addition, the bill (1) authorizes
Baltimore City to use funding appropriated for the Safe Streets Initiative to cover specified
expenses and (2) increases the maximum grant amount that may be made under the initiative from
$300,000 to $600,000 per initiative.

On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bill for policy reasons.
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Law Enforcement
Hate Crimes Training

The Maryland Police Training and Standards Commission (MPTSC), an independent
commission within DPSCS, operates approved police training schools and prescribes standards for
and certifies schools that offer police and security training. In consultation and cooperation with
various entities, it also sets minimum qualifications for instructors and certifies qualified
instructors for approved training schools.

Senate Bill 633/House Bill 541 (Chs. 237 and 238) provide that MPTSC require, for
entrance-level police training and at least every three years for in-service level police training
conducted by the State and each county and municipal police training school, that the curriculum
and minimum courses of study include special training and attention to, and study of, the
application and enforcement of the criminal laws concerning hate crimes, including the recognition
of, response to, and reporting of incidents of hate crimes.

Employment by Cannabis Dispensary

Under the Code of Maryland Regulations, an agency head must perform a background and
criminal history investigation on each applicant for a position as a police officer. As part of the
background investigation, the agency head must investigate an applicant’s prior use of a controlled
dangerous substance (CDS), narcotic drugs, and marijuana and may conduct interviews of current
and past employers within the last five years of the applicant. An individual is ineligible for initial
certification or recertification as a police officer if the individual has been involved in illegal drug
use, distribution, or manufacturing under specified circumstances. Senate Bill 347/House Bill 857
(Chs. 345 and 346) specify that employment by a business licensed as a medical cannabis
dispensary, grower, or processor does not constitute involvement in the illegal distribution,
production, cultivation, transportation, or sale of CDS for purposes of police officer certification
or recertification if the individual’s employment was not terminated for illegal or improper
conduct.

Law Enforcement Body Camera Task Force

MPTSC has in place a policy for the issuance and use of body-worn cameras by law
enforcement officers, which is based upon a 2015 report and recommendations of a legislatively
established commission. MPTSC also published a Body-worn Camera Procedural Reference
Guide that provides practical and detailed background information on body-worn cameras as well
as advisory language for use by law enforcement agencies.

House Bill 739 (Ch. 309) establishes the Law Enforcement Body Camera Task Force. The
task force must (1) study options for the economical storage of audio and video recordings made
by law enforcement body-worn cameras and (2) make recommendations for storage considering
the budgets of State, county, local, and campus law enforcement jurisdictions. The task force must
report its findings and recommendations to the General Assembly by December 1, 2020.
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Alternative Workdays

Senate Bill 485/House Bill 616 (Chs. 274 and 275) authorize the Secretary of State Police
to allow a police employee to work an alternative workday of more than 12 hours.

Special Police Officers

The Governor may appoint and deputize an individual as a special police officer (SPO).
Such a commission is granted arrest powers, but the scope of each commission is limited to the
property cited in the commission. The Secretary of State Police must investigate the character,
reputation, and qualifications of each applicant for a commission. Upon completion of the
investigation, the Secretary must transmit to the Governor (1) the results of the investigation; (2) a
recommendation on denying or granting the application; (3) the reasons for the recommendation;
and (4) the final disposition of any appeal. The Governor may accept the recommendation of the
Secretary but need not issue a commission if the Governor believes it not to be in the best interest
of the State to do so.

House Bill 1111 (Ch. 426) repeals the authorization for the Secretary of State Police to
require training and education for SPOs as the Secretary considers necessary. Instead, the Act
requires, with specified exceptions, an SPO applicant for an initial commission to complete a
training course approved by the Secretary in consultation with MPTSC consisting of at least
80 hours of instruction. Before submitting an application for renewal, an SPO must complete
12 hours of in-service training approved by the Secretary in consultation with MPTSC.

State Military

Tuition Reimbursement: According to the Military Department, all of the states
surrounding Maryland and 16 of the 54 U.S. states and territories offer up to 100% tuition
assistance to National Guard members of the state or territory. Tuition waiver programs help
improve the knowledge base of members and are an important recruitment and retention benefit
for members. Under current law, to the extent that funds are provided in the State budget, the
Military Department is authorized to provide assistance to a Maryland National Guard member
certified as eligible by the Adjutant General equal to 50% of the cost of in-state tuition for any
regularly scheduled course, as specified. With specified exceptions, members who receive the
benefit must remain active members for a specified amount of time after the course is completed.

Senate Bill 282/House Bill 362 (Chs. 180 and 181) increase the percentage of in-state
tuition that the Military Department may reimburse from 50% to 100% for an eligible active
member of the Maryland National Guard. The Acts also expand eligibility to include any member
who holds a commission in the Maryland National Guard.

Maryland Code of Military Justice: Statutory provisions regarding the State Military
Department are within the Public Safety Article. Subtitle 8 of the Public Safety Article includes
limited provisions regarding courts martial, offenses subject to court-martial, and authorized
penalties, sentencing, immunity, and fines. Senate Bill 1010 (Ch. 592) repeals Subtitle 8 of the
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Public Safety Article and establishes a Maryland Code of Military Justice, which applies to all
members of the State military forces at all times.

9-1-1 System
Fees

Senate Bill 61/House Bill 6 (Chs. 604 and 605) require telephone companies and
commercial mobile radio service (CMRS) providers to keep records of 9-1-1 fees collected and
remitted for at least four years after the fees are remitted. The Comptroller, in consultation with
the Emergency Number Systems Board (ENSB), must adopt procedures for auditing fee collection
and remittance by both telephone companies and CMRS providers (instead of the board being
required to adopt procedures for auditing only CMRS providers). The Comptroller is entitled to
0.5% of the State 9-1-1 fees to cover the expenses of conducting audits. The Acts also reduce the
percentage of State 9-1-1 fees that each 9-1-1 service carrier is entitled to keep to cover
administrative costs, from 0.75% to 0.50% of the fees.

Emergency Number Systems Board

ENSB is the agency responsible for administering the 9-1-1 Trust Fund and overseeing the
State’s 9-1-1 system. Its responsibilities include, among other things, (1) dispersing funds to local
governments from the 9-1-1 Trust Fund; (2) reviewing and approving or disapproving requests for
reimbursement of the costs of enhancing 9-1-1 systems; (3) ensuring the inspection of public safety
answering points (PSAP); (4) auditing counties to ensure that 9-1-1 trust funds are being used for
authorized purposes; and (5) establishing training standards for PSAP personnel based on national
best practices.

Senate Bill 838/House Bill 934 (Chs. 375 and 376) alter the statutory framework that
governs the State’s 9-1-1 system in the following ways:

° ENSB is renamed to be the Maryland 9-1-1 Board,

° the county additional charge is renamed to be the county 9-1-1 fee;

° the roles and responsibilities of the Maryland 9-1-1 Board, PSAPs, and counties are
expanded;

° the percentage of State 9-1-1 fees that each 9-1-1 service carrier is entitled to keep to cover

administrative costs is reduced from 0.75% to 0.50% of the fees collected;

° funds in the 9-1-1 Trust Fund are prohibited from being used for the maintenance or
operation of communications centers other than PSAPs;

° any person that installs or operates a multiple-line telephone system must ensure that a line
on the system can dial 9-1-1 without requiring the user to dial any other number or set of
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numbers; however, State Executive Branch agencies must comply with this requirement
on the date that the multiple-line telephone system of the unit is next upgraded. A county
or municipality is responsible for enforcing this requirement and may set a fine or series of
fines to do so; and

° by June 30, 2020, the Department of General Services must report on State agency
compliance with the multiple-line telephone system requirement to the Commission to
Advance Next Generation 9-1-1 Across Maryland and the General Assembly.

Commission to Advance Next Generation 9-1-1 Across Maryland — Extension and
Reports

Chapters 301 and 302 of 2018 established the Commission to Advance Next Generation
9-1-1 Across Maryland to study and make recommendations regarding next generation 9-1-1
emergency communication services. The entities represented on the commission must jointly staff
the commission; however, ENSB is authorized to contract with a third party to provide staff for
the commission. Senate Bill 47 (Ch. 506) extends the termination date of the commission from
June 30, 2020, to June 30, 2022.

The Act also requires the commission to submit two additional reports to the Governor and
the General Assembly (one due December 15, 2020, and one due December 15, 2021) on the
progress toward the implementation and evolution of Next Generation 9-1-1 service across the
State. The additional reports that are to be submitted by the commission must include:

° a determination as to whether the State 9-1-1 fee and local additional charge generate
sufficient revenue to cover eligible expenses;

] a determination as to whether the State and counties are receiving the fees;

° an evaluation of the operational needs of the 9-1-1 system, including specified staffing
information,;

° recommendations for potential statutory or administrative changes to protect against

cybersecurity threats to the system; and

° an evaluation of county satisfaction with the current 9-1-1 statutory and regulatory
framework for the management and funding of the 9-1-1 system, as specified, and any
recommendations for changes to that framework.

Emergency and Crisis Management

The Maryland Emergency Management Agency (MEMA), a part of the Military
Department, is responsible for coordinating the State response in any major emergency or disaster.
This includes supporting local governments as needed or requested and coordinating assistance
with the Federal Emergency Management Agency and other federal partners. MEMA manages
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many of the federal grants that fund a broad range of initiatives leading to enhanced protection
from and responses to the full range of natural and man-made disasters that could threaten the
State’s citizens.

Comprehensive Emergency Management System

House Bill 648 (Ch. 288) generally clarifies the responsibilities of MEMA. The Act
specifies that, among other things, it is necessary to ensure that the State will be adequately
prepared to deal with emergencies by authorizing a comprehensive emergency management
system that empowers all State departments and agencies to systematically prepare for, mitigate,
respond to, and recover from potential or actual emergencies through risk reduction and
consequence management.

The Act establishes that it is the policy of the State that the initial governmental authority
and responsibility for emergency management activities and operations be placed at the local level.
The State must prepare for emergency management activities and operations and coordinate
activity in support of the response but may not preempt local authority for responding to an
emergency unless (1) the emergency involves more than one political subdivision and one or more
of the political subdivisions involved makes a request for State-level authority to coordinate or
intervene; (2) the political subdivision or subdivisions in which the emergency occurs issues a
request from the senior elected official for the State to assume authority for the emergency;
(3) evidence exists that the political subdivision is overwhelmed by the emergency; or (4) the
Governor or the Governor’s designee determines that additional resources are necessary to protect
the public interest. The Act specifies that MEMA has primary responsibility and authority for
developing emergency management policies and is responsible for coordinating disaster risk
reduction, consequence management, and disaster recovery activities. MEMA may act to
(1) reduce the disaster risk and vulnerability of persons and property located in the State;
(2) develop and coordinate emergency planning and preparedness; and (3) coordinate emergency
management activities and operations as specified.

Maryland Intrastate Emergency Management Assistance Compact

The Maryland Emergency Management Assistance Compact is a statewide program that
provides for mutual aid between jurisdictions for emergency assistance. The compact provides for
the procedures to request assistance and to resolve financial and liability issues for assistance
given. Each county, Baltimore City, the City of Annapolis, and Ocean City belong to the compact.

Senate Bill 80 (Ch. 287) renames the Maryland Emergency Management Assistance
Compact as the Maryland Intrastate Emergency Management Assistance Compact and makes
several changes to the compact. Among other things, the Act alters provisions governing (1) how
participating jurisdictions request assistance under the compact and (2) when the resource-sharing
provisions of the compact are effective. Specifically, the Act requires the senior official of each
participating jurisdiction to designate more than one representative who is authorized to make
assistance requests from other participating compact member jurisdictions. Requests for assistance
must include (1) the functional areas for which assistance is needed, as specified; (2) the mission,
capability, size, and amount of the requested aid; and (3) the logistics, location, and time for staging
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the aid from a responding party jurisdiction. Specified requirements relating to written requests
are repealed. Additionally, jurisdictions are no longer required to declare a local state of emergency
in order to activate the compact. Instead, the Act specifies that the provisions of the compact
relating to resource sharing only take effect when resources loaned under the terms and conditions
of the compact by the responding party jurisdiction arrive in the requesting party’s jurisdiction.
The provisions must continue in effect as long as resources loaned under the terms and conditions
of the compact by the responding party jurisdiction remain in the requesting party jurisdiction.

Continuity of Operations Plans

Broadly, continuity of operations plans are guidelines that, in the event of an emergency,
ensure the continuation of essential services. Continuity of government plans, in addition to
ensuring the continuation of essential government services at the state and federal level, are
designed to preserve the statutory and constitutional authority of elected officials across the
government in the event of an emergency.

Senate Bill 81 (Ch. 516) requires each principal department of the Executive Branch of
State government to develop and annually update a continuity of operations plan to maintain
department operations if an emergency or other crisis disrupts normal operations, as specified.
Each plan, and the required plan updates, must be submitted to MEMA. MEMA must develop
guidelines and serve as the coordinating agency to assist each principal department in writing and
maintaining a continuity of operations plan. MEMA must also (1) work with each department to
develop and maintain a continuity of government plan; (2) present the plan to the Governor and
the General Assembly, as specified; and (3) review the plan for revisions at least once every
four years. The Act also expresses the intent of the General Assembly that MEMA implement the
Act’s provisions with existing personnel and resources.

Crisis Intervention Team Center of Excellence

The Maryland Behavioral Health Crisis Response System is required to (1) operate a
statewide network utilizing existing resources and coordinating interjurisdictional services to
develop efficient and effective crisis response systems to serve all individuals in the State, 24 hours
a day and 7 days a week; (2) provide skilled clinical intervention to help prevent suicides,
homicides, unnecessary hospitalizations, and arrests or detention and to reduce dangerous or
threatening situations involving individuals in need of behavioral health services; and (3) respond
quickly and effectively to community crisis situations. In each jurisdiction, a crisis communication
center provides a single point of entry to the system and coordination with the local core service
agency or local behavioral health authority, police, emergency medical service personnel, and
behavioral health providers.

Senate Bill 305 (Ch. 547) establishes a Crisis Intervention Team Center of Excellence
(CITCE) in GOCPY'VS to (1) provide technical support to local governments, law enforcement,
public safety agencies, behavioral health agencies, and crisis service providers and (2) develop and
implement a crisis intervention model program. The office must appoint specified individuals to
oversee CITCE. The Act also establishes a Collaborative Planning and Implementation Committee
for CITCE and provides for the membership and duties of the committee. The operation of CITCE
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is subject to the limitations of the State budget, and the operation of both CITCE and the committee
must be supported by appropriations provided in the State budget, grants or other assistance from
federal, State, or local government, and any other money made available to CITCE from any public
or private source.

Building Safety
Sprinkler System Enforcement

The State Fire Marshal must enforce all laws of the State relating to, among other things,
the installation and maintenance of equipment intended to control, detect, or extinguish fire.
Senate Bill 746/House Bill 823 (Chs. 334 and 335) require the State Fire Marshal to enforce any
requirements relating to the installation of automatic sprinkler systems in new one- and two-family
dwellings.

Elevator Testing

Senate Bill 618 (Ch. 569) delays the requirement that certain annual tests on an elevator
in a privately owned building be performed in the physical presence of a licensed third-party
qualified elevator inspector. The requirement is delayed from October 1, 2020, to October 1, 2021,
for all elevators in privately owned buildings, except for direct-acting hydraulic elevators, which
must comply beginning October 1, 2022. The Act also establishes a related reporting requirement.

For a further discussion of Senate Bill 618, see the subpart “Business Regulation” within
Part H — Business and Economic Issues of this 7/ Day Report.

Use of Firefighting Foam Containing PFAS Chemicals

PFAS are a group of synthetic chemicals that include PFOA, PFOS, GenX, and many other
chemicals. PFAS have been manufactured and used in a variety of industries in the United States
since the 1940s. PFAS can be found in firefighting foam, nonstick cookware (e.g., Teflon), fast
food wrappers, and stain-resistant sprays. PFAS manufacturing and processing facilities, facilities
using PFAS in the production of other goods, airports, and military installations are some of the
contributors of PFAS releases into the air, soil, and water. PFAS are persistent in the environment
and the human body, which means they do not break down easily and can accumulate over time.
Most people in the United States have been exposed to PFAS. There is evidence that exposure to
PFAS can lead to adverse human health effects, including low infant birth weights, effects on the
immune system, cancer, and thyroid hormone disruption.

Senate Bill 420/House Bill 619 (Chs. 276 and 277) generally prohibit, beginning
October 1, 2021, the use of Class B fire-fighting foam that contains intentionally added PFAS
chemicals for testing purposes, with specified exceptions, or training purposes. Nonfluorinated
training foam must be used for firefighting training purposes. The Acts do not apply to firefighting
foams used at the Baltimore-Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport and do not
restrict the manufacture, sale, distribution, discharge, or use of Class B firefighting foam that
contains intentionally added PFAS chemicals in emergency firefighting or fire prevention
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operations. A person who violates the provisions is subject to a civil penalty of up to $500 for a
first violation and up to $1,000 for a second or subsequent violation.

Prerelease Unit for Women

The Division of Correction within DPSCS operates prerelease operations throughout the
State correctional system identified as reentry programs. All inmates due for release have a
transition plan. After an inmate is released, DPP continues to monitor an inmate’s transition plan.
DPSCS once operated a prerelease facility for women in Baltimore City; however, the facility is
now closed. Since the closure of the facility, all prerelease programming for women has been
transferred to the Maryland Correctional Institution for Women, where the women are housed
throughout the facility.

Senate Bill 684 (passed) requires the Commissioner of Correction within DPSCS to
operate a comprehensive rehabilitative prerelease unit for women that is a separate structure in
which specified services are provided, has security features for specified female inmates, and
matches security level on a validated gender-responsive risk measure. DPSCS must (1) identify a
location, as specified, acquire property, and design a site plan for the unit by June 1, 2021; (2) begin
construction or renovation of the facility by September 1, 2021; and (3) begin operating and
providing services in the facility by June 1, 2023. The bill requires the commissioner to make
evidence-based and gender-responsive services available to female inmates at the prerelease unit
for women. The bill also alters existing requirements for comprehensive rehabilitative prerelease
services to require the services to utilize evidence-based programs and practices and innovative
programs and practices, as specified. Evidence-based programs and practices means programs
proven by scientific research to reliably produce reductions in recidivism. Innovative programs
and practices means programs that do not meet the standard of evidence-based practices but which
preliminary research or data indicates will reduce the likelihood of offender recidivism.

On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bill for policy reasons.
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Courts and Civil Proceedings

Judges and Court Administration

Court Dog and Child Witness Program

In recognition of the vulnerable emotional state of child witnesses in court proceedings,
especially in cases related to child abuse or child sexual abuse, the use of therapy animals during
the testimony of child witnesses has become increasingly popular. Chapter 467 of 2016 initially
created a three-year pilot program in the circuit courts for Anne Arundel and Harford counties to
determine whether to establish a systematic approach for providing a courthouse dog to a child
witness in circuit court proceedings in the State. Under Chapter 467, a child witness was limited
to witnesses who were minors when testifying in criminal proceedings. In subsequent years, the
pilot program was extended until September 30, 2021, and was expanded to include minors
testifying in civil proceedings.

Senate Bill 101/House Bill 311 (Chs. 161 and 162) expand upon these efforts and establish
a Court Dog and Child Witness Program in the circuit court of each county that voluntarily
participates in the program. The program’s purpose is to provide a facility dog or therapy dog to a
child witness in any circuit court proceeding or other related court process, meeting, or interview
in the State, including meetings with custody evaluators and in camera reviews or other
interactions with a judge or a magistrate. The Acts require the Administrative Office of the Courts
to (1) develop a plan to implement the program; (2) establish the procedures that a party in a court
proceeding must follow to request that a therapy dog and therapy dog handler, or facility dog and
facility dog handler, assist a child witness; and (3) ensure that the details of the program are
publicly available. The Acts also alter, from September 30, 2021, to September 30, 2020, the
termination date for the pilot programs in the circuit courts for Anne Arundel and Harford counties.

F-1
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Civil Actions and Procedures

Malpractice Claims Against Licensed Professionals

Generally, a claimant that files a claim against a licensed professional for an alleged
negligent act or omission within the scope of the professional’s license must also file a certificate
of a qualified expert attesting that the licensed professional failed to meet the applicable standard
of care. On written request of the claimant, a defendant/licensed professional must produce any
documentary evidence that is otherwise discoverable and reasonably necessary to obtain a
certificate of a qualified expert. Senate Bill 249/House Bill 858 (Chs. 347 and 348) authorize a
defendant/licensed professional to move for a protective order to limit the disclosure of
documentary evidence requested by a claimant to obtain a certificate of a qualified expert in order
to protect the defendant from annoyance, embarrassment, oppression, or undue burden or expense.
A court may issue a defendant a protective order for good cause shown.

Child Sexual Abuse

In response to growing recognition of the long-term impact of child sexual abuse,
numerous states and the District of Columbia have enacted laws to address the statute of limitations
for actions to recover damages stemming from this type of abuse. The most recent alteration of the
statute of limitations relating to child sexual abuse in Maryland was enacted as Chapters 12 and
656 0f2017. Under those laws, an action for damages arising out of an alleged incident or incidents
of sexual abuse that occurred while the victim was a minor must be filed (1) at any time before the
victim reaches the age of majority or (2) within the later of 20 years after the date on which the
victim reaches the age of majority or 3 years after the date that the defendant is convicted of a
crime relating to the alleged incident or incidents, as specified.

House Bill 974 (failed) would have established that an action for damages arising out of
an alleged incident or incidents of “sexual abuse,” as defined under the bill, that occurred while
the victim was a minor may be filed at any time. The bill would have applied retroactively to revive
any action that was barred by the statutory period of limitations applicable before October 1, 2020,
if the action was filed before October 1, 2022. The bill also would have repealed provisions from
Chapters 12 and 656 of 2017, establishing that the statute of repose in existing statute must be
construed to apply both prospectively and retroactively to provide repose to defendants regarding
actions that were barred by the application of the period of limitations applicable before
October 1, 2017.
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Family Law
Child Support

Child Support Guidelines

In a proceeding to establish or modify child support, whether pendente lite or permanent,
the court is required to use the child support guidelines. The basic child support obligation is
established in accordance with a schedule provided in statute. The schedule uses the combined
monthly adjusted actual income of both parents and the number of children for whom support is
required to determine the basic child support obligation. The child support statute establishes a
rebuttable presumption that the amount of child support that would result from the application of
the child support guidelines is the correct amount of child support that the court is to award. States
are required by federal regulation to review child support guidelines at least once every four years
as a condition of receiving Title IV-D funds. Several bills in the 2020 session stemmed from the
recommendations of the most recent Child Support Guidelines Advisory Committee coordinated
by the Department of Human Services.

Revision of Child Support Guidelines

Schedule and Basic Child Support Obligation: Senate Bill 847/House Bill 946
(Chs. 383 and 384) (1) revise the schedule of basic child support obligations; (2) expand the
schedule to include monthly incomes of up to $30,000; and (3) specify amounts for monthly
incomes between $0 and $1,200. The Acts authorize the court, when considering whether the
application of the guidelines would be unjust or inappropriate in a particular case, to consider
whether an obligor’s monthly child support obligation would leave the obligor with a monthly
actual income below 110% of the 2019 federal poverty level for an individual. The Acts alter the
definition of “basic child support obligation” to mean the base amount due for child support
calculated using the combined adjusted actual incomes of both parents as adjusted by the
self-support reserve. “Self-support reserve” means the adjustment to a basic child support
obligation to ensure that a child support obligor maintains a minimum amount of monthly income
after payment of child support and applicable taxes, as specified.

The Acts also authorize a court to decline to establish a child support order if the parent
who would have the obligation to pay child support (1) lives with the child who would be the
subject of the order and is contributing to the support of the child or (2) is unemployed, has no
financial resources from which to pay child support, and meets one of other specified criteria,
including being incarcerated or institutionalized in a psychiatric care facility. The fact that a parent
meets or ceases to meet the criteria described constitutes a material change of circumstances for
the purpose of a modification of a child support award.

Potential Income and Voluntary Impoverishment: If a parent is voluntarily
impoverished, as discussed below, child support may be calculated based on a determination of
potential income. A determination of potential income may not be made for a parent who is unable
to work because of a physical or mental disability or is caring for a child younger than age two for
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whom the parents are jointly and severally responsible. Senate Bill 847/House Bill 946 also alter
the definition of “potential income” to mean income attributed to a parent determined by the
parent’s employment potential and probable earnings level based on, but not limited to, the
parent’s (1) age; (2) physical and behavioral condition; (3) educational attainment; (4) special
training or skills; (5) literacy; (6) residence; (7) occupational qualifications and job skills;
(8) employment and earnings history; (9) record of efforts to obtain and retain employment; and
(10) criminal record and other employment barriers. It also considers employment opportunities
in the community where the parent lives, including the status of the job market, prevailing earnings
levels, and the availability of employers willing to hire the parent. Finally, “potential income”
includes the parent’s assets, actual income from any source, and any other factor bearing on the
parent’s ability to obtain funds for child support.

“Voluntarily impoverished” is altered to mean that a parent has made the free and
conscious choice, not compelled by factors beyond the parent’s control, to render the parent
without adequate resources. If there is a dispute as to whether a parent is voluntarily impoverished,
the court must (1) make a finding as to whether, based on the totality of the circumstances, the
parent is voluntarily impoverished and (2) if the court finds that the parent is voluntarily
impoverished, consider the factors specified above in determining the amount of potential income
that should be imputed to the parent.

The Acts have prospective application and only affect cases filed on or after the effective
date of October 1, 2021.

Shared Physical Custody: “Shared physical custody” means that each parent keeps the
child or children overnight for a specified percentage of the year and that both parents contribute
to the expenses of the child or children in addition to the payment of child support. The court may
base a child support award on shared physical custody solely on the amount of visitation awarded
and regardless of whether joint custody has been granted. In cases of shared physical custody, the
adjusted basic child support obligation is first divided between the parents in proportion to their
respective adjusted actual incomes. Each parent’s share of the adjusted basic child support
obligation must be multiplied by the percentage of time the child or children spend with the other
parent to determine the theoretical basic child support obligation owed to the other parent. The
parent owing the greater amount owes the difference as child support.

Senate Bill 579/House Bill 269 (Chs. 142 and 143) alter the threshold of overnight stays,
from more than 35% to more than 25%, that confers the status of shared physical custody for
purposes of determining a child support obligation. The Acts also establish a formula for the
calculation of a child support obligation under the child support guidelines when a parent with
shared physical custody keeps the child or children overnight for more than 25% but less than 30%
of the year. The Acts only apply to cases filed on or after the October 1, 2020 effective date.

Incarcerated Obligors

Federal law requires states, as a condition of receiving federal funding related to child
support services, to review and adjust, as appropriate, child support orders when either parent has
experienced a substantial change in circumstances. Accordingly, a child support payment is not
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past due and arrearages may not accrue during an obligor’s incarceration (and through the next
60 days after the obligor’s release from confinement), if (1) the obligor is not on work release and
has insufficient resources with which to make payment and (2) the obligor did not commit the
crime with the intent of being incarcerated or otherwise becoming impoverished. The obligor must
also have been sentenced to a term of imprisonment of 18 consecutive months or more. Recent
federal regulations require a state, after learning that an obligor will be incarcerated for more than
180 calendar days, to either send a notice to both parents of the right to request a review and
adjustment of a child support order or automatically initiate a review and adjustment with notice
to the parents. Senate Bill 1006/House Bill 234 (Chs. 121 and 122) align the timeframes in State
law with the federal requirements by changing the applicable timeframe from 18 consecutive
months or more to 180 consecutive calendar days or more.

Protective Orders and Peace Orders
Eligibility for Relief

Only individuals who meet specified relationship requirements, including current or former
spouses; individuals with a child in common; and persons related by blood, marriage, or adoption,
are defined as “persons eligible for relief” and authorized to file for a protective order if certain
acts of abuse are alleged to have occurred. Individuals who do not meet these relationship
requirements but allege that specified acts have occurred within the past 30 days must instead file
for a peace order. Among the types of relief that may be included in both peace orders and
protective orders are provisions requiring a respondent to refrain from further abuse, contact, and
harassment and to stay away from a person’s residence and place of employment. However,
protective orders may be issued and extended for longer periods of time and also require
the surrender of any firearms owned by the respondent for the duration of the order.
Senate Bill 210/House Bill 248 (Chs. 132 and 133) expand eligibility for a protective order by
altering the definition of a person eligible for relief to include any individual who alleges the
commission, within six months before the filing of the petition, of rape or specified sexual offenses,
or attempted rape or sexual offense in any degree. The Acts also remove these offenses from the
list of offenses for which an individual may seek relief under provisions of law regarding peace
orders.

Extension of Orders

For good cause shown, a judge may extend the term of a final protective order for
six months (and up to two years under specified circumstances) after giving notice to the affected
parties and a hearing. If, during the term of a final protective order, a petitioner or person eligible
for relief files a motion to extend the term of the order, the court must hold a hearing on the motion
within 30 days after the motion is filed. If a hearing on the motion is scheduled to occur after the
original expiration date of the final protective order, the court must extend the order and keep the
terms of the order in full force and effect until the hearing on the motion. Statute also contains
similar provisions for the extension of peace orders.
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In a 2019 case in Queen Anne’s County, a petitioner, before the expiration of a final
protective order, filed a motion to extend the order. Although a hearing was scheduled to occur
within 30 days after the motion was filed, the District Court did not actually review the motion
and order the matter to be scheduled for a hearing until after the final protective order had already
expired. At the hearing, the District Court denied the extension request and opined that the request
was moot since the final protective order had expired. The Circuit Court for Queen Anne’s County
affirmed on appeal and noted that the applicable statute did not mandate the extension of the final
protective order through the hearing date merely by the filing of a motion. Accordingly, once the
final protective order expired, it could not be revived. Senate Bill 227/House Bill 250 (Chs. 134
and 135) specify that if a motion to extend the term of a final protective order or final peace order
is filed during the term of the order, if the hearing on the motion is not held before the original
expiration date of the final protective order or final peace order, the order must be automatically
extended, and the terms of the order remain in full force and effect until the hearing on the motion.

Human Relations

Discrimination
Definition of Race

Discrimination based on race is prohibited under specified State laws, including those
prohibiting discrimination in employment, housing, and places of public accommodation. Senate
Bill 531/House Bill 1444 (Chs. 473 and 474) define “race” for the purposes of these laws as
including traits associated with race, including hair texture, afro hairstyles, and protective
hairstyles. The Acts also define “protective hairstyle” as a hairstyle that includes braids, twists,
and locks.

Section 1557 of the Affordable Care Act

House Bill 1120 (Ch. 428) and Senate Bill 872/House Bill 959 (Chs. 620 and 621) ensure
that nondiscrimination provisions established in Section 1557 of the Affordable Care Act apply to
health care institutions, health care providers, and insurance carriers in Maryland. For a further
discussion of House Bill 1120, see the subpart “Public Health — Generally” within Part J — Health
and Human Services of this 7/ Day Report. For a further discussion of Senate Bill 872/House
Bill 959, see the subpart “Health Insurance” within Part J — Health and Human Services of this
71 Day Report.

Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission

House Bill 1560 (Ch. 487) prohibits the Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission from
discriminating against a person on the basis of “genetic information” or “family responsibilities.”
For a further discussion of House Bill 1560, see the subpart “Bi-county Agencies” within Part D
— Local Government of this 7/ Day Report.
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Other Legislation

Legislation discussing housing discrimination based on source of income was discussed in
the 2020 Session Major Issues Review.

Sexual Harassment Prevention Training

All State employees in the Executive, Judicial, and Legislative branches must complete at
least two hours of in-person or virtual interactive training on sexual harassment prevention within
(1) six months of an employee’s initial appointment and (2) every two-year period thereafter. The
training must address specified items, including additional training for supervisors. Each unit must
designate a representative to coordinate with the Maryland Commission on Civil Rights (MCCR)
to implement the required training. Senate Bill 961/House Bill 325 (Chs. 168 and 169) repeal the
requirement that a unit of the University System of Maryland (USM) designate the unit’s Title IX
coordinator as the representative to coordinate with MCCR in regard to existing sexual harassment
prevention training requirements for USM. The Acts also clarify that the existing sexual
harassment prevention training requirements apply to each constituent institution of USM.

2026 FIFA World Cup — Protection of Human Rights

The 2026 Federation Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) World Cup, hosted
jointly by Canada, Mexico, and the United States (United 2026) will be held in 16 cities, with
Baltimore City and Washington, DC among the final bidding cities. Senate Joint 1 (Joint
Resolution 1) declares the General Assembly’s support of the fundamental requirements for
United 2026 as laid out in FIFA’s “Proposal for a United Human Rights Strategy.” The resolution
also encourages all host stadiums, cities, ports of entry, and fan zones to provide specified policies
and experiences for fans, spectators, players, officials, and volunteers at United 2026, including
an atmosphere that celebrates diversity and welcomes international fans and players.

Real Property

Condominium and Homeowners Associations
Condominiums — Responsibility for Property Insurance Deductible

With specified exceptions, if a portion of the common elements and the units of a
condominium is damaged or destroyed, the damage must promptly be repaired or replaced by the
council of unit owners. Generally, the cost of repair or replacement in excess of insurance proceeds
and reserves 1s a common expense. However, a property insurance deductible is not a cost of repair
or replacement in excess of insurance proceeds.

Senate Bill 175/House Bill 108 (Chs. 56 and 57) (1) specify that the council of unit
owners’ property insurance deductible is a common expense if the cause of damage to or
destruction of the condominium originates from an event outside of the condominium units and
common elements and (2) increase, from $5,000 to $10,000, the maximum amount of the council
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of unit owners’ property insurance deductible for which a unit owner is responsible when the cause
of any damage to or destruction of the common elements or units of a condominium originates
from an event inside the owner’s unit. The Acts apply prospectively to all policies of property and
casualty insurance issued, delivered, or renewed in the State to a condominium council of unit
owners on or after October 1, 2020.

Submission of Annual Budget

Generally, the council of unit owners of a condominium must prepare and submit to the
unit owners an annual proposed budget at least 30 days before the adoption of the budget. A similar
requirement applies to a homeowners association (HOA) that is responsible for maintaining and
repairing common areas under its declaration.

Senate Bill 472 (Ch. 559) requires a condominium association or an HOA to submit its
annual adopted budget to the unit or lot owners within 30 days after the meeting at which the
budget was adopted. The adopted annual budget may be submitted to the unit or lot owners by
electronic transmission, posting on the entity’s homepage, or inclusion in the entity’s newsletter.

Amendments to Declarations and Governing Documents

The bylaws of a condominium may be amended without the explicit agreement of the
holder of a mortgage or deed of trust under certain circumstances. Senate Bill 293/House Bill 25
(Chs. 32 and 33) establish similar authority for amendments to the declaration of a condominium
and the governing documents of an HOA. Under the Acts, if a declaration or a governing document
contains a provision requiring any action on the part of a holder of a mortgage or deed of trust for
a unit in a condominium or a lot in an HOA in order to amend the declaration or governing
document, the council of unit owners of a condominium or the HOA must deliver a copy of the
proposed amendment to each holder of a mortgage or deed of trust entitled to notice. If the holder
of the mortgage or deed of trust fails to object, in writing, within 60 days after the date of actual
receipt of the proposed amendment, the holder is deemed to have consented to the adoption of the
amendment. The authority to amend a declaration of a condominium or the governing documents
of an HOA under the Acts does not extend to an amendment that (1) alters the priority of the lien
of the mortgage or deed of trust; (2) materially impairs or affects the unit or lot as collateral; or
(3) materially impairs or affects the right of the holder of the mortgage or deed of trust to exercise
any rights under the mortgage, deed of trust, or applicable law.

Restrictive Covenant Modifications

While unenforceable, covenants that restrict the ownership of real property based on race,
religious belief, or national origin persist in historic land recordings. House Bill 1077 (Ch. 421)
permanently exempts from specified fees and surcharges the recordation of a covenant
modification or an amendment to the common area deeds or other declarations of an HOA if the
recordation is to modify or delete, in accordance with statutory provisions, a covenant or restriction
that limits ownership based on these identifying characteristics. The Act also repeals a reference
to an expired statutory deadline by which the governing body of an HOA was required to delete
related recorded covenants or restrictions.
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Ground Leases

Under a ground lease, a tenant makes periodic monetary payments (ground rent) to a
ground lease holder in return for the right to dwell on the property (the land). The tenant’s property
interest is a leasehold estate that is personal — not real — property. The lease holder retains a
reversionary interest in and fee simple title to the land. The General Assembly passed several bills
relating to ground leases during the 2020 legislative session.

Past-due Ground Rent

Generally, if a ground lease is not registered with the State Department of Assessments and
Taxation (SDAT) in accordance with specified statutory provisions, the ground lease holder may
not (1) collect any ground rent payments due under the ground lease; (2) bring a civil action against
the leasehold tenant to enforce any rights that the ground lease holder may have under the ground
lease; or (3) bring an action against the leasehold tenant under specified statutory provisions related
to ground leases. In any suit, action, or proceeding by a ground lease holder (or the transferee of
the reversion in property subject to a ground lease) to recover past-due ground rent, the ground
lease holder or the transferee may only recover up to three years of past-due ground rent, calculated
from the date a specified notice required before filing an action for possession was sent by the
ground lease holder.

Senate Bill 170/House Bill 241 (Chs. 124 and 125) prohibit a ground lease holder from
bringing any suit, action, or proceeding against a current or former leasehold tenant to recover past
due ground rent owed before the date that the current leasehold tenant acquired the interest in the
residential property if the ground lease was not registered with SDAT prior to the current leasehold
tenant acquiring title to the leasehold interest.

Redemption or Extinguishment of Ground Rent

The redemption or extinguishment of the ground rent is effective to conclusively vest a fee
simple title in the ground lease tenant when the ground lease tenant records the certificate in the
county land records. The title is free and clear of any and all right, title, or interest of the ground
lease holder, any lien of a creditor of the ground lease holder, and any person making claims in
relation to the ground lease holder. Senate Bill 806/House Bill 1182 (Chs. 441 and 442) alter
these provisions by establishing that the redemption or extinguishment of the ground rent is
effective to conclusively divest the ground lease holder of the reversion, vest the reversion in the
leasehold tenant, and eliminate all rights, titles, or interests to the property, as specified, when the
leasehold tenant records the certificate of redemption or extinguishment in the land records of the
county in which the property is located.

House Bill 149 (Ch. 82) repeals a requirement for a ground lease holder to promptly notify
SDAT of a change in the name or address of a leasehold tenant and authorizes a leasehold tenant
or an interested party to submit documentation of the redemption of a ground lease to SDAT if the
ground lease (1) was redeemed in a private transaction between the ground lease holder and the
leasehold tenant and (2) the ground lease holder failed to notify SDAT of the redemption, as
required under current law. The documentation submitted to SDAT must include a certified copy
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of the ground lease redemption deed that has been filed in the land records of the appropriate
county. After accepting documentation, SDAT must update the online registry to indicate that the
ground lease has been terminated.

Registration Fee

The current registration fee per ground lease holder is $10 for the first ground lease and $5
for each additional ground lease. House Bill 172 (Ch. 94) repeals the fee for the registration of a
ground lease with SDAT, effective October 1, 2020.

Recordation
Assignments of Rents or Leases without Certification

A deed other than a mortgage, deed of trust, or an assignment or release of a mortgage or
deed of trust may not be recorded unless it bears the certification of an attorney admitted to the
Maryland Bar or a party named in the instrument, which states that the instrument was prepared
by the attorney, under the supervision of the attorney, or by the party. Senate Bill 154/House
Bill 1084 (Chs. 423 and 424) authorize the recordation of an assignment of rents or an assignment
of leases for security purposes without this certification.

Recording Costs and Surcharges — Exemptions for State Agencies

Senate Bill 291/House Bill 676 (Chs. 299 and 300) add any unit of State government to
the list of governmental entities that are exempt from paying a fee to record land records under
§ 3-603 of the Real Property Article unless the entity first gives its consent. Under current law,
any entity that is exempt from paying recordation fees under § 3-603 of the Real Property Article
is also exempt from paying to the clerk of a circuit court a surcharge on each recordable instrument
that is recorded in the jurisdiction’s land records. Thus, the Acts also exempt any unit of State
government from being required to pay these surcharges, which are deposited into the Circuit
Court Real Property Records Improvement Fund.

Notice of Recorded Easements, Covenants, Restrictions, or Conditions

Senate Bill 570 (Ch. 566) authorizes, but does not require, the recordation of a notice of a
recorded easement, covenant, restriction, or condition that affects an interest in real property in the
land records of the county in which the property interest is located. The recorded notice must
contain specified information and must be indexed in a specified manner. Failure to record a notice
in accordance with the Act does not (1) impair the rights or interests of the holder of the easement,
covenant, restriction, or condition or (2) waive, release, or otherwise affect the obligations of any
person holding a real property interest burdened by the easement, covenant, restriction, or
condition.
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Liens
Subordination of Junior Liens — Government Exception

A mortgagor or grantor may refinance the full amount of the unpaid indebtedness secured
by a first mortgage or deed of trust on residential property for a lower interest rate without securing
the permission of the holder of a junior lien if (1) the principal amount secured by the junior lien
does not exceed $150,000 and (2) the principal amount secured by the refinance mortgage does
not exceed the unpaid outstanding principal balance, plus closing and escrow costs of up to $5,000.
A refinance mortgage that meets these requirements must contain a specified notice and, on
recordation, has the same lien priority as the first mortgage or deed of trust that it replaces. House
Bill 314 (Ch. 163) exempts junior liens securing a loan made by a state or local government agency
with a 0% interest rate from these provisions. Thus, a mortgagor or grantor may not refinance a
mortgage or deed of trust without the permission of the holder of such a junior lien, and the loan
secured by the junior lien is not automatically subordinated. The Act takes effect June 1, 2020, and
applies prospectively so that it only affects applications to refinance any mortgage recorded on or
after that date.

Estates and Trusts

Probate

Under the law governing distribution of a decedent’s estate, the final approval of the final
account of an estate automatically closes the estate and automatically terminates the appointment
of the personal representative if the final account is accompanied by a request for termination. If
the final account is approved and is not accompanied by a request for termination, the personal
representative may petition the orphans’ court for an order terminating the appointment. If property
is discovered after an estate has been closed and the appointment of the personal representative
has been terminated, the orphans’ court, on petition of an interested person and on such notice as
it may direct, may appoint the same or a successor personal representative and make other
appropriate orders.

Senate Bill 151/House Bill 543 (Chs. 239 and 240) authorize an orphans’ court, following
the discovery of a check payable to a decedent or the estate of a decedent for a sum not exceeding
$1,000 after the estate is closed and the appointment of the personal representative is terminated,
to enter an order authorizing an interested person who has made a verified petition, to endorse and
deposit the check into the interested person’s bank account for the limited purpose of distributing
the funds in accordance with the will or, if the decedent died intestate, in accordance with
applicable statutory provisions. The order may be entered without a hearing, unless requested by
an interested person, and distribution of the funds must be made within 60 days after the court’s
order. An order may not be entered if (1) the estate of the decedent was insolvent when it was
closed; (2) the check discovered after the estate was closed increases the value of the estate above
the value that qualifies for administration as a small estate; or (3) any additional fees and
inheritance taxes due as a result of the discovered check are not paid with the petition.
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Trusts
Liability of Trustee — Report and Release by Interested Party

Senate Bill 886/House Bill 904 (Chs. 361 and 362) authorize a trustee, when a trust
terminates in accordance with the terms of the trust or the Maryland Trust Act or on the removal
or resignation of the trustee in accordance with the Maryland Trust Act, to send each interested
party a specified report, by first-class, certified mail, return receipt requested, seeking the release
of the trustee from liability for the administration of the trust. The Acts define “interested party”
as a beneficiary, representative of a beneficiary, co-trustee, successor trustee, or any other person
having an interest in or authority over a trust. An interested party’s failure to submit a written
objection within 120 days after the trustee mailed the report results in the interested party releasing
the trustee and consenting to and ratifying all actions of the trustee. If there are no objections
submitted within the 120-day period, the trustee must distribute the trust property to the appropriate
persons within a reasonable period of time. However, if an interested party submits a timely written
objection, the objection may either be (1) submitted to the court, with notice to all interested
parties, to commence a proceeding for resolution of the objection or (2) resolved by the agreement
of all interested parties and the trustee. The Acts apply prospectively and only affect specified
reports mailed on or after October 1, 2020.

Health Savings Accounts — Application of Trust Law

Health Savings Accounts (HSA) administered in Maryland are governed by the Maryland
Trust Act, which dictates that a trust is established when the trustee accepts and takes legal
ownership of the property to be placed in the trust. Senate Bill 507/House Bill 671 (Chs. 616 and
617) are emergency measures that generally exempt an HSA from the requirements of the Estates
and Trusts Article and authorize an HSA to be established on the first day that an individual
becomes covered by a high-deductible health plan. The HSA must be opened without a trustee or
custodian within the time period prescribed by law, without extensions, for filing a federal income
tax return for the year in which the HSA is established. In addition, an HSA is established
regardless of whether there is a transfer of cash or other property to the account and, unless required
by the trustee or custodian, it is not necessary for any party to sign an HSA trust or custodial
agreement regarding the HSA. Under the Acts, an individual with an HSA could use the
individual’s HSA to pay for medical expenses incurred prior to the date the individual actually
opened the account with the HSA trustee.

Personal Representatives and Guardians

On receiving a petition and after notice and a hearing, a court may appoint a guardian for
a disabled person, if it determines that the person lacks sufficient understanding or capacity to
make or communicate responsible personal decisions due to a mental disability, disease, habitual
drunkenness, or drug addiction and no less restrictive intervention is available.

Currently, the petition must include signed and verified certificates of competency from
the following health care professionals: (1) two licensed physicians who have examined the
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disabled person; or (2) one licensed physician who has examined the disabled person and either
one licensed psychologist or one licensed certified social worker-clinical (LCSW-C) who has
evaluated the disabled person. Senate Bill 576 (Ch. 568) adds a nurse practitioner as a health care
professional who may sign a certificate. Under the Act, the two health care professionals that may
sign a certificate may include one licensed physician and one licensed psychologist, LCSW-C, or
nurse practitioner. For a further discussion of Senate Bill 576, see the subpart “Health
Occupations” within Part J — Health and Human Services of this 7/ Day Report.

Orphans’ Court — Appeals

A party who wishes to appeal a final judgment of an orphans’ court may file a direct appeal
to the Court of Special Appeals or appeal to the circuit court. An appeal to the circuit court must
be heard de novo and treated as if it were a new proceeding. Senate Bill 149/House Bill 247
(Chs. 130 and 131) alter statutory provisions regarding the appeal of a final judgment of an
orphans’ court by (1) requiring a notice of appeal, instead of an order for appeal, to be filed with
the register of wills within a specified timeframe and (2) extending, from 30 days to 60 days, the
time period by which the register of wills must transmit all pleadings and orders of the proceedings
to the court to which the appeal is taken. The Acts apply prospectively and only affect an appeal
filed on or after October 1, 2020.

Rule Against Perpetuities

With limited exceptions, the common law “rule against perpetuities” applies in Maryland.
Under the common law rule, a future property interest, either real or personal, must vest within a
life or lives in being (the lifetime of a living person) at the time of the interest’s creation, plus
21 years. The term of gestation is added in the case of a posthumous birth. An interest that will not
or may not vest within the vesting period violates the rule and is void.

Under one statutory exception, the common law rule against perpetuities does not apply to
an option of a tenant to purchase all or part of the premises leased by the tenant. Senate
Bill 152/House Bill 94 (Chs. 50 and 51) limit application of this statutory exception by
establishing that the common law rule does not apply to an option that is exercisable only during
the term of the lease. The Acts apply prospectively and only affect an option to purchase leased
premises granted on or after October 1, 2020.
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Part G
Transportation and Motor Vehicles

Transportation

State Highways

The State Highway Administration (SHA) is responsible for more than 5,200 miles or
approximately 16,800 lane miles of road, 2,500 bridges, 3,500 small stream crossing structures,
and 80 miles of sound/noise barriers in the State. It also has responsibility for planning, designing,
constructing, and maintaining these roads and bridges to safety and performance standards while
considering sociological, ecological, and economic concerns.

Pedestrian Access at Work Sites

Senate Bill 285/House Bill 194 (Chs. 102 and 103) require an entity permitted by SHA to
do work within one mile of Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA) or
Maryland Transit Administration (MTA) rail or bus rapid transit stations (including Maryland
Area Regional Commuter (MARC) stations) to maintain a safe alternative pedestrian path at the
work site; SHA must adopt regulations to implement the Acts. The Acts also require SHA to
compile an inventory of best practices used to maintain pedestrian access in areas where
construction or maintenance work is performed in State highway rights-of-way and publish and
make available the inventory to any interested party.

Bikeways Network Program

The Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) currently administers a Bikeways
Network Program that provides grant support for a wide range of bicycle network development
activities. The program is designed to support projects that maximize bicycle access and fill
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missing links in the State’s bicycle system, focusing on connecting bicycle-friendly trails and roads
and enhancing last-mile connections to work, school, shopping, and transit.

House Bill 748 (Ch. 310) codifies the Bikeways Network Program within MDOT and
renames the program as the Kim Lamphier Bikeway Network Program. Kim Lamphier was a
resident of Catonsville and a policy advocate for bicycle safety.

Signs Along Highways and Expressways

Senate Bill 810 (Ch. 585) authorizes SHA to post information on suicide prevention,
including a hotline number, on electronic signs along any highway within a five-mile radius of a
high suicide risk zone, as identified by SHA. The phone number for the National Suicide
Prevention Lifeline is 1-800-273-8255. The lifeline provides free and confidential emotional
support to people in suicidal crisis or emotional distress 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, across the
United States.

A person may not place or maintain signs on State highway rights-of-way without SHA
authorization. Senate Bill 131 (Ch. 534) increases the maximum civil penalty from $25 per sign
to $100 per sign for affixing a commercial sign to a State highway sign, signal, or marker within
a State highway right-of-way without SHA authorization.

Generally, a person that owns property may not use the property or allow the property to
be used by any other person to erect or maintain an outdoor sign along or near any expressway
unless the sign is in an urban area and more than 660 feet from the nearest edge of the right-of-way
of the expressway. Senate Bill 226 (passed) authorizes a person to erect or maintain such a sign
within 660 feet of an expressway in an urban area if the sign is in a commercial or industrial zone
that meets certain requirements and is permitted by SHA. On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed
the bill due to concerns regarding the economic challenges resulting from the COVID-19
pandemic.

Public Transportation
Maryland Transit Administration

MTA operates a comprehensive transit system throughout the Baltimore-Washington
metropolitan area, including more than 50 local bus lines in Baltimore and other services such as
the light rail, the Baltimore Metro subway, commuter buses, MARC trains, and
mobility/paratransit vehicles. MTA is also responsible for hundreds of transit stations.

House Bill 1236 (passed) requires MTA to negotiate in good faith with various entities to
reach written agreements to extend MARC train service to Virginia and Delaware and, by
December 1 of each year, submit a report related to the negotiations to the General Assembly. The
bill also requires MTA to conduct a feasibility study on constructing a rail connection between
Penn Station and Camden Station and submit a report of its findings and recommendations to the
General Assembly by December 1, 2021. On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bill due to
concerns regarding the economic challenges resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic.
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MTA offers reduced fares for its transit services to various individuals, including people
with disabilities and senior citizens age 65 or older. Senate Bill 705 (Ch. 577) requires MTA to
make monthly transit passes available to opioid treatment programs for use by patients of the
programs who qualify for MTA’s Disabled Reduced Fare Program. The standard fare for such a
pass is $74, while the discounted fare is $22.

Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority Funding

WMATA was established in 1967 through an interstate compact among Maryland,
Virginia, and the District of Columbia. The original purpose was construction and operation of a
rapid rail transit system for the Washington metropolitan area. In 1973, WMATA purchased the
assets of four major private bus companies operating in the area. Maryland’s overall participation
in the Washington metropolitan transit system consists of the provision of annual funding to
WMATA for capital and operating costs of the Metrorail, Metrobus, and MetroAccess systems.

The Maryland Metro/Transit Funding Act (enacted by Chapters 351 and 352 of 2018)
mandates additional capital and operating funding for WMATA; however, the Governor or
Secretary of Transportation must withhold a portion of the State’s operating grant to WMATA if
WMATA'’s operating expenditures, as defined by the Acts, increase by more than 3% compared
to the previous fiscal year, excluding certain factors (i.e., the cost of any service required by law
or an approved capital project). House Bill 86 (passed) excludes the following additional factors
from this calculation: any payments or obligations arising from or related to arbitration
proceedings and any service increases approved by WMATA’s board of directors. On
May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bill due to concerns regarding the economic challenges
resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic.

Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority Whistleblower Protections

House Bill 402 (Ch. 193) applies the Maryland Whistleblower Law to all employees of
WMATA, subject to the Commonwealth of Virginia and the District of Columbia either enacting
similar whistleblower protections or waiving their sovereign immunity as applied to WMATA for
the purpose of providing whistleblower protections. The Act also amends the WMATA Compact
to specify that the sovereign immunity of the District of Columbia, Maryland, and Virginia does
not extend to WMATA for the purposes of claims brought against WMATA by an employee or
former employee under the federal False Claims Act or a law enacted by one of the compact
signatories that authorizes a private right of action for an alleged violation of a law intended to
provide whistleblower protections.

Airports

The Maryland Aviation Administration (MAA) has responsibility for fostering,
developing, and regulating aviation activity throughout the State. MAA is responsible for
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operating, maintaining, and developing Baltimore-Washington International Thurgood Marshall
Airport (BWI Marshall Airport) as a major center of commercial air carrier service in the State.

Study on the Health Effects of Air Traffic Noise

In 2003, the Federal Aviation Administration began developing the Next Generation Air
Transportation System (NextGen) to modernize the national air transportation system. NextGen is
intended to produce long-term economic and environmental benefits in an effort to make flying
more safe, efficient, and predictable. Technological advances under NextGen have mitigated some
airport noise; however, the number and frequency of flights continues to increase.

Senate Bill 184/House Bill 310 (both passed) require the University of Maryland,
Baltimore (UMB) to study the health effects of air traffic noise on communities near the
BWI Marshall Airport since the implementation of NextGen. By September 1, 2022, UMB must
report the results of the study to the Governor; the General Assembly; and the county executives
and county councils of Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Howard, Montgomery, and Prince George’s
counties. On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bills due to concerns regarding the economic
challenges resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic.

Donations at Security Checkpoints

House Bill 620 (Ch. 278) requires the Executive Director of MAA to work with the House
of Ruth Maryland (HRM) to install secure donation boxes at the entrance to each security screening
checkpoint at BWI Marshall Airport. Money collected in the donation boxes must be used only to
support HRM. HRM is recognized as one of the nation’s most comprehensive domestic violence

centers and has a staff of more than 90 individuals. In fiscal 2017, HRM provided services to
13,856 individuals.

Bridges
Potomac River Bridges Towing Compact

The Potomac River Bridges Towing Compact generally authorizes law enforcement
officers from each of the signatory jurisdictions (Maryland, Virginia, and Washington, DC) to
order the removal of disabled and abandoned vehicles from the bridges specified in the compact.
House Bill 162 (Ch. 89) expands the compact to also include the Governor Harry W. Nice/Senator
Thomas “Mac” Middleton Bridge, the Sandy Hook Bridge, the Brunswick Bridge, the Point of
Rocks Bridge, and the Arland D. Williams, Jr. Memorial Bridge.

Legislation concerning the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Reconstruction Advisory Group and
the privatization of existing Maryland Transportation Authority transportation facilities was
addressed in the 2020 Major Issues Review.
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Motor Vehicles

Licensing and Registration
Suspension of Driver’s Licenses and Registrations

If a person fined under the Maryland Vehicle Law (or under a federal traffic law or
regulation for a violation occurring in the State) does not pay the fine in accordance with a court’s
directive, the court may certify the failure to pay to the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA).
When MVA receives the certification, it may suspend the driving privileges or license of the person
until the fine has been paid. The court may authorize an individual installment plan agreement for
a defendant whose driver’s license or driving privilege may be (or is) suspended for failure to pay
a fine or fines that total at least $300 for one or more traffic offenses.

Senate Bill 234/House Bill 280 (Chs. 149 and 150) repeal MVA’s authorization to
suspend a driver’s license for nonpayment of fines or installments under a payment plan and
instead authorize the court to process the unpaid fines in the same manner as other unpaid fines
owed to the court or refer the amount of the unpaid outstanding fine to the Central Collection Unit.
The Acts also reduce the fine threshold, from $300 to $150, that an individual must meet to enter
into an installment plan and repeal a requirement that the defendant make installment payments of
10% per month on the total amount of the fine or fines covered by the agreement. Accordingly,
installment payments may be set at any portion of the fine or fines and paid over any period of
time. The Acts apply retroactively and require MVA to withdraw any suspensions for failure to
pay motor vehicle fines or installment payments and the courts to process any outstanding debts
underlying these suspensions under the installment plan payment program.

The Acts also alter the procedures for driver’s license suspensions related to failure to
respond to notice provided in a traffic citation. For this violation, the Acts (1) establish that an
individual may avoid suspension of the individual’s driver’s license by entering into an installment
payment plan; (2) require MV A to withdraw a suspension if the individual pays the fine, enters an
installment payment plan, or requests a new date for trial or hearing; and (3) if an individual fails
to appear for a new trial or hearing date, require MVA to suspend the individual’s driver’s license
or privileges until the individual pays the fine, enters an installment payment plan, or appears at a
trial or hearing. This provision also applies retroactively, and MVA is required to withdraw any
suspensions of individuals’ driver’s licenses for failure to respond to a traffic citation and to subject
the individuals to the above process.

Additionally, the Acts repeal a requirement that MV A suspend the driver’s license of a
debtor with unsatisfied motor vehicle judgements and the registrations of all vehicles owned by
the debtor. Further, Senate Bill 234 requires the Department of Legislative Services (DLS) to study
the feasibility of eliminating the minimum amount of outstanding fines required in order to enter
into an installment plan with the court and additional statutory changes to ensure that debts accrued
through the criminal justice system do not result in the loss of driving privileges. DLS must submit
a report to the General Assembly by December 31, 2020.
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General fund expenditures for the Judiciary increase by $1.5 million in fiscal 2021 for
additional personnel, one-time Judicial Information Systems reprogramming, and other operating
expenses related to implementing the Acts. Out-year general fund expenditures reflect ongoing
personnel and operating expenses. Transportation Trust Fund expenditures for MVA increase by
an estimated $172,800 in fiscal 2021 to send notices to suspended licensees affected by the Acts.

Senate Bill 177/House Bill 46 (Chs. 39 and 40) similarly repeal the authority of MVA to
suspend the registration of a motor vehicle if the owner or driver of the vehicle fails to pay the
penalty assessed for a violation recorded by a traffic control signal monitoring system (red light
camera) or a speed monitoring system (speed camera). MVA may still refuse to register or
reregister the motor vehicle at the time of registration transfer or renewal.

Issuance of Recall Notices for Confiscated Driver’s Licenses

Pursuant to federal regulations adopted under the REAL ID Act, MVA must verify the
identity and lawful status of each applicant for a driver’s license or ID card. Once fully enforced,
driver’s licenses and ID cards issued by states that are not in compliance with REAL ID standards
will not be recognized for federal purposes, including accessing a federal facility and boarding a
federally regulated commercial aircraft.

In 2014, MV A began compliance with the REAL ID Act under guidance from the federal
Homeland Security Administration (HSA) that required only new driver’s license applicants, and
not applicants for renewal, to have the required identity and lawful status documentation on file
with MVA. In 2016, HSA revised its guidance to require all driver’s license holders to have the
required documentation on file, and as a result, MVA had to require more than 1.1 million driver’s
license holders who had a REAL ID compliant license in appearance to provide the proper
documentation. An affected driver’s license holder who misses the compliance deadline is flagged,
and as required by HSA, law enforcement is required to confiscate a flagged driver’s license if
encountered in the field. An individual whose driver’s license is confiscated does not lose the
individual’s driving privileges but would be unable to meet the requirement to possess the driver’s
license while operating a motor vehicle on a highway and to display the driver’s license to law
enforcement on demand. House Bill 28 (Ch. 610) is an emergency measure that requires a law
enforcement officer who confiscates an individual’s driver’s license for failure to submit required
documentation to issue the individual a written recall notice. A person may satisfy the requirement
that each individual driving a motor vehicle on a highway in the State possess a driver’s license
and display the driver’s license to law enforcement on demand by possessing and displaying a
recall notice issued within the previous 60 days. The Act terminates December 31, 2024.

Issuance of Identification Cards to Inmates

The Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services (DPSCS) must issue an
identification (ID) card to an inmate before release from confinement in a State correctional
facility. The ID card must meet the requirements for secondary identification for the purpose of an
ID card issued by MVA. DPSCS advises that, since 2012, it has issued approximately
19,000 MV A ID cards to inmates prior to and after release.
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Senate Bill 77 (Ch. 514) requires local correctional facilities to develop and implement a
policy for assisting inmates to obtain ID cards issued by MV A, either before or after release from
confinement. MV A must issue an ID card at no cost to an applicant who presents a specified ID
card issued by the Division of Correction and a Social Security card. Additionally, the Act requires
DPSCS to obtain an inmate’s birth certificate and Social Security card after taking custody of an
inmate (unless the inmate does not consent) and report specified data related to the Act’s provisions
to the General Assembly by January 5, 2022, and each year thereafter through 2024.

Motor Vehicle Registration Plates

MVA offers special registration plates for honorably discharged veterans; recipients of
individually earned, combat-related armed forces medals; and recipients of a U.S. Department of
Defense Gold Star indicating status as a surviving spouse, parent, or next of kin of a member of
the armed forces who lost his or her life in combat. House Bill 646 (Ch. 286) requires MVA to
charge an additional fee of at least $10 for the issuance of these special registration plates. The
additional fee must be credited to the Maryland Veterans Trust Fund.

Motor vehicle registration plates must be fastened in accordance with specified
requirements and maintained free from foreign materials, including registration plate covers, and
in a condition to be clearly legible. Senate Bill 859/House Bill 200 (Chs. 106 and 107) subject
only to secondary enforcement a violation involving the placement of an object framing or
bordering the edges of a registration plate. Under secondary enforcement, a police officer may not
issue a citation to a driver for a violation unless the officer has first detained the driver for another
suspected violation of State law.

Suspension of Business and Occupational Licenses for Safety Inspection Violations

MVA licenses and regulates motor vehicle manufacturers, distributors, factory branches,
vehicle dealers, vehicle salespersons, automotive dismantlers and recyclers, scrap processors, title
service agents, driver’s schools, and driving instructors. MVA may only suspend or revoke a
specified business or occupational license after holding a hearing. House Bill 157 (Ch. 85)
authorizes MVA to immediately suspend a business or occupational license before holding an
administrative hearing if MVA determines that the person is violating the used vehicle safety
inspection requirements and that there is a danger of immediate, substantial, and continuing harm
to the public if the license is continued pending a hearing. MV A must grant a hearing on the license
suspension within seven days of a request for a hearing and render an immediate decision after the
hearing, as specified.

Transfer of Vehicle Dealer Franchises

A dealer or an owner, partner, or stockholder of a vehicle dealership may not sell, assign,
or otherwise transfer a franchise or any right under a franchise without the consent of the
manufacturer. Senate Bill 813/House Bill 1064 (Chs. 417 and 418) require an owner, partner, or
stockholder of a vehicle dealership seeking to sell, assign, or otherwise transfer a franchise (or any
right under a franchise) to provide written notice to the vehicle manufacturer of the proposed
transfer. The Acts establish timeframes within which the manufacturer must (1) provide the
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transferor with all forms and requests for information considered necessary to evaluate the
proposed transfer and (2) give consent to the transfer or provide a written statement of the specific
grounds for its refusal to consent to the transfer.

Rules of the Road

Overtaking and Passing Bicycles

When overtaking a bicycle, a driver generally must safely pass the bicycle at a distance of
at least three feet. Senate Bill 199/House Bill 230 (Chs. 114 and 115) authorize a driver to drive
on the left side of the roadway in a no-passing zone to make the minimum adjustment necessary
to overtake and pass, at a safe distance, a bicycle traveling in the same direction while yielding to
the right-of-way of the bicycle and oncoming traffic.

Automated Enforcement

After cost recovery, the fines collected by Prince George’s County as a result of violations
enforced by speed monitoring systems on Maryland Route 210 (Indian Head Highway) are
deposited in the Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund (CICF). House Bill 275 (Ch. 147) repeals
the requirement that these fine revenues be distributed to CICF and instead requires the revenues
to be distributed to the State Highway Administration (SHA). SHA must use the fine revenues
solely to assist in covering the costs of (1) examining the engineering, infrastructure, and other
relevant factors that may contribute to safety issues on Maryland Route 210 in Prince George’s
County; (2) reporting its findings and recommendations on any solutions to these safety issues;
and (3) implementing any solutions to these safety issues.

Senate Bill 41 (Ch. 504) authorizes Baltimore County to place vehicle height monitoring
systems on highways in the county if authorized by the Baltimore County Council after notice and
a public hearing. Before a vehicle height monitoring system may be installed, the county must
convene a workgroup to perform specified tasks and make recommendations to the Baltimore
County Council. Should the authorization be used in Baltimore County, the county police
department may issue warnings or citations to a vehicle owner for violating a State or local law
restricting the presence of certain vehicles on certain highways or at certain times. The county
police department must issue a warning for a vehicle’s first violation. The maximum fine for a
citation is $250 for a second violation and $500 for a third or subsequent violation.

Worcester County Special Event Zones

SHA, on its own initiative or at the request of a local authority, may designate an area on
a State highway in Worcester County as a special event zone. Likewise, a local authority in
Worcester County may designate an area on a highway under its jurisdiction as a special event
zone. SHA or the local authority may reduce speed limits in a special event zone after a
determination that the change is necessary for public safety, and an individual who violates these
reduced speed limits is subject to enhanced fines. Senate Bill 878/ House Bill 1493 (Chs. 622 and
623) are emergency measures that prohibit a person from engaging in “exhibition driving” as
defined under the Acts within a special event zone. A violator is subject to imprisonment for up to
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60 days or a fine of up to $1,000 or both. The Acts also subject specified violations of the Maryland
Vehicle Law (negligent driving, driving in a race or speed contest, participating in a race or speed
contest as a timekeeper or flagman, etc.) to higher maximum fines when these violations occur in
special event zones.

Equipment and Inspections

House Bill 158 (Ch. 86) modifies vehicle equipment and safety standards set forth in the
Maryland Vehicle Law, generally to conform to federal requirements, address technology
advancements, and repeal outdated or obsolete requirements. The Act affects several provisions of
law related to equipment and safety standards for windshields, lighting equipment
(e.g., headlamps, stop lamps, signal lamps, etc.), and the performance ability of brakes. The Act
also revises standards for the licensing of inspection stations and mechanics.

Chapter 91 of 2014 required the Automotive Safety Enforcement Division of the
Department of State Police (DSP) to establish the manner and format for the submission of an
inspection certificate for the transfer of a used vehicle and authorized electronic submission of
these inspection certificates while maintaining the option of paper submission. Chapter 670 of
2017 extended the termination date for the electronic inspection certificate program for used
vehicles by three years to June 30, 2020. House Bill 154 (Ch. 83) makes the program permanent
and authorizes DSP to require electronic submission of used vehicle inspection certificates.

Under the Vehicle Emissions Inspection Program (VEIP), certain vehicles registered in the
State must undergo emissions inspections every two years. House Bill 133 (Ch. 68) exempts from
the VEIP requirement motor vehicles owned by at least one active-duty member of the U.S. armed
services if the owner has received military orders (1) for deployment outside of the United States
or (2) to a duty station in a jurisdiction that is not subject to a vehicle emissions control inspection
and maintenance program. In order to qualify for the exemption, all owners of the vehicle must
certify that at least one owner of the vehicle has received military orders for deployment, as
specified. The exemption does not apply if prohibited by federal law.

Miscellaneous
Maryland Zero Emission Electric Vehicle Council

The Maryland Zero Emission Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Council (ZEEVIC), originally
established as the Maryland Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Council, is generally charged with
developing a plan to facilitate the integration of electric vehicles into the State’s transportation
network and developing statewide charging infrastructure. House Bill 232 (Ch. 118) extends the
termination date and establishes new interim and final reporting deadlines for ZEEVIC. The final
reporting deadline is extended by six years to June 30, 2026.

Rental Vehicles: Driver’s License Verification

A person may not rent a motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer to any other person unless the
individual who will operate the rented vehicle has an appropriate driver’s license. The lessor of
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the rented vehicle (or agent) must inspect a renter’s license to ensure rented signature and physical
description match and keep specified records of the transaction. House Bill 1013 (Ch. 404)
prohibits a person from renting a motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer to any person unless the
lessor (or agent) has verified that the license of the individual who will drive the rented vehicle is
not expired. Additionally, the Act authorizes the inspection of a license and maintenance of related
records through electronic or digital means and license confirmation and inspection requirements
to be fulfilled for transactions that are not in person through membership or master program
agreements.

Motor Vehicle Liens: Electronic Recordation

MVA has a voluntary process in place to record liens and lien releases electronically.
Senate Bill 778/ House Bill 1033 (Chs. 411 and 412) require a lien release pertaining to a motor
vehicle to be filed electronically with MV A within five business days, as specified, and require
rather than authorize MVA to develop and implement an electronic system for recording and
releasing security interests. The electronic system may provide for the electronic transmission of
publicly available electronic vehicle records. A motor vehicle lienholder must file electronically
with MVA (1) each of its liens and (2) when a lien is paid in full, the lien release. These
requirements do not apply to a lienholder that is not regularly engaged in the business or practice
of financing motor vehicles.

Voluntary Developmental Disability Self-disclosure Cards

House Bill 1118 (Ch. 427) requires MV A to develop a voluntary developmental disability
self-disclosure card in consultation with the Maryland Chiefs of Police Association and at least
one independent organization that advocates on behalf of individuals with developmental
disabilities. The card must meet specified physical and informational requirements, and MVA
must make the card available beginning January 1, 2021. MVA may not maintain any records
related to the issuance of a card, except for records related to matters before the Medical Advisory
Board.
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Part H
Business and Economic Issues

Business Occupations

Program Evaluations and Extensions (Sunset Review)

Approximately 70 regulatory entities and activities are subject to evaluation under the
Maryland Program Evaluation Act (MPEA). Entities subject to MPEA may be evaluated by the
Department of Legislative Services only as directed by specified entities or by legislation. Most
such entities are subject to termination and must be reauthorized periodically — regardless of
whether an evaluation has been undertaken. This session, legislation extended the termination
dates for a number of regulatory agencies.

The State Board of Pilots is responsible for licensing individuals who are tasked with
guiding marine vessels into or out of a port or through dangerous waters. Senate Bill 71 (Ch. 511)
extends the termination date of the board by 10 years — from July 1, 2022, until July 1, 2032.

Generally, an individual must be licensed by the State Real Estate Commission as a real
estate broker, associate broker, or salesperson before the individual may provide real estate
brokerage services in the State, subject to specified requirements for licensure and ongoing
licensee behavior. The commission also administers a guaranty fund for the purpose of
reimbursing persons for actual losses due to acts or omissions that occur in the provision of real
estate brokerage services by licensees or unlicensed employees of licensed real estate brokers.
Senate Bill 6 (Ch. 493) extends the termination date of the commission by 10 years — from
July 1, 2022, until July 1, 2032.

Licensing Requirements
Professional Engineers

Generally, an individual must be licensed by the State Board for Professional Engineers
before being authorized to practice engineering in Maryland. There are several pathways to
licensure. Senate Bill 12 (Ch. 497) repeals a provision of law that required an applicant to have
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served in a supervisory capacity for at least five years in order to qualify for licensure on one of
the pathways.

Real Estate Appraisers and Real Estate Appraiser Trainees

Statute requires that, in addition to other requirements, an applicant for initial licensure or
certification by the State Commission of Real Estate Appraisers, Appraisal Management
Companies, and Home Inspectors complete at least 2,000 hours of real estate appraiser services as
a trainee under the supervision of a certified appraiser in order to be eligible for the credential.
However, regulations specify requirements of 2,000 hours for licensure, 2,500 hours for residential
certification, and 3,000 hours for general real estate certification, completed over a minimum of
two to two and a half years. Senate Bill 117 (Ch. 531) reduces the statutory 2,000-hour minimum
work experience requirements for licensure or certification as a real estate appraiser to 1,000 hours
and 1,500 hours, respectively, and alters various requirements related to reinstatement of a license
or certificate. For real estate appraiser trainees, the Act further removes the limitation on the
number of times a real estate appraiser trainee license may be renewed, repeals the related renewal
fee, and establishes conforming reinstatement requirements.

State Real Estate Commission Licensees

Each individual licensed by the State Real Estate Commission as an associate real estate
broker, real estate broker, or real estate salesperson must generally complete 15-clock hours of
continuing education every two years in order to qualify for license renewal.
Senate Bill 350/House Bill 1446 (Chs. 475 and 476) alter the subject matter required to be
covered by continuing education to include a discussion of fraudulent real estate practices and
professionalism as it relates to the Maryland Code of Ethics.

Workgroup

The State Board of Master Electricians in the Maryland Department of Labor (MDL) issues
master electrician licenses to qualified individuals under the Maryland Master Electricians Act.
Each county is required to either adopt licensing qualifications comparable to or more stringent
than specified State qualifications or require a State license and enforce compliance with State
licensing requirements. In a local jurisdiction that requires a local license, the State license does
not authorize the provision of electrical services but serves only as a reciprocal mechanism for
obtaining licenses in each local jurisdiction.

Over the last 10 years, the General Assembly has considered the costs and benefits of
establishing statewide licensing requirements for master electricians and other individuals
involved in the provision of electrical services. Senate Bill 994 (Ch. 591) requires that MDL
convene a workgroup to study and make recommendations regarding the licensing of master,
journeyperson, and apprentice electricians; the provision of low-voltage electrical services; and
several related issues. By December 1, 2020, the department must report the workgroup’s findings
and recommendations to specified committees of the General Assembly.
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Business Regulation

Program Evaluation and Extension (Sunset Review)

Approximately 70 regulatory entities and activities are subject to evaluation under the
Maryland Program Evaluation Act (MPEA). Entities subject to MPEA may be evaluated by the
Department of Legislative Services only as directed by specified entities or by legislation. Most
such entities are subject to termination and must be reauthorized periodically — regardless of
whether an evaluation has been undertaken.

Maryland Home Improvement Commission

The Maryland Home Improvement Commission (MHIC) in the Maryland Department of
Labor (MDL) licenses and regulates home improvement contractors and salespersons, subject to
specified requirements for licensure and ongoing licensee behavior. MHIC also administers a
guaranty fund for the purpose of reimbursing homeowners for actual losses due to the errors and
omissions of licensed contractors and their subcontractors, salespersons, and employees. MHIC
licenses approximately 21,500 individuals, with annual revenues of approximately $2.5 million
and annual operating expenditures of approximately $1.8 million. Senate Bill 116 (Ch. 530)
extends the termination date of MHIC by 10 years — from July 1, 2022, until July 1, 2032.

Licensing Requirements

The Veterans Full Employment Act of 2013 facilitates professional licensing for active
military personnel, veterans, and their spouses. The Act applies to the State’s major licensing
agencies, including MDL. Under the Act, as amended by Chapter 312 of 2019, occupational and
professional licensing units within MDL must issue expedited standard licenses, registrations, or
certificates to military service members, veterans, and military spouses if specified education,
training, and experience conditions are met. One of the conditions is that the applicant holds a
valid license in good standing from another State.

Senate Bill 280/House Bill 349 (Chs. 176 and 177) alter the eligibility requirements for a
service member, veteran, or military spouse to apply for an expedited occupational or professional
license from MDL. In order to obtain an expedited standard license from MDL, the applicant must,
in addition to other requirements, provide proof that the applicant has held an equivalent valid
license from another state for at least one year. Each valid license issued by another state must be
in good standing. If an applicant has held the license for less than one year, an expedited temporary
license may be issued instead, as long as the issuance does not pose a risk to public health, welfare,
or safety. The temporary license allows the individual to perform regulated services while
completing additional requirements for licensure in the State.

Under the Acts, MDL is no longer required to determine that the requirements for licensure
in another state are substantially equivalent to, or exceed the requirements for, licensure in
Maryland prior to issuing an expedited license. Also, the requirement that an expedited temporary
license be issued for nonequivalent licenses is repealed.
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Miscellaneous
Elevator Inspections

Elevators in Maryland must be inspected, tested, and maintained in a safe operating
condition in accordance with the State Safety Code and regulations adopted by the
Commissioner of Labor and Industry. Chapter 337 of 2018 phased in a requirement that annual
and five-year tests performed on elevators in both privately and publicly owned buildings be
conducted in the physical presence of a third-party qualified elevator inspector. Prior to enactment
of Chapter 337, State inspectors, rather than third-party qualified elevator inspectors, conducted
some of these inspections. The first two phases of implementation went into effect on
October 1, 2018, and October 1, 2019. The final phase — annual inspections of privately owned
elevators — is scheduled to go into effect on October 1, 2020.

Senate Bill 618 (Ch. 569) delays the requirement that certain annual tests on an elevator
in a privately owned building be performed in the physical presence of a licensed third-party
qualified elevator inspector. The Act delays the requirement from October 1, 2020, to
October 1, 2021, for all elevators in privately owned buildings, except for direct-acting hydraulic
elevators, which must comply beginning October 1, 2022. The Secretary of Labor must report to
the Senate Finance Committee and the House Economic Matters Committee by January 1, 2021,
and January 1, 2022, on the status of how elevator inspections are being conducted in accordance
with the Act.

Home Builders

The Home Builder Guaranty Fund, administered by the Consumer Protection Division
(CPD) of the Office of the Attorney General, allows consumers to seek compensation for actual
losses resulting from an act or omission by a registered home builder who constructs a new home
for a consumer. The fund is supported by fees collected by local governments from home builders
upon application for a construction permit. Senate Bill 164/House Bill 116 (Chs. 58 and 59)
increase, from $300,000 to $500,000, the maximum amount CPD may award from the Home
Builder Guaranty Fund to all claimants for acts or omissions of one registered home builder before
the registered home builder reimburses the fund.

Lodging Establishments

The federal Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) prohibits discrimination on the basis
of disability by public and private entities in the provision of public services and accommodations.
Under the 2010 ADA Standards for Accessible Design, newly constructed or altered places of
lodging must provide a specified minimum number of guest rooms with mobility features, and
those guest rooms must meet certain specifications. However, the specifications do not include
requirements for bed height.

House Bill 771 (Ch. 319) requires each accessible room in an inn, hotel, motel, or other
establishment that has at least four rooms available for a fee to be furnished with a bed that
(1) measures at least 20 inches but no more than 23 inches high from the floor to the top of the
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mattress, whether or not the mattress is compressed, and (2) has at least a 7-inch vertical clearance
under the bed for lift access. The Act’s requirement is phased in over the course of four years and
each accessible room must comply by December 31, 2024.

Regulations Affecting Small Businesses

The Joint Committee on Administrative, Executive, and Legislative Review (also known
as the AELR Committee) is a legislative committee that reviews any regulations that are proposed
for adoption by a unit of the Executive Branch of State government to determine whether the
regulations conform to the statutory authority of the unit and the legislative intent of the statute
under which the regulations are proposed.

House Bill 817 (Ch. 333) requires an Executive Branch agency, when submitting
regulations to the AELR Committee, to include, in its economic impact analysis relating to small
businesses, a certification stating (after posting the regulation or scope of the regulation on its
website) whether the agency has received notice of whether any existing regulation of a
comparable nature that is at least as stringent as the proposed regulation has been adopted by a unit
of local government. If the promulgating unit certifies that the unit has received notice of and
determined that an existing local regulation is at least as stringent as the proposed regulation, the
unit may also include a statement that compliance with the local regulation will constitute
compliance with the proposed regulation.

Trademarks

An applicant for registration of a trademark must submit to the Secretary of State (SOS) an
application on a form provided by SOS and three specimens or reproductions of the mark. An
application must be signed under oath. The application form must require (1) the name and
business address of the applicant; (2) the state of incorporation for an applicant that is a
corporation; (3) the goods or services with which the applicant uses the mark; (4) the way the
applicant uses the mark with the goods or services; (5) the class to which the goods or services
belong; (6) the dates when the applicant or applicant’s predecessor first used the mark anywhere
and first used the mark in the State; and (7) a specified statement.

Senate Bill 23 (Ch. 501) makes several changes to provisions governing the registration
of trademarks, service marks, and trade names, including (1) modifying definitions; (2) altering
the classes of goods and services for which a person may register a mark; (3) generally prohibiting
registration of a mark that is primarily an individual’s name; (4) specifying application and renewal
requirements; (5) altering the contents of a certificate of registration; (6) modifying renewal notice
and application requirements; and (7) authorizing an officer of an assignor to submit an instrument
of assignment for the registration of a mark.

Vehicle Dealers

House Bill 164 (Ch. 90) authorizes a vehicle dealer in Harford County to sell, barter,
deliver, give away, show, or offer for sale a motorcycle or certificate of title for a motorcycle on
Sundays effective June 1, 2020. The existing prohibition against Sunday sales for other motor
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vehicles in the county is otherwise unchanged. House Bill 600 (Ch. 270) similarly authorizes
motorcycle transactions on Sundays in Baltimore County effective June 1, 2020, without changing
existing prohibitions for other motor vehicle transactions.

Public Service Companies
Public Service Commission

The Public Service Commission (PSC) regulates gas, electric, telephone, water, sewage
disposal, and certain passenger transportation companies doing business in Maryland. The costs
and expenses of PSC must be borne by the public service companies that are subject to PSC’s
jurisdiction. Senate Bill 676/House Bill 102 (Chs. 54 and 55) increase the maximum amount that
PSC may assess each public service company to fund its operations each year from 0.17% to 0.25%
of each company’s gross operating revenues derived from intrastate utility and electricity supplier
operations in the preceding calendar year.

Senate Bill 603/House Bill 928 (Chs. 373 and 374) require PSC to develop a training and
educational program, in consultation with interested stakeholders, for any entity or individual that
is licensed by PSC as an electricity supplier or a gas supplier, subject to specified requirements.
The program must require that a designated representative of each licensed electricity supplier or
licensed gas supplier demonstrate a thorough understanding of relevant PSC regulations. PSC must
conduct an examination at the end of the training and certify that the designated representative has
successfully completed the training. PSC may recover the initial costs of the program through its
standard assessment and may establish reasonable fees for the program.

Utilities

Senate Bill 628 (Ch. 570) requires a “utility,” as defined, in the event of an account owner’s
death, to provide assistance to a surviving spouse related to the administration of the utility
account. On receiving proof of the relevant circumstances from the surviving spouse, a utility must
either (1) keep the deceased’s account open for at least six months with the surviving spouse as a
joint account holder or (2) transfer the account to the surviving spouse. Generally, the utility must
complete the entire process without requiring any further information, other than updated contact
information, or imposing any fee or penalty; however, a utility may impose a fee or penalty or
terminate an account for nonpayment. The utility may also close the account at the request of the
surviving spouse.

On August 17, 2016, the four-story Flower Branch apartment building in Silver Spring
caught fire and exploded. An adjacent building was also heavily damaged. The accident resulted
in seven fatalities. The National Transportation Safety Board determined that the probable cause
of the explosion was the failure of an indoor service regulator with an unconnected vent line that
allowed natural gas into the meter room where the gas then accumulated and ignited.
House Bill 408 (failed) would have required gas service regulators to be installed or relocated
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outside of specified structures, subject to certain requirements and exemptions. The bill would
have established multiple planning, review, and reporting requirements.

9-1-1 Modernization

The 9-1-1 system is funded through the 9-1-1 Trust Fund. Each telephone company and
commercial mobile radio service (CMRS) provider in the State must act as a collection agent for
the 9-1-1 Trust Fund and must remit all money collected on a monthly basis.
Senate Bill 61/House Bill 6 (Chs. 604 and 605) require telephone companies and CMRS
providers to keep records of 9-1-1 fees collected and remitted for at least four years after the fees
are remitted. For a further discussion of Senate Bill 61/House Bill 6, see the subpart “Public
Safety” of Part E — Crimes, Corrections, and Public Safety of this 7/ Day Report.

Underground Facilities

To protect underground facilities such as natural gas, telephone, cable, television, water,
and sewer lines, Chapter 635 of 2010 established the Maryland Underground Facilities Damage
Prevention Authority. Over the past decade, the authority’s participants identified several areas
where its operations and procedures could be improved. Senate Bill 877 (passed) modernizes the
authority’s statutory charter by making various changes to the authority, its composition and
powers, and specifying related procedures for the ongoing protection of underground facilities. By
October 1, 2021, any previously detectable or underground facility locatable during planned or
emergency work must be restored to be detectable or locatable. Also, beginning on that date, except
as otherwise provided, any newly installed specified underground facility must be detectable or
locatable. Nothing in the bill may be construed to abrogate, modify, or infringe on the permitting
requirements or any requirement of any permit issued by any governmental agency or entity. On
May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bill due to concerns regarding the economic challenges
resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic.

Transportation

Generally, a motor carrier permit is required for a passenger motor vehicle used in the
transportation of persons for hire. Senate Bill 171/House Bill 120 (Chs. 64 and 65) exempt
specified nonprofit organizations from this requirement when the organization uses a volunteer
driver and the driver’s personal vehicle, or the organization uses drivers to provide transportation
services solely for clients of supportive services. A related change excludes transportation services
provided by nonprofits from the definition of “transportation network services.”

Workforce Development

Senate Bill 224/House Bill 1029 (Chs. 409 and 410) alter the allocation of funds for the
Clean Energy Account within the Maryland Employment Advancement Right Now program
established under the Clean Energy Jobs Act of 2019. For a further discussion of
Senate Bill 224/House Bill 1029, see the subpart “Labor and Industry” of this part of this 7/ Day
Report.
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Other legislation related to public service companies was included in the 2020 Session
Major Issues Review.

Insurance (Other Than Health Insurance)

Property and Casualty Insurance — Generally
Insurers

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) is a national
standard-setting and regulatory support organization created and governed by the chief insurance
regulators from 50 states, the District of Columbia, and five U.S. territories. NAIC regularly
develops model legislation concerning new and existing insurance issues and encourages its
member regulators to adopt the legislation. Senate Bill 167/House Bill 189 (Chs. 100 and 101)
update Maryland’s version of the NAIC Model Act #785 “Credit for Reinsurance Model Law,” by
defining “covered agreement” and “reciprocal jurisdiction,” requiring creation and publication of
a list of reciprocal jurisdictions and authorized assuming insurers and specifying when credit must
be allowed whenever reinsurance is ceded to an assuming insurer.

Insurance Professionals

An insurance producer is a person licensed by the Maryland Insurance Administration
(MIA) to sell insurance in the State on behalf of an insurer. If an applicant for an insurance
producer license is not a resident of the State, the applicant may instead obtain a nonresident
insurance producer license. Senate Bill 93 (Ch. 520) establishes qualifications for maintaining a
nonresident insurance producer license. Additionally, the Act authorizes the Insurance
Commissioner to cancel, rather than having to deny, suspend, or revoke, the license of a
nonresident insurance producer after receiving notice that the person is no longer licensed in the
person’s home state. Cancelling is not considered an adverse action and, therefore, does not have
to be reported by the producer to other jurisdictions.

A “public adjuster” is a person who for compensation acts or aids, solely in relation to
first-party claims arising under a policy of real or personal property, on behalf of the insured in
negotiating for, or effecting the settlement of, a claim for loss or damage covered by an insurance
policy. Senate Bill 95 (Ch. 521) requires a public adjuster to disburse insurance settlement
payments received from an insurer on behalf of an insured within 15 business days.

A third-party administrator (TPA) is a person that acts for an insurer or plan sponsor. To
act as a TPA, an applicant must register with the Insurance Commissioner and meet other specified
requirements. Senate Bill 96 (Ch. 522) allows for the staggering of expiration dates for TPA
registrations with MIA. Specifically, the Act alters registration terms to expire two years after the
date of issuance, rather than every other June 30. The Act also authorizes a TPA to renew a lapsed
registration within one year after the expiration date, rather than within three months, establishes
a $100 reinstatement fee, and repeals the existing tiered reinstatement fee schedule.
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Policy Rating

Senate Bill 470 (Ch. 558) expressly authorizes a private passenger motor vehicle insurer
to consider an applicant’s homeowner’s insurance claim history when initially rating a private
passenger motor vehicle policy, but it prohibits the insurer from increasing the private passenger
motor vehicle policy premium at the time of renewal based on a homeowner’s insurance claim.
Likewise, the Act expressly authorizes a homeowner’s insurer to consider an applicant’s private
passenger motor vehicle insurance claim history when initially rating a policy, but it prohibits the
insurer from increasing the homeowner’s policy premium at the time of renewal based on a private
passenger motor vehicle insurance claim.

Motor Vehicle Insurance
Policy Cancellation and Failure to Renew

A private passenger motor vehicle liability insurer may cancel or fail to renew a policy or
binder or reduce coverage under a policy with specified exceptions and increase the total premium
for a policy under certain circumstances. Generally, the insurer must notify an insured of any such
action in a specified manner and follow other specified procedures. Additionally, when proposing
to increase the premium of a policy, an insurer must notify the policyholder of certain information
directly related to the premium increase. The insured generally has the right to protest the proposed
action and request a hearing before the Insurance Commissioner.

Senate Bill 97 (Ch. 523) allows an insured to file with MIA a protest of certain actions by
a private passenger motor vehicle insurer through the consumer complaint portal on MIA’s website
and generally simplifies the protest process.

Senate Bill 125/House Bill 118 (Chs. 62 and 63) prohibit a private passenger motor
vehicle insurer from cancelling, refusing to renew, or otherwise terminating coverage for a policy
because of a claim under the towing or emergency roadside service (ERS) coverage in the policy.
However, the Acts expressly authorize such an insurer to remove the towing or ERS coverage from
a policy at the time of renewal based on the number of towing or ERS claims and increase the
premium of a policy as a result of a towing or ERS claim.

Usage-Based Insurance Programs

Usage-Based Insurance (UBI) programs use telematics devices installed on or used in an
insured vehicle to directly monitor driving behavior, such as distances driven, speeding, or hard
braking. Once the data are collected and analyzed, an insurer adjusts the premiums accordingly.
Senate Bill 195/House Bill 270 (Chs. 144 and 145) make various changes to the regulatory
framework governing automobile insurance with respect to telematics and UBI programs. Among
other things, the Acts exempt UBI program policies from the three-year window for review of
claims and driving record and the ability to exclude a named individual from a policy, expressly
allow a premium increase based on usage under specified circumstances, and prohibit an insurer
from using telematics to cancel or refuse to renew a policy. The Acts generally prohibit an insurer
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from requiring an applicant or policyholder to use telematics unless the insurer only offers UBI
policies.

Uninsured Motorist Coverage

Uninsured motorist coverage (UM) and enhanced underinsured motorist coverage (EUIM)
pay for injury and damages caused by an uninsured, underinsured, or hit-and-run motorist. The
coverage reimburses the policyholder, members of the policyholder’s family, or a designated
driver for an accident caused by the motorist. House Bill 144 (Ch. 77) clarifies that UM or EUIM
coverage must entitle the insured to recover from the owner or operator of an uninsured motor
vehicle because of property damage, including the loss of use of the insured vehicle. The Act
requires that the minimum security amounts for bodily injury and property damage must include
any loss of use of the insured vehicle.

Rental Vehicles

Class E (truck) rental motor vehicles include pickup trucks, dump trucks, tow trucks, and
similar vehicles. House Bill 1142 (Ch. 433) authorizes the lessor of a Class E (truck) rental motor
vehicle to offer the lessee a collision damage waiver if the truck being rented is used primarily for
personal, household, family, or agricultural purposes and does not exceed a three-quarter ton
capacity or 7,000 pounds gross vehicle weight.

Life Insurance

Senate Bill 111 (Ch. 527) requires universal and variable life insurers to provide written
notice to a policyholder if a policy allows the policyholder to reduce the face amount of the policy.
The notice must be sent at the beginning of the grace period for paying premiums and state that
the policy allows for a reduction of the face amount of the policy as an option to retain coverage,
among other information. The notice must be sent to a policyholder’s last known address at the
beginning of the grace period required for payment of premiums for life insurance policies and at
least 30 days before termination of coverage.

Horse Racing and Gaming
Video Lottery Facilities

Chapter 4 of the 2007 special session, which authorized video lottery facilities in the State,
included a requirement that construction and procurement related to the operation of the facilities
meet the same participation requirements for State agencies under the State’s Minority Business
Enterprise (MBE) program. That requirement, reauthorized in 2011, 2018, and 2019, is scheduled
to terminate July 1, 2020. Senate Bill 442 (Ch. 553) extends for three years the application of the
State’s MBE program requirements to video lottery facility operations and restores the application
of the MBE program to public-private partnerships and offshore wind projects. For a more detailed
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discussion of Senate Bill 442, see the subpart “Procurement” within Part C — State Government
of this 71 Day Report.

Through federal Bank Secrecy Act (BSA) reporting and recordkeeping requirements, paper
trails of transactions are created that law enforcement and others can use to combat money
laundering. The State Lottery and Gaming Control Agency (SLGCA) is responsible for ensuring
that casino operators comply with the BSA. Senate Bill 79 (Ch. 515) alters the definition of
“video lottery facility” to include a casino for purposes of the BSA, which would enable federal
regulators to share specified financial transaction data with SLGCA.

Local Gaming

The State admissions and amusement (A&A) tax is imposed on the net proceeds derived
from any charge for the operation of electronic bingo machines or electronic tip jars for
commercial purposes. Senate Bill 465 (passed) makes permanent the distribution of A&A tax
revenues from electronic gaming devices to the E-Nnovation Initiative Fund and the
Maryland State Arts Council and provides, beginning in fiscal 2021, for the distribution of
specified revenues to the Town of Chesapeake Beach and the Michael Erin Busch Sports Fund,
subject to a certain contingency. For further discussion of the A&A tax under the bill, see the
subpart “Miscellaneous Taxes” within Part B — Taxes of this 7/ Day Report. On May 7, 2020, the
Governor vetoed the bill due to concerns regarding the economic challenges resulting from the
COVID-19 pandemic.

Horse Racing

Legislation related to horse racing was covered in the 2020 Major Issues Review.

Economic Development

Opportunity Zones

The Federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017 established the Qualified Opportunity Zones
Program to incentivize private investment in distressed communities. Under the Act, states may
nominate up to 25% of specified low-income census tracts for designation by the U.S. Treasury as
opportunity zones. The program offers federal tax incentives related to capital gains for persons
who make qualifying investments within these designated opportunity zones. Chapter 211 of 2019
established the Opportunity Zone Enhancement Program to be administered by the Department of
Commerce (Commerce). Under the program, certain businesses within an opportunity zone may
qualify for enhanced incentives under the following tax credit programs in the State: (1) job
creation; (2) One Maryland; (3) enterprise zone; (4) biotechnology investment incentive;
(5) cybersecurity investment incentive; and (6) More Jobs for Marylanders.
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Opportunity Zone Enhancement Program Alterations

House Bill 45 (Ch. 38) alters the Opportunity Zone Enhancement Program by (1) limiting
the enhanced tax benefits available under the program to tax years 2019 through 2026;
(2) restricting eligibility for the enhanced benefits under the biotechnology investment incentive
and cybersecurity investment incentive tax credit programs to investments made in a company that
is newly established or expands into an opportunity zone on or after March 1, 2018; (3) requiring
businesses in a county with a minimum wage that exceeds the State minimum wage to pay the
greater of 120% of the State or county minimum wage; and (4) altering certain application and
reporting requirements. The Act also prohibits golf courses, country clubs, tanning salons, and bail
bondsmen from participating in the More Jobs for Marylanders Program.

Senate Bill 713/House Bill 566 (Chs. 254 and 255) alter the information that must be
provided by an applicant for an enhanced tax credit under the Opportunity Zone Enhancement
Program to include information related to lead-based paint abatement in specified circumstances,
such as providing proof of registration with the Maryland Department of Environment’s Lead
Poisoning Prevention Program and proof of certain lead inspections, if applicable.

Department of Commerce

Data Collection, Tracking, and Reporting Requirements

House Bill 1026 (Ch. 408) adds the More Jobs for Marylanders Tax Credit, the Purchase
of Cybersecurity Technology or Service Tax Credit, the Opportunity Zone Enhancement Tax
Credit, and the Small Business Relief Tax Credit to the definition of economic development
program for specified data collection, tracking, and reporting requirements under the Maryland
Jobs Development Act. Additionally, the Act requires Commerce to establish, maintain, and
annually update a publicly available database on the department’s website that provides related
specified information on its economic development programs.

The State’s Minority Business Enterprise (MBE) program requires that a statewide goal
for MBE contract participation be established biennially through the regulatory process under the
Administrative Procedure Act, with the goal currently set at 29%. Senate Bill 499/House Bill 404
(Chs. 194 and 195) require Commerce to include specified information related to MBEs in its
annual consolidated report on economic development programs.

Maryland Technology Development Corporation

The Maryland Technology Development Corporation (TEDCO) is an independent entity
established by the General Assembly to facilitate the creation of technology companies and
encourage collaboration between these emerging businesses and federal and State research
laboratories.
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Small Business Innovation Research and Technology Transfer Programs

The U.S. Small Business Administration’s Office of Technology administers the Small
Business Innovation Research and Technology Transfer (SBIR/STTR) programs, which are
competitive federal grant programs for small high-tech innovative businesses. The National
Institutes of Health award SBIR/STTR grants to businesses engaging in research and development
that has a strong potential for commercialization.

To enhance federally awarded SBIR/STTR grants, Senate Bill 398/ House Bill 514 (both
passed) establish the Maryland Small Business Innovation Research and Technology Transfer
Incentive Program, administered by TEDCO. An eligible small business may apply for a State
award or investment of 25% of an SBIR/STTR federal grant, limited to $25,000 for Phase I funding
or $75,000 for Phase II funding. TEDCO may make up to 20 Phase I distributions and 10 Phase 11
distributions per fiscal year. Recipients of similar grants to SBIR/STTR are also eligible, and
awards or investments may exceed the maximum amount under specified circumstances. The bills
also establish a special fund for the grant awards and administration of the program.

On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bills due to concerns regarding the economic
challenges resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic.

Senate Bill 583/House Bill 521 (Chs. 231 and 232) establish the Maryland Small Business
Innovation Research Technical Assistance Program, administered by TEDCO, to provide technical
assistance to eligible small businesses (those with no more than 50 employees, in addition to other
criteria) to encourage and facilitate the receipt of grants under the federal SBIR/STTR programs.

Recodification of TEDCO Statutes

In response, in part, to a February 2019 fiscal compliance audit of TEDCO conducted by
the Office of Legislative Audits, Chapters 487 and 488 of 2019 required the Department of
Legislative Services to review TEDCO’s statute and make recommendations for clarity and
consistency. Senate Bill 747 (Ch. 580) revises, restates, and recodifies the laws of the State related
to TEDCO by adding a new subtitle. The Act also requires TEDCO, by December 1, 2020, to
review the entirety of TEDCO-related statutory provisions and report recommended changes to
the General Assembly.

Maryland Stadium Authority
Youth and Amateur Sports Grants Program and Michael Erin Busch Sports Fund

Maryland Sports under the Maryland Stadium Authority brings regional, national, and
international sporting events at all levels of competition to the State for the purposes of utilizing
sports facilities in the State, enhancing the economic development of the State, and promoting the
State as a destination for amateur and professional sporting events. House Bill 1659 (passed)
establishes the Youth and Amateur Sports Grants Program under Maryland Sports to bring new
youth and amateur sporting events to the State and attract sports fans, participants, and tourists.
Generally, Maryland Sports may award grants of up to $75,000 to nonprofit organizations,
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counties, business entities, or individuals to bring youth and amateur sporting events to the State.
The bill also establishes the Michael Erin Busch Sports Fund for the grants and administration of
the program. Beginning in fiscal 2021, $1.0 million annually must be allocated to the fund from
the remaining money in the State Lottery Fund after other specified distributions are made.

On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bill due to concerns regarding the economic
challenges resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic.

Regional and Local Economic Development
Baltimore Symphony Orchestra

In response to the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra’s (BSO) past financial difficulties,
Senate Bill 1065/House Bill 1658 (both passed) require the Governor to include annual
appropriations in the State budget for BSO for fiscal 2022 through 2026. The required amount is
as follows: (1) $1.5 million in fiscal 2022; (2) $1.3 million in fiscal 2023; (3) $1.1 million in
fiscal 2024; (4) $0.9 million in fiscal 2025; and (5) $0.7 million in fiscal 2026. The bills also
establish related financial reporting requirements for BSO for five years, beginning in 2022.

On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bills due to concerns regarding the economic
challenges resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic.

Prince George’s County Multiphase Economic Development Projects

Chapter 402 of 2012 authorized Prince George’s County, by resolution, to exempt specified
economic development projects located in designated focus areas from county real property taxes
if certain specified conditions were met. House Bill 434 (Ch. 206) repeals the June 30, 2021
termination date of the authorization for the county to exempt these projects from county real
property taxes. The Act also authorizes Prince George’s County to enter into multiple payment in
lieu of taxes agreements for different phases of an economic development project.

Charles County Tax Increment Financing and Special Taxing District

Senate Bill 431/House Bill 345 (Chs. 174 and 175) expand the authority of Charles
County to use tax increment financing (TIF) and special taxing districts to finance convention,
conference, and visitors’ centers and related purposes, subject to specified conditions. Senate
Bill 431 limits TIF to be used only in the Waldorf Urban Redevelopment Corridor, while
House Bill 345 does not establish such a limitation.

Tri-County Council for Southern Maryland

The Tri-County Council for Southern Maryland is a cooperative planning and development
unit for Calvert, Charles, and St. Mary’s counties. The council initiates and coordinates plans and
projects for the development of human and economic resources of the region as a Southern
Maryland planning and development unit. Senate Bill 805/House Bill 387 (Chs. 191 and 192)
increase the amount of money that Calvert, Charles, and St. Mary’s counties must each appropriate
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to the council to $125,000 annually, beginning in fiscal 2021. Under current law, Calvert County
must appropriate $7,000 annually, and Charles and St. Mary’s counties must each appropriate
$9,000; however, in practice, each county provided $94,200 in fiscal 2020.

Tri-County Council for Western Maryland

The Tri-County Council for Western Maryland is a 26-member regional economic
development organization representing Allegany, Garrett, and Washington counties. A board of
directors governs the council and includes representatives from both the public and private sectors.
In contrast to other analogous councils across the State, local Maryland Municipal League chapters
appoint two mayors from each county to the council. Senate Bill 292 (Ch. 545) alters the
appointment process by requiring the mayors to be appointed by the commissioners from their
respective member county.

Task Force on the Economic Future of Western Maryland

House Bill 436 (Ch. 207) establishes the Task Force on the Economic Future of Western
Maryland to study the current economic conditions of Western Maryland and make
recommendations on potential methods to improve the economies of Allegany, Garrett, and
Washington counties. Potential methods may include opportunities to expand economic activity
in technology-based industry, to strengthen tourism related-businesses, and strategies to overcome
barriers to the creation and expansion of new small businesses. The task force must report its
findings and recommendations to the Governor and General Assembly by January 1, 2021.

Miscellaneous

Small Business Development Center Network Fund

The Small Business Development Center offers free business consulting services to new
and existing small businesses. The network is organized across five regions, with more than
20 offices located throughout the State; in order to receive federal funds the State must provide at
least a one-to-one match. Senate Bill 493 (passed) increases the minimum required general fund
appropriation to at least $1,150,000 beginning in fiscal 2022 from at least $950,000 under current
law.

On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bill due to concerns regarding the economic
challenges resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic.

Maryland E-Novation Initiative Program

Chapters 532 and 533 of 2014 established the Maryland E-Nnovation Initiative Program,
Authority, and Fund. Subject to a matching requirement, the program provides funds to qualifying
nonprofit institutions of higher education in the State to create and administer research
endowments. Each year, revenues attributable to a State admissions and amusement (A&A) tax
rate of 20% imposed on electronic bingo and tip jars are dedicated to fund the program. If this
amount is not at least $8.5 million, then the Governor is required to make up the difference in the
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annual budget appropriation. These requirements were set to expire after fiscal 2021. In addition
to specified programmatic changes, Senate Bill 465 (passed) makes permanent the requirement
that the State A&A tax attributable to a 20% tax rate be dedicated to the E-Nnovation Fund and
extends the $8.5 million annual minimum through fiscal 2026.

Regarding other required distributions of the State A&A tax, the bill makes permanent the
distribution equal to a tax rate of 5% to the following purposes: (1) $1 million to the Maryland
State Arts Council; (2) $300,000 to the Town of Chesapeake Beach; and (3) the remainder to the
Preservation of Cultural Arts within Commerce. Contingent on the enactment of House Bill 1659,
which was vetoed by the Governor, the bill also requires $500,000 to be distributed to the
Michael Erin Busch Sports Fund.

On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bill due to concerns regarding the economic
challenges resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic.

Housing and Community Development

Youth Homelessness

Chapter 553 of 2019 established the Workgroup to Study the Shelter and Supportive
Services for Unaccompanied Homeless Minors. The workgroup was required to, among other
things, study the unique needs of unaccompanied homeless minors, identify the public and private
sector programs and resources available to meet those needs, identify barriers unaccompanied
homeless minors face in accessing safe shelter, and make related recommendations. In its final
report, the workgroup recommended that legislation be introduced to (1) allow minors to consent
to housing and shelter services; (2) require minors to understand the responsibilities, risks, and
limits of the shelter and services; and (3) establish a registry of service providers that serve
unaccompanied homeless minors.

Senate Bill 207/House Bill 206 (Chs. 108 and 109) implement recommendations of the
workgroup. The Acts authorize an unaccompanied minor in need of shelter to consent to shelter
and supportive services if the service provider reasonably believes that (1) the unaccompanied
minor understands the significant benefits, responsibilities, risks, and limits of the shelter and
services and can communicate informed consent; (2) the unaccompanied minor understands the
requirements and rules of the shelter and services; and (3) the shelter and services are necessary to
ensure the unaccompanied minor’s safety and well-being. An unaccompanied minor in need of
shelter who is a parent may consent to shelter and supportive services for the minor’s child.

The Acts require service providers to (1) register with the Department of Housing and
Community Development (DHCD); (2) develop and implement a procedure to screen each staff
member who works with minors; and (3) obtain written consent from the unaccompanied minor
in need of shelter. After providing shelter to an unaccompanied minor in need of shelter, a service
provider must, as soon as possible and within 72 hours, contact a parent, a guardian, or an adult
relative of the minor; however, if the service provider suspects abuse or neglect of the minor, the
service provider must immediately notify the appropriate authorities. Other requirements are
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established in the event that contact cannot be made or when the service provider receives
information that an unaccompanied minor is missing. DHCD is also required to establish and
maintain a service provider registry.

Local Housing Authorities

Generally, local housing authorities are established under State law to undertake, construct,
operate, and maintain housing projects and administer other housing assistance programs.

Annapolis Housing Authority

Senate Bill 288/House Bill 544 (Chs. 241 and 242) prohibit a State public body from
making an exception for the Housing Authority of the City of Annapolis (HACA) to a law, a rule,
a regulation, or an ordinance that operates in the City of Annapolis and relates to licensure or the
inspection of real property. However, for HACA, such a public body may (1) extend the
time period, within an inspection cycle, for the reinspection of a unit that fails an initial inspection
or (2) waive a fee or fine that is associated with the licensure or inspection of real property.

Montgomery County

House Bill 800 (Ch. 330) requires the Housing Opportunities Commission of Montgomery
County (HOC) to (1) prepare written minutes of each meeting as soon as practicable; (2) stream
live video of its open meetings; (3) on or before December 15 each year, publish on its website a
financial report and a full and complete copy of the certified audit report for the previous
fiscal year; (4) publish in a public record all information that relates to a financial report or certified
audit report, subject to specified exceptions; and (5) report payment data on a searchable website
developed and operated by HOC.

Workers’ Compensation

If an employee covered under workers’ compensation insurance has suffered an accidental
personal injury, compensable hernia, or occupational disease, the employee is entitled to
compensation benefits paid by the employer, its insurer, the Subsequent Injury Fund (SIF), or the
Uninsured Employers’ Fund (UEF), as appropriate. Workers’ compensation benefits include wage
replacement, medical treatment, and vocational rehabilitation expenses. Wage replacement
benefits are calculated based on the covered employee’s average weekly wage, while medical
benefits are generally fully or partially covered depending on how the treatment is related to the
personal injury, hernia, or occupational disease.

Eligibility and Extent of Benefits

House Bill 810 (Ch. 332) specifies that a member of a volunteer company in
Washington County is a covered employee for purposes of workers’ compensation benefits if the
individual is at least 15 years old and is enrolled in the fire and rescue academy program operated
by the Washington County Board of Education.
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Generally, an employee who is awarded compensation for a permanent partial disability
for a period less than 75 weeks is eligible to receive weekly benefits of one-third of his or her
average weekly wage, up to a limit of 16.7% of the State average weekly wage. However, a public
safety employee awarded compensation for less than 75 weeks is entitled to receive weekly
benefits of two-thirds of his or her average weekly wage, up to a limit of one-third of the State
average weekly wage. House Bill 685 (Ch. 303) alters the definition of “public safety employee”
to include Harford County deputy sheriffs, correctional officers, and detention officers, thereby
making those individuals eligible for the enhanced workers’ compensation benefits for claims
arising on or after October 1, 2020.

Reporting an Injury

Generally, a covered employee that suffers an accidental personal injury must report the
injury to the employer within 10 days and file a claim with the Workers’ Compensation
Commission within 60 days of the injury. A covered employee may file a claim within two years
after the injury under limited circumstances. Failure to do so generally bars a compensation claim.
For a hernia caused by an accidental personal injury or by a strain arising out of and in the course
of employment, an employer must provide workers’ compensation benefits to a covered employee
if (1) the covered employee provides definite proof that the hernia either did not exist prior to the
injury or strain or, as a result of the injury or strain, a preexisting hernia requires an immediate
operation; and (2) the injury or strain was reported to the employer within 30 days after it occurred.
The two-year claim filing exception is not available to a covered employee who develops a hernia.

Senate Bill 784 (Ch. 582) alters the reporting requirements for hernias by (1) increasing,
from 30 days to 45 days, the time within which an employee must report an accidental personal
injury or strain that causes or exacerbates a preexisting hernia and (2) allowing an employee to file
a workers’ compensation claim for a hernia up to two years after the injury or strain occurred
unless the employer or its insurer has been prejudiced by the failure to do so within the typical
60-day timeframe.

Injured Workers’ Insurance Fund

Chapter 570 of 2012 converted the Injured Workers’ Insurance Fund (IWIF) into
Chesapeake Employers’ Insurance Company (Chesapeake), a private, nonprofit, and nonstock
workers’ compensation insurer, as of October 1, 2013. The functions, powers, duties, assets, real
and personal property, accounts, liabilities, contracts, and obligations of IWIF transferred to
Chesapeake; however, some staff remained IWIF employees. Chesapeake was required to serve
as the workers’ compensation insurer of last resort in the State. IWIF was authorized to be the
third-party administrator for the State’s Self-Insured Workers’ Compensation Program for State
Employees; currently Chesapeake and IWIF administer the program together.

Senate Bill 616/House Bill 99 (Chs. 52 and 53) make various changes to the
administration and leadership of IWIF and Chesapeake. Changes include (1) requiring IWIF to be
the third-party administrator for the State’s Self-Insured Workers’ Compensation Program for
State Employees; (2) expressly authorizing IWIF to use nonsupervisory employees of Chesapeake
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in its operations and requiring Chesapeake to annually execute an agreement listing which
employees are affected and meeting other specified requirements; (3) repealing the requirement
that the President of IWIF be the President of Chesapeake and instead specifying that the President
of IWIF must be an IWIF employee; and (4) repealing the requirement that IWIF’s board be the
same as Chesapeake’s board, and specifying the composition of IWIF’s board.

Uninsured Employers’ Fund

Two entities — UEF and SIF — support the State’s workers’ compensation system to ensure
that an injured worker receives the full extent of workers’ compensation benefits, regardless of the
employer’s ability to pay. Both UEF and SIF are special funded, and their revenues are primarily
derived from an assessment on awards against employers or insurers for permanent disability or
death and amounts payable by employers or insurers under settlement agreements. The fiscal 2021
budget analysis of UEF projects that UEF would likely become insolvent in fiscal 2021 without
some kind of financial assistance. Senate Bill 8 (Ch. 495) alters the assessments that fund UEF
and SIF by decreasing SIF’s assessment from 6.5% to 5.5% and increasing UEF’s base assessment
by 1%, meaning that the maximum amount that may be assessed to fund UEF’s operations
increases from 2% to 3%. The percent changes remain in effect for one year and expire on
June 30, 2021.

Unemployment Insurance

The only significant legislation in the area of unemployment insurance was addressed in
the 2020 Major Issues Review.

Labor and Industry
Wages

In the past several years, the General Assembly has made several updates to the State’s
Equal Pay for Equal Work Law. House Bill 123 (Ch. 67) requires an employer to provide, on
request by an applicant for employment, the wage range for the position for which the applicant
applied. The Act generally prohibits an employer from seeking wage history information about an
applicant, or from using the applicant’s wage history while screening or considering an applicant
for employment. An employer is also prohibited from determining an applicant’s wages based on
the applicant’s wage history. However, an applicant is not prohibited from voluntarily sharing
wage history information with an employer. An employer may not retaliate against or refuse to
interview, hire, or employ an applicant because the applicant did not provide a wage history or
requested the wage range. The Act includes civil penalties for employers who violate specified
provisions multiple times.

Maryland’s Wage Payment and Collection Law regulates the payment of wages by
employers in the State. The law requires employers to pay workers the wage promised, establishes
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regular paydays, requires that most employees be paid at least once every two weeks or twice in
each month, requires that employees receive a statement of gross earnings, and requires that
employees be paid all wages due on termination of employment, among other requirements.
Several years ago, the General Assembly established an administrative process for smaller claims
for unpaid wages. Senate Bill 119 (Ch. 533) increases the threshold from $3,000 to $5,000 for a
complaint of unpaid wages to be subject to an order by the Commissioner of Labor and Industry
for an employer to pay wages.

Hiring and Employment Practices
Inquiries into Criminal Records

Senate Bill 839/House Bill 994 passed in the 2019 session and prohibit an employer with
15 or more full-time employees from, before the first in-person interview, requiring an applicant
for employment to disclose whether the applicant has a criminal record or has had criminal
accusations brought against the applicant. The prohibition does not apply to an employer that is
expressly authorized to do so by another federal or State law or if the employer provides programs,
services, or direct care to minors or to vulnerable adults. The Acts may not be construed to preempt
a local jurisdiction’s authority to enact or enforce a more restrictive criminal record screening law,
and employers may not retaliate against an applicant or employee who claims a violation of the
law. For a first violation, the commissioner must issue an order compelling compliance; for
subsequent violations, the commissioner may assess a civil penalty of up to $300 for each violation
but must consider various factors in determining the amount of the civil penalty. The Governor
vetoed the legislation, but the General Assembly overrode the vetoes during the 2020 session
(Chs. 3 and 8 0f 2020).

Facial Recognition Services

House Bill 1202 (Ch. 446) prohibits an employer from using a facial recognition service
for the purpose of creating a facial template during an applicant’s interview for employment unless
an applicant consents by signing a waiver. “Facial recognition service” is defined as technology
that analyzes facial features and is used for recognition or persistent tracking of individuals in still
or video images.

Revision — Maryland Healthy Working Families Act

The Maryland Healthy Working Families Act requires an employer to have a sick and safe
leave policy under which an employee earns at least 1 hour of sick and safe leave at the same rate
as the employee normally earns, for every 30 hours an employee works. An employee is eligible
to use sick and safe leave under specified circumstances, including to care for the employee’s
family member. House Bill 880 (Ch. 355) expands the definition of “family member” under the
Maryland Healthy Working Families Act to include the ward of an employee and the ward or legal
guardian of the employee’s spouse.
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Lay Offs
Economic Stabilization Act

The Economic Stabilization Act established a quick response program to provide both
employers and employees with services to assist in mitigating the impact on employees because
of a reduction in operations. Senate Bill 780/House Bill 1018 (Chs. 406 and 407) slightly alter
the applicability of the Economic Stabilization Act by defining an “employer” as a person who
employs “employees” rather than “individuals” and adds a new definition of “employee.” The Acts
require an employer with at least 50 employees that operates an industrial, commercial, or business
enterprise in the State to provide written notice at least 60 days before initiating a reduction in
operations to specified employees, collective bargaining representatives, individuals, elected
officials, and the dislocated worker unit within the Division of Workforce Development and Adult
Learning of the Maryland Department of Labor (MDL). The Secretary of Labor, in cooperation
with the Workforce Development Board, must develop mandatory (rather than voluntary)
guidelines that employers must adhere to during a reduction in operations.

Hospital Employee Retraining and Placement

Senate Bill 938/House Bill 1571 (Chs. 489 and 490) specify that, if a hospital closes,
merges, or is fully delicensed and workers are displaced, each hospital must pay a fee to MDL for
the Hospital Employees Retraining Fund. In any year, if the balance of the fund is depleted, the
Health Services Cost Review Commission must require each hospital to pay a direct remittance to
MDL in order to address the needs of any partial closure, downsizing, acquisition, or partial
delicensure of a hospital. The Acts expand the existing hospital retraining program to include
retraining and job-seeking assistance for nonexecutive hospital employees, who are not licensed
physicians or physician assistants, and who are unemployed or who may become unemployed as
a result of the change in a hospital’s status. After a three-year period of implementation, the Acts’
provisions terminate on September 30, 2023. For a further discussion of the Acts, see the subpart
“Health Care Facilities and Regulation” in Part J of this 7/ Day Report.

Apprenticeships

The Maryland Energy Administration must invest in pre-apprenticeship, youth
apprenticeship, and registered apprenticeship programs with funding from the Strategic Energy
Investment Fund to establish career paths in the clean energy industry under the Maryland
Employment Advancement Right Now (EARN) program. Senate Bill 224/House Bill 1029
(Chs. 409 and 410) redirect funds from pre-apprenticeship and apprenticeship programs to provide
funding for the recruitment of individuals, including veterans and formerly incarcerated
individuals, to the pre-apprenticeship jobs training programs and the registered apprenticeship jobs
training programs. The funding changes go into effect in fiscal 2021 and continue until all funds
are spent. The Acts add energy efficiency and geothermal careers as permissible career fields for
youth apprenticeship jobs training programs and registered apprenticeship jobs training programs
under EARN. The Acts also expand the definition of “clean energy industry” under EARN to
include carpenters, pile-driver operators, millwrights, insulation workers, and well drillers that
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provide specified products and services. For a further discussion of these Acts, see the subpart
“Public Service Companies” of this part in this 7/ Day Report.

Employment Safety Standards

House Bill 722 (Ch. 308) requires the Commissioner of Labor and Industry, in consultation
with the Maryland Occupational Safety and Health (MOSH) Advisory Board, to develop and adopt
regulations by October 1, 2022, which require employers to protect employees from heat-related
illness caused by heat stress. Before the commissioner begins the process for developing and
adopting the regulations, MOSH must hold informational hearings in four different geographical
areas of the State to obtain input from interested parties. In developing the regulations, the
commissioner must consider specified national standards. By January 1, 2022, the commissioner
must report to specified committees of the General Assembly on the implementation of the Act.

Reporting Requirements

House Bill 835 (Ch. 336) requires MDL to develop a list of any federal or State incentive
programs available to an employer who hires and trains formerly incarcerated individuals. MDL
must make the list accessible on the main page of its website.

House Bill 1141 (Ch. 432) requires MDL to report to the General Assembly, by
September 30, each year on the progress in achieving the purposes of the Apprenticeship Career
Training Pilot Program for Formerly Incarcerated Individuals for the immediately preceding
calendar year. The report must also include the number and types of employers that received
grants, the grant amount by employer, and the total number of apprentices and number of
apprentices by employer that participated in the program.

Alcoholic Beverages (Statewide)

Implementation of United States Supreme Court Decision

In June 2019, the U.S. Supreme Court decided Tennessee Wine and Spirits Retailers Ass’'n
v. Thomas, 588 U.S. ;139 S. Ct. 2449 (2019). In the case, the court struck down a residency
requirement to obtain and maintain an alcoholic beverages license in Tennessee. Specifically,
Tennessee had required an applicant for a retail liquor store license to have lived in the state for
2 years as a qualification for receiving a license, while an applicant for license renewal must have
lived in the state for 10 years. The court found that this kind of residency requirement violates the
Commerce Clause of the U.S. Constitution.

Many alcoholic beverages licenses and permits in Maryland law include residency
requirements similar to those struck down in the 7homas decision. In order to maintain consistency
of State law while respecting the federal decision, House Bill 902 (Ch. 462) codifies the court’s
decision as it would apply to Maryland law by repealing various requirements that an alcoholic
beverages license applicant or license holder be a registered voter, taxpayer, or resident of a
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jurisdiction for a period of time, generally one or more years, as a condition for obtaining or
maintaining a license. Instead, the Act generally requires the applicant or licensee to be a resident,
voter, or taxpayer of the State or a local jurisdiction at the time of application and during the
license period. The Act applies to various State- and locally issued alcoholic beverages licenses
and permits.

Other legislation relating to the regulation of alcoholic beverages at the State level was
addressed in the 2020 Session Major Issues Review.

Alcoholic Beverages (Local)
Legislation
City of Annapolis

Club Public Event Permit: Senate Bill 503/House Bill 844 (Chs. 338 and 339) establish
a club public event permit and authorize the board of license commissioners to issue the permit to
holders of a Class C alcoholic beverages license. The permit authorizes a club to sell alcoholic
beverages that are allowed under the club’s Class C license during a public event, at the place
described in the license, to an individual who is not a member of the club or the guest of a member
for on-premises consumption. The board may approve up to 12 public events per permit holder in
a calendar year.

Anne Arundel County
Board of License Commissioners

Meetings: Senate Bill 163/House Bill 285 (Chs. 152 and 153) require the board of license
commissioners to (1) publish a meeting agenda no later than one week before the hearing; (2) make
each open meeting available to the public with live video and audio streaming; (3) publish the
minutes of each open meeting, as specified, no later than one month after the meeting; and
(4) archive and store recordings of each open meeting and records of the minutes of each opening
meeting.

Staff and Compensation: Senate Bill 221/House Bill 758 (Chs. 312 and 313) require
the board of license commissioners to employ one full-time executive director and one full-time
administrator and specify the pay grades for these positions. The Acts also increase, from one to
two, the number of full-time secretaries the board must employ.

In addition, Senate Bill 141/House Bill 461 (Chs. 213 and 214) increase the salaries of
specified employees of the board.
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Licenses and Applications

Creditor Claims: Senate Bill 143/House Bill 638 (Chs. 283 and 284) alter the
requirements for the approval of alcoholic beverages license transfers. The board of license
commissioners is not bound by a specific statutory limitation if a creditor’s claim involves
indebtedness incurred through the purchase or sale of alcoholic beverages in connection with the
licensed premises. Additionally, the Acts authorize the board, if the board determines that a
properly filed claim is outside its expertise, to approve an application for the transfer of a license
or an application for a new license if there is (1) an amicable resolution of the claim or (2) a judicial
determination on the claim.

License Transfers: House Bill 536 (Ch. 601) authorizes the board of license
commissioners to allow an approved applicant to transfer an alcoholic beverages license to certain
other premises within one-half mile of the premises for which the license was originally issued
within one year after final approval by the board and in accordance with existing statutory
provisions and applicable regulations on license transfers.

Notice of Application: Senate Bill 180/House Bill 329 (Chs. 170 and 171) authorize
the board of license commissioners to post a completed alcoholic beverages license application
online at least 10 days before the date of the hearing on the application instead of posting this
notification in a newspaper as is currently required. The board must require an applicant to post
a suitable notice in a conspicuous place at the location described in the application for at least 10
days.

Assessment Districts: Senate Bill 52/House Bill 138 (Chs. 69 and 70) clarify that the
board of license commissioners may consider, when issuing a Class A, Class B, or Class D
off-sale alcoholic beverages license, whether an establishment is located in an assessment district
in which the ratio of Class A, Class B, or Class D off-sale licenses per individual is more or less
than one license per 4,000 individuals.

Petition of Support: Generally, an application to a local licensing board in the State for
an alcoholic beverages license must include a petition of support signed by at least 10 residents
who own real estate in and are registered voters of the precinct in which the potential licensed
establishment is located. Senate Bill 57/House Bill 330 (Chs. 599 and 600) repeal the petition
of support requirement for alcoholic beverages license applications in Anne Arundel County.

Specific Licenses and Permits

Barbershop and Beauty Salon License: Senate Bill 361 (Ch. 551) establishes a
barbershop and beauty salon beer and wine alcoholic beverages license and authorizes the board
of license commissioners to issue the license to the holders of specified beauty salon or
barbershop permits. A license holder may provide up to 12 ounces of beer or 5 ounces of wine
by the glass for on-premises consumption only while performing activities generally related to
beauty salons or barbershops or while the customer is attending a fundraising event at the
barbershop or beauty salon. The license holder may provide beer and wine for on-premises
consumption during normal business hours but not after 9:00 p.m.
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Class B and Class H Licenses: Senate Bill 37 (Ch. 503) requires a license holder,
before each renewal of specified Class B or Class H alcoholic beverages licenses, to attest in a
sworn statement that the gross receipts from food sales for the 12-month period immediately
preceding the application for renewal were equal to at least 51% of the gross receipts from the
sale of food and alcoholic beverages sold for on-premises consumption.

Entertainment Facilities: Senate Bill 126 (Ch. 626) alters the manner in which the
holder of an entertainment facility license may sell beer, wine, and liquor and expands the scope
of authorized entertainment activities that may be performed in the licensed facility. The Act also
authorizes the board of license commissioners to allow the holder of an entertainment facility
license to sell alcoholic beverages for promotional events in an area adjacent to the entertainment
facility if that area is both under controlled access of the license holder and is a parking lot, picnic
ground, building, or terrace controlled by the license holder. Additionally, the Act authorizes,
rather than requires, the board to revoke an entertainment facility license for displays of nudity
and sexual acts at the entertainment facility, as specified.

Gift Basket Permits: Senate Bill 525/House Bill 714 (Chs. 306 and 307) establish a
gift basket permit and authorize the board of license commissioners to issue the permit to persons
whose primary business is the sale and delivery of flowers, as specified. The board may not issue
the permit for use on the premises of a chain store, supermarket, or discount house. The total

annual sales from alcoholic beverages cannot exceed 10% of the annual gross sales of the permit
holder.

Small Yacht Club _License: Senate Bill 239/House Bill 554 (Chs. 250 and 251)
establish the Class C (Small Yacht Club) license and authorize the board of license
commissioners to issue the license to a small yacht club that meets specified requirements. A
license holder may sell beer, wine, and liquor to yacht club members and guests accompanied by
members on the yacht club premises. The license holder may purchase alcoholic beverages from
a retail dealer.

Baltimore City

Class A, A-2, and A-7 Licenses: Senate Bill 69 (Ch. 510) (1) extends the date after
which the board of license commissioners may no longer issue a Class A-7 license from
July 1, 2020, to June 30, 2022, and makes a conforming change; (2) prohibits a Class A-7 license
from being issued in the 43rd legislative district; (3) alters the hours of sale for a Class A-7 license
to be from 10 a.m. to midnight; and (4) requires the holder of Class A beer, wine, and liquor
license; a Class A-2 beer, wine, and liquor license; or Class A-7 beer, wine, and liquor license to
operate a digital surveillance system on the licensed premises. In consultation with the

appropriate authorities, the board must adopt regulations relating to digital surveillance on or
before December 31, 2020.

Neighborhood Licenses and Restrictions

Class B and Class C Beer, Wine, and Liquor Licenses: House Bill 954 (Ch. 389)
makes a number of changes to beer, wine, and liquor licenses in specific neighborhoods of
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Baltimore City. The Act (1) authorizes the exchange of a Class B beer, wine, and liquor license
for a Class B-D-7 beer, wine, and liquor license in a specified area of the Mount
Vernon-Belvedere neighborhood if the applicant executes a memorandum of understanding
(MOU) with the Mount Vernon-Belvedere Improvement Association; (2) alters the hours of sale
for a Class B-D-7 license holder in a specified geographical area in central Baltimore; and
(3) authorizes the board of license commissioners to issue a Class C beer, wine, and liquor license
in a specified area in the Charles North neighborhood if the applicant executes an MOU with the
Charles North Community Association.

Class B Beer, Wine, and Liquor License Exchange: Senate Bill 328 (Ch. 390)
authorizes the exchange of a Class B beer, wine, and liquor license for a Class B-D-7 license if
(1) the licensed premises is in an area bounded by the unit block of West Preston Street, the
1200 block of North Charles Street, the 1200 block of Morton Street, and the unit block of
West Biddle Street and (2) the applicant executes an MOU with the Mount Vernon-Belvedere
Improvement Association. The holder of an exchanged license may provide outdoor table
service. In addition, the board may condition the issuance or renewal of the license on the
substantial compliance of the applicant with the MOU.

Class B-D-7 License: Senate Bill 181/House Bill 168 (Chs. 91 and 92) clarify that the
hours of sale for a Class B-D-7 license located in specified areas in Baltimore City bounded by
Liberty Heights Avenue, Northern Parkway, Druid Park Drive, and Wabash Avenue are from
9am.to9 p.m.

In addition, Senate Bill 73/House Bill 228 (Chs. 112 and 113) authorize the board of
license commissioners to issue a Class B-D-7 license in the 5400 block of Harford Road in the
45th alcoholic beverages district under specified conditions.

Class D License: House Bill 924 (Ch. 372) prohibits the board of license commissioners
from charging a fee for a temporary license permit extension under specified conditions. In
addition, the Act (1) authorizes the board to waive distance restrictions for license transfer
applicants under specified circumstances in the area bounded by Fagley Street, Gough Street,
Grundy Street, and Chestle Place and (2) alters the geographic area within which the board may
issue a Class B-D-7 license in the Old Goucher Revitalization District.

Carroll County

Hours and Days for Consumption and Sale: Senate Bill 238/ House Bill 571 (Chs. 258
and 259) alter the hours of sale for specified types of Class B, C, D, and H alcoholic beverages
licenses in the county.

Dorchester County

License Issuance: Senate Bill 100/House Bill 24 (Chs. 30 and 31) clarify that the board
of license commissioners, not the Dorchester County Council, is authorized to issue a Class C
beer, wine, and liquor license. In addition, the Acts authorize the board to issue a Class C beer,
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wine, and liquor license to a nonprofit operating on the premises known as Governors Hall at
Sailwinds Park.

Frederick County

Repeal of License Quotas: Senate Bill 215/House Bill 145 (Chs. 78 and 79) repeal the
quota on the number of Class B (on-sale) beer and Class B (on-sale) beer and wine licenses the
board of license commissioners may issue in any election district.

Cinema/Theater License: House Bill 322 (Ch. 167) authorizes the holder of a Class CT
(cinema/theater) (on-sale) beer, wine, and liquor license to sell beer, wine, and liquor for
on-premises consumption in a lobby, screening room, or performance hall of a for-profit cinema
or theater with at least one screening room or performance hall. The Act also repeals the
limitation that sales of beer, wine, and liquor may be consumed only in a designated area of the
lobby and only for 45 minutes before a movie or theater performance starts.

Municipal Golf Course License: House Bill 1062 (Ch. 416) establishes a Class M-G
beer, wine, and liquor license and authorizes the board of license commissioners to issue the
license for use at a municipal golf course operated by a municipal golf course manager or a
golf course manager under a management agreement with the City of Frederick. The board may
issue the license to a manager of a municipal golf course. The license authorizes the licensee to
sell beer, wine, and liquor for on-premises consumption on the land and in the facilities used for
golfing purposes on Monday through Saturday from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. and on Sunday from
10 a.m. to 10 p.m.

Weinberg Center License: Senate Bill 214/House Bill 146 (Chs. 80 and 81) allow
alcoholic beverages to be consumed anywhere on the licensed premises at the Weinberg Center
for the Arts, as specified.

Garrett County

Alcoholic Beverages Act of 2020: Senate Bill 643 (Ch. 573) authorizes a holder of a
manufacturer’s license to sell and deliver alcoholic beverages to a licensed retail establishment
on an Election Day. The Act also authorizes the board of license commissioners to issue a
Class BDR (deluxe restaurant) beer, wine, and liquor license to the holder of any Class B license
issued by the board or to a holder of a specified license issued by a local licensing board of a
different jurisdiction and alters the minimum seating requirements for the license. Finally, the
Act authorizes the board to issue a refillable container permit for wine.

Harford County

On-sale License Record Keeping and Enforcement: An alcoholic beverages license
holder with an on-sale privilege must keep complete and accurate books of account of daily
receipts and expenditures and procure vouchers or purchase slips for all alcoholic beverages,
food, and other items bought for sale. Senate Bill 496/House Bill 963 (Chs. 391 and 392) require
these records to be kept at the location designated in the license or another location in the county
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and, on at least five days’ notice, make the records available for inspection by the board of license
commissioners or a designee of the board. The Acts also alter the penalty provision relating to
violations committed by license holders with on-sale privileges. If charges at a hearing are
sustained, the board (1) must impose a fine of between $250 and $2,000 and (2) may suspend or
revoke the license holder’s license immediately.

Place of Worship Restrictions — Exemption and Waivers: Generally, the board of
license commissioners may not issue an alcoholic beverages license for an establishment that is
located within 300 feet of a place of worship. House Bill 1318 (Ch. 458) exempts breweries and
distilleries in a municipality from this distance restriction. The Act also authorizes the board to
waive the distance restrictions from a place of worship and issue a license on a case-by-case
basis, as specified.

Specific Licenses

Class C-3 License: A social organization that may be issued a six-day or seven-day
Class C-3 beer, wine, and liquor license must meet specified membership requirements.
Senate Bill 379/House Bill 972 (Chs. 396 and 397) alter the membership requirements to
include active or retired first responders rather than only policemen.

Class GCR (Golf Course Restaurant): Senate Bill 376/House Bill 971 (Chs. 394 and
395) establish a class GCR (Golf Course Restaurant) beer, wine, and liquor license in the county.
The board of license commissioners may issue a Class GCR license to the owner or operator of
a golf course that (1) is open to the public; (2) is operated for profit; (3) has a minimum of
18 holes; and (4) has a kitchen facility that has been approved by the appropriate local
governmental unit.

Class MT (Movie Theater) License: Senate Bill 385/House Bill 923 (Chs. 370 and
371) prohibit the board of license commissioners from issuing more than five Class MT beer,
wine, and liquor licenses to the same person. In addition, the Acts increase the annual license fee
for a Class MT license from $500 to $1,000.

Hotel Lobby License: Senate Bill 375/House Bill 864 (Chs. 350 and 351) establish a
hotel lobby license and authorize the sale of beer, wine, and liquor from a store in the hotel lobby
to patrons of the hotel for on-premises consumption. The board of license commissioners may
issue a hotel lobby license for use by a hotel that does not have a restaurant and to sell beer, wine,
and liquor from a store in the hotel lobby to patrons of the hotel for on-premises consumption.

Kent County

Kent County Alcohol Act of 2020: Senate Bill 792/House Bill 777 (Chs. 322 and 323)
establish a Class C multiple event beer, wine, and liquor license in the county for events held by
a volunteer fire company. The Acts also alter the hours of sale for Class B wine shop and lounge
licenses in the county and authorize the board of license commissioners to issue a refillable
container permit for draft beer to specified alcoholic beverages license holders.
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Montgomery County

Hours of Consumption: Generally, an individual may not consume alcoholic beverages
in a licensed premises in the county from 2 a.m. to 6 a.m. on any day. House Bill 298 (Ch. 157)
alters the hours of consumption for specified alcoholic beverages licenses in the county. Unless
otherwise provided, an individual may consume alcoholic beverages in a licensed premises only
during the hours of sale permitted under the license of the premises. The Act also clarifies that a
license holder must remove all containers of alcoholic beverages from the tables and bar service
area in the licensed premises at the end of the license holder’s permitted hours of sale. In addition,
the Act repeals the board’s authorization to issue a specified permit allowing a license holder to
sell alcoholic beverages for on-premises consumption until 2 a.m. on January 1.

Consumption Only Marketplace License: House Bill 377 (Ch. 186) establishes a
consumption only marketplace license in the county. The board of license commissioners may
issue the license to the developer of a commercial shopping center if the shopping center meets
specified criteria. The license authorizes the holder to allow the consumption of beer, wine, and
liquor in a designated outdoor area located within the commercial shopping center if the alcohol
is purchased at a certain establishment, as specified.

Catering Extension: House Bill 297 (Ch. 156) expands the types of licenses to which
the board of license commissioners may issue a catering extension to include the holder of a
Class D beer, wine, and liquor license.

Town of Kensington: House Bill 860 (Ch. 349) makes numerous changes to the manner
in which alcoholic beverages licenses are regulated in the Town of Kensington. Among other
changes, the Act extends the authorized hours of operation of specified licenses, alters
requirements for applicants of specified licenses, and increases the number of authorized
licenses.

Prince George’s County

Alcohol Awareness: Generally, for a premises that is licensed to sell alcoholic beverages
with an off-sale privilege or a premises that is licensed with on-sale privileges and sells alcoholic
beverages directly to a customer from a bar or service bar, the license holder or specified
employees must complete training in an approved alcohol awareness program in order to obtain
and retain their alcoholic beverages license. For licensed premises in Prince George’s County,
House Bill 288 (Ch. 155) requires an alcoholic beverages license holder or an individual
designated by the license holder who is employed in a supervisory capacity to be certified by an
approved alcohol awareness program and be present on the licensed premises at all times when
alcoholic beverages may be sold. For a first offense, a license holder who violates these
requirements is subject to a $250 fine; for a second offense, a $500 fine; and for each subsequent
offense, a fine of up to $1,000 or a suspension or revocation of the license, or both.

Carillon Development: The Carillon Development is a large, multiphase
mixed-development area located near the Arena Drive exit of the Capital Beltway in the county.
House Bill 845 (Ch. 340) authorizes the board of license commissioners to issue up to
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10 Class B-DD (Development District) licenses to restaurants located within the
Carillon Development.

Queen Anne’s County
License Applications

Financial Interest: An application for an alcoholic beverages license must state whether
the applicant has a financial interest in the business to be conducted under the license and requires
other disclosures of financial interest. House Bill 463 (Ch. 215) defines “financial interest” as it
applies to applications for alcoholic beverages licenses in the county as an applicant who is the
owner of a controlling interest in a place of business for which a license has been applied for or
issued. The Act also defines “controlling interest” as the ownership or control of sufficient shares
or interest in a business to allow for an exercise of control over that business.

Petition of Support: House Bill 467 (Ch. 217) repeals the requirement that applicants
for an alcoholic beverages license include a petition of support as a part of the application.

Washington County

Wineries — Special Event Permits: House Bill 789 (Ch. 609) reauthorizes the board of
license commissioners to issue a special event permit to a holder of a Class 3 winery license or a
Class 4 limited winery license. The permit authorizes the holder to sell beer, wine produced by
the holder, sparkling wine that is naturally or artificially carbonated, and liquor for on-premises
consumption at an event for which the entire licensed premises has been rented. The license
holder must purchase the beer, sparkling wine, or liquor intended for sale under the permit from
a licensed retailer. A license holder must also keep all receipts of purchase of alcoholic beverages
for one year after the date of purchase. In addition, a license holder that intends to use the permit
must notify the board at least one week before the event is to occur and may use the permit up to
32 times in a year.

Wicomico County

Board of License Commissioners: House Bill 1319 (Ch. 459) increases, from three to
five, the number of members that the Governor must appoint to the board of license
commissioners and requires each member of the board to be nominated by the Wicomico County
Executive. In addition, the Act requires three members of the board to be residents of the City of
Salisbury, nominated jointly by the county executive and the Mayor of Salisbury. The Act also
requires that the terms of the members be staggered as required by the terms provided for the
members of the board on July 1, 2020.
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Part 1
Financial Institutions, Commercial Law, and Corporations

Financial Institutions

Check Cashing Services

Chapter 614 of 2000 requires persons offering check cashing services to be licensed by the
Office of the Commissioner of Financial Regulation (OCFR). However, certain persons are
exempt from this requirement. Senate Bill 939/House Bill 1196 (Chs. 443 and 444) repeal the
licensure exemption for check cashing services (1) for which a fee of up to 1.5% of the face amount
of the payment instrument is charged per payment instrument and (2) that are incidental to the
retail sale of goods or services by the check casher. Instead, the Acts authorize persons offering
check cashing services to register with OCFR, rather than obtain licensure, if the person provides
check cashing services that are incidental to the retail sale of goods or services by the person that
is providing the check cashing services and other conditions are met. In addition, the check cashing
service must provide OCFR with the information required under the Acts through the Nationwide
Multistate Licensing System and Registry. Registrants are exempt from various regulatory
requirements but are generally subject to the same enforcement mechanisms as check cashing
licensees. The Acts also require check cashing licensees to include, in the notice required to be
posted at certain locations, the number of the Commissioner of Financial Regulation for customers
to file complaints.

Office of the Commissioner of Financial Regulation
Banking Institution Powers

If the Commissioner approves, banking institutions may engage in any additional banking
activity, service, or other practice in which, under federal law, national banking associations may
engage. The Commissioner may grant an approval only if the approval imposes the same
conditions that federal law requires or permits as to national banking associations, and the
Commissioner determines that approval is (1) reasonably required to protect the welfare of the
general economy of the State and of banking institutions or (2) not detrimental to the public interest
or to banking institutions. Senate Bill 15 (Ch. 499) modifies the process and circumstances under
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which a banking institution may engage in those additional practices. The Act repeals the
requirement that banking institutions file an application with and receive the approval of the
Commissioner. Instead, the Act requires a banking institution to file certain notice with the
Commissioner at least 45 days before engaging in such an additional practice. A banking
institution that files the required notice may engage in the activity, service, or other practice on the
first business day that is at least 45 calendar days after the date that the notice is filed unless the
Commissioner specifies a different date or prohibits the activity, service, or practice. The Act also
outlines the conditions under which the Commissioner may extend the 45-day period or prohibit a
banking institution from performing the activity, service, or other practice.

State Banks, Trust Companies, and Savings Banks

To incorporate, Maryland-chartered banks and savings banks are required to have 5 or
more and 15 or more, respectively, Maryland residents for each institution acting as incorporators.
In contrast, national banks require only five adults to act as incorporators and incorporating a
regular corporation in Maryland requires only one adult. In addition, many states (including most
surrounding states) require three or fewer individuals to incorporate a bank. Senate Bill 14
(Ch. 498) reduces the number of incorporators, from 5 to 3, required to form a State bank or trust
company, and from 15 to 3, to form a savings bank. The Act also repeals a requirement that each
incorporator be a citizen of Maryland and instead requires that at least 1 be a citizen of Maryland.

In addition, the Act repeals a provision that allows stockholders of a commercial bank to
create up to two additional directorships that may be left vacant to be filled in the discretion of the
board of directors.

Nondepository Special Fund

Chapter 296 of 2019 prohibits a credit card processor from assessing or charging a fee,
fine, or penalty of more than $500 if a business entity cancels a merchant processing agreement
before the expiration of the initial term. Additionally, a credit card processor may not assess a fee,
fine, or penalty if a business entity terminates the merchant processing agreement affer the
expiration of the initial term unless the parties enter into a separate renewal agreement.
Chapter 296 requires a merchant processing agreement to disclose specified information. The
Commissioner is authorized to investigate any complaints received regarding violations of the Act
and to use any of the investigative and enforcement powers granted under Title 2, Subtitle 1 of the
Financial Institutions Article. Because Chapter 296 did not authorize the Nondepository Special
Fund to be used to implement and enforce the Act, OCFR’s enforcement abilities are limited.

Senate Bill 409/House Bill 774 (Chs. 320 and 321) alter the contents of the Nondepository
Special Fund to include certain fees, assessments, and revenues received by the Commissioner
under Title 12, Subtitle 14 of the Commercial Law Article, which governs credit card processors.
Additionally, the Acts alter the purpose of the Nondepository Special Fund to include covering the
direct and indirect costs of fulfilling the statutory and regulatory duties of the Commissioner and
the State Collection Agency Licensing Board related to the entirety of Title 12 of the Commercial
Law Article (rather than just specified portions). As a result, the Acts authorize OCFR to use funds
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from the Nondepository Special Fund to investigate complaints of violations by credit card
processors.

Commercial Law — Generally

Abandoned Property in the Possession of a Museum

Maryland law has not previously expressly addressed how unclaimed property left with a
museum may be handled. Senate Bill 88/House Bill 21 (Chs. 28 and 29) do so by authorizing a
museum to acquire title, after giving certain notices, for (1) property that either is on permanent
loan to the museum or was loaned for a specified term that has expired; (2) undocumented property
held by the museum for at least three years; or (3) property that is an unsolicited donation found
on museum property. The Acts also establish requirements for a museum to presume that specific
property in the museum’s possession is abandoned. More specifically, if a loan of property to a
museum is not a permanent loan and does not have an expiration date, the property is presumed
abandoned if there has been no written communication between the museum and the lender — or
the lender’s designated agent — for at least seven years after the museum took possession.

In addition, the Acts authorize a museum to apply conservation measures to property on
loan and to establish a lien on the property under specified circumstances.

Commercial Law — Consumer Protection
Manufactured Housing

In 2018, the Maryland Financial Consumer Protection Commission issued a final report
that, among other things, made recommendations related to manufactured housing financing.
Senate Bill 155/House Bill 93 (Chs. 48 and 49) generally implement those recommendations. The
Acts (1) codify the federal definition of “dwelling” within the Maryland Mortgage Lender Law
and establish a State definition of “mobile home”; (2) impose a duty of good faith and fair dealing
on mobile home retailers; and (3) generally require a foreclosure notice to be provided at least
30 days before a lender or credit grantor repossesses a mobile home.

Electronic Sale and Lease of Vehicles

The Maryland Uniform Electronic Transactions Act (MUETA) gives legal effect to an
electronic record or signature (provided required procedures in the MUETA are met). Under the
MUETA, a contract may not be denied legal effect or enforceability solely because an electronic
record was used in its formation and, if a law requires a record to be in writing, an electronic record
satisfies the law. Similarly, if a law requires a signature, an electronic signature satisfies the law.

Senate Bill 134/House Bill 139 (Chs. 71 and 72) alter the MUETA to establish that,
generally, only a vehicle dealer may contract for the sale and delivery of a vehicle by electronic
means. Further, a consumer is deemed not to have agreed to enter into a transaction for the sale or
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lease of a vehicle with a dealer by electronic means, unless the dealer provides the consumer with
a clear and readable copy of each document signed by the consumer and dealer in an electronic or
written format and reasonable opportunity for the consumer to review the documents before
providing an electronic signature. If the vehicle is not delivered to the consumer at the dealership,
the dealer must deliver the vehicle to a physical address provided by the consumer and at a date
and time agreed on by the buyer and dealer and that is within seven days after the execution of the
contract, unless the consumer agrees in writing to a different delivery date. Finally, the Acts
authorize certain nondealer entities to contract for the sale of a vehicle by electronic means under
similar parameters as vehicle dealers.

Exploitation of Vulnerable Adults

Chapter 114 of 2016 generally authorizes the Division of Consumer Protection in the
Office of the Attorney General (OAQG) to bring a civil action for damages against a person who
violates the State’s prohibition against exploitation of a vulnerable adult on behalf of a victim of
the offense or, if the victim is deceased, the victim’s estate. Chapter 794 of 2018 extends this
authority to the Securities Commissioner of the Division of Securities in OAG. The division and
commissioner may recover damages for property loss or damage. If the division or commissioner
prevails in an action, the costs of the action may be recovered for the use of OAG. A conviction
for the criminal offense is not a prerequisite for maintenance of an action. House Bill 304
(Ch. 160) establishes that exploitation of a vulnerable adult is an unfair, abusive, or deceptive trade
practice under the Maryland Consumer Protection Act (MCPA), subject to MCPA’s civil and
criminal penalty provisions.

Senate Bill 407 (passed) establishes the Senior and Vulnerable Adult Asset Recovery Unit
within OAG. The unit is authorized to bring certain civil actions for damages against a person who
engages in certain actions with the intent to deprive a vulnerable adult or an adult who is at least
68 years old of the adult’s property. Beginning in fiscal 2022, the Governor must include annually
an appropriation of at least $250,000 in the State budget to carry out the bill’s requirements. At
the direction of the Attorney General, the unit must use the required funding to hire new staff for
the unit and investigate and assist the unit in bringing civil actions. On May 7, 2020, the Governor
vetoed the bill due to concerns regarding the economic challenges resulting from the COVID-19
pandemic.

Debt Collection (Exemptions from Attachment and Execution)

Senate Bill 425/House Bill 365 (Chs. 183 and 184) alter the amount of wages of a
judgment debtor that are exempt from attachment. The Acts exempt from attachment the greater
of 75% of the disposable wages due or 30 times the State minimum hourly wage in effect at the
time that the wages are due, multiplied by the number of weeks during which the wages due were
earned. The Acts also repeal provisions that apply only in Caroline, Kent, Queen Anne’s, and
Worcester counties.
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Corporations and Associations

In the 2020 session, the General Assembly acted on recommendations of the Maryland
State Bar Association whose Committee on Corporation Law and Committee on Unincorporated
Associations monitor the Maryland General Corporation Law.

Miscellaneous Revisions of General Corporate Law

House Bill 668/Senate Bill 469 (Chs. 292 and 293) alter numerous provisions relating to
(1) various types of corporation filings with the State Department of Assessments and Taxation
and their effective dates; (2) the additional right of inspection of specified stockholders; (3) the
process for determining whether indemnification of directors is proper; (4) various approvals by
specified Maryland corporations that are registered as open-end companies; (5) modernizing and
clarifying the contents of charters or bylaws of nonstock corporations; and (6) the authority of real
estate investment trusts. The Acts also make other technical and clarifying changes.

Limited Liability Corporations and Series

House Bill 983/Senate Bill 888 (Chs. 400 and 401) change the process for dissolution of
a limited liability company (LLC) that has no living or competent members and that is also without
an alternative arrangement for settling those affairs. The Acts provide that in the event of the death
of the last member, or a ruling of incompetency of the last member, the personal representative or
guardian of that member must be admitted as a new member unless the personal representative or
guardian renounces the admission in writing or designates a willing new member. The Acts state
that an operating agreement may provide that the last remaining member’s guardian must agree in
writing to continue the LLC and to be admitted as a member or appoint a designee. The personal
representative, guardian, or other successor may settle the LLC’s affairs.

In addition, the Acts alter the registration process of a foreign LLC that is a series company,
repeal certain redundant provisions, and define certain terms.
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PartJ
Health and Human Services

Public Health — Generally

Medicaid
Telehealth

Senate Bill 502/House Bill 1208 (Chs. 17 and 18) require Medicaid, subject to the
limitations of the State budget, to provide mental health services appropriately delivered through
telehealth to a patient in the patient’s home setting. The Acts also expand the definition of
“telehealth” for purposes of private insurance coverage to include the delivery of mental health
care services to a patient in the patient’s home. By December 1, 2020, the Maryland Department
of Health (MDH) must apply for a § 1115 waiver to implement a specified telehealth pilot program
and, if approved, administer the pilot program. MDH must also study and report on whether
substance use disorder services may be appropriately provided through telehealth to a patient in
the patient’s home setting. The pilot program and study provisions terminate June 30, 2025.

School-based Health Centers

School-based health centers (SBHC) are health centers located in a school or on a school
campus that provide onsite comprehensive preventive and primary health services. House Bill 409
(Ch. 198) requires MDH, by January 1, 2021, to revise its regulations regarding SBHCs that may
participate in Medicaid to include SBHCs that have a written agreement with a sponsoring agency
that meets the specified requirements identified by the Maryland State Department of Education
(MSDE), including a sponsoring agency that (1) has a clinical director who is either a physician
or a nurse practitioner; (2) is a local health department, a federally qualified health center, a
community health center, a hospital, a private medical practice, a university medical center, or any
other sponsor approved by MDH and MSDE; and (3) has met all other applicable Medicaid
requirements.

J-1
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Funding

Information regarding Medicaid funding was included in the 2020 Session Major Issues
Review.

Drugs and Devices
Prescription Drug Affordability Board

Chapter 692 of 2019 established the Prescription Drug Affordability Board. Among other
duties, the board must collect data and identify specified prescription drug products that may cause
affordability issues. The board may conduct a cost review of each identified drug product and, if
warranted, must draft a plan of action that includes the criteria to set upper payment limits for
prescription drug products.

Senate Bill 669/House Bill 1095 (both passed) repeal the requirement that the board
determine a funding source and report to specified committees of the General Assembly with a
recommendation on legislation necessary to establish a funding source. The bills instead require
the board to assess and collect an annual fee on manufacturers that sell or offer for sale prescription
drug products to persons in the State, pharmacy benefits managers, carriers, and wholesale
distributors that sell or offer for sale prescription drug products to persons in the State. On
May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bills due to concerns regarding the economic challenges
resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic.

House Bill 1100 (Ch. 425) repeals the requirement that the board hire legal counsel.
Instead, the Act specifies that the Attorney General is the legal adviser to the board and must
designate an assistant Attorney General as counsel to the board. The Act also clarifies the authority
of the board to set upper payment limits for prescription drug products in accordance with a
specified plan of action, reduces the frequency by which the board is required to meet from at least
once every six weeks to at least four times per year, and delays certain study and reporting
requirements.

Prescription Drug Monitoring Program

The Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) assists with the identification and
prevention of prescription drug abuse and the identification and investigation of unlawful
prescription drug diversion. PDMP must monitor the prescribing and dispensing of Schedule 11
through V controlled dangerous substances (CDS).

House Bill 663 (Ch. 290) alters the definition of “pharmacist” to include a pharmacist
licensed by another state to dispense monitored prescription drugs for purposes of PDMP. With
this change, pharmacists licensed in other states (who work at nonresident pharmacies dispensing
to Maryland addresses) and pharmacists working at federal facilities in Maryland (but who are
licensed in another state) may access PDMP data when making dispensing decisions in the care of
Maryland patients. The Act also adds failure to comply with the requirements of PDMP to
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disciplinary grounds for dentists, physicians, and physician assistants by the appropriate health
occupations board.

Controlled Dangerous Substances

Senate Bill 166/House Bill 512 (Chs. 229 and 230) require a health practitioner to issue a
prescription for CDS electronically, except under specified circumstances. Among other
exceptions, a health practitioner may issue an oral or written prescription for CDS if electronic
prescribing is not available due to temporary technological or electrical failure; the prescription is
to be dispensed by a pharmacy located outside the State; or the prescription is for an individual
who (1) resides in a nursing or assisted living facility; (2) is receiving care through a hospice or
palliative care program or at an outpatient renal dialysis facility and the prescription is related to
the care provided; or (3) is detained or confined in a correctional facility. The Acts require the
adoption of regulations to establish a waiver of the electronic prescription requirement.

A pharmacist may dispense a drug on a written or oral prescription for CDS that meets the
exception requirements, and a pharmacist is not required to verify that the prescription is an
authorized exception to the electronic prescription requirement. In addition, the Acts authorize the
appropriate health occupations board to take disciplinary action against a health practitioner who
violates the electronic prescribing requirement.

House Bill 674 (Ch. 298) alters the lists of substances designated as CDS under schedules
in the Maryland Controlled Dangerous Substances Act. The Act conforms the classification and
nomenclature in the State’s statutory schedules to the federal CDS schedules.

Behavioral Health
Registry and Referral System

House Bill 1121 (passed) establishes a Maryland Mental Health and Substance Use
Disorder Registry and Referral System (and a related advisory committee) to provide a statewide
system through which health care providers can identify and access available inpatient and
outpatient mental health and substance use services for patients. By December 1, 2021, MDH, in
collaboration with the State-designated health information exchange, must (1) develop and make
available a specified resource directory; (2) develop a specified registry and referral pilot program;
(3) develop a plan for funding the statewide expansion of the registry and referral system; and
(4) submit a report to specified committees of the General Assembly. On May 7, 2020, the
Governor vetoed the bill due to concerns regarding the economic challenges resulting from the
COVID-19 pandemic.

Medical Records and Emergency Facilities List

Senate Bill 441/House Bill 332 (Chs. 172 and 173) authorize MDH, in the list of
emergency facilities published annually related to emergency mental health evaluations, to include
(1) comprehensive crisis response centers; (2) crisis stabilization centers; (3) crisis treatment
centers; and (4) outpatient mental health clinics. MDH must give the list to each local behavioral
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health authority. Before including a facility on the list, MDH must consult with stakeholders to
develop a model program structure that ensures that a program wishing to serve as an emergency
facility meets specified requirements. MDH may not add an emergency facility to the list until the
model facility standards have been developed. By September 30 of each year, MDH must report
to the General Assembly on emergency facilities and the model facility standards. The Acts also
alter the definition of health care provider as it pertains to the confidentiality of medical records to
include a comprehensive crisis response center, a crisis stabilization center, and a crisis treatment
center.

Emergency Evaluations

House Bill 1564 (Ch. 488) authorizes emergency facility personnel (rather than only a
physician) to ask a peace officer to remain at an emergency facility when a peace officer brings an
emergency evaluee to the facility. A peace officer, to the extent practicable, must notify the
emergency facility in advance that the peace officer is bringing an emergency evaluee to the
emergency facility.

Medical Cannabis

The Natalie M. LaPrade Medical Cannabis Commission is responsible for implementation
of the State’s medical cannabis program, which is intended to make medical cannabis available to
qualifying patients in a safe and effective manner. There is a framework to certify health care
providers, qualifying patients, and their caregivers to provide qualifying patients with medical
cannabis legally under State law via written certification.

Senate Bill 304/House Bill 378 (Chs. 187 and 188) authorize physician assistants to be
certifying providers under the State’s medical cannabis program. The Acts also alter the
composition of the commission to include physician assistants on the list of professions from
which the two licensed noncertified provider commission members must be selected.

The Natalie M. LaPrade Medical Cannabis Compassionate Use Fund is a special
nonlapsing fund administered by MDH to establish a program to allow individuals enrolled in
Medicaid or in the Veterans Affairs Maryland Health Care System to obtain medical cannabis from
a licensed dispensary free of charge or at a reduced cost. House Bill 870 (Ch. 352) requires the
commission, rather than MDH, to administer and adopt regulations to implement the fund and
related statutory provisions. The Act also expresses the intent of the General Assembly that the
commission establish a fee structure to assess fees in a certain manner on licensed growers,
processors, and dispensaries to support the fund.

Legislation relating to medical cannabis in schools was addressed in the 2020 Session
Major Issues Review.

Food Safety

A cottage food product is a nonhazardous food that is sold in the State (1) directly to a
consumer from a residence, at a farmer’s market or a public event, by personal delivery, or by mail
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delivery or (2) to a retail food store, including a grocery store or a food cooperative. A cottage
food business is a business that (1) produces or packages cottage food products in a residential
kitchen in Maryland; (2) sells cottage food products; and (3) has annual revenues from the sale of
cottage food products that do not exceed $25,000. House Bill 1017 (Ch. 405) requires MDH, at
the request of a cottage food business, to provide the cottage food business a unique identification
number that the business may use on the label of a cottage food product. This identification number
can be included on its label instead of the name and address of the business.

Vital Records

Senate Bill 102 (Ch. 526) authorizes MDH to change the name on the birth certificate of a
child without a court order once within 12 months following birth even if only one parent is named
on the birth certificate. The named parent must present MDH with (1) a written request for the
name change and (2) an affidavit that has been sworn before a notary public of the State affirming
that the individual is the parent of the child and is making the request of their own free will.

Environmental Health
Products Containing a Flame-retardant Chemical

Senate Bill 447 (Ch. 555) prohibits a person from importing, selling, or offering for sale
any juvenile product, mattress, upholstered furniture, or reupholstered furniture that contains more
than one-tenth of 1% by mass of a flame-retardant chemical. Certain products are exempt from the
prohibition, such as a product that is not primarily intended for use in the home. The prohibition
also does not apply to a juvenile product, mattress, upholstered furniture, or reupholstered furniture
that is resold, offered for resale, or distributed by a consumer for consumer use.

Air Traffic Noise

In 2003, the Federal Aviation Administration began developing the Next Generation Air
Transportation System (NextGen) to modernize the national air transportation system. NextGen is
intended to produce long-term economic and environmental benefits in an effort to make flying
more safe, efficient, and predictable. Technological advances under NextGen have mitigated some
airport noise; however, the number and frequency of flights continues to increase.
Senate Bill 184/House Bill 310 (both passed) require the University of Maryland,
Baltimore Campus to study and report on the health effects of air traffic noise on communities
near the Baltimore-Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport since the implementation
of NextGen. On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bills due to concerns regarding the
economic challenges resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic.

Health Awareness, Studies, and Protection

Maternal and Child Health

House Bill 286 (Ch. 154) requires that the stakeholders convened by the Secretary of
Health as part of the Maternal Mortality Review Program must include (1) families of women who
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have experienced a near maternal death, a high-risk pregnancy, other challenges during pregnancy,
or a maternal death or (2) women who have experienced a near maternal death, a high-risk
pregnancy, or other challenges during pregnancy. The Secretary, when convening the stakeholder
workgroup, must contact specified organizations to seek input and recruitment support.

House Bill 837 (Ch. 337) requires the Cultural and Linguistic Health Care Professional
Competency Program in MDH to establish and provide an evidence-based implicit bias training
program for health care professionals involved in perinatal care of patients. By January 1, 2021,
the program must establish an implicit-bias training program. By January 1, 2022, and at least once
every two years thereafter, health care professionals involved in the care of patients at a perinatal
care facility must complete the training. Any individual who completes the training (and a facility,
on request) must be issued a certificate of training completion. The Maryland Maternal Mortality
Review Program must study maternal morbidity and report its findings and recommendations to
the General Assembly by December 31, 2020.

COVID-19 Public Health Emergency Protection Act

Information regarding the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency Protection Act was
included in the 2020 Session Major Issues Review.

Developmental Disabilities Administration

The Developmental Disabilities Administration (DDA) is undergoing a transformation that
simultaneously launches community service functionalities on MDH’s care management tracking
system, new provider reimbursement rates, a fee-for-service payment model, and new service
options on the Long Term Services and Supports (LTSS) software system. Senate Bill 796
(passed) requires MDH to ensure that providers of and individuals who receive DDA services are
not adversely impacted when using LTSS or the Electronic Visit Verification (EVV) function.
DDA must ensure that providers, including coordinators of community services, have the ability
to automatically exchange electronic data with MDH through an application program interface
with LTSS. MDH must meet specified requirements at least 90 days before requiring providers to
use LTSS, including several benchmarks by October 31, 2020, to ensure that providers are able to
effectively use LTSS. MDH must delay implementation of changes to EVV until
December 1, 2020; by this date, MDH must also submit two specified reports to the
General Assembly. On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bill due to concerns regarding the
economic challenges resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic.

Miscellaneous Health Programs and Requirements

Health and Human Services Referral System

The Health and Human Services Referral Board (HHSRB) oversees the 2-1-1 Maryland
call centers and operation of the Health and Human Services Referral System in the State.
Senate Bill 584/House Bill 669 (Chs. 294 and 295) repeal HHSRB and instead require MDH to
assume HHSRB’s duties, in consultation with 2-1-1 Maryland. Funding for 2-1-1 Maryland is
subject to an audit by the Office of Legislative Audits. The Acts also repeal a limitation on the
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number of call centers that may be approved by 2-1-1 Maryland in the State. By December 1, 2020,
MDH must conduct a cost analysis of the 2-1-1 services provided in the State and report the results
to the Governor, the General Assembly, and the Chair of the Board of Directors of 2-1-1 Maryland.

Emergency Use Auto-Injectable Epinephrine Program

Senate Bill 477/House Bill 1462 (Chs. 478 and 479) rename the Emergency Use
Auto-Injectable Epinephrine Program at Institutions of Higher Education to be the Emergency Use
Auto-Injectable Epinephrine Program and expand eligible participants to include any food service
facility in the State that voluntarily participates in the program.

Maryland Children’s Service Animal Program

Chapter 416 of 2017 created the Maryland Veteran Service Animal Program to refer
eligible veterans to nonprofit organizations to be paired with a service or support dog and facilitate
their training. Chapter 465 of 2019 expanded the program to include nonprofit organizations that
use trained therapy horses for interaction with veterans. Senate Bill 455/House Bill 547 (Chs. 247
and 248) establish the Maryland Children’s Service Animal Program in MDH to refer eligible
children to selected nonprofit entities to be paired with service or support animals or interact with
therapy horses and facilitate their training or therapy. MDH must select at least one nonprofit entity
that meets specified qualifications to carry out elements of the program. The Acts establish a
Maryland Children’s Service Animal Program Fund to support the program, which includes
donations and money appropriated in the State budget to the fund.

Disposition of Remains

Senate Bill 528/ House Bill 1229 (Chs. 450 and 451) clarify several provisions related to
identifying an authorizing agent to make decisions regarding the disposition of a person’s body
after death. The Acts expressly authorize a person to identify an authorizing agent by (1) executing
a document that expresses this wish or (2) entering into a pre-need contract. If a person is identified
by such a document, the authorizing agent is bound by any valid document executed under this
provision of law in making decisions regarding the final disposition of the decedent’s body. The
Acts clarify that the person designated to direct disposition on a specified form, or the person
designated as an authorizing agent, have the right to serve as the authorizing agent for a decedent
if the decedent executed a valid document.

Health Occupations

In General

Under the Health Occupations Article, licensed and certified health care practitioners are
subject to a range of disciplinary actions by the appropriate health occupations boards.
Senate Bill 103/House Bill 259 (Chs. 139 and 140) prohibit a health occupations board or
disciplinary panel from reprimanding a licensee or certificate holder, placing a licensee or
certificate holder on probation, or suspending or revoking a license or certificate solely on the basis
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of the licensee’s or certificate holder’s use of a diagnostic evaluation or treatment of a patient that
is integrative, complementary, alternative, or nonconventional. The prohibition may not be
construed to release a licensee or certificate holder from the duty to exercise a professional
standard of care when evaluating and treating a patient’s medical condition.

Senate Bill 402/House Bill 448 (Chs. 15 and 16) authorize a health care practitioner to
establish a practitioner-patient relationship through a telehealth interaction under specified
circumstances. A health care practitioner providing telehealth services must (1) be held to the same
standards of practice applicable to in-person health care settings; (2) provide or refer a patient to
in-person health care services or another type of telehealth service, if clinically appropriate;
(3) perform a clinical evaluation before providing treatment or issuing a prescription through
telehealth; (4) document in a patient’s medical record the health care services provided through
telehealth; and (5) be licensed, certified, or otherwise authorized by law to provide health care
services in the State if the health care services are being provided to a patient located in the State.
A health care practitioner may not prescribe a Schedule II opiate for the treatment of pain through
telehealth unless the individual receiving the prescription is in a specified health care facility, or
the Governor has declared a state of emergency due to a catastrophic health emergency.

Athletic Trainers

Senate Bill 732 (Ch. 579) makes several revisions to the statute governing athletic trainers.
The Act (1) alters the definition of “practice athletic training”; (2) defines “athletic individual”;
(3) repeals limitations on the settings in which athletic trainers may practice; (4) repeals the
requirement that an evaluation and treatment protocol describe the settings where the athletic
trainer may practice; (5) repeals obsolete language regarding the three athletic trainer members of
the Athletic Trainer Advisory Committee; and (6) specifies that an athletic trainer may provide
treatment for not more than 14 days to an athletic individual with an injury that affects job function
or job-related activity except under specified circumstances.

Board of Professional Counselors and Therapists

In 2017, the Department of Legislative Services (DLS) conducted a full sunset evaluation
of the State Board of Professional Counselors and Therapists. Chapters 756 and 757 of 2018
implemented the extensive recommendations from the evaluation. As a part of the ongoing
monitoring of the board, DLS made additional recommendations regarding the board in 2019,
which are implemented in Senate Bill 182/House Bill 303 (Chs. 158 and 159). The Acts extend
the termination date of the board by five years to July 1, 2026, and repeal a requirement for the
board to submit semiannual progress reports to DLS. Instead, such reports must be submitted to
specified committees of the General Assembly beginning October 1, 2020. The reports must
address progress made in addressing the board’s complaint backlog, adopting regulations, and
establishing an Alcohol and Drug Counselor Subcommittee.
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Dentists and Dental Hygienists

The State Board of Dental Examiners (BDE) regulates and issues licenses for the practice
of dentistry and dental hygiene in the State. Senate Bill 306 (Ch. 548) extends the termination date
of BDE by 10 years to July 1, 2031, subject to the evaluation and reestablishment provisions of
the Maryland Program Evaluation Act. BDE must, by December 1, 2020, report to the
General Assembly regarding the status of staff vacancies and the complaint and enforcement
process of the board for the past five years.

Senate Bill 174/House Bill 939 (Chs. 379 and 380) alter the definition of “practice
dentistry” and require a dental practice to be owned by a licensed dentist or dental professional
corporation. The Acts specify duties that may only be performed by a licensed dentist and specify
that it is unlawful for any person who is not a licensed dentist to direct, control, or interfere with
the independent professional judgement of a dentist or dental hygienist regarding the diagnosis,
care, or treatment of a patient’s dental disease, disorder, or physical condition.

Senate Bill 169/House Bill 947 (Chs. 385 and 386) increase the criminal penalties for
practicing dentistry without a license and misrepresentation to the public and categorizes the
offense as a felony rather than a misdemeanor. The Acts also increase the criminal penalty for
specified provisions relating to dental laboratory work and advertising a dental appliance. BDE
may issue a cease and desist order for practicing dentistry without a license or for
misrepresentation to the public as well as for violations of specified provisions relating to dental
laboratory work.

A licensed dentist may not represent to the public that the licensee is a specialist in any
field of specialized dental practice unless BDE identifies the licensee as a specialist in that field.
Senate Bill 663 (Ch. 574) authorizes BDE to approve any area of specialty recognized by the
National Commission on Recognition of Dental Specialties and Certifying Boards (National
Commission) rather than the Commission on Dental Accreditation. The qualifications required for
board identification as a specialist may include requirements established by specialty certifying
boards recognized by the American Dental Association or the National Commission. An applicant
for a teacher’s license to practice dentistry who is engaged in teaching a dental specialty must meet
the requirements established by the National Commission.

Chapters 106 and 111 of 2016 authorized dental hygienists to administer nitrous oxide and
local anesthesia, respectively, under certain circumstances and under the supervision of a dentist.
House Bill 749 (Ch. 311) authorizes a dental hygienist to prescribe or administer certain
medications, after completing educational requirements established by BDE. A dental hygienist
must only prescribe or administer medication (1) under the general supervision of a licensed
dentist; (2) in compliance with regulations adopted by BDE; and (3) in compliance with applicable
provisions of law regarding prescription packaging, labeling, and record keeping. Furthermore, a
dental hygienist may not administer a controlled dangerous substance or controlled substance; a
medication the prescription of which requires a federal Drug Enforcement Agency registration; or
a medication that is administered by intramuscular, subcutaneous, intravenous, or intradermal
injection except for certain local anesthesia.
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Morticians and Funeral Directors

Senate Bill 439/House Bill 106 (Chs. 602 and 603) alter education requirements for
obtaining a mortician or funeral director apprenticeship license from the State Board of Morticians
and Funeral Directors. An applicant for an apprentice license must be enrolled in or have graduated
from an approved mortuary science program with a grade point average of 2.0 or higher. A licensed
apprentice must remain enrolled in the program for the duration of the apprenticeship and complete
at least 1,000 working hours in a licensed funeral establishment under the direct supervision of the
apprentice sponsor. A licensed apprentice may spend up to four years as a licensed apprentice
before obtaining a mortician or funeral director license.

Nurse Practitioners

If a disabled person is determined to lack sufficient understanding or capacity to make or
communicate specified personal decisions as a result of any mental disability, disease, or substance
abuse, a court may appoint a guardian of the disabled person. The petition for guardianship must
include signed and verified certificates of competency from two specified health care
professionals. Senate Bill 576 (Ch. 568) authorizes a nurse practitioner who has examined a
disabled person to sign a certificate of competency for a petition for guardianship of a disabled
person. The Act also authorizes a nurse practitioner to be one of the two health care practitioners
permitted, under specified circumstances, to certify that a patient is (1) incapable of making an
informed decision regarding specified treatment or (2) in a terminal condition or has an end stage
condition.

Nursing Home Administrators

The State Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators consists of 14 members;
6 of whom must be licensed and actively practicing nursing home administrators with at least
five years of experience. The Secretary of Health must recommend members of the board after
consulting with associations and societies appropriate to the disciplines and professions
representative of the vacancy to be filled. Senate Bill 444/House Bill 631 (Chs. 279 and 280)
remove the requirement that members of the board be actively practicing nursing home
administrators with at least five years of experience and require the Secretary of Health to
recommend individuals for membership on the board who meet specified requirements, rather than
after the previously required consultations.

Pharmacists

The Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) assists with the identification and
prevention of prescription drug abuse and the identification and investigation of unlawful
prescription drug diversion. House Bill 663 (Ch. 290) alters the definition of “pharmacist” to
include a pharmacist licensed by another state to dispense monitored prescription drugs for
purposes of PDMP. The Act also adds failure to comply with the requirements of PDMP to
disciplinary grounds for dentists, physicians, and physician assistants by the appropriate health
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occupations board. For a further discussion of the Act and access to PDMP by pharmacists, see
the subpart “Public Health — Generally” within this part of this 7/ Day Report.

Physical Therapists

Senate Bill 692 (Ch. 575) requires an applicant for a physical therapist assistant license
educated in limited physical therapy outside of the United States to have graduated from a program
that in the year of graduation has educational requirements equivalent to a degree from an
accredited program in the United States. For applicants educated in the United States, the Act
clarifies that an applicant for a physical therapist license must have graduated from a program
approved by the American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) or accredited by the
Commission on the Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE). An applicant for a
physical therapist assistant license must have graduated from a program approved by APTA or
accredited by CAPTE. An applicant for a physical therapy or physical therapy assistant license
must have satisfactorily completed the clinical education required by the physical therapy or
physical therapist assistant program.

Physicians

The Maryland Loan Assistance Repayment Program (MLARP) for Physicians and
Physician Assistants provides student loan repayment assistance in exchange for certain service
commitments to help ensure that underserved areas of the State have sufficient numbers of primary
care physicians and physician assistants. Senate Bill 501/House Bill 998 (Chs. 402 and 403)
transfer oversight of MLARP from the Office of Student Financial Assistance within the Maryland
Higher Education Commission to the Maryland Department of Health (MDH). The Acts establish
a stakeholder workgroup that must review and report on specified information, including a
permanent funding structure for MLARP other than licensing fees from the State Board of
Physicians Fund and budget appropriations. For fiscal 2022, the minimum funding for MLARP
for Physicians and Physician Assistants increases by $600,000 to $1.0 million. For fiscal 2023 and
beyond, unless MDH implements an alternative permanent funding structure, funding will be
$400,000 annually. Each year beginning on October 1, 2021, MDH must report on the program.

Other legislation relating to physicians and the State Board of Physicians was discussed in
the 2020 Session Major Issues Review.

Social Workers

Senate Bill 245 (Ch. 543) makes several revisions to the Maryland Social Workers Act.
The Act alters the definition of “practice social work™ to include counseling for alcohol and drug
use and addictive behavior and clarifies that treatment of biopsychosocial conditions by certain
social workers must be under the supervision of a licensed certified social worker-clinical. The
State Board of Social Worker Examiners is prohibited from construing certain provisions of law
to prohibit certain licensees from applying or qualifying to engage in independent practice. Lastly,
the board must approve certain licensees to provide supervision if the licensee meets specified
education, training, and practice criteria.


http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=sb0692&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=sb0501&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=hb0998&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=sb0245&ys=2020rs

J-12 The 71 Day Report
Health Care Facilities and Regulations

Health Services Cost Review Commission

The Health Services Cost Review Commission (HSCRC) was established to contain
hospital costs, maintain fairness in hospital payments, and provide financial access to hospital care.
HSCRC is responsible for implementing the All-Payer Model Contract with the federal Center for
Medicare and Medicaid Innovation. Senate Bill 42 (Ch. 505) modifies the timing and required
contents of HSCRC’s annual report to include detailed information on the contract. The Act repeals
provisions related to a separate report on the status of the contract and a requirement that HSCRC
publish information about acute care hospital charges. HSCRC is authorized to assist in the
implementation of federally approved model programs consistent with the contract, upon request
of the Secretary of Health. The rates that HSCRC permits a hospital to charge for services must be
consistent with the contract.

Each regulated hospital in the State is required to annually submit a community benefit
report to HSCRC. Senate Bill 774/House Bill 1169 (Chs. 436 and 437) repeal specified
requirements for nonprofit hospitals regarding community benefit reporting and instead require
HSCRC to establish a Community Benefit Reporting Workgroup comprised of individuals and
stakeholder groups that have knowledge of, and are impacted by, hospital community benefit
spending. The workgroup must establish a standard reporting format and determine the dates on
which each nonprofit hospital must submit an annual community benefit report. The Acts require
HSCRC to adopt regulations that implement the recommendations of the workgroup and establish
a method through which State and local governing bodies are made aware of the meetings of the
workgroup.

Hospitals
Facility Fees

Hospitals have been acquiring physician practices that are often colocated in the hospital
complex. As a result, patients visiting these practices for outpatient services may be charged a
hospital outpatient facility fee that is added to the patient’s bill from the medical provider. Senate
Bill 632/House Bill 915 (Chs. 365 and 366) require patients to be notified orally and in writing
that a hospital may charge an outpatient facility fee for an appointment at the hospital. The Acts
specify the required contents of the notice that must be provided by a hospital, the timing by which
the notice must be provided, and how a patient must acknowledge receipt of the notice. In addition,
hospitals must determine the range of outpatient facility fees and fee estimates to be provided in
the notice. A hospital may not charge, bill, or attempt to collect an outpatient facility fee unless
the patient is provided the notice in accordance with these requirements.
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Financial Assistance Policies and Debt Collection

In response to media attention related to hospital billing practices, legislation was
introduced that altered mandated hospital financial assistance policy requirements and hospital
debt collection practices.

House Bill 1420 (Ch. 470) alters required elements of hospital financial assistance policies,
including increasing the family income limit for which a hospital’s financial assistance policy must
provide reduced-cost care from 150% to 200% of the federal poverty level. Each hospital must
annually submit its policy and report information about patients who receive financial assistance
to HSCRC. HSCRC must evaluate the impact of additional changes to hospital financial assistance
policies and report its findings and recommendations regarding any impact of the changes on the
amount of hospital uncompensated care included in hospital rates, and the total cost of care for
Medicare, Medicaid, commercial insurers, and self-pay individuals.

Senate Bill 873/House Bill 1081 (both failed) would have altered requirements relating to
hospital debt collection policies and payment plans and prohibited a hospital from taking specified
actions when collecting debt. In addition, hospitals would have been required to submit annual
reports to HSCRC, including the number of patients against whom the hospital had filed an action
to collect debt owed, the number of patients the hospital had or had not reported or classified as
bad debt, and the dollar amount of the cost of the hospital services provided to patients but not
collected by the hospital.

Employee Retraining

A hospital closure, merger, or conversion to a freestanding medical facility may result in
the displacement of hospital employees. Senate Bill 938/ House Bill 1571 (Chs. 489 and 490)
modify several provisions of law regarding a change in status of a hospital or health care facility
that results in HSCRC assessing hospitals specified dollar amounts to provide funds for the
Hospital Employees Retraining Fund. If a hospital closes, merges, or is fully delicensed, HSCRC
must charge a fee to all hospitals sufficient to cover closing costs and to provide funds for the
retraining fund. Each hospital must also pay an additional one-time capped fee to the retraining
fund. In addition, hospitals must annually remit a specified amount to the retraining fund to assist
employees affected by a reduction in workforce due to any type of change in status. The Acts also
specify the types of employees who may access funds. The Acts terminate September 30, 2023.

Health Facilities and Providers

Freestanding Ambulatory Care Facilities

Senate Bill 728/ House Bill 935 (Chs. 377 and 378) require the Maryland Department of
Health (MDH) to establish by regulation procedures for ensuring that an anesthesia practitioner is
not precluded from providing the highest level of anesthesia support that may be required to safely
treat patients undergoing procedures in a nonsterile procedure room or a sterile operating room in
a freestanding ambulatory surgical facility.
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Prohibition on Discrimination

House Bill 1120 (Ch. 428) prohibits a hospital, a related institution, or a person licensed
or regulated by MDH or a unit in MDH from discriminating against any individual with respect to
the individual’s medical care because of the person’s race, color, religion, sex, age, national origin,
marital status, sexual orientation, gender identity, or disability.

Health Insurance

Health Reform Implementation
Health Insurance Consumer Protections

The federal Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA) protects consumer access
to health care through provisions such as prohibiting the denial of coverage for individuals with
preexisting conditions and requiring coverage of dependents up to age 26. Section 1557 of the
ACA prohibits health insurance carriers that offer plans in the health insurance marketplaces from
discriminating against individuals based on criteria specified in federal law. In response to
continued threats to the ACA, Chapters 417 and 418 of 2019 required the Maryland Health
Insurance Coverage Protection Commission to establish a workgroup to, among other things,
determine the most effective manner of ensuring that Maryland consumers can obtain and retain
quality health insurance, independent of any action or inaction on the part of the federal
government or any changes to federal law or its interpretation.

Senate Bill 872/House Bill 959 (Chs. 620 and 621) implement recommendations of the
commission based on legislation proposed by the workgroup. The Acts establish, in a new subtitle,
the consumer protections of the ACA that are currently specified through cross-references in
Maryland law. The Acts also specify similar nondiscrimination provisions to Section 1557 of the
ACA in State law by prohibiting health insurance carriers from refusing, withholding, or denying
coverage under a health benefit plan to, or otherwise discriminating against, any individual on the
grounds of race, sex, color, creed, national origin, marital status, sexual orientation, age, gender
identity, or disability.

Maryland Health Benefit Exchange

Chapters 37 and 38 of 2018 established a health insurance provider fee assessment on
specified entities for calendar 2019 only to support the State Reinsurance Program. Chapters 597
and 598 of 2019 extended the assessment through calendar 2023 and specified that the amount of
the assessment must be 1% on all amounts used to calculate the entity’s premium tax liability for
the immediately preceding calendar year. Senate Bill 124/House Bill 196 (Chs. 104 and 105)
clarify that the assessment continues to apply through calendar 2023 notwithstanding a change in
federal law that repealed the related health insurance provider fee under the ACA. The Acts also
require the Maryland Health Benefit Exchange to report to specified legislative committees on
matters relating to the establishment of State-based individual market health insurance subsidies.
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Conformity to and Implementation of Federal Law

Senate Bill 98 (Ch. 524) updates a provision of health insurance law to conform with
regulations relating to the ACA. Specifically, the Act expands the types of coverage that an eligible
employee or dependent may have had prior to a permanent move that trigger a special enrollment
period. An individual who had coverage for prenatal care or services (including coverage under
Medicaid or the Children’s Health Insurance Program) or medically needy Medicaid coverage for
1 or more days during the 60-day period preceding the date of the permanent move qualifies for a
special enrollment period.

Mandated Coverage and Cost-sharing
In Vitro Fertilization

Under Maryland law, certain health insurance carriers must provide coverage for in vitro
fertilization (IVF) to a married patient who meets specified qualifications. Senate Bill 988/ House
Bill 781 (Chs. 324 and 325) extend the requirement for coverage for IVF benefits to a qualified,
unmarried patient and alter the qualifications for coverage for a married patient. To qualify for
IVF benefits, an unmarried patient must have (1) had three attempts of artificial insemination over
the course of one year failing to result in pregnancy or (2) infertility associated with endometriosis,
diethylstilbestrol exposure, blockage or removal of one or both fallopian tubes, or abnormal male
factors. The Acts alter the requirements for a married patient to qualify for IVF benefits by
(1) reducing the length of required involuntary infertility for the patient and the patient’s spouse
from at least two years’ duration to at least one year’s duration and (2) for same sex couples,
reducing the number of required attempts of artificial insemination from six attempts over the
course of two years to three attempts over the course of one year.

Pediatric Autoimmune Neuropsychiatric Disorders

Pediatric Autoimmune Neuropsychiatric Disorders Associated with Streptococcal
Infections (PANDAYS) is a disorder that typically presents in children as obsessive-compulsive
disorder (OCD), tic disorder, or both that suddenly become worse following a strep infection.
Pediatric Acute Onset Neuropsychiatric Syndrome (PANS) includes all cases of acute onset OCD,
not just those associated with streptococcal infection. PANDAS/PANS may affect as many as 1 in
200 children. Senate Bill 475 (Ch. 560) requires health insurance carriers to provide coverage for
medically necessary diagnosis, evaluation, and treatment of PANDAS and PANS, including the
use of intravenous immunoglobulin therapy. Additionally, the Act specifies how PANDAS and
PANS must be coded for billing and diagnosis purposes and provides that carriers are not required
to cover rituximab unless the U.S. Food and Drug Administration approves it for the treatment of
PANDAS and PANS.

Prostate Cancer Screening

Senate Bill 661/House Bill 852 (Chs. 343 and 344) prohibit health insurance carriers,
subject to certain federal guidance, from applying a deductible, copayment, or coinsurance to


http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=SB0098&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=SB0988&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=HB0781&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=HB0781&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=SB0475&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=SB0661&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=HB0852&ys=2020rs

J-16 The 71 Day Report

coverage for preventive care screenings for prostate cancer, which must include a digital rectal
exam and a prostate-specific antigen blood test.

Telehealth and Mental Health Services

Health insurance carriers must provide coverage for health care services appropriately
delivered through telehealth. Senate Bill 502/House Bill 1208 (Chs. 17 and 18) specify that
telehealth, under these coverage requirements, includes the delivery of mental health services to a
patient in the patient’s home. For further discussion of the Acts and the requirements relating to
Medicaid coverage of telehealth, see the subpart “Public Health — Generally” within this part of
this 71 Day Report.

Compliance with Federal Mental Health Parity and Addiction Equity Act

The federal Mental Health Parity and Addiction Equity Act (Parity Act) requires group
health plans of large employers as well as qualified health plans sold in health insurance exchanges
and in the small group and individual markets as of January 1, 2014, to equalize health benefits
for addiction and mental health care and medical and surgical services in many fundamental ways.
Among other standards, the Parity Act prohibits group health plans from imposing separate or
more restrictive financial requirements or treatment limitations on mental health and substance use
disorder (SUD) benefits than those imposed on other general medical benefits.

Senate Bill 334/House Bill 455 (Chs. 211 and 212) require health insurance carriers that
provide health benefit plans in the State to submit two specified reports to the Maryland Insurance
Commissioner to demonstrate compliance with the Parity Act. Carriers must also conduct a
comparative analysis for the nonquantitative treatment limitations identified in a compliance report
as those limitations are written and in operation. The comparative analysis must demonstrate that
the processes, strategies, evidentiary standards, or other factors used in applying the medical
necessity criteria and each nonquantitative treatment limitation to mental health and SUD benefits
are comparable to, and are applied no more stringently than, those used for medical and surgical
benefits.

Pharmacy Benefits and Services
Specialty Drugs — Drugs for the Treatment of Diabetes, HIV, and AIDS

“Specialty drug” means a prescription drug that (1) is prescribed for an individual with a
complex, chronic, or rare medical condition; (2) costs $600 or more for up to a 30-day supply;
(3) is not typically stocked at retail pharmacies; and (4) requires a difficult or unusual process of
delivery to the patient in the preparation, handling, storage, inventory, or distribution of the drug
or requires enhanced patient education, management, or support, beyond those required for
traditional dispensing before or after administration of the drug. Senate Bill 931/House Bill 652
(Chs. 614 and 615) exclude a prescription drug prescribed to treat diabetes, HIV, or AIDS from
the definition of specialty drug for the purpose of precluding a health insurance carrier from
requiring the drug to be obtained through a designated pharmacy or other authorized source or a
pharmacy participating in the carrier’s network, if the carrier determines that the pharmacy meets
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the carrier’s performance standards and accepts the carrier’s network reimbursement. The Acts
also prohibit the Secretary of Health from considering drugs prescribed to treat diabetes, HIV, or
AIDS to be specialty drugs for the purpose of providing services under Medicaid.

Pharmacy Services Administrative Organizations

A pharmacy services administrative organization (PSAQO) is an entity that provides a
contracted pharmacy with contracting administrative services relating to prescription drug
benefits. Senate Bill 915/House Bill 978(Chs. 398 and 399) require a PSAO to register with the
Insurance Commissioner, beginning July 1, 2021, before providing services as a PSAO to
independent pharmacies in the State. A PSAO that has not registered may not enter into an
agreement or a contract with an independent pharmacy or a pharmacy benefits manager (PBM).

Credentialing and Reimbursement Practices of Pharmacy Benefit Managers and
Purchasers

A PBM is a business that administers and manages prescription drug benefits for
purchasers. House Bill 1307 (Ch. 455) establishes protections for pharmacies and pharmacists that
participate in a PBM’s or purchaser’s network. The Act prohibits a PBM or purchaser from, as a
condition of participating in a PBM’s or purchaser’s network, requiring a pharmacy or pharmacist
to renew credentialing more frequently than once every three years or charging a pharmacy or
pharmacist a fee for initial credentialing or to renew credentialing.

In addition, the Act prohibits a PBM or purchaser from directly or indirectly charging a
contracted pharmacy, or holding a contracted pharmacy responsible for, a fee or
performance-based reimbursement related to the adjudication of a claim or an incentive program,
regardless of whether it is specifically enumerated at the time of claim processing or reported on
the initial remittance advice. PBMs and purchasers are prohibited from making or allowing any
reduction in payment for pharmacy services or directly or indirectly reducing a payment for a
pharmacy service under a reconciliation process to an effective rate or reimbursement, including
generic effective rates, brand effective rates, direct and indirect remuneration fees, or any other
reduction or aggregate reduction of payments.

Maryland Competitive Pharmacy Benefit Manager Marketplace Act

In an effort to optimize prescription drug savings by the State, House Bill 1150 (Ch. 434)
requires the Department of Budget and Management (DBM) to use a “reverse auction” to select a
PBM for the Maryland Rx Program under the State Employee and Retiree Health and Welfare
Benefits Program. At least three months before a PBM reverse auction is scheduled to be
completed, DBM must procure a technology platform (as well as any associated professional
services) to evaluate the qualifications of prospective PBMs, automatically adjudicate prescription
drug claims, and collect data on pharmacy reimbursement. DBM may perform annual market
checks of PBM services during the term of a PBM contract to ensure continuing competitiveness
of prescription drug pricing over the life of the contract.
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Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Corporation Act

The Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Corporation was established in 1970 to provide
limited protection to State residents holding insurance policies or annuities issued by member
insurers in the event that such an insurer becomes insolvent. The corporation operates under the
supervision of the Insurance Commissioner and consists of all insurers licensed to sell life
insurance, accident insurance, health insurance, and individual annuities in the State.
Senate Bill 186/House Bill 141 (Chs. 73 and 74) revise various provisions of the Life and Health
Insurance Guaranty Corporation Act, including adding health maintenance organizations as
assessable member insurers and establishing a mechanism to more fairly assess for receiverships
involving long-term care insurers.

Other Health Insurance Issues

Provider Panels and Community-based Services

Chapter 551 of 2019 prohibits a carrier from rejecting a provider who provides
community-based health services for an accredited program for participation on the carrier’s
provider panel solely because the provider is a licensed graduate social worker, a licensed master
social worker, a licensed graduate alcohol and drug counselor, a licensed graduate marriage and
family therapist, a licensed graduate professional art therapist, or a licensed graduate professional
counselor. House Bill 601 (Ch. 271) extends this prohibition to include registered psychology
associates and clarifies that the prohibition applies if the provider practices within the scope of the
provider’s license and holds a specified license or credential.

Health Insurance and Prescription Drug Benefit Cards

Senate Bill 99 (Ch. 525) requires health insurance carriers, as well as Medicaid managed
care organizations (MCO) and PBMs that contract with MCOs, to print on a health insurance
benefit card or prescription benefit card the acronym used for the State agency that regulates the
policy or contract.

Social Services

Benefit Program Modifications
Family Investment Program and Temporary Cash Assistance

Families and individuals applying for or receiving Temporary Cash Assistance (TCA)
benefits may receive support in becoming self-sufficient through the Family Investment Program
(FIP). TCA and FIP are administered by the Department of Human Services (DHS) through local
departments of social services (LDSS). FIP participants generally must meet certain work
requirements, except cases that are child only or have certain other characteristics. Participants are
assessed for work activities based on education level and job readiness. FIP recipients must also
comply with child support requirements, including assigning rights to the State.
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If a TCA assistance unit is found to be noncompliant with FIP requirements, including
work-related or child support requirements, TCA benefits for the entire case are terminated (known
as a sanction) unless certain good cause criteria are met. For work-related sanctions, benefits
remain terminated for varying lengths of time after restoring compliance. The evaluation of good
cause criteria is established by DHS policy, not in statute.

House Bill 1313 (Ch. 457) creates several statutory changes for DHS’ administration of
FIP, effective July 1, 2021; among other things:

° the benefit structure for TCA assistance units with adults and children or minor parents and
children is altered so that the amount of assistance must be (1) 75% for the child(ren) in
the assistance unit and (2) 25% for the adult member(s) or minor parent(s) of the assistance
unit;

° work-related sanctions on a noncompliant TCA assistance unit are limited to 30% of the
adult portion of the case;

° upon compliance with work requirements, benefits resume at the full level instead of the
existing time-lagged resumption based on the number of sanctions applied to the unit;

° certain good cause provisions related to work requirements are established in statute rather
than policy, for example, certain circumstances (temporary illness, family crisis,
breakdown of transportation or child care arrangements) that impede an individual’s ability
to comply with requirements are sufficient to establish good cause; and

° the sanction for noncompliance with child support requirements is 25% of the whole TCA
grant, rather than termination of the case.

The Maryland Minimum Living Level (MMLL) is an inflation-adjusted calculation of the
income necessary to support a minimal standard of living for a family of three in Maryland. The
Governor is required to include sufficient funds in the budget to ensure that the value of the TCA
benefit combined with federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits equals
at least 61% of MMLL. Senate Bill 452 (passed) increases the level of benefit that must be funded
from 61% to 61.25%, beginning in fiscal 2022. On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bill due
to concerns regarding the economic challenges resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic.

Food Supplement Program

Eligible low-income families and individuals receive federally funded benefits for the
purchase of food items through SNAP, previously known as the Food Stamp Program. In
Maryland, this program is called the Food Supplement Program and is administered by DHS
through LDSS. Senate Bill 49 (Ch. 508) changes the name of the Food Supplement Program to
SNAP, to align with the name of the federal program. This allows the State to use federally
provided educational graphics and other relevant communication materials.
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Disabilities

The Department of Information Technology (DolT) administers the Telecommunications
Access of Maryland (TAM) and the Telecommunications Devices and Distribution of Accessible
Information for Disabled Individuals programs. A surcharge on phone bills funds the Universal
Services Trust Fund (USTF), which funds TAM, the Maryland Relay Service, and the Senior Call
Check Service. The Maryland Department of Disabilities (MDOD) administers the Assistive
Technology and the Technology Loan programs. MDOD is also leading a statewide information
technology accessibility initiative. Senate Bill 851 (Ch. 586) consolidates State efforts to improve
telecommunications accessibility under MDOD. TAM, the Telecommunications Devices and
Distribution of Accessible Information for Disabled Individuals program, and USTF are
transferred from DolT to MDOD. The Act also (1) expands the membership of the Maryland
Commission on Disabilities; (2) expands the membership of the Governor’s Advisory Board for
Telecommunications Relay and requires MDOD to provide the board with a director; and
(3) expands responsibilities for the Telecommunications Devices and Distribution of Accessible
Information for Disabled Individuals program.

House Bill 847 (Ch. 341) establishes a State Coordinator for Autism Strategy to
(1) identify and evaluate existing services for individuals with autism and their families;
(2) develop a strategic plan for addressing autism-related needs by July 1, 2021; (3) identify
national benchmarks and other performance measures; and (4) monitor and evaluate the
implementation of the strategic plan and the success of the State in addressing autism-related
needs. An Advisory Stakeholder Group on Autism-Related Needs is also established.

Age-targeted Services
Services for the Elderly

Chapters 308 and 309 of 2019 authorized the Maryland Department of Aging to fund grants
to aging-in-place programs hosted by nonprofits or Area Agencies on Aging, dependent on the
availability of resources in the budget. Aging-in-place programs allow an individual to live in their
own homes and communities safely, independently, and comfortably. House Bill 498 (passed)
authorizes the grants to be used to provide seniors the opportunity to live in a senior village (local,
member-driven, nonprofit organizations that support members who choose to age in place by
fostering social connections and coordinating volunteer help). The bill repeals the requirement that
funding for such grants be as provided in the State budget; instead, the Governor must include at
least $100,000 in the annual budget for the grants. At least 20% of funding must be used to support
senior villages. On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bill due to concerns regarding the
economic challenges resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic.

Services for Youth

Senate Bill 207/House Bill 206 (Chs. 108 and 109) allow an unaccompanied minor in
need of shelter to consent to shelter and supportive services under specified circumstances. For
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further discussion of Senate Bill 207/House Bill 206, see the subpart “Housing and Community
Development” within Part H — Business and Economic Issues of this 7/ Day Report.

Other Social Services

The Two-Generation Family Economic Security Commission, established by
executive order in March 2017, was charged with investigating policy challenges, opportunities,
and recommendations regarding the mitigation of multigenerational poverty in the State. The
commission terminated on December 31, 2018. House Bill 1363 (Ch. 460) rcestablishes the
commission in DHS and expands its charge to include collecting data to evaluate the effectiveness
of programs.
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Part K
Natural Resources, Environment, and Agriculture

Natural Resources

Boating

The State Boat Act authorizes the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) to seize,
remove, and take into custody any abandoned or sunken vessel. DNR may use its own personnel,
equipment, and facilities or use other persons, equipment, and facilities for removing, preserving,
or storing abandoned or sunken vessels. Additionally, DNR may delegate its authority to remove
and dispose of abandoned or sunken vessels to any local jurisdiction that consents to the delegation.
Senate Bill 219/House Bill 143 (Chs. 75 and 76) make changes to provisions of law governing
abandoned or sunken vessels, including (1) requiring DNR to take custody of specified abandoned
or sunken vessels without advance notice to the last known registered owner; (2) modifying the
definition of an abandoned or sunken vessel; and (3) prohibiting DNR from using
Natural Resources Police funds for removal or storage of abandoned or sunken vessels.

The Acts require DNR — upon a determination that an abandoned or sunken vessel poses
an immediate hazard or obstruction to navigation, a potential health hazard, or a potential
environmental hazard — to take the vessel into custody without providing advance notice to the
last known registered owner of the vessel. DNR must keep a written record of the determination,
including the actual or potential hazards mitigated by removal of the vessel. Consistent with
existing notice requirements, as soon as reasonably possible but not later than 15 days after DNR
takes an abandoned or sunken vessel into custody pursuant to the above requirement, DNR must
send a notice to the last known registered owner of the vessel and to each known secured party.
The notice must describe the actual or potential hazard mitigated by removal of the vessel.

Additionally, the Acts modify a portion of the definition of an abandoned or sunken vessel
that includes a vessel that has remained at a private marina or boatyard, or property operated by a
private marina or boatyard, for more than 90 days without the consent of the owner or person in
control of the property. The Acts reduce the duration for which the vessel must have remained
without consent from 90 days to 60 days. The Acts also modify the portion of the definition of an
abandoned or sunken vessel that includes a vessel that (1) has been found adrift or unattended in
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or upon the waters of the State; (2) is found in a condition of disrepair as to constitute a hazard or
obstruction to the use of the waters of the State or presents a potential health or environmental
hazard; and (3) is not specified historic property. The Acts break up the second portion of that
definition (“is found in a condition of disrepair...”) so that a vessel must be found in a condition
of disrepair or present a hazard or obstruction to the use of the waters of the State (not both) or
present a potential health or environmental hazard.

Tree Expert Licenses

The Maryland Tree Expert Law addresses tree care work done for compensation on private
or public property in the State and protects consumers by licensing qualified and insured tree care
companies and individuals. Currently — in addition to being age 18 or older, passing a DNR
examination, and paying an application fee — to obtain a tree expert license in the State, an
individual must (1) have two years of relevant college education plus a minimum of one year of
experience with a licensed tree expert in Maryland or an acceptable tree expert company in another
state or (2) have three years of continuous experience with a licensed tree expert in Maryland or
with an acceptable tree expert company in another state immediately preceding the date of
application.

House Bill 1311 (Ch. 456) modifies the experience and education qualifications needed to
obtain a tree expert license by allowing a person to qualify if they have, within the immediately
preceding three years, (1) achieved active master logger status from the University of Maryland
Extension’s Maryland-Delaware Master Logger Program and (2) held a forest product operator’s
license. The Act terminates September 30, 2022.

Wildlife

The Black Bear Damage Reimbursement Fund within DNR is used to reimburse farmers
for bear damage to agricultural products and livestock. Reimbursable damages include damage to
a person’s beehives, fruit, or other crops as well as damage to livestock and poultry. A person is
eligible for reimbursement if (1) the person has followed all black bear damage preventive
measures recommended by DNR; (2) the damage amount is determined by a specified agent; and
(3) DNR has verified that the damage was caused by a black bear. Subject to available funding, a
person may be reimbursed in an amount not less than $200 or more than $3,000 per year.

Senate Bill 353/House Bill 897 (Chs. 357 and 358) authorize DNR to reimburse a person
from the Black Bear Damage Reimbursement Fund for any damage to the person’s “pets” as
defined in the Family Law Article. The Family Law Article defines pet as a domesticated animal,
not including livestock.
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Hunting and Fishing

Hunting
Sunday Hunting

Hunting game birds or mammals on Sunday is generally prohibited, subject to various
exceptions (with many of the exceptions being county specific). Numerous changes to Sunday
hunting provisions over the years have resulted in the statute being difficult to understand. House
Bill 173 (Ch. 95) generally reorganizes and clarifies provisions of law that authorize Sunday
hunting. The Act also explicitly authorizes the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) to set all
Sunday hunting seasons.

Deer Management Permits — Baltimore County

Maryland landowners or agricultural lessees who are experiencing severe economic loss
from deer to commercially grown crops may be eligible to receive a deer management permit.
Deer management permits allow the permit holder or an agent of a permit holder to remove deer
from the designated property outside of any deer bag limits and the established deer hunting
seasons, including on any Sunday throughout the year. Senate Bill 427/House Bill 1304 (Chs. 453
and 454) make current provisions relating to deer management permits that are applicable in
Calvert, Charles, Harford, and St. Mary’s counties also applicable in Baltimore County. The
provisions (1) allow an individual hunting under a deer management permit to use a shotgun or
breech loading center fired rifle approved by DNR to hunt deer throughout the year in the locations
and under the conditions set forth in the permit and (2) allow a permit holder who leases State land
for crop cultivation to hunt deer on the leased land under the permit.

Repeal of Waterfowl Feeding License

DNR may issue a license to feed waterfowl over certain land. The purpose of the license is
to (1) supplement the dwindling supply of waterfowl feed; (2) provide relief from crop
depredation; and (3) regulate waterfowl feeding to prevent its use in hunting. DNR, however, has
come to believe that feeding wildlife may do more harm than good and has not issued a waterfowl
feeding license in decades. Senate Bill 242 (Ch. 542) repeals the authority of DNR to issue a
waterfowl feeding license.

Fishing

Modification of Limited Fishing Guide License

A limited fishing guide license authorizes a license holder to guide individuals in up to
three boats or vessels that (1) have one or two occupants and (2) are propelled by oars or paddles.
DNR may issue a special charter boat license to limited fishing guides, allowing them to guide

individuals in tidal waters without each individual needing to possess a recreational fishing license.
Senate Bill 793/House Bill 1131 (Chs. 430 and 431) alter the required method of propulsion for
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a boat or vessel operated by a limited fishing guide from oars or paddles to human power,
authorizing the use of boats or vessels with other drive systems (typically pedals).

Authorization to Empty a Haul Seine during Weekend Hours

In general, a person may not fish with a haul seine during the period from 12:01 a.m.,
Saturday, until sunrise on Monday in the tidal waters of the State. This prohibition limits the ability
of a commercial harvester to use haul seines on a Friday because, depending on the size of the
catch, the harvester may not have time to empty the net before midnight. Senate Bill 510/House
Bill 1399 (Chs. 464 and 465) establish an exception to that prohibition by authorizing a person
who sets a haul seine on a Friday to empty the haul seine during the period from 12:01 a.m. on
Saturday until sunrise on Monday, if the person notifies the Natural Resources Police (1) that the
person will be emptying the haul seine over that weekend; (2) of the location of the haul seine; and
(3) of the contact information for the license holder responsible for the haul seine.

Nuisance Organism Pilot Projects and Modified Northern Snakehead License

DNR may use pilot projects as an adaptive management tool as part of a fishery
management plan. Senate Bill 114 (Ch. 528) allows DNR to apply this process to nuisance
organism control by authorizing DNR to adopt regulations to conduct pilot projects to demonstrate
and evaluate new approaches for the management and control of nuisance organisms (which likely
would not be subject to fishery management plans). In particular, DNR could use pilot projects in
its efforts to control the northern snakehead and blue catfish.

Senate Bill 114 also modifies the “commercial northern snakehead bowfishing license” by
renaming it as the “commercial northern snakehead license” and authorizing the license holder to
catch for sale northern snakeheads in the tidal waters of the State using a hook and line in addition
to a bow and arrow attached to a retrieval line.

Study on Recreational Striped Bass Harvest Data

DNR is implementing striped bass conservation measures that impose limitations on the
recreational fishery under an Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission requirement that states
achieve an 18% reduction in total striped bass removals relative to 2017 levels. To improve the
management of the striped bass fishery, Senate Bill 882 (Ch. 587) requires DNR to (1) conduct a
study on methods of obtaining more accurate harvest data for the recreational striped bass fishery,
including consideration of the benefits of more accurate data, the types of information to be
collected, and enforcement measures and (2) report its findings and recommendations by
December 1, 2020.

Fishing License Penalty Reciprocity

The Potomac River Fisheries Commission (PRFC), comprised of representatives of
Maryland and Virginia, regulates fisheries (including recreational and commercial licensing) in
the mainstem tidal Potomac River, from Washington, DC, to the Chesapeake Bay. Senate
Bill 1025 (Ch. 594) establishes a Task Force on Fishing License Penalties to study and make


http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=SB0510&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=HB1399&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=HB1399&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=SB0114&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=SB0114&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=SB0882&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=SB1025&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=SB1025&ys=2020rs

Part K — Natural Resources, Environment, and Agriculture K-5

recommendations, by December 1, 2021, on (1) fishing license penalty reciprocity between
Maryland and PRFC; (2) if Virginia participates in the task force, fishing license penalty
reciprocity between Virginia and PRFC; (3) the logistics associated with providing fishing license
penalty reciprocity; and (4) specified enforcement actions PRFC can take, consistent with the
Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact. The Act also states the intent of the General Assembly that
the task force constitute a commission to study and make recommendations on revisions and
amendments to the Potomac River Compact of 1958.

Licensing
Discounted and Complimentary Licenses

Chapters 461, 462, and 463 of 2017, taken together, established discounted and
complimentary hunting and recreational fishing privileges for certain individuals by
(1) authorizing DNR to issue a lifetime complimentary angler’s or sport fishing license to an
out-of-state former prisoner of war or 100% service-connected disabled American veteran (and
exempting such angler’s licensees from trout stamp requirements) if the person’s state of residence
extends similar, reciprocal privileges and (2) requiring DNR to implement programs to provide
discounted angler’s, sport fishing, and hunting licenses and associated stamps and permits to
Maryland residents who are recipients of the Purple Heart award. House Bill 236 (Ch. 123) makes
Chapters 461, 462, and 463 permanent, repealing their June 30, 2020 termination date.

Healing Hunting and Fishing Fund

Chapter 424 of 2016 established a program through which a person may purchase and
donate an angler’s license, a sport fishing license, or a hunting license and any corresponding
stamps, for use by a Gold Star recipient, a disabled veteran, a disabled member of the U.S. Armed
Forces, or a permanently disabled person who requires the use of a wheelchair. The Healing
Hunting and Fishing Fund holds funds for the program. Senate Bill 142 (Ch. 536) repeals the
license donation program and modifies provisions relating to the Healing Hunting and Fishing
Fund to allow for grants to be made from the fund to eligible sponsor organizations to provide
recreational outdoor opportunities (including hunting and fishing opportunities) or workforce
training for green jobs to the groups of individuals the license donation program benefited as well
as specified others. The Act also (1) makes the fund permanent, repealing its June 30, 2022
termination date; (2) requires DNR to establish a process to allow an individual who purchases
specified fishing or hunting licenses or stamps through DNR’s electronic system to make a
donation to the fund at the time of purchase; and (3) requires the Chesapeake Bay Trust, rather
than DNR, to administer the fund.

Other Legislation

Other legislation relating to hunting and fishing (oyster management) was addressed in the
2020 Session Major Issues Review.
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Environment

Bay Restoration Fund

Chapter 428 of 2004 established the Bay Restoration Fund (BRF), which is administered
by the Water Quality Financing Administration within the Maryland Department of the
Environment (MDE). The primary purpose of the fund is to support upgrades to Maryland’s major
publicly owned wastewater treatment plants (WWTP) with enhanced nutrient removal (ENR)
technology; funds are also used to support, among other things, onsite sewage disposal system
(commonly referred to as a septic system) upgrades and the planting of cover crops.

As a revenue source for the fund, Chapter 428 established a bay restoration fee on users of
wastewater facilities, septic systems, and sewage holding tanks, which was doubled for most users
under Chapter 150 of 2012. Fee revenue generated from users of wastewater facilities is deposited
into MDE’s Wastewater Account and used to, among other specified uses, provide grants for up
to 100% of the eligible costs of upgrading WWTPs to ENR.

Project funding from the Wastewater Account is subject to several priorities, one of which
requires MDE to determine funding awards based on water quality and public health benefits when
allocating funding for (1) combined sewer overflow abatement, rehabilitation of existing sewers,
and upgrading conveyance systems, including pumping stations; (2) nitrogen reduction from septic
systems; and (3) the most cost-effective and efficient stormwater control measures by local
governments who have implemented a system of charges to fully fund a stormwater management
program. House Bill 78 (Ch. 44) expands the criteria used to determine how to allocate funding
for these projects by including climate resiliency and flood control as issues that MDE must
consider when determining the priority of funding. The Act also specifies that the types of
stormwater control measures that a local government that has implemented a system of charges to
fully fund a stormwater program may receive BRF funding for include stormwater measures
relating to water quality, climate resiliency, and flood control.

Of the BRF fee revenue collected from users of septic systems and sewage holding tanks,
60% must be deposited into a separate account, commonly referred to as the Septics Account.
Among other things, the Septics Account may be used for grants or loans for up to 100% of the
cost of connecting a property using a septic system to an existing municipal wastewater facility
that is achieving specified levels of treatment. House Bill 1035 (Ch. 413) expands the authorized
uses of the Septics Account to include specified costs associated with connecting a property served
by a septic system to an existing municipal wastewater facility that has signed a funding agreement
with MDE and is under construction to achieve ENR or biological nutrient removal level treatment.
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Hazardous and Toxic Substances
Firefighting Foam and Perfluoroalkyl and Polyfluoroalkyl Chemicals

Perfluoroalkyl and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) are a group of synthetic chemicals
that include PFOA, PFOS, GenX, and many other chemicals. PFAS have been manufactured and
used in a variety of industries in the United States since the 1940s, including for use in firefighting
foam. PFAS are persistent in the environment and the human body, meaning that they do not break
down easily and can accumulate over time, and there is evidence that exposure to PFAS can lead
to a number of adverse human health effects. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has taken
arange of regulatory actions to address PFAS substances in manufacturing and consumer products.
Additionally, certain PFAS chemicals are no longer manufactured in the United States as a result
of phase-outs that were agreed on by major chemical manufacturers.

In 2019, MDE announced the formation of a task force involving several of the
department’s administrations. MDE also established a three-step approach to the challenges of
PFAS in the State, which includes (1) understanding the risk through science, inspection, and
assessment; (2) communicating the risk through public education; and (3) managing the risk
through appropriate funding, regulation, and agency coordination.

Senate Bill 420 /House Bill 619 (Chs. 276 and 277) generally prohibit, on or after October
1, 2021, the use of Class B firefighting foam that contains intentionally added PFAS chemicals for
(1) testing purposes (unless the use is required by law or relevant agency and the testing facility
has implemented appropriate containment, treatment, and disposal measures) or (2) training
purposes. Additionally, nonfluorinated training foam is required for firefighting training purposes.
The Acts establish a civil penalty for violations. For a further discussion of the Acts, see the subpart
“Public Safety” under Part E — Crimes, Corrections, and Public Safety of this 7/ Day Report.

Lead

The Lead Poisoning Prevention Commission studies and collects information on several
matters, including the effectiveness of the Lead Poisoning Prevention Program, and may appoint
subcommittees to study specified subjects relating to lead and lead poisoning. Senate Bill 18
(Ch. 500) alters the membership of the commission and changes and adds topics on which the
commission may appoint a subcommittee to study. The Act also (1) repeals and amends several
obsolete provisions that require the commission to develop recommendations and standards and
to study and collect information on various topics related to lead, lead poisoning, and remediation
and (2) repeals an obsolete provision that requires MDE to consult with the commission on
establishing specified standards.

The Opportunity Zone Enhancement Program, administered by the Department of
Commerce (Commerce), provides enhanced incentives for qualifying businesses located within a
federal opportunity zone. Businesses qualify by meeting certain requirements and providing
specific information to Commerce. Senate Bill 713/House Bill 566 (Chs. 254 and 255) alter the
information that must be provided to Commerce in order to qualify for tax enhancements under


http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=SB0420&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=HB0619&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=SB0018&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=SB0713&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=HB0566&ys=2020rs

K-8 The 71 Day Report

the program to include information related to lead-based paint abatement in specified
circumstances. For a more detailed discussion of this issue, see the subpart “Economic
Development” within Part H — Business and Economic Development of this 7/ Day Report.

Water Infrastructure and Marine Contractors
Water Infrastructure Assets

MDE’s Dam Safety Program is responsible for regulating the design, construction,
operation, and maintenance of dams in Maryland to prevent dam failures and the consequences of
failure. MDE conducts inspections based on hazard classes of dams; issues permits for
construction, repairs, and modifications; conducts construction inspections; and works with dam
owners and emergency management professionals to develop and exercise an emergency action
plan in the event of a dam failure.

House Bill 177 (Ch. 97) modifies MDE’s authority to respond to emergency situations
related to a “water infrastructure asset” (defined as a reservoir, dam, or any other waterway
construction) by authorizing MDE to take emergency actions necessary to protect life, property,
or the environment if (1) MDE determines that a water infrastructure asset is in imminent danger
of failure, MDE has issued notice to the asset owner, and the owner has not completed the work
within the time prescribed in the notice or (2) MDE determines that a water infrastructure asset is
failing and that the asset owner is not taking adequate protective actions. If MDE takes control of
a water infrastructure asset, MDE must remain in control of the asset until it has been rendered
safe or the circumstances requiring the emergency actions have ceased. The asset owner must
reimburse MDE for costs incurred, and a lien must be established for nonpayment under specified
circumstances. The Act also establishes legal protections for MDE and the State.

Marine Contractors Licensing Board

Chapter 286 of 2010 established the Marine Contractors Licensing Board within MDE but
did not explicitly establish the board as a “unit” in MDE. The board is responsible for the licensing
and regulation of individuals and entities that provide marine contractor services in the State.
Senate Bill 74 (Ch. 513) explicitly establishes the board as a unit in MDE and subjects the board
to termination under the Maryland Program Evaluation Act. The Act also amends the definition of
“marine contractor services” to exclude specified activities over State or private tidal wetlands.
Finally, the Act authorizes the board to establish, by regulation, license categories that specify the
marine contractor services each license authorizes a licensee to perform.

Solid Waste Management

Chapters 579 and 580 of 2019 established a prohibition, beginning July 1, 2020, against
(1) a person selling or offering for sale in the State an “expanded polystyrene food service product”
and (2) a food service business or school from selling or providing food or beverages in an
expanded polystyrene food service product. An “expanded polystyrene food service product” is a
product made of expanded polystyrene that is (1) used for selling or providing food or beverages
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and (2) intended by the manufacturer to be used once for eating or drinking or generally recognized
by the public as an item to be discarded after one use and includes food containers, plates, beverage
cups, trays, and cartons for eggs or other food. There are a number of exceptions to the definition.
Senate Bill 840/House Bill 1442 (Chs. 471 and 472) expand the exceptions to the definition of an
expanded polystyrene food service product by excluding (1) cartons for eggs that are made of
expanded polystyrene that are shipped into the State for packaging and (2) cartons of eggs that
have been packaged within the State for sale within the State.

Renewable Energy

The Voluntary Cleanup Program (VCP), which is administered by MDE, was established
in 1997 to encourage the investigation of eligible brownfields properties, to protect public health
and the environment, to accelerate the cleanup of “eligible properties,” and to provide
predictability and finality to the cleanup process. An eligible property is a property that is
contaminated or perceived to be contaminated.

VCP provides owners or purchasers of a contaminated site liability relief if cleanup goals
are met. The initial application fee for VCP is $6,000, but MDE may reduce that fee on a
demonstration of financial hardship. An application fee of $2,000 applies for each application
submitted subsequent to the initial application for the same property. An application fee of $2,000
also applies for each application submitted subsequent to the initial application for contiguous or
adjacent properties that are part of the same planned unit development or a similar development
plan. All application fees are paid into the Voluntary Cleanup Fund. Senate Bill 281 (Ch. 544)
requires MDE to waive application fees for VCP for a qualifying applicant who intends to use
eligible property to generate clean or renewable energy. The Act also expands the definition of
eligible property, as it applies to VCP, to include sites listed on the Superfund Enterprise
Management System.

Lastly, Senate Bill 281 exempts a public service company that is a public-private
partnership (P3) formed for the generation of clean or renewable energy from the existing public
service company franchise tax if (1) 30% or more of the electricity generated through the P3 is
purchased by the public partner and (2) the clean or renewable energy generating station is sited
on an eligible clean and renewable energy generation site, as determined by MDE.

Agriculture

Nutrient and Sediment Management
Maryland Agricultural Water Quality Cost-Share Program

The Maryland Agricultural Water Quality Cost-Share Program (MACS) was established
by the General Assembly as one of several initiatives to improve water quality and achieve water
quality goals. Administered by the Maryland Department of Agriculture (MDA), MACS provides
farmers with grants to cover up to 87.5% of the cost of implementing best management practices
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that reduce soil and nutrient runoff from farmland. The fiscal 2021 capital budget includes
$8.0 million in general obligation bond funding for the installation of best management practices
under MACS.

Senate Bill 597/House Bill 687 (Chs. 304 and 305) modify the provisions governing
MACS to allow for State cost-sharing for “fixed natural filter practices” and to establish specified
standards and requirements applicable to State cost-sharing. “Fixed natural filter practice” means
one of the following practices: (1) planting of riparian forest buffers; (2) planting of riparian
herbaceous cover; (3) tree plantings that are on agricultural land and outside a riparian buffer;
(4) wetland restoration; or (5) pasture management, including rotational grazing systems, such as
livestock fencing and watering systems implemented as part of the conversion of cropland to
pasture. State cost-sharing funds may not be used to fund a conservation practice that does not
either address a natural resource concern identified by the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s
(USDA) Natural Resources Conservation Service or result in an improved conservation benefit.
The Acts also prohibit a reduction in State cost-sharing rates for riparian forest buffers, riparian
herbaceous cover, wetland restoration, or pasture management if the reduction is based on tons of
soil saved or an amortization formula. State cost-sharing rates for pasture management must be
based on the applicable rate established by USDA’s Environmental Quality Incentives Program.
Additionally, State cost-sharing rates paid for the planting of multiple species of cover crops must
equal or exceed the rates paid for the planting of a single species of cover crop.

Nonagricultural Fertilizer Application

The Fertilizer Use Act of 2011 (Chapters 484 and 485) is a component of the State’s
strategy to reach the State’s targets for reducing nitrogen, phosphorus, and sediment loads under
the Chesapeake Bay Total Maximum Daily Load that was established by the U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency in December 2010. The law was enacted to reduce nutrient runoff from
nonagricultural fertilizer application on turf, including golf courses, athletic fields, parks,
recreation areas, businesses, and urban and suburban lawns. It established fertilizer content,
labeling, and application requirements, as well as requirements applicable to professional fertilizer
applicators. A professional fertilizer applicator must, among other things, be certified by MDA (or
work under the direct supervision of an individual who is certified) before applying fertilizer to
turf. A person who violates the restrictions applicable to professional fertilizer applicators is
subject to a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for a first violation and up to $2,000 for each subsequent
violation.

MDA regulations implementing the Fertilizer Use Act require, among other things, each
business location that employs a person who is paid to fertilize turf to be licensed by MDA. To
obtain or renew a license, an applicant must (1) apply to MDA on a departmental form,;
(2) designate an employee who is a certified professional fertilizer applicator; and (3) pay a
$50 fee. House Bill 161 (Ch. 88) generally codifies the regulations to clarify the authority of MDA
to require the business license. The Act also expands the application of the existing civil penalty
provisions to apply to a person who employs a person who violates related professional fertilizer
applicator provisions.
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Agricultural Land Preservation

The Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Foundation (MALPF), a program within
MDA, purchases agricultural preservation easements that restrict development on prime farmland
and woodland in perpetuity. In addition to funding from the State transfer tax, MALPF is funded
with agricultural land transfer taxes, local matching funds, and federal grant funds. As of the end
of fiscal 2019, MALPF has acquired 2,347 agricultural preservation easements covering
318,216 acres statewide.

Valuation of Easement

Subject to certain exceptions, the maximum value of any easement to be purchased by
MALPF is the lower of (1) the asking price or (2) the difference between the fair market value of
the land and the agricultural value of the land. The value of the easement is determined at the time
that MALPF is requested in writing to purchase the easement. The fair market value is determined
by the Department of General Services based on one or more appraisals by the State appraisers
and appraisals, if any, of the landowner. MALPF indicates that, in any easement application cycle,
there may not be sufficient funding to extend offers to all applicants, and those who do not receive
offers may reapply during the next cycle. However, new appraisals are required in each application
cycle for all applications. Senate Bill 244/House Bill 17 (Chs. 26 and 27) allow MALPF to use
an appraised fair market value (for the determination of the value of an easement) for up to
two years after the date on which MALPF was first requested in writing to purchase the easement.

Montgomery County Agricultural Land Transfer Tax

House Bill 848 (Ch. 342) alters the Montgomery County agricultural land transfer tax by
(1) requiring that revenue derived from the tax be used for agricultural land preservation programs
or other programs that support agriculture in the county; (2) prohibiting the tax from applying to a
land transfer if the land was subject to the tax at the time of a previous transfer; and (3) requiring
that the tax be reduced by 65% if the land was assessed on the basis of any assessment other than
the farm or agricultural use assessment for five or more full consecutive taxable years before the
transfer.

Agricultural Production and Promotion
Maryland Egg Law

The Maryland Egg Law regulates shell eggs, defined as raw or treated chicken eggs that
are still in the shell and intended for human consumption. A person may not donate, sell, advertise,
offer, or in any manner represent for sale shell eggs to any person unless the shell eggs meet
standards of quality, grade, and size classification under the Maryland Egg Law. Senate Bill 9
(Ch. 496) modifies the Maryland Egg Law by (1) expanding the definition of “shell eggs” to apply
to poultry eggs in general (and not just domesticated chicken eggs); (2) expanding the Secretary
of Agriculture’s enforcement authority to include additional locations that the Secretary may enter
and additional items that the Secretary may examine; (3) establishing a definition of adulterated
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shell eggs; (4) establishing additional registration requirements for packers and distributors of shell
eggs, including compliance with specified federal standards established by the U.S. Food and Drug
Administration for the prevention of Salmonella enteritidis in shell eggs during production,
storage, and transportation, as applicable; and (5) requiring retailers and food service facilities to
retain shell egg invoice delivery tickets for 90 days.

Agricultural Alcohol Production

MDA advises that many farmers who need to diversify their businesses are looking toward
value-added productions such as breweries, wineries, and distilleries. To act as a reference in State
law to help local jurisdictions regulate their own agricultural alcohol producers, Senate Bill 118
(Ch. 532) establishes definitions of “alcohol production” and ‘“‘agricultural alcohol production.”
The Act also authorizes a local jurisdiction to adopt either or both definitions by local ordinance,
resolution, law, or rule. For a more detailed discussion of Senate Bill 118, see the subpart “Local
Government — Generally” within Part D — Local Government of this 7/ Day Report.

Buildings Used for Agritourism in Montgomery County

The construction, alteration, or modification of an agricultural building for which
agritourism is an intended subordinate use is exempted from adhering to the Maryland Building
Performance Standards in several counties. In those counties, an existing agricultural building used
for agritourism is not considered a change of occupancy that requires a building permit if specified
conditions are met. House Bill 805 (Ch. 331) extends this exemption to an agricultural building in
Montgomery County that meets the specified conditions. The Act also exempts an existing
agricultural building used for agritourism in Montgomery County from obtaining a change of
occupancy permit if the use (1) is in accordance with limitations established by the Maryland
Department of Labor; (2) occupies only levels of the building on which a ground level exit is
located; and (3) does not require more than 50 people to occupy an individual building at any
one time. However, if the subordinate use of agritourism requires more than 50 people but fewer
than 100 people to occupy an individual building at any one time, the width and number of means
of egress must meet specified additional standards.

Maryland Farm Bureau Property Tax Exemption

The Maryland Farm Bureau is a private, nonprofit organization with more than
15,350 members in the 23 county farm bureaus in the State. The purpose of the Maryland Farm
Bureau is to increase net farm income and improve the quality of life by providing a legislative
voice, increasing public understanding, and promoting member involvement. Senate
Bill 802/House Bill 889 (Chs. 634 and 635) exempt from State and local property taxes property
owned by the Maryland Farm Bureau that is used exclusively for, among other things, (1) the
agricultural education of the public; (2) aiding and encouraging agriculture in the State; or
(3) assisting in the collection, analysis, and dissemination of information relating to agriculture.
For a further discussion of the Acts, see the subpart “Property Tax” within Part B — Taxes of this
71 Day Report.
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Departmental Programs and Functions
State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners

The State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (SBVME) is responsible for licensing
and registering veterinarians, licensing and inspecting veterinary hospitals, registering veterinary
technicians, and licensing animal control facilities to administer drugs needed to sedate and/or
euthanize animals. SBVME regulates more than 3,000 veterinarians and registered veterinary
technicians, 600 veterinary hospitals, and 30 animal control facilities.

Sunset Evaluation: While Chapters 510 and 511 of 2019 eliminated the periodic
evaluations of regulatory entities and activities that were required under the Maryland Program
Evaluation Act, uncodified language established the intent of the General Assembly that the
Department of Legislative Services (DLS) conduct an evaluation of SBVME and make
recommendations on a new termination date for SBVME. Accordingly, DLS conducted a full
evaluation of SBVME in 2019, which focused on issues identified in the 2018 preliminary
evaluation. House Bill 549 (Ch. 249) implements the statutory recommendations from the full
evaluation report by extending the termination date of SBVME to July 1, 2031, and requiring
SBVME to report each year on its disciplinary activities for the previous fiscal year.

Cease and Desist Orders and Civil Penalties: SBVME has the authority to bring an action
for an injunction against a person who violates the statutory provisions governing SBVME and the
practice of veterinary medicine. Additionally, a violation of any of those statutory provisions is a
misdemeanor and subject to specified fines and/or imprisonment. SBVME may also take specified
disciplinary actions against a veterinarian or veterinary practitioner, including the suspension or
revocation of a license. To establish additional enforcement options for SBVME,
Senate Bill 189/House Bill 545 (Chs. 243 and 244) authorize SBVME, on review and approval
of the Secretary of Agriculture or the Secretary’s designee, to issue a cease and desist order to a
person who (1) practices, attempts to practice, or offers to practice veterinary medicine in violation
of specified existing prohibitions; (2) takes an action for which SBVME determines there is a
preponderance of evidence of grounds for discipline under specified existing provisions, including
certain violations of veterinary standards of conduct, ethics, and license requirements; or (3) takes
an action that poses a serious risk to the health, safety, and welfare of an animal patient. In lieu of
a cease and desist order, SBVME may impose a civil penalty of up to $5,000 for a first offense
and $10,000 for a second or subsequent offense. The Acts also establish notice and hearing
requirements for the imposition of civil penalties by SBVME, authorize a person to seek review
under the Administrative Procedure Act of a cease and desist order or civil penalty imposed by
SBVME, and clarify that these remedies are in addition to the other remedies available to SBVME.

Certified Local Farm Enterprise Program

Senate Bill 985/House Bill 1488 (both passed) establish the Certified Local Farm
Enterprise Program and office within MDA to encourage State agencies, including public
four-year universities, to achieve an overall goal of purchasing 20% of food from certified local
farm enterprises. A certified local farm enterprise is one that meets specified nutrient management
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requirements and is certified by MDA. Among other things, the office must adopt regulations to
maximize notice to, and the opportunity to participate in the food procurement process by, a wide
range of local farm enterprises. MDA must develop and maintain a directory of all certified local
farm enterprises and make the directory accessible to the public on its website. The bills also
establish a nonbudgeted Certified Local Farm Enterprise Food Aggregation Grant Fund within the
Maryland Agricultural and Resource-Based Industry Development Corporation to establish and
operate food aggregation, storage, processing, and distribution sites across the State through grants
and near-equity investments. For a more detailed discussion of Senate Bill 985/House Bill 1488,
see the subpart “Procurement” within Part C — State Government of this 7/ Day Report.

On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bills due to concerns regarding the economic
challenges resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic.

Noxious Weed Control

The Secretary of Agriculture has specified authority and responsibility under State law to
control noxious weeds and other plant species, including the authority to enter into agreements
with a county or other political subdivision of the State, an adjoining state, or an agency of the
federal government to implement a program for the control and eradication of noxious weeds.
Senate Bill 92 (Ch. 519) modifies certain provisions that specifically govern an agreement
between the Secretary and a county for cooperative efforts to control or eradicate a noxious weed
or other plant species within the county to make the provisions applicable to an agreement between
the Secretary and a county or other “subdivision of the State,” which is defined to include a Soil
Conservation District.

Other Legislation

Other legislation relating to agriculture (pesticides) was discussed in the 2020 Session
Major Issues Review.
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Part L
Education

Education — Primary and Secondary

School Governance

Maryland established an Interstate Compact on Educational Opportunity for Military
Children (Chapters 501 and 502 of 2009) to facilitate the transfer of children in military families
between schools in different states. Senate Bill 391/House Bill 503 (Chs. 224 and 225) build on
this framework by requiring a local superintendent to allow a dependent child of an active-duty
service member who is relocating to the State on military orders to apply for enrollment in a public
school in the same manner and at the same time as individuals who reside in the county (including
Baltimore City). Within 10 days of the published arrival date on the service member’s military
orders, the service member must provide the school with (1) satisfactory evidence of the dependent
child’s status as a dependent child of the service member; (2) a copy of the service member’s
military orders to relocate; and (3) proof of residence in the county.

Senate Bill 564 (Ch. 565) requires a local board of education to waive all local high school
graduation requirements, including required coursework, that are in addition to the State high
school graduation requirements established by the State Board of Education for a student in foster
care or who is a homeless youth, if the student transfers into the local school system from a
different local school system in the State while in grades 11 or 12. However, the local board of
education is prohibited from waiving the local requirements if it makes a finding that the student
is reasonably able to complete the local high school graduation requirements in time to graduate
from high school while remaining eligible for foster care benefits.

Health and Nutrition

Senate Bill 760 (Ch. 581) requires a public school to notify a parent of a student when the
student’s meal account has a low balance and before the student accrues unpaid meal debt. A
public school may provide an alternative meal instead of a standard meal if the meal meets
specified federal nutritional requirements and is a meal offered to all students regardless of meal
debt. If a student has unpaid meal debt, the Act prohibits a public school from (1) requiring the
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student to wear a wristband, hand stamp, sticker, or other identifying mark; (2) requiring the
student to complete chores or tasks; (3) denying a meal to a student or disposing of a meal after it
has been served; or (4) restricting a student from access to school records or participation in any
school-related extracurricular activity. Finally, the Act requires that a public school notify the
parent of each student about the application process and eligibility requirements for the school’s
free or reduced-price meal programs.

House Bill 277 (Ch. 148) requires the Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE),
in consultation with the Maryland Department of Health (MDH) and the Department of Human
Services, to develop guidelines for schools on a trauma-informed approach to education. A
trauma-informed approach is a method for understanding and responding to an individual with
symptoms of chronic interpersonal trauma or traumatic stress. MSDE must distribute the
guidelines to local school systems and publish the guidelines on its website.

Regulations adopted by MSDE, in consultation with MDH, require a physical examination
for children entering the Maryland public school system for the first time. Each child must have a
physical examination completed within the nine-month period before entering the public school
system or six months after entering the public school system. Senate Bill 726 (Ch. 578) authorizes
a licensed physician or licensed physician assistant with a delegation agreement approved by the
State Board of Physicians to complete the physical examination, in addition to a certified nurse
practitioner.

House Bill 409 (Ch. 198) requires MDH, by January 1, 2021, to revise its regulations
regarding school-based health centers (SBHC) that may participate in Medicaid to include SBHCs
that have a written agreement with a sponsoring agency that meets the specified requirements
identified by MSDE. For more information on this Act, see the subpart “Public Health —
Generally” within Part J — Health and Human Services of this 7/ Day Report.

Other Legislation

Senate Bill 504 (Ch. 562) establishes the Special Education Ombudsman in the Office of
the Attorney General to serve as a resource to provide information and support to parents, students,
and educators regarding special education rights and services. For a more detailed discussion of
the Act, see the subpart “State Agencies, Offices, and Officials/Regulations” under Part C — State
Government of this 7/ Day Report.

The Maryland School for the Blind (MSB) serves students from birth to age 21 who are
blind or visually impaired, including some with multiple disabilities. MSB educates students
whose needs cannot be met in their respective 24 local school systems through community-based
outreach and comprehensive on-campus programs on a day or residential basis. MSB is governed
by a board consisting of 25 members. Senate Bill 640/House Bill 760 (Chs. 315 and 316) alter
the terms of membership for a member of the Board of Directors for MSB to allow any member
of the board who serves three consecutive terms to be reappointed for an additional term after
waiting one year from the completion of a third consecutive term.
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Other legislation relating to primary and secondary education was discussed in the
2020 Session Major Issues Review.

Higher Education

Capital Funding

Capital funding for public four-year institutions totals $297.0 million for fiscal 2021,
including $32.0 million in academic revenue bonds for University System of Maryland (USM)
institutions authorized by Senate Bill 344 (Ch. 550) and $77.0 million in bond premiums. Local
community colleges receive $87.3 million for the Community College Construction Grant
Program and $4.0 million for the facilities renewal grant program. In addition, Garrett Community
College receives $9.2 million for a Community Education and Performing Arts Center. Baltimore
City Community College receives $4.6 million, and independent institutions receive $12.0 million
in capital funding for fiscal 2021.

For information on the fiscal 2021 operating budget and authorized capital projects for
higher education, see the 2020 Session Major Issues Review.

Student Financial Assistance
Scholarships

Maryland Community College Promise Scholarship: Chapter 554 of 2018 created the
Maryland Community College Promise Scholarship (MCCPS) program in Maryland to provide
tuition assistance to students who attend a community college in the State and who meet specified
eligibility criteria. MCCPS is a last-dollar award that is applied after all nonloan aid to eligible
recipients has been applied. The Governor must appropriate at least $15.0 million annually for the
program. Senate Bill 307/House Bill 415 (Chs. 200 and 201) alter the eligibility requirements for
the MCCPS program such that an applicant (1) can apply any time after graduating from high
school or completing a GED rather than being limited to two years from the date of high school
graduation and (2) must meet altered grade point average requirements, as specified. The Acts also
repeal the service obligation for all recipients, including for individuals who are recipients at the
time the Acts take effect. In addition, only State or federal student financial aid, other than a student
loan, received by a recipient must be credited to the recipient’s tuition before the calculation of the
award amount. The Maryland Higher Education Commission (MHEC) and each community
college must publicize the MCCPS program as specified.

Edward T. and Mary A. Conroy Memorial, Jean B. Cryor Memorial, and Veterans of
the Afghanistan and Iraq Conflicts Scholarships: The Edward T. and Mary A. Conroy Memorial
Scholarship makes awards to specified public safety personnel and their eligible dependents to
attend a postsecondary institution in the State for five years of full-time study or eight years of
part-time study. House Bill 596 (Ch. 267) expands the eligibility requirements for the Edward T.
and Mary A. Conroy Memorial Scholarship Program by removing the residency requirements for
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the following categories of individuals: (1) a child or surviving spouse of a State or local public
safety employee who was killed in the line of duty or who suffered an injury in the line of duty
resulting in 100% disability; and (2) a disabled public safety employee. Eligibility requirements
for the Jean B. Cryor Memorial Scholarship for school employees who died or are 100% disabled
in the line of duty are unchanged.

Veterans of the Afghanistan and Iraq Conflicts Scholarships are available to veterans and
active-duty members of the U.S. Armed Forces who served in Afghanistan and Iraq, members of
the reserve or Maryland National Guard who were activated as a result of the conflicts, and their
children and spouses. The scholarship supplements federal education benefits for which an
applicant is eligible and may be used to pay for educational expenses, including tuition, mandatory
fees, and room and board. House Bill 596 allows initial scholarships under the Veterans of the
Afghanistan and Iraq Conflicts Scholarships to continue to be awarded for another 10 years, until
June 30, 2030; thereafter, existing scholarships may be renewed. Funds are included in the
fiscal 2021 budget to continue the scholarship program.

Tuition Assistance

Nonresident Tuition Exemption for Military Personnel, Spouses, and Dependents:
Public institutions of higher education in Maryland charge in-state tuition rates to three categories
of military individuals: (1) active-duty members of the U.S. Armed Forces who are stationed,
reside, or are domiciled in Maryland; (2) the spouses and dependent children of active-duty
members of the U.S. Armed Forces; and (3) honorably discharged veterans of the
U.S. Armed Forces. Senate Bill 458/House Bill 506 (Chs. 227 and 228) expand the conditions
under which a spouse or financially dependent child of an active-duty service member of the
U.S. Armed Forces is eligible for resident tuition to include a spouse or dependent who was
accepted to attend a public institution of higher education when the member was stationed,
residing, or domiciled in the State. A spouse or dependent must remain continuously enrolled and
domiciled in the State to continue receiving the benefit. Thus, the Acts affect the dependents of
active-duty members who are reassigned to another state after the dependent has been accepted
but before enrolling in a public institution of higher education.

Maryland National Guard Tuition Assistance Program: Senate Bill 282 /House Bill 362
(Chs. 180 and 181) increase the percentage of in-state tuition that the Military Department may
reimburse from 50% to 100% for an eligible active member of the Maryland National Guard. The
Acts also expand eligibility to include any member who holds a commission in the Maryland
National Guard. The fiscal 2021 budget includes funds to cover the estimated cost of reimbursing
100% of in-state tuition.

Tuition Waiver for Student Members of the USM Board of Regents: The Board of
Regents of USM is composed of 21 members, including two student members. Senate Bill 1022
(Ch. 593) authorizes the Board of Regents of USM to grant a tuition waiver to student members.
The tuition waiver may not exceed the amount of the tuition incurred by the student member during
the second year of a two-year term. Additionally, the tuition waiver may not (1) be considered a
gift or compensation under the Maryland Public Ethics Law; (2) be considered compensation under
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the Maryland Tort Claims Act; or (3) cause the student member to be classified as an employee of
USM.

Other Assistance Programs

Maryland Loan Assistance Repayment Program for Physicians and Physician
Assistants: The Maryland Loan Assistance Repayment Program (MLARP) for Physicians and
Physician Assistants provides student loan repayment assistance in exchange for certain service
commitments to help ensure underserved areas of the State have sufficient numbers of primary
care physicians and physician assistants. Senate Bill 501/House Bill 998 (Chs. 402 and 403)
transfer oversight of MLARP for Physicians and Physician Assistants from the Office of Student
Financial Assistance within MHEC to the Maryland Department of Health (MDH), among other
things. For a further discussion of Senate Bill 501/House Bill 998, see the subpart “Health
Occupations” within Part J — Health and Human Services of this 7/ Day Report.

Maryland Corps Program Fund: The Maryland Corps Program and the Maryland Corps
Program Fund were established to provide at least 100 young people with meaningful service
opportunities, equip corps participants with skills that will enable them to successfully transition
from high school to an institution of higher education, and provide scholarships to corps
participants who have completed the program. Senate Bill 845 (passed) expands the purpose and
authorized uses of the Maryland Corps Program Fund and mandates annual funding for the
program beginning in fiscal 2022. Due to concerns regarding the economic challenges resulting
from the COVID-19 pandemic, the Governor vetoed the bill on May 7, 2020.

Maryland E-Nnovation Initiative Program: Chapters 532 and 533 of 2014 created the
Maryland E-Nnovation Initiative (MEI) Program authorizing nonprofit institutions of higher
education in the State that meet specified eligibility requirements to create research endowments
and, upon securing matching private donations and approval, receive Maryland E-Nnovation
Initiative Funds that may be distributed to the endowments. Senate Bill 465 (passed) requires the
Governor to continue funding the MEI Program through 2026; however, the Governor vetoed the
bill on May 7, 2020, due to concerns regarding the economic challenges resulting from the
COVID-19 pandemic. For a more detailed discussion of Senate Bill 465, see the subpart
“Miscellaneous Tax” within Part B — Taxes of this 7/ Day Report.

Consumer Protection

Veterans’ Education Protection Act: A federal rule known as 90/10 caps the share of
revenue for-profit institutions of higher education and private career schools can take in from
federal aid at 90%; however, the cap exempts federal tuition benefits for veterans, active members
of the U.S. military, and their spouses and financially dependent children because the law only
applies to federal Title IV education funds. Senate Bill 294 (Ch. 546) prohibits, beginning in
fiscal 2023, specified for-profit institutions of higher education and private career schools from
enrolling new Maryland residents in a program if the institution or school fails to have at least 10%
of its annual revenue, as specified, from a source other than federal funds, including civilian and


http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=sb0501&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=hb0998&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=sb0501&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=hb0998&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=sb0845&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=sb0465&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=sb0465&ys=2020rs
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?pid=billpage&tab=subject3&stab=01&id=sb0294&ys=2020rs

L-6 The 71 Day Report

military education aid. The 10% threshold applies to either (1) two out of three of the immediately
preceding fiscal years or (2) two consecutive years.

Disorderly School Closures at Institutions of Postsecondary Education: Senate Bill 446
(Ch. 554) requires institutions of postsecondary education and private career schools to meet
specified requirements regarding school and program closures, including having specified
close-out agreements and meeting certain requirements for teach-out agreements. To that end,
schools and school leadership must meet specified financial and record transferring obligations.
The Act establishes additional protections for any student who attends a program, school, or
institution that closes related to tuition and fee reimbursement, student debt collection, transcripts,
close-out agreements, and teach-out agreements. Violation of specified provisions of the Act is an
unfair, abusive, or deceptive trade practice under the Maryland Consumer Protection Act, subject
to the Maryland Consumer Protection Act’s civil and criminal penalty provisions.

Institutions of Higher Education
Public Institutions of Higher Education

Outbreak Response Plan: 1In fall 2018, more than 40 students at the University of
Maryland, College Park Campus (UMCP) were sickened with adenovirus, with 15 students
receiving treatment at hospitals. One student passed away, with adenovirus listed as one of the
causes of death. Senate Bill 329/House Bill 187 (Chs. 98 and 99) require each public institution
of higher education without residential housing or a health center to submit an outbreak response
plan to MDH by August 1 each year, beginning in 2021. The outbreak response plan must be
customized to the public institution of higher education and include (1) a process for expediently
notifying students, families of students, faculty, and staff about the outbreak and providing them
with related information; (2) processes for implementing evidence-based outbreak response
measures; (3) the provision of staff to successfully implement the outbreak response plan; (4) a
process for reporting an outbreak to specified entities; and (5) any other measure required by MDH.
If there is an outbreak of a contagious disease at a public institution of higher education, the
institution must implement the outbreak response plan.

Personally Identifiable Information: Chapter 304 of 2013 requires a unit of State or local
government (except for the Legislative and Judicial branches of State government) that collects an
individual’s personal information to implement and maintain reasonable security procedures and
practices appropriate to the nature of the information collected and the nature of the unit and its
operations. House Bill 1122 (Ch. 429) excludes public institutions of higher education from these
requirements and instead establishes security protocols that govern the collection, processing,
sharing, and disposal of personally identifiable information by public institutions of higher
education in the State. For a more detailed discussion of House Bill 1122, see the subpart “State
Agencies, Offices, and Officials/Regulations” within Part C — State Government of this 7/ Day
Report.
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University System of Maryland

Textbook Transparency Act of 2020: Senate Bill 667/House Bill 318 (Chs. 165 and 166)
require each USM constituent institution to develop a method to clearly and conspicuously show
in the online scheduling application which courses (1) provide student access to all required course
materials in the form of free or low-cost digital materials and (2) may provide students access to
course materials with a low-cost print option as an alternative to free or low-cost digital materials.
The free or low-cost digital materials must, to the extent practicable, include openly licensed
educational resources and must be equally accessible to and independently usable by individuals
with disabilities. The Acts have a delayed effective date of July 1, 2021.

UMCP: The Small Business Development Center Network Fund is administered by
UMCP. The Small Business Development Center offers free business consulting services to new
and existing small businesses. Senate Bill 493 (passed) increases the minimum general fund
appropriation to the Small Business Development Center by $100,000 annually beginning in
fiscal 2022, but the bill was vetoed by the Governor on May 7, 2020, due to concerns regarding
the economic challenges resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic. For a further discussion of
Senate Bill 493, see the subpart “Economic Development” within Part H — Business and Economic
Issues of this 71 Day Report.

Universities at Shady Grove: The Universities at Shady Grove (USG) was established in
its current form by USM as a regional higher education center in Montgomery County, but it is
not established by statute. Senate Bill 553/House Bill 1205 (Chs. 447 and 448) establish the
Universities at Shady Grove Regional Higher Education Center within USM in statute and specify
its purpose and funding. The Acts specify that the academic programs offered at USG must be
upper division undergraduate and graduate level programs. In addition, Senate Bill 553 specifies
that advanced postgraduate certificates and credentials may be offered.

Community Colleges

College of Southern Maryland: The College of Southern Maryland is a public, regional
community college serving Calvert, Charles, and St. Mary’s counties. House Bill 966 (Ch. 393)
changes the local budgetary process for the College of Southern Maryland by establishing a unified
budget. The county commissioners in each county that support the college must review and
approve the College of Southern Maryland budget request made to that county, rather than just for
the campus in their county, and may reduce it. The Act also repeals a number of specified elements
of the operating budget.

Anne Arundel County Community College: The Board of Community College Trustees
for Anne Arundel County consists of eight members, appointed by the Governor with the advice
and consent of the Senate. Except for the student member, members of the board serve six-year
terms from July 1 of the year the appointment is made and until a successor is appointed and
qualifies. Senate Bill 31/House Bill 546 (Chs. 245 and 246) change the requirements of the
seven nonstudent members of the Board of Community College Trustees for Anne Arundel
County. Under the Acts, a nonstudent board member (1) must be a resident of Anne Arundel
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County; (2) serves a four-year rather than a six-year term; and (3) may serve no more than
three consecutive full terms. The Acts apply prospectively beginning on July 1, 2020.

Other legislation relating to higher education was discussed in the 2020 Session Major
Issues Review.

Education — Local Bills

Local Boards of Education
Allegany County

Prior to the passage of legislation during the 2020 session, the Governor was required to
appoint a new member to fill any vacancy of an elected member’s position on the Allegany County
Board of Education. Senate Bill 240 (Ch. 541) requires the Allegany County Commissioners,
rather than the Governor, to fill a vacancy in an elected member’s position on the board. The
commissioners must appoint a qualified individual who serves for a certain period of time as
specified by law.

Anne Arundel County

Each county board of education is required to hold an annual meeting on or, as near as
possible to, the second Tuesday in July unless otherwise specified. Senate Bill 222 (Ch. 540)
requires the Anne Arundel County Board of Education to hold its annual meeting on or, as near as
possible to, the first Wednesday in December. In addition, at the annual meeting, the board is
required to elect a president and vice president from among its elected members, and each officer
serves a one-year term. The Act also allows an individual who fills a vacancy of an elected member
on the board to be elected to serve as president or vice president.

Baltimore County

There is one student member of the Baltimore County Board of Education. House Bill 598
(Ch. 268) increases, from $1,000 to $7,500, the amount of the higher education scholarship granted
to a student member who completes a full term on the board beginning on or after July 1, 2020.
Additionally, House Bill 599 (Ch. 269) requires the student member of the board to be elected by
middle and high school students in Baltimore County in accordance with procedures established
by the Baltimore County student councils.

Frederick County

Senate Bill 744/House Bill 909 (Chs. 363 and 364) increase the annual compensation
amount for nonstudent voting members of the Frederick County Board of Education by $4,000
beginning with the terms of office commencing on December 6, 2022. The president of the county
board will receive $15,000 annually, rather than $11,000, while the other voting members will
receive $14,000 annually, rather than $10,000.
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Montgomery County

The Montgomery County Office of the Inspector General was established in 1997 to
combat fraud while enhancing productivity and efficiency of programs within the county
government and its independent agencies. House Bill 795 (Ch. 329) authorizes the Montgomery
County Council, by local law, to grant to the Inspector General of Montgomery County the same
authority over the Montgomery County Board of Education and public schools that the inspector
general has over a department of county government.

Other Bills

Carroll County

In Maryland, certificated and noncertificated school employees bargain separately.
However, in some counties, specific categories of noncertificated professionals are included with
certificated employees for collective bargaining purposes. Senate Bill 366/House Bill 570
(Chs. 256 and 257) alter the definition of certificated public school employees for collective
bargaining purposes in Carroll County by including Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps
(JROTC) instructors. In Baltimore, Calvert, Charles, Garrett, Prince George’s, and St. Mary’s
counties, a public school employee already includes JROTC instructors for collective bargaining
purposes.

Regional Career and Technical Education Schools on the Eastern Shore

Under the federal Strengthening Career and Technical Education for the 21st Century Act,
states are provided grants to implement career and technical education (CTE) programs in their
secondary schools and postsecondary institutions. In addition, the law requires states to develop
sequences of academic and CTE coursework, called programs of study, that prepare students for
postsecondary degrees or industry-recognized credentials. Many of the programs of study, which
range from plumbing and culinary arts to aerospace engineering and cybersecurity, include or
encourage apprenticeship or pre-apprenticeship opportunities. Senate Bill 794 (Ch. 583)
authorizes the county boards of education of Caroline, Dorchester, Kent, Queen Anne’s, and
Talbot counties to establish a regional CTE school under certain conditions. However, the Act is
contingent on the enactment of House Bill 1300 (passed), which was vetoed by the Governor on
May 7, 2020, due to concerns regarding the economic challenges resulting from the COVID-19
pandemic. House Bill 1300, the Blueprint for Maryland’s Future — Implementation, is discussed
in the 2020 Session Major Issues Review.

The Act specifies that a regional CTE school may be established only if the county boards
of education and governing bodies of two or more of the specified counties as well as the board of
trustees of a public institution of higher education in any of those counties, if applicable, approve
of the school. Each of the parties to the agreement must enter into a binding memorandum of
understanding (MOU) that provides for the governance, operations, financing, and maintenance of
the regional CTE school. In addition, any State or local education aid required by State law must
be calculated and distributed as required by law unless otherwise agreed to in the MOU. Further,
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a regional CTE school must comply with all regulations and statutory provisions governing other
public schools and must operate under the terms of the collective bargaining agreement in effect
in the county where the school is located. Finally, the Act requires the Interagency Commission
on School Construction (IAC) to study and develop a State and local cost-share formula for county
boards of education that choose to collaborate and operate a regional school involving one or more
county boards. IAC must report its findings and recommendations to the Governor and the
General Assembly by January 1, 2021.

Education — Libraries

Public Libraries

Since 1888, the State has provided funds to support public libraries throughout the State
under what is now known as the State library network. The network consists of the Central Library
of the Enoch Pratt Free Library System in Baltimore City, which operates as the designated State
Library Resource Center (SLRC), three regional resource centers, and metropolitan cooperative
service programs. All of these systems receive State funding for operating expenses. Additionally,
the Maryland Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped receives a funding amount
equivalent to at least 25% of the general fund appropriation for SLRC.

The State and local governments share in the cost of funding local public library systems
through the library aid formula, which establishes minimum State and local per capita
contributions. The formula distributes funds on the basis of county population and wealth. In
addition to these funds, since fiscal 2008, State funding for county library capital projects has been
mandated at $5 million annually.

Overdue Library Materials and Funding

Senate Bill 524/House Bill 1000 (both passed) make several changes to policy and funding
regarding libraries in the State. The bills prohibit a public library from charging a fine and establish
restrictions on charging a fee for overdue library materials for a minor. Additionally, the bills
increase the State per capita funding that SLRC and county public library systems receive
beginning in fiscal 2022 as well as the mandated appropriation for county library capital projects.
Specifically, State per capita aid for SLRC increases by $0.04 annually from fiscal 2022 through
2024, when it reaches $1.97 and remains at that amount in subsequent years. State per capita aid
for county public library systems increases by $0.40 beginning in fiscal 2022. Finally, the bills
increase the mandated appropriation for county library capital projects by $2.5 million beginning
in fiscal 2022. As a result of these changes, general fund expenditures increase by approximately
$1.3 million in fiscal 2022 and by $1.9 million in fiscal 2025. The bills are assumed to have no
overall effect on State capital budget spending; instead, funds are assumed to be reallocated from
other purposes.

On May 7, 2020, the Governor vetoed the bills due to concerns regarding the economic
challenges resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic.
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Library Services for Blind and Print Disabled Individuals

The Maryland State Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped provides
comprehensive library services to eligible blind and physically handicapped residents of Maryland,
which include individuals who are legally blind, visually or physically limited, or reading disabled.
The library is part of the national network of the National Library Services for the Blind and
Physically Handicapped through the Library of Congress. The library’s services are free,
statewide, and can be provided to individuals via the U.S. mail. Approximately 10,000 Maryland
residents receive the services provided by the library annually.

Senate Bill 326/House Bill 604 (Chs. 272 and 273) rename the Maryland Library for the
Blind and Physically Handicapped to be the Maryland Library for the Blind and Print Disabled.
The Acts define a print disabled individual as an individual who cannot effectively read print
because of a visual, physical, perceptual, developmental, cognitive, or learning disability. The Acts
also alter the membership of the Maryland State Library Board by requiring one of the appointed
members to be a blind patron of the Maryland Library for the Blind and Print Disabled.
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SBOT728...oooieieeeeeeeeeceee e J-13
SBO732 .o, J-8
SBOT744 ... L-8
SBO746.....cccocoiiiiiiiiiiinicieiceee E-19
SBOTAT .o H-13
SBO75T i B-7
SBOT760.....cccooiiiiiiiieieeeceeeeeeeens L-1
SBO764 ..., C-16
SBOT774 ..o J-12
SBOTT78 oo G-10
SBO780....ccoviiienieeiiereeceeneeeeee H-21
SBO784 ..., H-18
SBOT792...oiiiiiiiiieceeeeeeeeee H-28
SBO793 ..o K-3
SBOT794 ... L-9
SBO796.....ccooiiiiiiiniiiiiiiicccie, J-6
SBOT797 .o E-6
SBOBO2.....cccveiiiiiiiiiieiiiiis B-4, K-12
SBO80S ..o H-14

SBOBO6........covieiiiiciiiiciciccee F-9

M-7
SBOBO7 ..o E-3
SBO8IO0 ..o G-2
SBOBI3 ... G-7
SBO838....ooiiieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee E-15
SBO840.....c.ooiiiiiiiiiiiiciciccicics K-9
SBO843 ... B-9
SBOBAS ... L-5
SBO84T ..., F-3, F-4
SBOBST ..o J-20
SBO859 ... G-7
SBO8T72....oiiiiiiiiiiieiiiiceieee, F-6,J-14
SBO873 ... J-13
SBOBT77 .. H-7
SBO878....oeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee e G-8
SBOB82....ooiiiiiiiiiieiiiicieeccs K-4
SBO88BO6 ..o F-12
SBO88Y.....oiiiiieieiieiicieeeeeeee I-5
SBO907 ..o E-11
SBOOLS ..o J-17
SB0929....cooiiiiiiieeeen E-9, E-10, E-11
SBOO3 1 ..o J-16
SBO938....ooiiieieeeeeeeeeeen H-21, J-13
SBO0939 ..ot I-1
SBO961 ... F-7
SBO98S ..o, C-10,K-13,K-14
SBO987 ... B-3
SBO98E.....ciiiiiiiiieiiciecieece J-15
SBO994 ... H-2
SB1006.........ccciiiiiiiiiiiiieiicieee F-5
SBIOIO....coiiiiiiieieceeeeeeee, E-14
SBI022....oiiiiiiiiiiieiiiieicieeee, L-4
SBIO25 ..o, K-4
SBL06S ...t H-14
SJO0O0T .. F-7
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