

Department of Legislative Services

General Assembly of Maryland

Dates of Interest 2019 Interim

			88 88 88	HORE	/								
June						1	June		1	Other than emergency bills and as otherwise provided, earliest date for 2019 enacted bills to take effect			
2	3	4	5	6	7	8	July		1	Effective date for bu	ıdgetary	, tax, a	and revenue bills
9	10 17	11	12 19	13 20	14 21	15 22			28-31	Council of State Go (Pittsburgh, Pennsylv		nts, E	astern Regional Conference
23 24 25 26 27 28 29			August		5-8	National Conference	e of Sta	te Leg	islatures (<i>Nashville, Tennessee</i>)				
July						6	September		4	Deadline for executi	ive agen	.cy sub	omission of FY 2021 budgets
7	8	9	10	11	12	13			4	Deadline for executive legislation to Govern		cy sub	omission of departmental
21	15 22	16 23	17 24	18 25	19 26	27	October		1	Customary date for	2019 ei	nacted	bills to take effect
28	29	30	31	lot			 		20	Report due from the Committee	e Capita	al Deb	t Affordability
August						3	November		1	Statutory deadline f	or mem	hers o	f the General
			7	1	2		- Troveniber		•	Assembly to request			
4	5	6	1.6	8	9	10	_		20	Statutory deadline f	or mem	hers o	f the General Assembly to
11	12	13	14	15	16	17			20	approve drafted bills			
18	19	20	21	22	23	24]			Drafted bills not pro on the first day of so		e prep	ared for members to introduce
25 26 27 28 29 30 31					30	31						Senate	bills introduced after the pre-
September										filed bill deadline ar (Senate Rule 32)	e referre	ed to t	he Senate Rules Committee
1	2 H	3	4	5	6	7	D 1				C 1		Υ 1111: C ::
8	9	10	11	12	13	15	December		1	Report due from the	e Spena	ing Ai	fordability Committee
15	16	17	18	19	20	21			30				nittee Reports on Interim Legislative Policy Committee
22	23	24	25	26	27	28			TD A	and the General Ass		, _C	. (1 1 .
29	30								ТВА	for FY 2020 and 20			cast of budget revenues mid-December)
October							January 20	20	8	First day of the 2020 session of the General Assembly			
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12								(Wednesday) (Monday, April 6, is the last day of the 2020 90-day legislative session)					day legislative session)
13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26					18	19			HOLIDAYS AND OTHER OBSERVANCES				
27	28	29	30	31	2)	20	July September	4 2 12	Independence Day [*] Labor Day [*] Defenders Day	* No	ovember	11 28 29	Veterans Day* Thanksgiving Day* American Indian Heritage Day*

	November							
					1	2		
3	4	5	6	7	8	9		
10	11 H	12	13	14	15	16		
17	18	19	20	21	22	23		
24	25	26	27	28 H	29 H	30		

December							
1	2	3	4	5	6	7	
8	9	10	11	12	13	14	
15	16	17	18	19	20	21	
22	23	24	25 H	26	27	28	
29	30	31					

*State Holiday

October

29

8

The Department of Legislative Services does not discriminate on the basis of age, ancestry, color, creed, marital status, national origin, race, religion, gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, or disability in the admission or access to its programs, services, or activities. The Department's Information Officer has been designated to coordinate compliance with the nondiscrimination requirements contained in Section 35.107 of the Department of Justice Regulations. Requests for assistance should be directed to the Information Officer at the telephone numbers shown below.

Library and Information Services
Department of Legislative Services, 90 State Circle,
Annapolis, MD 21401-1991
Baltimore Area: 410-946-5400/5410
Washington Area: 301-970-5400/5410
Other Maryland Areas: 1-800-492-7122, ext.
5400/5410
TTY: 410-946/301-970-5401

Rosh Hashanah

Yom Kippur Columbus Day*

TTY: 410-946/301-970-5401
TTY users may also use the Maryland Relay Service
E-mail: libr@mlis.state.md.us
Home Page: http://mgaleg.maryland.gov



First day of Hanukah

Last day of Hanukah

Christmas Day*

2

10

25

December

General Assembly of Maryland						
SENATE	HOUSE OF DELEGATES					
Leadership	Leadership					
President of the Senate	Speaker of the House					
Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr.	Adrienne A. Jones					

President Pro Tem Katherine Klausmeier

Majority Leader Guy Guzzone

Deputy Majority Leader Craig J. Zucker

Assistant Deputy Majority Leader Cory V. McCray

> Majority Whip Susan C. Lee

Deputy Majority WhipObie Patterson

Minority Leader J.B. Jennings

Minority Whip Stephen S. Hershey, Jr. Speaker Pro Tem
Vacancy

Deputy Speaker Pro Tem Kriselda Valderrama

> Majority Leader Kathleen Dumais

Deputy Majority Leader Keith E. Haynes

Majority WhipTalmadge Branch

Chief Deputy Majority Whip Ben Barnes

Deputy Majority Whips
Darryl Barnes
Benjamin Brooks
Diana M. Fennell
Jim Gilchrist
Keith E. Haynes
Ariana B. Kelly
Stephen E. Lafferty

Charles E.Sydnor, III Geraldine Valentino-Smith Alonzo T. Washington Pat Young

> Minority Leader Nicholaus R. Kipke

Minority Whip Kathy Szeliga

Assistant Minority Leader Matthew Morgan

Assistant Minority Whip Neil Parrot

Chief Deputy Minority Whip Jason C. Buckel

Deputy Minority Whips Steven J. Arentz Lauren Arikan Jefferson Ghrist Charles J Otto

Charles J Ott April Rose Sid Saab

STANDING COMMITTEES

Budget and Taxation

Chair – Nancy J. King Vice Chair – Bill Ferguson

Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs

Chair – Paul G. Pinsky Vice Chair – Shirley Nathan–Pulliam

Finance

Chair – Delores G. Kelley Vice Chair – Brian J. Feldman

Judicial Proceedings

Chair – Bobby A. Zirkin Vice Chair – William C. Smith., Jr.

Executive Nominations

Chair – Ronald N. Young Vice Chair – Pamela Beidle

Rules

Chair – Joanne C. Benson Vice Chair – Craig J. Zucker

STANDING COMMITTEES

Appropriations Chair – Maggie McIntosh

Vice Chair – Tawanna P. Gaines

Economic Matters

Chair - Dereck E. Davis

Vice Chair – Eric M. Bromwell

Environment and Transportation Chair – Kumar P. Barve

Vice Chair – Dana M. Stein

Health and Government Operations Chair – Shane E. Pendergrass Vice Chair – Joseline Peña-Melnyk

Judiciary

Chair – Luke Clippinger Vice Chair – Vanessa E. Atterbeary

Ways and Means

Chair – Anne R. Kaiser Vice Chair – Jay Walker

Rules and Executive Nominations

Chair – Anne Healey Vice Chair – Cheryl D. Glenn

STATUTORY COMMITTEES

Legislative Policy Committee

Senate Chair – Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr. House Chair – Adrienne A. Jones

Administrative, Executive, and Legislative Review

Senate Chair – Cheryl C. Kagan House Chair – Samuel I. Rosenberg

Audit

Senate Chair – Craig J. Zucker House Chair – Shelly Hettleman

Behavioral Health and Opioid Use Disorders

Senate Chair – Antonio Hayes House Chair – Eric M. Bromwell

Chesapeake / Atlantic Coastal Bays Critical Area

Senate Chair – Sarah K. Elfreth House Chair – Dana M. Stein

Children, Youth, and Families

Senate Chair – Mary Washington House Chair – Ariana B. Kelly

Cybersecurity, Information Technology, and Biotechnology

Senate Chair – Katie Fry Hester House Chair – Michael A. Jackson

Ending Homelessness

Senate Chair – Mary Washington House Chair – Geraldine Valentino-Smith

Fair Practices and State Personnel Oversight

Senate Chair – Clarence K. Lam House Chair – *Vacancy*

Federal Relations

Senate Chair – Jeff Waldstreicher House Chair – Alfred C. Carr, Jr.

Gaming Oversight

Senate Chair – Obie Patterson House Chair – Vacancy

Legislative Ethics

Senate Chair – George C. Edwards House Chair – Samuel I. Rosenberg

Legislative Information Technology and Open Government

Senate Chair – Douglas J.J. Peters House Chair – Luke Clippinger

Management of Public Funds Senate Chair – Malcolm Augustine

Senate Chair – Malcolm Augustine House Chair – Pat Young

Spending Affordability

Senate Chair – Craig J. Zucker House Chair – Ben Barnes

Unemployment Insurance Oversight

Senate Chair – Katherine Klausmeier House Chair – Vacancy

Workers' Compensation Benefit and Insurance Oversight Senate Chair – Katherine Klausmeier

Senate Chair – Katherine Klausmeier House Chair – Kriselda Valderrama

07-31-2019