

	June					
		1	2	3	4	5
6	7	8	9	10	11	12
13	14	15	16	17	18	19
20	21	22	23	24	25	26
27	28	29	30			

	July					
				1	2	3
4	5 H	6	7	8	9	10
11	12	13	14	15	16	17
18	19	20	21	22	23	24
25	26	27	28	29	30	31
		<u> </u>				

	August					
1	2	3	4	5	6	7
8	9	10	11	12	13	14
15	16	17	18	19	20	21
22	23	24	25	26	27	28
29	30	31				

	September					
			1	2	3	4
5	6 H	7	8	9	10	11
12	13	14	15	16	17	18
19	20	21	22	23	24	25
26	27	28	29	30		

	October					
					1	2
3	4	5	6	7	8	9
10	11 H	12	13	14	15	16
17	18	19	20	21	22	23
24	25	26	27	28	29	30
31						

	November					
	1	2	3	4	5	6
7	8	9	10	11 H	12	13
14	15	16	17	18	19	20
21	22	23	24	25 H	26 H	27
28	29	30				

	December					
			1	2	3	4
5	6	7	8	9	10	11
12	13	14	15	16	17	18
19	20	21	22	23	24 H	25
26	27	28	29	30	31 H	

Department of Legislative Services

General Assembly of Maryland Dates of Interest 2021 Interim

June	1	Other than emergency bills and as otherwise provided, earliest date for 2021 enacted bills to take effect
July	1	Effective date for budgetary, tax, and revenue bills
August	16-20	Council of State Governments, Eastern Legislative Conference (Virtual Meeting)
September	1	Deadline for executive agency submission of departmental legislation to Governor
	10	Deadline for executive agency submission of FY 2023 budgets
October	1	Customary date for 2021 enacted bills to take effect
	20	Report due from the Capital Debt Affordability Committee
November	1	Statutory deadline for members of the General Assembly to request drafting of prefiled bills
	3-5	National Conference of State Legislatures Legislative Summit (Tampa, Fl)
	22	Statutory deadline for members of the General Assembly to approve drafted bills for prefile introduction Drafted bills not prefiled are prepared for members to introduce on the first day of session

ТВА	Board of Revenue Estimates' forecast of revenues for FY 2022 and 2023 (generally mid-December)
30	Compilation of Legislative Committee Reports on Interim Activities to be submitted to the Legislative Policy Committee and the General Assembly

(Wednesday)

(Monday, April 11, is the last day of the 2022 90-day legislative session)

Departmental Senate bills introduced after the prefiled bill deadline are referred to the Senate Rules Committee (Senate Rule 32)

Report due from the Spending Affordability Committee

First day of the 2022 session of the General Assembly

HOLIDAYS AND OTHER OBSERVANCES

July 4 5 September 6 6-8 13	Independence Day Independence Day Observed* Labor Day* Rosh Hashanah Defenders' Day Yom Kinpur	November December	25 26 29 24	Veterans' Day* Thanksgiving Day* Native American Heritage Day* Hanukkah (ends Dec. 6) Christmas Day Observed*
16-17 October 11	Yom Kippur Columbus Day*		25 31	Christmas Day New Year's Day Observed*
	Columbus Duy		<i>J</i> 1	11ew Icar's Day Obscived

*State Holiday

December

January 2022

The Department of Legislative Services does not discriminate on the basis of age, ancestry, color, creed, marital status, national origin, race, religion, gender, gender identy, sexual orientation, or disability in the admission or access to its programs, services, or activities. The Department's Information Officer has been designated to coordinate compliance with the nondiscrimination requirements contained in Section 35.107 of the Department of Justice Regulations. Requests for assistance should be directed to the Information Officer at the telephone numbers shown below.

Library and Information Services Department of Legislative Services, 90 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401-1991 Baltimore Area: 410-946-5400/5410 Washington Area: 301-970-5400/5410 Other Maryland Areas: 1-800-492-7122, ext. 5400/5410 TTY: 410-946/301-970-5401

12

TTY users may also use the Maryland Relay Service E-mail: libr@mlis.state.md.us Home Page: https://mgaleg.maryland.gov



DEPARTMENT OF LEGISLATIVE SERVICES - OFFICE OF POLICY ANALYSI

May 19, 2021

General Assei	mbly of Maryland	
SENATE	HOUSE OF I	DELEGATES
Leadership	Leade	ership
President of the Senate		f the House
Bill Ferguson	Adrienne	A. Jones
President Pro Tem Melony Griffith	Speaker Pro Tem Sheree Sample–Hughes	Kriselda Valderrama Geraldine Valentino-Smith Melissa Wells
Majority Leader Nancy J. King	Deputy Speaker Pro Tem Bonnie Cullison	Pat Young
Donute Majorite London	Majority London	Minority Leader Jason Buckel
Deputy Majority Leader Joanne C. Benson	Majority Leader Eric Luedtke	Jason Bucker
Johnne C. Benson	Life Ededike	Minority Whip
Assistant Deputy Majority Leader Arthur Ellis	Deputy Majority Leader Keith E. Haynes	Christopher Adams
Majority Whip Susan C. Lee	Majority Whip	Assistant Minority Leader Matthew Morgan
Susan C. Lee	Talmadge Branch	Assistant Minority Whip
Deputy Majority Whips Pamela Beidle	Chief Deputy Majority Whips Ben Barnes	Neil Parrot
Cory V. McCray	Benjamin Brooks	Chief Deputy Minority Whip
Obie Patterson		Haven Shoemaker
	Deputy Majority Whips	
Minority Leader Bryan Simonaire	Darryl Barnes J. Sandy Bartlett	Deputy Minority Whips
Bi yan Simonane	Eric Ebersole	Lauren Arikan
Minority Whip	Jim Gilchrist	Jefferson Ghrist
Michael J. Hough	Ariana B. Kelly	Kevin B. Hornberger
	Ken Kerr	Seth Howard
	Emily Shetty	Charles J Otto
		Sid Saab
STANDING COMMITTEES	STANDING C	OMMITTEES
Budget and Taxation Chair – Guy Guzzone Vice Chair – Jim Rosapepe	Chair - Mag	oriations gie McIntosh Michael Chang
		C
Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs		c Matters
Chair – Paul G. Pinsky Vice Chair – Cheryl C. Kagan		eck E. Davis hleen M. Dumais
Finance	Environment and	d Transportation
Chair – Delores G. Kelley	Chair – Kumar P. Barve	
Vice Chair – Brian J. Feldman	Vice Chair –	Dana M. Stein
Judicial Proceedings	Health and Gover	nment Operations
Chair – William C. Smith, Jr.		E. Pendergrass
Vice Chair – Jeff Waldstreicher		line Peña-Melnyk
Executive Nominations	Indi	ciary
Chair – Ronald N. Young		e Clippinger
Vice Chair – Pamela Beidle		essa E. Atterbeary
		•
Rules	Ways an	d Moone

Rules

Chair – Joanne C. Benson Vice Chair – Craig J. Zucker

Ways and Means

Chair – Anne R. Kaiser Vice Chair – Alonzo T. Washington

Rules and Executive Nominations

Chair – Anne Healey Vice Chair –Marvin E. Holmes, Jr.

STATUTORY COMMITTEES

Legislative Policy Committee

Senate Chair – Bill Ferguson House Chair – Adrienne A. Jones

Administrative, Executive, and Legislative Review

Senate Chair – Sarah K. Elfreth House Chair – Samuel I. Rosenberg

Audit and Evaluation

Senate Chair – Clarence K. Lam House Chair – Carol L. Krimm

Behavioral Health and Opioid Use Disorders

Senate Chair – Antonio Hayes House Chair – Kirill Reznik

Chesapeake / Atlantic Coastal Bays Critical Area

Senate Chair – Sarah K. Elfreth House Chair – Dana M. Stein

Children, Youth, and Families

Senate Chair – Mary Washington House Chair – Ariana B. Kelly

Cybersecurity, Information Technology, and Biotechnology

Senate Chair – Katie Fry Hester House Chair – Pat Young

Ending Homelessness

Senate Chair – Mary Washington House Chair – Geraldine Valentino-Smith

Fair Practices and State Personnel Oversight

Senate Chair – Clarence K. Lam House Chair –Erek L. Barron

Federal Relations

Senate Chair – Jill P. Carter House Chair – Alfred C. Carr, Jr.

Gaming Oversight

Senate Chair – Obie Patterson House Chair – *Vacancy*

Legislative Ethics

Senate Chair – George C. Edwards House Chair – Kathleen M. Dumais

Legislative Information Technology and Open Government

Senate Chair – Douglas J.J. Peters House Chair – Luke Clippinger

Management of Public Funds Senate Chair – Malcolm Augustin

Senate Chair – Malcolm Augustine House Chair – Pat Young

Spending Affordability

Senate Chair – Craig J. Zucker House Chair – Marc Korman

Unemployment Insurance Oversight

Senate Chair – Katherine Klausmeier House Chair –Ned Carey

Workers' Compensation Benefit and Insurance Oversight

Oversight
Senate Chair – Katherine Klausmeier
House Chair – Kriselda Valderrama

05-19-2021