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January 18, 2010

The Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate
The Honorable Michael E. Busch, Speaker of the House
Members of the Maryland General Assembly

Ladies and Gentlemen:

This report, Sex Offenders in Maryland and the Impact of the Federal Sex Offender
Registration and Notification Act, was prepared by the Department of Legislative Services,
Office of Policy Analysis, in response to the continuing legislative interest in the issue. The
report provides an overview of the State’s sex offender registry and penalties for sex crimes in
the State and discusses the requirements of the Federal Sex Offender Registration and
Notification Act.

This report was written by Guy Cherry with assistance from Yvette Smallwood and under
the editorial direction of Shirleen Pilgrim.

| trust this information will be a useful resource for members of the General Assembly
and their staff.

Sincerely,

Warren G. Deschenaux
Director
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Sex Offenders in Maryland and the Impact of the Federal
Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act

Sex Offenders in Maryland

Generally, a person convicted of a sex crime, kidnapping, or false imprisonment in
Maryland is required to register with the State sex offender registry upon release from prison or
release from court if the person did not receive a prison sentence. Offenders who are required to
register in other states and who come to Maryland are required to register upon entering
Maryland. Offenders from other states who may not be required to register in the home state are
required to register in Maryland if the crime would have required registration in Maryland if
committed in Maryland.

Juveniles who are adjudicated as adults and convicted for crimes that require registration
are included in the registry. Juveniles who are adjudicated delinquent for an act that would
constitute first or second degree rape or first or second degree sexual assault if committed by an
adult are required to register at the time the juvenile court’s jurisdiction terminates for inclusion
on the State’s sex offender registry if (1) the person was at least 13 years old at the time the
qualifying delinquent act was committed; (2) the State’s Attorney or the Department of Juvenile
Services requests that the person be required to register; (3) the court determines by clear and
convincing evidence after a hearing (90 days prior to the time the juvenile court’s jurisdiction is
terminated) that the person is at significant risk of committing a sexually violent offense or an
offense for which registration as a child sexual offender is required; and (4) the person is at least
18 years old. Juveniles who are adjudicated delinquent through the juvenile court system for an
act that does not constitute first or second degree rape or first or second degree sexual assault if
committed by an adult are not included in the registry.

Maryland has four categories of persons convicted of sexual offenses: (1) an offender;
(2) a child sexual offender; (3) a sexually violent offender; and (4) a sexually violent predator.

“Offender” means a person who is ordered by a court to register and who (1) has been
convicted of child kidnapping; (2) kidnapping; (3) fourth degree sexual offense, if the victim is
under 18; (4) false imprisonment, if the victim is under 18 and the person is not the victim’s
parent; (5) a crime that involves soliciting a person under 18 to engage in sexual conduct;
(6) production or distribution of child pornography; (7) prostitution or related criminal
prohibitions if the intended prostitute or victim is under 18; (8) any crime that involves conduct
that by its nature is a sexual offense against a person under 18; (9) an attempt to commit any of
these offenses; or (10) has been convicted in another state or in a federal, military, or Native
American tribal court of a crime that, if committed in Maryland, would constitute one of these
crimes.
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“Child sexual offender” means a person who (1) has been convicted of sexual abuse of a
minor; (2) has been convicted of first or second degree rape or first, second, or third degree
sexual offense involving a child under 15 years of age; (3) has been convicted of fourth degree
sexual offense involving such a child and has been ordered by the court to register under these
provisions; or (4) has been convicted in another state or in a federal, military, or Native
American tribal court of a crime that, if committed in this State, would constitute one of these
crimes.

“Sexually violent offender” means a person who (1) has been convicted of a sexually
violent offense; or (2) has been convicted of an attempt to commit a sexually violent offense.

“Sexually violent predator” means a person who (1) is convicted of a sexually violent
offense; and (2) has been determined to be at risk of committing another sexually violent offense.
Also included under this definition are persons who are or were required to register every 90
days for life under the laws of another state or a federal, military, or Native American tribal
jurisdiction.

Sexual offenders are required to register, every three months or every six months, with
the Crimes Against Children and Sexual Offender Registry for a term of either 10 years or life
depending on the offense. Registration must include a photograph, which must be updated every
six months. The registry is operated by the Sexual Offender Registry unit of the Department of
Public Safety and Correctional Services. Under the State’s sexual offender registration laws, a
State’s Attorney may request that a sexual offender be designated a sexually violent predator.
Lifetime registration is required for (1) sexually violent predators; (2) persons convicted of a
sexually violent offense; (3) persons convicted of child abuse for commission of a sexual act
involving penetration of a child under 12 years old; and (4) recidivist sexual offenders.

Federal Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act

Over the past decade, far-reaching State and federal legislation has been enacted to more
strongly punish and more closely monitor sex offenders. The federal Sex Offender Registration
and Notification Act (SORNA), which is Title I of the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety
Act of 2006 (Public Law 248-109), calls for conformity by the states with various aspects of sex
offender registration provisions, including registration by specified juvenile offenders, specific
information to be collected from registrants, verification, duration of registration, access to and
sharing of information, and penalties for failure to register.

The U.S. Attorney General is required by the Act to issue guidelines and regulations to
interpret and implement the legislation. Proposed guidelines were published on May 30, 2007.
The period for public comment on the proposed guidelines ended on August 1, 2007, and the
final guidelines were issued on July 2, 2008. Under SORNA, July 27, 2010, is the deadline for
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substantial implementation of SORNA’s requirements for all registration jurisdictions, although
a request for a one-year extension may be submitted.

The federal law divides the classes of sex offenders into a three-tiered system. Under that

system, registration is for 15 years, 25 years, or life, depending on whether the offense is
classified as Tier I, Tier Il, or Tier 11, respectively. In addition, sex offenders will be required to
provide the following information to the sex offender registry:

names, including all aliases used by the sex offender;

date of birth, including both actual date of birth and any false date(s) of birth used by the
sex offender;

all Internet identifiers and addresses, e.g., e-mail and instant messaging addresses;
all telephone numbers including both land lines and cell phone numbers;

social Security Numbers (SSN), including both valid governmentally assigned SSNs and
any other SSNs used by the sex offender;

residence address;

other residence information (i.e. where the sex offender has a home or habitually lives) in
relation to sex offenders who lack a residence address for any reason (e.g., homelessness,
or living in a house in a rural or tribal area that has no street address);

temporary lodging information about any place in which the sex offender is staying for
seven or more days, including identifying the place and the period of time the sex
offender is staying there;

passport and immigration document information;
employer’s name and address;

other employment information concerning the places where the sex offender works, if the
sex offender has no fixed place of employment, such as information about normal travel
routes or the general area(s) in which the sex offender works;

professional licenses;
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° school name and address;

° vehicle information including description and license plate or registration number;
° physical description of the sex offender;

° text of the registration offense or offenses;

o criminal history and other criminal justice information;

° current photograph;

° fingerprints and palm prints;

° DNA information; and

° driver’s license or identification card.

Under SORNA’s provisions related to juvenile offenses, the juvenile must be 14 or older,
adjudicated delinquent, and have committed an act comparable to 18 U.S.C. 2241 (Aggravated
Sexual Abuse) or a forcible sex act or a sex act with a person who is unconscious or drugged.
Violations against certain children under age 12 under 18 USC 2241(c) are being left to the
discretion of the state. In addition, sealed records are still convictions and are subject to
registration requirements.

Additional requirements under SORNA include the following®: (1) jurisdictions do not
have to look behind the conviction to determine tier level as the face of the conviction is enough
except to determine victim’s age; (2) states do not have to mirror federal tiers — these are
minimum standards that must be met to be in substantial compliance; however it may be
necessary to significantly revamp Maryland’s classification system to meet the minimum federal
requirement?; (3) Tier | sex offenders do not have to be included on a registry unless the crime
was against a minor; (4) the definition of “habitually lives” is up to interpretation by
jurisdictions; and (5) in person changes to registry is only required for changes of name,
residence, employment, or school attendance — other changes may be made in any manner the
jurisdiction sees fit.

! See Appendix 2 for the SORNA substantial implementation checklist.

% See Appendix 1 for a tabulation of Maryland sexual offenses and how they would be tiered under SORNA (not
including the KIDS Act).
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Although the SORNA provisions were made retroactive, jurisdictions do not have to seek
out pre-SORNA convicted sex offenders and re-register them. This does not impact substantial
compliance. If a person re-offends or re-enters the judicial system for any crime, the individual
will need to register under SORNA guidelines.® The Act applies to all sexual offenders,
including those offenders convicted prior to the enactment of SORNA (July 27, 2006) or prior to
a particular jurisdictions’ implementation of the SORNA requirements.

According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, in 2007, at least six
states — Delaware, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada and Ohio — revised sex offender laws
in an effort to comply with the Walsh Act. To date, Ohio is the only state to substantially
implement SORNA.

Failure to comply with SORNA puts a state at risk to lose 10% of Byrne grants, which
states use to pay for such things as drug task forces, anti-gang units, police overtime, and other
law enforcement activities. Under the federal American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of
2009 (the federal “Stimulus Bill”), the Byrne formula grants program has been reauthorized from
fiscal 2009 through 2011. Maryland will receive an estimated $26.6 million in fiscal 2010 and
$18.5 million in fiscal 2011. No Byrne funds are at risk in fiscal 2010; however, Maryland could
be at risk to lose about $1.9 million in Byrne funding in fiscal 2011.

Epilogue

On September 27, 2008, the U.S. Congress passed S 431 (Keeping the Internet Devoid of
Sexual Predators Act of 2008 or the KIDS Act of 2008), which amends SORNA to require a
convicted sex offender to provide for inclusion in the National Sex Offender Registry any
electronic mail address or other designation the sex offender uses or will use for
self-identification or routing in Internet communication or posting (online identifiers). The
legislation grants the U.S. Attorney General authority to specify the time and manner for
reporting of other changes in registration information, including additions or changes of online
identifiers. Guidelines and regulations for this Act have not yet been developed.

The KIDS Act:

° amends the federal criminal code making it unlawful for any person who is required to
register as a convicted sex offender to knowingly fail to provide online identifiers for
inclusion in a sex offender registry. A violator is subject to a fine and/or prison term of
up to 10 years;

® The case, Carr v. United States No. 08-1301, was granted review by the United States Supreme Court on
September 30, 2009. The case challenges the rule which requires states to retroactively apply SORNA to criminal
defendants who re-enter the criminal justice system for any offense, even when the prior offense predated the
enactment of SORNA.
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amends the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006 to expand the directive
of the U.S. Sentencing Commission to promulgate sentencing guidelines for failure of a
convicted sex offender to register in the national registry to include failure to provide
online identifiers;

requires jurisdictions that maintain information about sex offenders to exempt from
public disclosure any electronic mail address or designation used for self-identification or
routing in Internet communication or posting;

requires the Attorney General to maintain a system available to social networking web
sites that permits the automated comparison of online identifiers in such web sites to
information contained in or derived from sex offender registries for the purpose of
protecting the safety of users of such web sites. Allows the Attorney General to control
the number of searches allowed to a social networking web site and to deny, suspend, or
terminate the use of such system by a web site;

prohibits the Attorney General and social networking web sites from releasing online
identifiers to the public;

exempts a commercial social networking web site from civil claims in federal or state
court arising from (1) use of the national registry unless such web site engages in actual
malice, intentional misconduct, or reckless disregard to a substantial risk of causing
injury without legal justification; and (2) any decision not to compare its database with
the online identifiers contained in the national registry;

imposes a fine and prison term of up to 20 years for intentional misrepresentation of age
using the Internet or the mail for the purpose of coercing or enticing individuals,
including minors, to engage in prostitution or other illicit sexual behavior;

defines "possess" with respect to crimes of child sexual exploitation and child
pornography to include accessing by computer visual depictions of child pornography
with the intent to view; and

expands the jurisdictional bases for prosecutions of child sexual exploitation and child
pornography crimes to include activities occurring in, affecting, or using any means or
facility of, interstate or foreign commerce.



Sex Offender Registry Requirements under Maryland
Statute and SORNA

Sex Offender
Penalty Upon Registry
Statute Offense Definition Conviction of Adult Requirement Federal Tier
8§ 3-303 Rape in the first Vaginal intercourse by | Up to life Child sexual I

degree.

Felony

force or threat, with use
or display of weapon,
with infliction or threat
of serious physical
injury or disfigurement
while aided and
abetted, or in
connection with a
burglary.

imprisonment —
without possibility of
parole if victim is child
under 16 and is
Kidnapped or if prior
conviction of rape in
1st degree or sexual
offense in 1st degree
and victim is child
under 16 and is
kidnapped. (Ch. 345 of
2008)

Imprisonment from 25
years to life without
possibility of parole if
offender is 18 or older
and victim is child
under 13.

offender if victim is
child under 15

Sexually violent
offender (or sexually
violent predator, if
so determined) if
victim is 15 or older

Registration for life
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Sex Offender

Penalty Upon Registry
Statute Offense Definition Conviction of Adult Requirement Federal Tier
§ 3-304 Rape in the second Vaginal intercourse by | Up to 20 years Child sexual I
degree force or threat, if imprisonment. offender if victim is
victim is mentally or child under 15 (except statutory
Felony physically Imprisonment from 5 rape where victim
incapacitated, or if to 20 years if offender | Sexually violent > 12 =tier I)
victim is under 14 and | is 18 or older and offender (or sexually
offender is at least 4 victim is child under violent predator, if
years older than victim. | 13. so determined) if
victim is 15 or older
Registration for life
§ 3-305 Sexual offense in the | Sexual act by force or | Up to life Child sexual I

first degree

Felony

threat, with use or
display of weapon,
with infliction or threat
of serious physical
injury or disfigurement,
while aided and
abetted, or in
connection with a
burglary.

imprisonment —
without possibility of
parole if also convicted
in same proceeding of
child kidnapping and
victim is child under 16
or if prior conviction of
sexual offense in 1st
degree or rape in 1st
degree.

Imprisonment from 25
years to life without
possibility of parole if
offender is 18 or older
and victim is child
under 13.

offender if victim is
child under 15

Sexually violent
offender (or sexually
violent predator, if
so determined) if
victim is 15 or older

Registration for life
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Sex Offender

Penalty Upon Registry
Statute Offense Definition Conviction of Adult Requirement Federal Tier
§ 3-306 Sexual offense in the | Sexual act by force or | Up to 20 years Child sexual I
second degree threat, if victim is imprisonment. offender if victim is
mentally or physically child under 15 (except statutory
Felony incapacitated, or if Imprisonment from 5 rape where victim
victim isunder 14 and | to 20 years if offender | Sexually violent > 12 =tier I)
offender is at least 4 is 18 or older and offender (or sexually
years older than victim. | victim is child under violent predator, if
13. so determined) if
victim is 15 or older
Registration for life
8§ 3-307 Sexual offense in the | Sexual contact with use | Up to 10 years Child sexual 1 if victim < 13
third degree or display of weapon, imprisonment offender if victim is
with infliction or threat child under 15 (except statutory
Felony of serious physical rape where victim
injury or disfigurement, Sexually violent > 12 =tier )
while aided and offender (or sexually
abetted, if victim is violent predator, if Il'if victim > 13,

mentally or physically
incapacitated, if victim
is under 14 and
offender is at least 4
years older than victim.
Sexual act if victim is
14 or 15 and offender
is at least 21. Vaginal
intercourse if victim is
14 or 15 and offender
is at least 21.

so determined) if
victim is 15 or older

Registration for life

except statutory
rape where victim
> 12 =tier |

(fqu09 ‘T X1Ipuaddy)
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Sex Offender

Penalty Upon Registry
Statute Offense Definition Conviction of Adult Requirement Federal Tier
§ 3-308 Sexual offense in the | Sexual contact without | Up to 1 year Child sexual 1 if victim < 13
fourth degree consent; sexual act if imprisonment and/or offender if victim is
victimis 14 or 15and | maximum fine of child under 15 and Il'if victim > 13
Misdemeanor offender is at least 4 $1,000; court orders
years older than victim; | Up to 3 years registration statutory rape = |
vaginal intercourse if imprisonment and/or
victimis 14 or 15and | $1,000 if prior Offender, if ordered
offender is at least 4 conviction of sexual by a court to register
years older than victim; | offense and victim is under
sexual act, sexual 18
contact, or vaginal
intercourse by person Registration for 10
in a position of years
authority with currently
enrolled student.
§ 3-309 Attempted rape in the Up to life Sexually violent Il
first degree imprisonment offender (or sexually
violent predator, if
Felony so determined)
Registration for life
§ 3-310 Attempted rape in the Up to 20 years Sexually violent I
second degree imprisonment offender (or sexually
violent predator, if (except statutory
Felony so determined) rape where victim
> 12=tier I)
Registration for life
§ 3-311 Attempted sexual Up to life Sexually violent 11|

offense in the first
degree

imprisonment

offender (or sexually
violent predator, if

10
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Sex Offender

Penalty Upon Registry
Statute Offense Definition Conviction of Adult Requirement Federal Tier
so determined)
Felony
Registration for life
§ 3-312 Attempted sexual Up to 20 years Sexually violent I
offense in the second imprisonment offender (or sexually
degree violent predator, if (except statutory
so determined) rape where victim
Felony > 12 =tier )
Registration for life
§ 3-314 Sexual conduct Correctional employee | Up to 3 years Not specified” I
between correctional | or correctional facility | imprisonment and/or
or Department of worker may not engage | maximum fine of
Juvenile Justice in sexual contact, $3,000
employee and inmate | vaginal intercourse, or
or confined child sexual act with inmate;
person may not engage
Misdemeanor in sexual contact,
vaginal intercourse, or
sexual act with
individual confined in
child care institution or
juvenile facility.
§ 3-315 Continuing course of | To commit 3 or more Up to 30 years Not specified” I

conduct with child

Felony

acts of rape in 1% or 2™
degree or sexual
offenses in 1%, 2", or
3" degree over period
of 90 days or more
with victim under 14.

imprisonment

(fqu09 ‘T X1puaddy)
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Sex Offender

Penalty Upon Registry
Statute Offense Definition Conviction of Adult Requirement Federal Tier
§ 3-321 Sodomy Up to 10 years Not specified” Not specified
imprisonment
Felony
§ 3-322 Unnatural or To take the sexual Up to 10 years Not specified” Not specified
perverted sexual organ of another or of | imprisonment and/or a
practice an animal in the maximum fine of
person’s mouth; to $1,000
Misdemeanor place the person’s
sexual organ in the
mouth of another or of
an animal; or to
commit another
unnatural or perverted
sexual practice with
another or with an
animal.
§ 3-323 Incest To knowingly engage | Imprisonment from 1 Not specified” I
in vaginal intercourse | to 10 years (not specified)
Felony with anyone that
offender would be
prohibited from
marrying under State
law.
§3-324 Sexual solicitation of | To knowingly solicita | Up to 10 years Offender, if ordered I

a minor

Felony

minor, with intent to
commit rape in 2nd
degree, sexual offense
in 2nd or 3rd degree,
receiving earnings of
prostitute, abduction of

imprisonment and/or
maximum fine of
$25,000

by a court to register
and victim is under

18

Registration for 10
years

12
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Sex Offender

Penalty Upon Registry
Statute Offense Definition Conviction of Adult Requirement Federal Tier

child under 16 for
prostitution or sexual
crimes, or engaging in,
operating, or allowing
a structure under the
person’s control to be
used for prostitution.

8§ 3-502 Kidnapping By force or fraud, to Up to 30 years Offender, if ordered | Il (if minor
carry or cause a person | imprisonment by a court to register | victim, otherwise

Felony to be carried in or and victim isunder | 1)

outside the State with 18
intent to have person
carried or concealed in Registration for 10
or outside the State. years

8§ 3-503 Child kidnapping (1) To forcibly abduct | (1) Up to 20 years Offender, if ordered I

Felony

a child under 12,
without consent of
parent or guardian to
entice child under 12
away from home or
parent or guardian, or
with intent to deprive
parent or guardian of
custody, care, and
control of child, to
knowingly secrete or
harbor child under 12

(2) By force or fraud,
to kidnap, steal, take,

imprisonment

(2) Up to 30 years
imprisonment

Up to life
imprisonment without
possibility of parole if
person also convicted
of rape or a first degree
sexual offense in same
proceeding

by a court to register

Registration for 10
years

(fu09 ‘T X1puaddy)
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Sex Offender

Penalty Upon Registry
Statute Offense Definition Conviction of Adult Requirement Federal Tier
or carry away a child
under 16.
§ 3-602 Sexual abuse of a Parent, household Up to 25 years Child sexual Depends on the
minor member, family imprisonment offender nature of the act
member, or other and the age of the
Felony person who has care, Registration for 10 | child (special
custody, or supervision years (life if victim | relationship no
of a minor may not is under 12 and relevant under
commit sexual crime is sexual act | federal law)
molestation or involving
exploitation of the penetration)
minor, including incest,
rape, sexual offense in
any degree, sodomy, or
unnatural or perverted
sexual practices
§ 11-102 Adult sexual display | To sell or offer to sell Up to 6 months Not specified” Not specified

—selling or offering
to sell to minor

Misdemeanor

to a minor pictures,
images, or other visual
representations that
show the human body
involved in
sadomasochistic abuse,
sexual conduct, or
sexual excitement,
books, other printed
matter, or sound
recordings that contain
obscene or explicit
material.

imprisonment and/or a
maximum fine of
$1,000

14
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Sex Offender

Penalty Upon Registry
Statute Offense Definition Conviction of Adult Requirement Federal Tier
§11-103 Adult sexual display | For money or other Up to 6 months Not specified” Not specified
— exhibition to value, to knowingly imprisonment and/or a
minors exhibit or sell to a maximum fine of
minor a motion picture | $1,000
Misdemeanor or other presentation
that displays
sadomasochistic abuse,
sexual conduct, or
sexual excitement.
8§ 11-104 Adult sexual display | To operate or be Up to 6 months Not specified” Not specified
—allowing minors to | employed by a retail imprisonment and/or a
enter or remain or establishment and to maximum fine of
premises knowingly allow a $1,000
minor without a parent
Misdemeanor or guardian to enter or
remain on premises
where sadomasochistic
abuse, sexual conduct,
sexual excitement, or
obscene or explicit
material is shown,
displayed, or depicted.
§ 11-107 Indecent exposure As defined in common | Up to 3 years Not specified” Not specified
law. imprisonment and/or a
Misdemeanor maximum fine of
$1,000
§11-203 Sale or display of To willfully or 1st violation: Up to 1 Not specified” Not specified

obscene item to
minor

knowingly display,
exhibit, sell, or
distribute to minor

year imprisonment
and/or a maximum fine
of $1,000

(fu09 T Xipuaddy)
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Sex Offender

Penalty Upon Registry
Statute Offense Definition Conviction of Adult Requirement Federal Tier
Misdemeanor obscene material or
material depicting Each subsequent
illicit sex. violation: Up to 3 years
imprisonment and/or a
maximum fine of
$5,000
§ 11-207 Child pornography To cause, induce, 1st violation: Up to 10 | Offender, if ordered I
solicit, or knowingly years imprisonment by a court to register
Felony allow a minor to be the | and/or a maximum fine
subject in the of $25,000 Registration for 10
production of obscene years
matter that shows Each subsequent
sadomasochistic abuse | violation: Up to 20
or sexual conduct years imprisonment
through the use of and/or a maximum fine
photographs, film, or of $50,000
computers or to
knowingly promote,
distribute, or compile
such material.
§ 11-208 Possession of visual | To knowingly possess | 1st violation: Up to 2 Not specified” Not specified”

representation of
child under 16
engaged in certain
sexual acts

Misdemeanor

and intentionally retain
a film, videotape,
photograph, or other
visual representation
showing an actual child
under 16 as subject of
sadomasochistic abuse,
sexual conduct, or in
state of excitement.

years imprisonment
and/or a maximum fine
of $2,500

Each subsequent
violation: Up to 5 years
imprisonment and/or a
maximum fine of
$10,000

16
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Sex Offender

Penalty Upon Registry
Statute Offense Definition Conviction of Adult Requirement Federal Tier
§11-209 Hiring minor for To hire, employ, or use | 1st violation: Up to 1 Offender, if ordered I
prohibited purpose an individual that the year imprisonment by a court to register
person knows or and/or a maximum fine | and victim is under
Misdemeanor reasonably should of $1,000 18
know is a minor to
engage in illicit sex or | Each subsequent Registration for 10
assist with illicit sex violation: Up to 3 years | years
acts. imprisonment and/or a
maximum fine of
$5,000
§11-303 Human Trafficking To take, place, Up to 10 years Offender, if ordered I
threaten, unlawfully imprisonment and/or a | by a court to register
Misdemeanor/Felony | detain, or receive maximum fine of and victim is under
consideration for $5,000 (misdemeanor) | 18
placement of another in
a place for prostitution. | Minor victim: Up to 25 | Registration for 10
years imprisonment years
and/or a maximum fine
of $15,000 (felony)
8 11-305 Abduction of child To persuade, entice, or | Up to 10 years Offender, if ordered I
under 16 aid in such or imprisonment and/or a | by a court to register
knowingly secrete, maximum fine of and victim is under
Misdemeanor harbor, or aid in such $5,000 18
of an individual under
16 for prostitution or Registration for 10
sexual crimes. years
8 11-306 House of prostitution | To engage in or solicit | Up to 1 year Offender, if ordered | Not specified

Misdemeanor

for prostitution or keep,
occupy, operate, or
allow a building under

imprisonment and/or a
maximum fine of $500

by a court to register
and victim/
prostitute is under 18
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Sex Offender
Penalty Upon Registry
Statute Offense Definition Conviction of Adult Requirement Federal Tier
the person’s control to
be used for Registration for 10
prostitution. years
Common Common law false Victim under 18 and Offender, if ordered I
Law imprisonment person is not victim’s by a court to register
parent. and victim is under
Misdemeanor 18
Registration for 10
years

“Under § 11-701 of the Criminal Procedure Avrticle, the definition of offender includes a person who is ordered by a court to register and who “has been
convicted of a crime that involves conduct that by its nature is a sexual offense against a person under the age of 18 years.” An offender is required to register

for 10 years.

NOTE: All repeat offenders must register for life.

DEFINITIONS:

Criminal Law Article § 3-301(e) and (f)

(€)

anus; and

either party.

(1) “Sexual act” means any of the following acts, regardless of whether semen is emitted:

Q) analingus;
(i) cunnilingus;

(iii)  fellatio;

(iv)  anal intercourse, including penetration, however slight, of the anus; or

(V) an act:
1. in which an object penetrates, however slightly, into another individual’s genital opening or
2. that can reasonably be construed to be for sexual arousal or gratification, or for the abuse of

18
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2) “Sexual act” does not include:
Q) vaginal intercourse; or
(i) an act in which an object penetrates an individual’s genital opening or anus for an accepted medical
purpose.

()] 1) “Sexual contact”, as used in §§ 3-307, 3-308, and 3-314 of this subtitle, means an intentional touching of the
victim’s or actor’s genital, anal, or other intimate area for sexual arousal or gratification, or for the abuse of either party.
2 “Sexual contact” includes an act:
Q) in which a part of an individual’s body, except the penis, mouth, or tongue, penetrates, however slightly,
into another individual’s genital opening or anus; and
(i) that can reasonably be construed to be for sexual arousal or gratification, or for the abuse of either party.
3) “Sexual contact” does not include:
Q) a common expression of familial or friendly affection; or
(i) an act for an accepted medical purpose.

Source: Maryland Annotated Code; SORNA
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Appendix 2.

U.S. Department of Justice
OffTice of Justice Programs

SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION AND NOTIFICATION ACT
SUBSTANTIAL IMPLEMENTATION CHECKLIST

This checklist is designed as a tool to assist registration jurisdictions as they seek to
substantially implement SORNA. It is not a definitive guide to SORNA’s full implementation
requirements. Jurisdictions are advised to consult with the SMART Office throughout their
implementation process to ensure that their laws, policies, procedures, and practices conform
with the entirety of what SORNA requires.

I. IMMEDIATE TRANSFER OF INFORMATION
Whenever a sex offender initially registers or updates their registration information with a
jurisdiction, that jurisdiction is required to immediately notify any other jurisdiction where the
sex offender resides, is an employee, or is a student, and each jurisdiction from or to which a
change of residence, employment, or student status occurs. This includes notification to any
relevant SORNA-registration jurisdiction, including states, territories, tribes, and the District of

Columbia.

The jurisdiction is also required to immediately update the National Sex Offender Registry
(NSOR) and their own public sex offender registry website.

* Immediate: ‘Immediate’ and ‘immediately’ are defined as ‘within 3 business days’
Any initial registration and/or updated information is: |
immediately sent to
any required SORNA-registration jurisdiction, including:
States
D.C.

The five principal U.S. Territories; and
Any tribe operating as a SORNA registration jurisdiction

NSOR

The jurisdiction’s public sex offender registry website

21



(Appendix 2 cont.)

II. TERMINOLOGY

The next issue to be addressed in determining substantial implementation is that of
terminology. SORNA defines certain terms in very specific ways and a jurisdiction’s
registration scheme must meet, and may exceed, these minimum standards.

Jurisdiction Refers to the 50 States, the District of Columbia, the five principal U.S.
territories -- i.e., the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, American
Samoa, the Northern Mariana Islands, and the United States Virgin Islands
-- and Indian tribes that elect to function as registration jurisdictions under

42 U.S.C. §16927.

Whenever SORNA or the Guidelines refer to a “jurisdiction”, this is the
definition that should be used.

Sex Offense The term “sex offense” is not used to refer to any and all crimes of a
sexual nature, but rather to those covered by the definition of “sex
offense” appearing in 42 U.S.C. §16911(5).

IIIl. OFFENSES THAT MUST BE INCLUDED IN THE REGISTRY

A jurisdiction must include certain sex offenders in their registration schemes. As defined by
SORNA, sex offenders are individuals convicted of certain sex offenses.

Convicted

An adult sex offender is convicted for SORNA purposes if her or she has been
subject to penal consequences based on the conviction, however it may be styled.

The following two classes of convictions are also included in the SORNA
definition of convicted, and must be included in the jurisdiction’s registry:

convictions of juveniles who are prosecuted as adults

persons adjudicated delinquent as a juvenile for a sex offense, but only if
the offender is 14 years of age or older at the time of the offense and the
offense adjudicated was comparable to or more severe than aggravated
sexual abuse (as described in 18 U.S.C. § 2241), or was an attempt or
conspiracy to commit such an offense. (See SORNA’s Juvenile Fact Sheet
for additional important information:
http:/www.ojp.usdoj.gov/smart/pdfs/factsheet_sorna juvenile.pdf)

SORNA specifies the sex offenses which, if they already exist in a jurisdiction, must be
included in any jurisdiction’s registration scheme, as well as those convictions from other
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jurisdictions (including the federal government and foreign countries) which must be included.
Jurisdictions are not required to enact any new substantive sex offense crimes in order to

substantially implement SORNA.

Jurisdictions must register any sex offender convicted of any of the following offenses:

Attempts and Conspiracies

Any attempt or conspiracy to commit any sex offense

Federal Offenses  Convictions under the following federal statutes (including any
offenses prosecuted under the Assimilative Crimes Act (18 U.S.C.
§1152 or §1153)):

18 U.S.C. §1591
18 U.S.C. §1801
18 U.S.C. §2241
18 U.S.C. §2242
18 U.S.C. §2243
18 U.S.C. §2244
18 U.S.C. §2245
18 U.S.C. §2251
18 U.S.C. §2251A
18 U.S.C. §2252
18 U.S.C. §2252A
18 U.S.C. §2252B
18 U.S.C. §2252C
18 U.S.C. §2260

LD

18 U.S.C. §2421
18 US.C. §2422

18 U.S.C. §2423

18 U.S.C. §2424

18 U.S.C. §2425

(Sex Trafficking of Children)

(Video Voyeurism of a Minor)

(Aggravated Sexual Abuse)

(Sexual Abuse)

(Sexual Abuse of a Minor or Ward)

(Abusive Sexual Contact)

(Offenses Resulting in Death)

(Sexual Exploitation of Children)

(Selling or Buying of Children)

(Material Involving the Sexual Exploitation of Minors)
(Material Containing Child Pornography)

(Misleading Domain Names on the Internet)
(Misleading Words or Digital Images on the Internet)
(Production of Sexually Explicit Depictions of a Minor for
Import in to the United States)

(Transportation of a Minor for Illegal Sexual Activity)
(Coercion and Enticement of a Minor for Illegal Sexual
Activity)

(Transportation of Minors for Illegal Sexual Activity,
Travel With the Intent to Engage in Illicit Sexual Conduct
with a Minor, Engaging in Illicit Sexual Conduct in
Foreign Places)

(Failure to File Factual Statement about an Alien
Individual)

(Transmitting Information about a Minor to further
Criminal Sexual Conduct)

Foreign Offenses  Jurisdictions must also register certain sex offenders convicted of
foreign sex offenses when such offenders are convicted either:

Under the laws of Canada, United Kingdom, Australia, and New Zealand; or

In any foreign country where the U.S. State Department, in its Country Reports
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on Human Rights Practices, has concluded that an independent judiciary
generally (or vigorously) enforced the right to a fair trial in that country during
the year in which the conviction occurred. These annual reports can be found at
htip wwwa state.cov w/drl 1ls hrmpt/.

Military Offenses  Jurisdictions must register anyone convicted of a military offense
specified by the Secretary of Defense under section 115(a)(8)(C)(i)
of Public Law 105-119 (10 U.S.C. §951 note). Jurisdictions are
cncouraged to review Department of Defense Instruction (DoDI)
1325.7 and the current 10 U.S.C. §920 er, seq. to determine which
UCM] convictions will be appropriate for inclusion. The current
version of DoDI 13257 «can be found here:
hitp: _www die.mil whs directives corres pdli 132307p pdl.

State, Tribal, Territory and Foreign Offenses

Jurisdictions are required to register any person who has been convicted of a criminal offense
in any state, tribe, territory, or the District of Columbia, and any foreign country (subject to the
limitations described above) that involves:

Any conduct that by its nature is a sex offense against a minor
Any conduct similar to that prohibited by the following Federal Offenses:

18 U.S.C. §1591 (Sex Trafficking by Force, Fraud, or Coercion)

18 U.S.C. §1801 (Video Voyeurism of a Minor)

18 U.S.C. §2241 (Aggravated Sexual Abuse)

18 U.S.C. §2242 (Sexual Abuse)

18 U.S.C. §2244 (Abusive Sexual Contact)

18 U.S.C. §2422(b) (Coercing a Minor to Engage in Prostitution)

18 U.S.C. §2423(a) (Transporting a Minor to Engage in Illicit Conduct)

T

Any type or degree of genital, oral, or anal penetration

Any sexual touching of or contact with a person’s body, either directly or through
the clothing

Criminal sexual conduct involving a minor (where the elements of the offense
involve physical contact with the victim), or the use of the internet to facilitate or
attempt such conduct

Including offenses whose elements involve using other persons in prostitution --

such as provisions defining crimes of “pandering,” “procuring,” or “pimping” in
cases where the victim was below 18 at the time of the offense
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False imprisonment or a minor

Kidnapping of a minor

Possession, production, or distribution of child pornography

Solicitation of a minor to practice prostitution

Solicitation to engage a minor in sexual conduct (this should be understood
broadly to include any direction, request, enticement, persuasion, or

encouragement of a minor to engage in sexual conduct)

Use of a minor in a sexual performance

IV.TIERING OF OFFENSES

Once a jurisdiction determines which sex offenses will require registration, it will have to
decide at what ‘level’ of registration those convicted of each particular offense must register.
SORNA establishes a baseline or minimum standard by way of a 3-tier classification system.

For the purposes of tiering sex offenses:
¢ Minor is defined as an individual under the age of 18

» Sexual contact means offenses that cover sexual touching of or contact with the
intimate parts of the body, either directly or through the clothing

» Sexual act means offenses involving
o Any direct touching of the genitals of a person under 16; or
o Oral, anal, or vaginal penetration of any kind which occurs:

® when the victim is under 13

* by force

* by way of threat or intimidation

* when the victim has been rendered unconscious

* when the victim is incapable of appraising the nature of their conduct;

* when the victim is physically incapable of communicating non-
consent;

* when a drug or intoxicant has been administered which substantially
impairs the ability of the other person to appraise or control their
conduct
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Tier I Offenses

Convictions that have an element involving a sexual act or sexual contact with another,
that are not included in either Tier II or Tier I11

Convictions that involve:

False Imprisonment of a Minor
Video Voyeurism of a Minor
Possession or Receipt of Child Pornography

The following Federal Offenses:

18 U.S.C. §1801 (Video Voyeurism of a Minor)

18 U.S.C. §2252 (Receipt or Possession of Child Pornography)

18 U.S.C. §2252A (Receipt or Possession of Child Pornography)

18 U.S.C. §2252B (Misleading Domain Name)

18 U.S.C. §2252C (Misleading Words or Digital Images)

18U.S.C. §2422(a)  (Coercion to Engage in Prostitution)

I8 U.S.C. §2423(b)  (Travel with the Intent to Engage in Illicit Conduct)

18 U.S.C. §2423(c)  (Engaging in Illicit Conduct in Foreign Places)

18 US.C. §2424 (Filing Factual Statement about Alien Individual)

18 U.S.C. §2425 (Transmitting Information about a Minor to further
Criminal Sexual Conduct)

L]

Any comparable military offense specified by the Secretary of Defense under section
115(a)(&)(C)(i) of Public Law 105-119 (10 U.S.C. §951 note)

Tier II Offenses

Recidivist Offender A person previously convicted of a tier I offense whose current sex
offense conviction is punishable by more than one year
imprisonment

Convictions that invalve:

The use of minors in prostitution (to include solicitations)
Enticing a minor to engage in criminal sexual activity

A non-forcible Sexual Act with a minor 16 or 17 years old
Sexual contact with a minor 13 or older

The use of a minor in a sexual performance

The production or distribution of child pornography

———

The following Federal Offenses:
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18 U.S.C. §1591

18 U.S.C. §2243
18 U.S.C. §2244

18 U.S.C. §2251

18 U.S.C. §2251A
18 U.S.C. §2252
18 U.S.C. §2252A
18 U.S.C. §2260
18 U.S.C. §2421

18 U.S.C. §2422(b)
18 U.S.C. §2423(a)
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(Sex Trafficking by Force, Fraud, or Coercion)
(Sexual Abuse of a Minor)

(Abusive Sexual Contact, Victim 13 or Older)
(Sexual Exploitation of Children)

(Selling or Buying of Children)

(Sale or Distribution of Child Pornography)
(Sale or Distribution of Child Pornography)
(Producing Child Porography for Import)
(Transportation for Prostitution)

(Coercing a Minor to Engage in Prostitution)
(Transporting a Minor to Engage in Illicit Conduct)

Any comparable military offense specified by the Secretary of Defense under section
115(a)(8)(C)(i) of Public Law 105-119 (10 U.S.C. §951 note)

Tier 111 Offenses

Recidivist Offender A person previously convicted of a tier Il offense whose current
sex offense conviction is punishable by more than one year
imprisonment

Convictions by that involve:

Non-parental kidnapping of a minor
Any Sexual Act with another (as defined on page 5)
Sexual contact with a minor under 13

The following Federal Offenses:

18 U.S.C. §2241 (Aggravated Sexual Abuse)
18 U.S.C. §2242 (Sexual Abuse)
I8 U.S.C. §2244 (Abusive Sexual Contact, victim under 13)

Any comparable military offense specified by the Secretary of Defense under section
115(a)(8)(C)(i) of Public Law 105-119 (10 U.S.C. §951 note)

IV.REQUIRED REGISTRATION INFORMATION

Once a jurisdiction determines which sex offense convictions will require what leve] of
registration, the question turns to what information they are required to collect for their sex
offender registry. These requirements are different from the more limited list of items that are
required to be displayed via a jurisdiction’s public sex offender registry website.

Digitized All information is to be available in digitized format. Jurisdictions will need
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to maintain all required registration information in a digitized form that will
enable it to be immediately accessed by or transmitted to various entities. The
jurisdiction’s registry must be an electronic database, and descriptions of the
required types of information should consistently be understood as referring to
digitizable information rather than hard copies or physical objects.

However, when items and/or data might be stored in separate databases (such
as DNA profiles in CODIS, fingerprints in IAFIS, or professional licensing
information with a separate board or committee), it is sufficient if a
Jurisdiction provides an identification number or some other indicator of
precisely where such registration information might be found, and in what
database.

As specified below, the information required to be included on a jurisdiction’s registry fall
into 20 primary headings:

Criminal History

Date of Birth

DNA Sample

Driver’s License or Identification Card
Employment Information
Fingerprints

Internet Identifiers

Name

9. Palm Prints

10. Passport and Immigration Documents
11. Phone Numbers

12. Photograph

13. Physical Description

14. Professional Licensing Information
15. Resident Address

16. School Information

17. Social Security Number

18. Temporary Lodging Information

19. Text of Registration Offense

20. Vehicle Information

R s

SORNA minimum standards require jurisdictions to include the following specific
information in their registry:

Criminal history
Date of all arrests
Date of all convictions

Status of parole, probation, or supervised release
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Registration status
Outstanding arrest warrants

Date of Birth

Actual date of birth
Purported date of birth

DNA sample

A DNA sample must be taken, or must have been taken, from the sex offender for
purposes of analysis and entry of the resulting DNA profile into the Combined DNA

Index System (CODIS)

Samples are being analyzed and submitted for entry to CODIS

Driver’s License or ID Card

A photocopy of a valid driver's license or identification card (to include a tribal
identification card) issued to the sex offender by a jurisdiction

Employment Information

Employer Name (Business Name)
Employer Address
Transient/day labor employment information collected

Fingerprints
Fingerprints taken and submitted to IAFIS
Internet Identifiers

Email addresses
Instant Message addresses/identifiers
Any other designations or monikers used for self-identification in Internet

communications or postings
All designations used by sex offenders for purposes of routing or self- identification

in Internet communications or postings

Name

Primary, given name
Nicknames, aliases, pseudonyms generally, regardless of context in which it is used

Ethnic or Tribal names by which they are commonly known
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Palm Prints

Palm Prints taken and submitted to the FBI Central Database (Next Generation
Identification Program)

Passports and Immigration Documents

Digitized copies of passports
Digitized copies of immigration documents

Phone Numbers

Telephone numbers and any other designations used by sex offenders for purposes of
routing or self-identification in telephonic communications

Land line telephone numbers

Cell phone telephone numbers

Photograph

Updated digitized photograph collected unless appearance has not changed
significantly, on the following schedule:

Tier I Offender: Once every Year

Tier I Offender: Once every 6 Months
Tier I1I Offender:  Once every 90 Days

Physical Description
Physical description of the sex offender
General description of physical appearance or characteristics
Any identifying marks, such as scars or tattoos, etc.

Professional Licensing Information

Concemning all licensing of the registrant that authorizes the registrant to engage in an
occupation or carry out a trade or business

Resident Address

Address of each residence at which the sex offender resides or will reside
If no permanent residence, location or description that identifies where the sex

offender “habitually lives”

School Address
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School Name
School Address

Social Security Number

Valid social security number
Purported social security number(s)

Temporary lodging information
e when an offender will be absent from his or her residence for 7 days or more

Identifying information (location) of temporary location(s)
Dates of travel

Text of Registration Offense

The text of the provision of law defining the offense for which the sex offender is
registered

Vehicle Information
License plate number; and
Registration number or identifier

Of all of the following vehicles owned or operated by the offender, whether for:

Work or
Personal use

Including:

Land Vehicles
Aircraft
Watercraft

Description of all vehicles identified above

Permanent or frequent location where all vehicles are kept

V. WHERE REGISTRATION IS REQUIRED
Jurisdiction of Conviction Initial registration is required in the Jurisdiction where the

sex offender was convicted even if the sex offender will not
be residing there
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Jurisdiction of Incarceration Initial registration is required in the jurisdiction where a
sex offender is incarcerated when completing their
sentence, regardless if it is the jurisdiction of conviction
or will be the jurisdiction of residence, employment, or
school attendance

Jurisdiction of Residence  All sex offenders who reside in the jurisdiction are
required to register

Jurisdiction of Employment  All sex offenders who are employees in the jurisdiction
are required to register

* Employee: Includes an individual who is self-employed or works for any other
entity, whether compensated or not

Jurisdiction of School Attendance All sex offenders who are students in the
Jurisdiction are required to register

e Student An individual who enrolls in or attends an educational institution,
including (whether public or private) a secondary school, trade or
professional school, and institution of higher education

VL INITIAL REGISTRATION: GENERALLY
Timing of Initial Registration

A sex offender is required to register at particular times, depending on whether he or she is
incarcerated within the jurisdiction, sentenced within the jurisdiction, or arriving from another
Jjurisdiction.

When a sex offender is incarcerated within the jurisdiction

Registration must occur before release from “imprisonment” for the registration
offense

* Imprisonment Refers to incarceration pursuant to a conviction, regardless of the
nature of the institution in which the offender serves the sentence.
The term is to be interpreted broadly rather than in a narrow
technical sense, to include for example confinement in a state
“prison” as well as in a local “jail”.

When a sex offender is sentenced within the Jjurisdiction, but not incarcerated

Registration must occur within three business days of sentencing for the
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registration offense

When a sex offender relocates from another jurisdiction ie., when an offender is
convicted and/or sentenced in another state, territory, tribe, or country, or in a federal or
military court, and chooses to reside, work, or attend school in a jurisdiction.

Registration must occur within three business days of the sex offender
establishing residence, employment, or school attendance within the jurisdiction

Duties of a Jurisdiction When an Offender Initially Registers

Inform the sex offender of his or her duties under SORNA

Explain the SORNA duties to sex offender

Require the sex offender to read and sign a form stating that the duty to register has been
explained and that the sex offender understands the registration requirement

Ensure that the sex offender is registered

VII. INITIAL REGISTRATION: RETROACTIVE CLASSES OF OFFENDERS

SORNA, by its terms, applies to all sex offenders, regardless of when they were convicted.
Jurisdictions are required to recapture (i.e., appropriately classify and register) cerain
offenders, including those who previously may have not been required to register, but who
would be required to register under the jurisdiction’s new SORNA-implementing legislation.

There must be a procedure in place to recapture three categories of sex offenders, which
are those sex offenders who are:

Currently incarcerated or under supervision, either for the predicate sex offense or for
some other crime;

Already registered or subject to a pre-existing sex offender registration requirement
under the jurisdiction’s law; and those sex offenders who

Reenter the jurisdiction’s criminal justice system because of a conviction for some
other crime (whether or not it is a sex offense)

The initial registration of these recaptured offenders must take place within a certain
amount of time, depending on the tier classification of the sex offender:

Timing of Recapture (from date of implementation of SORNA in the jurisdiction)

Tier I Offenders:; Within One Year
Tier 11 Offenders: Within 6 Months
Tier IIl Offenders: ~ Within 3 Months
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VIII. KEEPING THE REGISTRATION CURRENT

The duties of a sex offender to a registration jurisdiction will depend on whether the
Jjurisdiction is the:

* Residence Jurisdiction (the jurisdiction in which the offender resides), the
e Employment Jurisdiction (the jurisdiction in which the offender is an

employee), or the
* School Jurisdiction (the jurisdiction in which the offender is a student)

This section addresses the duties of a sex offender to each of the preceding types of
Jurisdictions regarding the sex offender’s duty to keep their registration current.

Residence Jurisdiction

When a sex offender resides in a jurisdiction, that sex offender must do the following to keep
their registration current, in addition to making the required verification appearances described
in part X, below:

Immediately appear in-person to update any of the following information:

Name

Residence

Employment

School Attendance
Termination of residence

Immediately update any changes to the following information (an in-person appearance is
not required):

Email addresses

Instant Message addresses

Any other designations used in intemet communications, postings, or telephone
communications

Vehicle Information

Temporary Lodging Information

Upon receipt of this information, the jurisdiction must immediately notify the
Jurisdiction in which the offender will be temporarily staying

Duties of the Residence Jurisdiction When An Offender
Intends to Relocate to Another Country

If the residence jurisdiction is notified that the offender intends to commence residence,
school, or employment outside of the United States, in addition to any other community
notification requirements, it must also:
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Immediately notify any other jurisdiction where the sex offender is either registered, or is
required to register, of that updated information
Immediately notify the U.S. Marshals Service
Immediately update NSOR Information
Employer Jurisdiction

When an offender is employed in a jurisdiction, but neither resides nor attends school there,
that offender must do the following:

Immediately appear in-person to update any of the following information:

Employment-related information in that jurisdiction
Termination of employment in that jurisdiction

School Jurisdiction

When an offender attends school in a jurisdiction, but neither resides nor works there, that
offender must do the following:

Immediately appear in-person to update any of the following information:
School-related information in that jurisdiction
Termination of school in that jurisdiction
X. VERIFICATION/APPEARANCE REQUIREMENTS

Sex offenders must register for a duration of time, and make in-person appearances at a
frequency, that is driven by the tier of their sex offense.

Tier 1 Offenders

Once a year
For 15 years

Tier II Offenders

Every 6 Months
For 25 years

Tier I1I Offenders

Every 3 Months
35
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For life
Requirements for In-Person Regular Appearances

At the sex offender’s regularly-scheduled in-person appearance, there are two things which
must occur:

A current photograph must be allowed to be taken; and
The sex offender must review the existing registration information for accuracy

Reduction of Registration Periods

There are only two classes of sex offenders that SORNA permits to have a reduced
registration period, provided certain requirements are met. The first is any Tier I offender, and
the second is any Tier I1I offender who is required to register because of a juvenile adjudication.

Tier 1 Offender: An offender’s registration and notification requirement may be
terminated if the following conditions are met:

The sex offender has had ten years with a “clean record™:

Not being convicted of any offense for which imprisonment for more
than 1 year may be imposed,;

Not being convicted of any sex offense;

Successful (without revocation) completion of any periods of
supervised release, probation, and parole;

and

Successful completion of an appropriate sex offender treatment
program certified by a jurisdiction or by the Attorney General. (42

USC §16915(b)(1))

Tier III Offender:  An offender’s registration and notification requirement may be terminated
if the following conditions are met:

The sex offender is required to register based on a delinquency
adjudication for an offense which required Tier III registration

The sex offender has had twenty-five years with a “clean record”:

Not being convicted of any offense for which imprisonment for more
than 1 year may be imposed;

Not being convicted of any sex offense;

Successful (without revocation) completion of any of supervised
release, probation, and parole;

and
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Successful completion of an appropriate sex offender treatment
program certified by a jurisdiction or by the Attorney General. (42
USC §16915(b)(1))

XIL.REGISTRY WEBSITE REQUIREMENTS

Every jurisdiction will need to maintain a public sex offender registry website, as specified
below.

The jurisdiction must maintain a public sex offender registry website. This website
must contain the information detailed below on each sex offender in the registry.

e Exception: Information about a tier I sex offender convicted of an offense
other than a “specified offense against a minor” as defined in 42 U.S.C.
§16911(7) may be excluded from a jurisdiction’s public sex offender
registry website.

The jurisdiction’s public sex offender registry website must contain the following
basic functions and materials:

The jurisdiction must participate fully in the National Sex Offender Public
Website, including taking the necessary steps to enable all field search
capabilities required by NSOPW, including but not limited to:

Name;

County, City or Town;
Zip Code; and
Geographic Radius

Links to sex offender safety and education resources

Instructions on how to seek correction of information that an individual
contends is erroneous.

A warmning that information on the site “should not be used to unlawfully
injure, harass, or commit a crime against any individual named in the
registry or residing or working at any reported address...and that any such
action could result in civil or criminal penalties.”

Search-field capability:

Name.
County, City and/or Town
Zip Code
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Geographic Radius
Ten Core Required Items on Public Registry Websites

1. Absconder

» when the offender is in violation or cannot be located, the website must note
this fact

2. Criminal History
» any other sex offense for which the sex offender has been convicted
3. Current Offense
e the sex offense for which the offender is registered
4. Employer address
5. Name
« including all aliases
6. Photograph:
e a current photograph of the offender
7. Physical description
8. Resident Address
* including any information about where the offender “habitually lives”
9. School address
10. Vehicle(s) information, including:

license plate number(s); and
vehicle description(s)

Information That Is NOT Permitted to be Displayed on Public Websites

Criminal History: any arrests not resulting in conviction
Social Security Number
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Travel and Immigration Document Numbers
Victim Identity
Internet Identifiers

Special Issue: Witness Protection

Jurisdictions are permitted and encouraged to make provision in their laws and
procedures to accommodate consideration of the security of such individuals and to
honor requests from the United States Marshals Service and other agencies responsible
for witness protection in order to ensure that their original identities are not
compromised.

XII. COMMUNITY NOTIFICATION

Community Notification is a distinct requirement of SORNA, apart from the maintenance of
a sex offender registry and a public sex offender registry website. In certain cases, jurisdictions
will be required to disseminate information about sex offenders to agencies and individuals in
the community, as indicated below.

Law Enforcement Community Notification
Whenever a sex offender:

initially registers in a jurisdiction, or
updates their registration information in a jurisdiction,

The following actions are required to be taken by a jurisdiction:

The jurisdiction must immediately notify the following agencies of the initial registration
or the changes to an offender’s registration information, and make the updated
information available to the following agencies:

NSOR

Each jurisdiction where the sex offender resides, is an employee, or is a student,
and each jurisdiction from or to which a change of residence, employment, or
student status occurs.

Law Enforcement and Supervision Agencies:

Police Departments
Sheriffs’ Offices
Prosecutor’s Offices
Probation Agencies
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Any other agencies with criminal investigation, prosecution, or sex offender
supervision functions

National Child Protection Act agencies:

Any agency responsible for conducting employment-related background
checks under section 3 of the National Child Protection Act of 1993 (42

U.S.C. 5119a)

General Community Notification
Whenever a sex offender:

initially registers in a jurisdiction, or
updates their registration information in a jurisdiction,

And a jurisdiction follows the procedures outlined below, it will be sufficient to comply with
the general community notification portion of SORNA:

An automated notification system is adopted by the jurisdiction that incorporates the
following features:

Any initial registration, and any changes in a sex offender’s registration
information, are posted to the jurisdiction’s public registry website within
three business days

An email notification (including a sex offender’s identity) is made available to the
general public whenever a sex offender commences

residence,

employment, or

school attendance

within a certain zip code or geographic radius

o Jurisdictions are not required to adopt an automated notification system in

order to implement this general community notification portion of SORNA. If
a jurisdiction chooses not to do so, however, it will still be held to SORNA’s
baseline requirements. Please contact the SMART office for assistance in
determining which alternate procedures would substantially implement this
portion of SORNA.

XIII. FAILURE TO REGISTER AS A SEX OFFENDER: STATE PENALTY

Each jurisdiction, other than a Federally recognized Indian tribe, shall provide a criminal
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penalty that includes a maximum term of imprisonment that is greater than 1 year for the
failure of a sex offender to comply with the requirements of their registration and
notification requirements in a jurisdiction.

XIV. WHEN SEX OFFENDER FAILS TO APPEAR FOR REGISTRATION

When a jurisdiction is notified that a sex offender intends to reside, be employed, or attend
school in their jurisdiction, and that offender fails to appear for registration as required, the
jurisdiction receiving that notice must do the following:

Inform the jurisdiction that provided the notification (that the offender was to
commence employment, residence, and/or school in the new jurisdiction) that the sex
offender failed to appear for registration

XV. WHEN A JURISDICTION HAS INFORMATION THAT A SEX OFFENDER
MAY HAVE ABSCONDED

When a jurisdiction has information that a sex offender may have absconded, certain actions
must be taken.

An cffort must be made to determine whether the sex offender has actually absconded

If no determination can be made, then a law enforcement agency with jurisdiction to
investigate the matter must be notified

If the information indicating the possible absconding came through notice from another
jurisdiction or federal authorities, the authorities that provided the notification must be
informed that the sex offender has failed to appear and register

If an absconded sex offender cannot be located, then the jurisdiction must take the
following steps:

The information in the registry must be revised to reflect that the sex offender is an
absconder or unlocatable
A warrant must be sought for the sex offender’s arrest, if the legal requirements for

doing so are satisfied
The United States Marshals Service, which is the lead federal agency for

investigating sex offender registration violations, must be notified
The jurisdiction must update NSOR to reflect the sex offender’s status as an

absconder or unlocatable
The jurisdiction must enter the sex offender into the National Crime Information

Center Wanted Person File (assuming issuance of a warrant meeting the requirement
for entry into that file)
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