Commission on Innovation and Excellence in Education William E. Kirwan, Chair

Agenda

November 12, 2019 10:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m. 5:00 p.m.-7:00 p.m. Public Hearing 120 House Office Building, Annapolis, Maryland

10:00 a.m.	Chair's Opening Remarks
10:05 a.m.	Review of State Board of Education Proposed Regulations on Teacher Preparation and Educator Licensure
	• Dr. Karen Salmon, State Superintendent of Schools
	• Sarah Spross, Assistant State Superintendent for Educator Licensure and Program Approval
	• Chris Lloyd, Chair, Professional Standards and Teacher Education Board
	• Dr. Jennifer King Rice, University of Maryland, and Dr. Gary Thrift, Notre Dame of Maryland University, Co-chairs of the Maryland Education Deans and Directors
11:15 a.m.	Review of National Board Certification and Commission's Cost Assumptions
	• Dr. Joe Doctor, COO, National Board for Teacher Professional Standards
	• Justin Silverstein, CEO, APA Consulting
12:15 p.m.	Lunch will be available for Commission members in Room 170

1:00 p.m. Further Discussion of The Blueprint for Maryland's Future Funding Formula Workgroup Recommendations

Workgroup Members (other than Commissioners):

- Matthew Gallagher, CEO, The Goldseker Foundation
- Dr. Monique Davis, Regional Assistant Superintendent, Anne Arundel County Public Schools

Workgroup/Commission Staff:

- Scott Gates and Rachel Hise, Department of Legislative Services
- Justin Silverstein, APA
- 4:00 p.m. Chair's Closing Remarks and Recess
- 5:00 p.m. Reconvene for Public Hearing (in Room 120) Submitted materials will also be posted on the Commission website: http://dls.maryland.gov/policy-areas/commission-on-innovationand-excellence-in-education
- 7:00 p.m. Adjournment

Next Meeting: November 21, 10:00 a.m.-3:00 p.m. Final Meeting November 26, if necessary