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The District Court Commissioner 
 

 

History of the Maryland District Court 

 

 The District Court began operation on July 5, 1971, as a result of the ratification of a 

constitutional amendment consolidating a disparate system of trial magistrates, people’s courts, 

and municipal courts into a fully State-funded and operated court of record possessing statewide 

jurisdiction.
1
  The District Court is divided by statute into 12 geographical jurisdictions, each 

containing one or more counties, with at least one judge and courthouse in each county.   

 

 Justice under the Old System and the Evolution of the District Court 
 

According to the Maryland Judiciary’s webpage, “[u]nder the old system, trials were held 

in homes, basements of retail establishments, or other unsuitable places.  Often, untrained 

magistrates or justices of the peace staffed these courts.  As a result, the quality of justice varied 

from county to county and failed to provide the citizens of Maryland a judicial system that 

deserved their full trust and confidence.” 

 

The Administrative Office of the Courts advises that, prior to 1939, justices of peace in 

Maryland had concurrent jurisdiction with the State’s criminal courts for: 

 

 assault without felonious intent; 

 assault and battery; 

 petit larceny less than $5 (a felony); 

 all misdemeanors not punishable by confinement in penitentiary; and 

 all prosecutions punishable by fine or imprisonment in jail or in the Maryland House of 

Correction. 

 

From 1939 to 1971, the duties of justices of the peace began to change, including 

preventing breaches of peace, arresting individuals for breaches of peace, service as notaries 

public, and forwarding some cases to trial courts.  In addition, during this period, committing 

magistrates were authorized to issue criminal warrants, set bail or collateral, and commit 

defendants to jail in default of posting cases for minor offenses.  Trial magistrates, a third of 

whom were lawyers, were given certain civil trial authority for cases involving $500 or less, 

certain criminal trial authority, as well as the authority to handle support cases and to issue 

                                                           
 

1
 The District Court of Maryland replaced all of the then existing local trial magistrates; justices of the 

peace (existing in 11 counties); the Municipal Court of Baltimore City; the Housing Court of Baltimore City; and 

the people’s courts in Baltimore City and Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Harford, Montgomery, Prince George’s, and 

Wicomico counties. 
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search warrants.  Trial magistrates also handled some adjudications in police courts, people’s 

courts, and municipal courts.   

 

In 1971, pursuant to the constitutional amendment, people’s court and municipal court 

judges automatically became District Court judges.  The establishment of the new court also 

included the creation of District Court commissioners as constitutional judicial officers.   

 

The limited role and powers of commissioners had been robustly debated throughout 

1969 by the Maryland Legislative Council’s Subcommittee on District Courts.  Generally, there 

was a desire to avoid the revival of inherent problems of the trial magistrate system by vesting 

judicial responsibility in lay commissioners within the Judiciary.  The subcommittee did not wish 

to allow the commissioner authority to extend to show cause orders, subpoena duces tecum, 

preliminary trial hearings, or search warrants.  The subcommittee also thought it wise that the 

issuance of arrest warrants by District Court judges who might later adjudicate the related case 

be kept to a minimum.  Such a commissioner system was thought to provide greater access to the 

judicial system to citizens and the police. 

 

In general, under the 1970 constitutional and legislative enactments, commissioners were 

authorized to “perform all the functions of committing magistrates as exercised by the justices of 

the peace prior to July 5, 1971.”  Accordingly, under the new constitutional provisions and 

statutory changes, a District Court commissioner is charged with the duty and authority to issue 

charging documents or warrants of arrest, and determining the conditions of pre-trial release of 

persons arrested and accused of violations of law.  Commissioners are appointed by the 

Administrative Judge of each District Court district, subject to the approval of the Chief Judge of 

the District Court, at whose pleasure they serve.  Though the District Court Act stipulates that a 

commissioner need not be an attorney, as of February 1998, newly appointed commissioners are 

required to have at least a bachelor’s degree.
2
 

 

The Maryland Rules adopted by the Court of Appeals to govern procedures in the District 

Court stipulate that a commissioner is a judicial officer, and those rules, together with provisions 

of Section 2-607 of the Courts and Judicial Proceedings Article, detail the rights, responsibilities 

and authority of the commissioners.  A commissioner, like a judge, is prohibited from engaging 

in partisan political activity.  In addition, as judicial officers, commissioners are guided by the 

Canons of Ethics adopted by the Court of Appeals.  

 

Most people experience Maryland’s court system through the District Court.  Cases heard 

in the District Court include motor vehicle (traffic) and boating violations and other 

misdemeanors and specified felonies, domestic violence and peace order petitions, 

landlord-tenant disputes, small claims and other civil cases involving limited dollar amounts, and 

                                                           
 

2
 According to information provided by the Administrative Office of the Courts in October 2012, of the 279 

District Court commissioners, 233 have a bachelor’s degree, 18 have master’s degrees, one has a Ph.D., 18 have 

Juris Doctorate degrees, 5 have associates degrees, and 4 have high school diplomas.  The 9 commissioners who do 

not have bachelor’s degrees were employed as District Court commissioners prior to the implementation of the 

educational requirement in February 1998.   
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replevin (recovery of wrongfully taken or detained goods).  Each county and the City of 

Baltimore have at least one District Court location.  Cases in the District Court are argued before 

judges only; there are no jury trials in District Court.  During its first year of operation, the 

District Court processed a total of 778,718 cases.  In fiscal 2011, 1,818,028 cases were filed in 

the District Court. 

 

When the District Court was established, Maryland stood almost alone among the states 

in abolishing all part-time and local courts of limited jurisdiction and replacing them with a 

single statewide court, centrally administered, and staffed by experienced judges.  Since that 

time, several states have replicated the Maryland model.  

 

 

Duties of Maryland District Court Commissioners 
 

Two of the primary duties of Maryland’s District Court commissioners are (1) conducting 

initial appearances by arrestees (including pretrial release and bail determinations); and 

(2) issuing arrest warrants under certain circumstances. 

 

 Initial Appearances by Arrestees/Criminal Defendants 
 

Within 24 hours after arrest, a criminal defendant is taken before a judicial office, 

typically a District Court commissioner, for an initial appearance.  At the initial appearance, the 

defendant is advised of (1) each offense charged; (2) the right to counsel; and (3) the right to a 

preliminary hearing, if applicable.  In some jurisdictions, the defendant is given a District Court 

trial date at the initial appearance.  Otherwise, the defendant is told that notice of the trial date 

will follow by mail. 

 

If the defendant was arrested without a warrant, the commissioner must determine 

whether there was probable cause for the arrest.  If it is determined that there was no probable 

cause, the defendant is released on personal recognizance with no other conditions of release.  If 

it is determined that there was probable cause, the commissioner must also determine whether 

the defendant is eligible for release from custody prior to trial and, if so, under what conditions.  

A defendant who is denied pretrial release by the commissioner, or one who remains in custody 

24 hours after the commissioner has set the conditions of release, is entitled to a bail review 

hearing before a judge.  The primary purpose of the bail review hearing is to determine whether 

the conditions of release set by the commissioner should be continued, amended, or revoked. 

 

Pretrial Release of a Criminal Defendant 

 

A criminal defendant is entitled to be released pending trial unless a judge ultimately 

determines that no conditions can be placed on the defendant’s release that would reasonably 

ensure the defendant’s appearance at trial and the safety of the alleged victim, another person, 

and the community.  Historically, approximately 50% of people who appear before 
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commissioners are released on personal recognizance.  However, if a judicial officer determines 

that release on personal recognizance alone is not appropriate, or the defendant is by law 

ineligible for release on recognizance, the defendant may be released prior to trial only by 

posting bail in an amount set by the judicial officer. 

 

In determining whether a defendant should be released and the conditions of pretrial 

release, the judicial officer is required to take into account the following information, if 

available:  (1) the nature and circumstances of the offense; (2) the nature of the evidence against 

the defendant and the potential sentence upon conviction; (3) the defendant’s prior record and 

history with regard to appearing in court as required; (4) the defendant’s employment status and 

history, family ties, financial resources, reputation, character and mental condition, and length of 

residence in the community and the State; (5) the potential danger of the defendant to himself or 

herself, the victim, or others; (6) recommendations of the State’s Attorney and any agency that 

conducts a pretrial release investigation; (7) information provided by the defendant or the 

defendant’s counsel; and (8) any other factor bearing on the risk of a willful failure to appear and 

the safety of the alleged victim, another person, or the community, including all prior convictions 

and any prior adjudications of delinquency that occurred within three years of the date the 

defendant is charged as an adult. 

 

In most cases, pretrial release determinations are made at the defendant’s initial 

appearance before a District Court commissioner.  A commissioner may not, however, authorize 

the release of certain defendants, including defendants registered with the sex offender registry 

maintained by the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services and defendants 

charged with specific offenses (e.g., crimes of violence, violation of a protective order, drug 

kingpin, etc.).  Pretrial release of such defendants may be authorized only by a judge, and only 

on suitable bail, on any other conditions that will reasonably ensure that the defendant will not 

flee or pose a danger to others, or on both bail and such other conditions.  See Appendix 1 for a 

more comprehensive list of defendants ineligible for pretrial release by a District Court 

commissioner. 

 

At the initial appearance, the commissioner has access to several criminal justice 

databases to review the defendant’s criminal history and to determine whether there are any 

pending charges, any prior occasions when the defendant failed to appear in court, or any 

outstanding warrants.  The commissioner also relies on information provided in the statement of 

probable cause or charging document, the defendant’s Record of Arrest and Prosecution sheet, 

and information learned from the defendant.  A typical initial appearance involves the defendant 

and the commissioner, and the appearance must occur within 24 hours of arrest.  Initial 

appearances currently take between 15 to 30 minutes to complete.   

 

In some jurisdictions, a pretrial investigation services unit provides verified factual 

information that becomes available to assist the judge in setting conditions for release at a bail 

review hearing.  The investigation by the pretrial services unit could include a community 

background check, verification of employment, information provided by the defendant or the 
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defendant’s family, and additional factors concerning the defendant’s criminal history that were 

not available to the commissioner. 

 

Currently, 279 District Court commissioners occupy 41 stations with 125 desks 

throughout the State.  District Court commissioners handled 171,144 initial appearances in 

fiscal 2010 and 176,523 initial appearances in fiscal 2011, as detailed in Exhibit 1.  According to 

the Judiciary, commissioners granted a release on personal recognizance to 77,704 defendants 

(44%) in fiscal 2011.  District Court commissioners worked 493,067 hours during fiscal 2011.  

This number represents time spent on all commissioner duties.   
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Exhibit 1 

Initial Appearances by Jurisdiction 

Fiscal 2010 and 2011 

 

 

County 

FY 2010 Initial 

Appearances 

FY 2011 Initial 

Appearances 

Allegany 2,141 2,034 

Anne Arundel 13,481 14,475 

Baltimore City 54,058 52,686 

Baltimore  17,477 17,527 

Calvert 2,035 2,162 

Caroline 888 1,004 

Carroll 2,025 2,225 

Cecil 2,946 3,651 

Charles 4,684 4,514 

Dorchester 1,106 1,188 

Frederick 3,827 3,719 

Garrett 630 850 

Harford 3,361 3,213 

Howard 4,240 3,988 

Kent 485 533 

Montgomery 14,668 15,008 

Prince George’s 26,745 30,340 

Queen Anne’s 1,154 1,277 

St. Mary’s 2,760 2,469 

Somerset 625 722 

Talbot 922 1,098 

Washington 2,577 3,016 

Wicomico 4,336 4,311 

Worcester 3,973 4,513 

   
Statewide Total 171,144 176,523 

 

Source:  Administrative Office of the Courts 

 

 

 Issuance of Arrest Warrants 

 

The criminal justice process generally begins when a person is alleged to have committed 

a crime that is observed by or reported to a law enforcement officer.  This is followed by an 

arrest, which is the detention of a suspected offender for the purpose of potential criminal 

prosecution.  An arrest may be made either on the issuance of an arrest warrant after a charging 

document has been filed or without a warrant in certain situations.   
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 Warrantless Arrest 

 

 A law enforcement officer may make a warrantless arrest when (1) a crime is committed 

in the officer’s presence; (2) the officer has probable cause to believe that a felony was attempted 

or committed, even though the crime did not occur in the officer’s presence; or (3) the officer has 

probable cause to believe that one of a limited number of misdemeanors was committed (e.g., 

illegally carrying a handgun or other weapon, theft, domestic abuse, stalking) even though the 

crime did not occur in the officer’s presence.  Otherwise, for a police officer to be authorized to 

make an arrest, a judge or District Court commissioner must first issue a warrant based on a 

finding of probable cause. 

 

Charging Documents 

 

The issuance of a charging document, regardless of whether an individual is arrested, 

formally initiates the criminal process.  The charging document is a written accusation alleging 

that the defendant has committed a crime.  A charging document may come in the form of a 

citation, a statement of charges, an information, or an indictment. 

 

 A charging document must contain (1) the identity of the accused; (2) a concise and 

definite statement of the essential facts establishing the offense; (3) the time and location of the 

offense; and (4) the rights of the accused, including the right to counsel.  The statute or other law 

allegedly violated must follow each charge or count in the charging document. 

 

There are four types of charging documents.  Exhibit 2 provides a summary of which 

official or entity files each type of charging document and the court in which each type of 

charging document is filed. 

 

 

Exhibit 2 

Summary of Charging Documents 
 

Charging Document Filed by Where Filed 

Citation Law Enforcement Officer District Court 

Statement of Charges Judge or Court Commissioner 

(based on application made by a law enforcement 

officer or any other individual) 

District Court 

Information State’s Attorney District Court or 

Circuit Court 

Grand Jury Indictment Circuit Court Circuit Court 

 

Source:  Department of Legislative Services 
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 Citation 

 

 A citation is issued to a defendant by a law enforcement officer and filed by the officer in 

the District Court.  The term “citation” means a written charging document that a police officer 

or fire marshal issues to a defendant, alleging the defendant has committed a crime.  It does not 

include an indictment, information, or statement of charges.  In general, a defendant who has 

been issued a citation (or a summons) does not have an initial appearance before a District Court 

commissioner.  Instead, the defendant appears before a judge on the date of arraignment or trial.  

At that time, the judge will advise the defendant of the nature of the charges and the right to 

counsel and confirm that the defendant received a copy of the charging document.  However, 

some jurisdictions, such as Anne Arundel and Montgomery counties, require cited individuals to 

appear before a District Court commissioner for an explanation of the right to counsel. 

 

Pursuant to Chapter 505 of 2012, a police officer is required to issue a citation for 

possession of marijuana or any misdemeanor or local ordinance violation that does not carry a 

penalty of imprisonment or for which the maximum penalty of imprisonment is 90 days or less, 

except for (1) failure to comply with a peace order or protective order; (2) violation of a 

condition of pretrial or posttrial release while charged with a sexual crime against a minor; 

(3) possession of an electronic control device after conviction of a drug felony or a crime of 

violence; (4) violation of an out-of-state domestic violence order; or (5) abuse or neglect of an 

animal.  

 

A police officer is authorized to charge a defendant by citation only if (1) the officer is 

satisfied with the defendant’s evidence of identity; (2) the officer reasonably believes that the 

defendant will comply with the citation; (3) the officer reasonably believes that the failure to 

charge on a statement of charges will not pose a threat to public safety; (4) the defendant is not 

subject to arrest for another criminal charge arising out of the same incident; and (5) the 

defendant complies with all lawful orders by the officer.  A police officer who has grounds to 

make a warrantless arrest for an offense that may be charged by citation may (1) issue a citation 

in lieu of making the arrest; or (2) make the arrest and subsequently issue a citation in lieu of 

continued custody. 

 

 Statement of Charges 

 

Before the arrest of an alleged offender, a statement of charges may be filed by a judicial 

officer with the District Court based on an application of a law enforcement officer or any other 

individual (including a private citizen).  The application contains an affidavit demonstrating 

probable cause that the defendant committed the crime charged.  The judicial officer has the 

authority to determine whether the application establishes probable cause. 

 

 Although the judicial officer may be a judge, it is more likely that the officer will be a 

District Court commissioner.  District Court commissioners are available 24 hours a day for 

judicial duties.  A statement of charges may only be used for offenses that may be prosecuted in 

the District Court. 
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If a law enforcement officer makes a warrantless arrest, the officer must then apply for a 

statement of charges to be filed in the District Court, along with an affidavit showing probable 

cause. 

 

Chapter 505 of 2012 authorizes a District Court commissioner to issue an arrest warrant 

based on an application for a statement of charges filed by an individual only on a finding that 

there is probable cause to believe that the defendant committed the offense charged in the 

charging document and (1) the defendant previously has failed to respond to a summons that has 

been personally served or a citation; (2) the defendant’s whereabouts are unknown and the 

issuance of a warrant is necessary to subject the defendant to the jurisdiction of the court; (3) the 

defendant is in custody for another offense; or (4) there is probable cause to believe that the 

defendant poses a danger to another person or the community.  If a commissioner is not 

authorized to issue an arrest warrant based on application for a statement of charges filed by an 

individual, he/she may issue a summons. 

 

 Information 

 

An information is filed by a State’s Attorney in either a circuit court or the District Court.  

Any offense within the jurisdiction of the District Court may be tried on an information, although 

some offenses may be tried by information in a circuit court.   

 

 Grand Jury Indictment 

 

Rather than filing an information, a State’s Attorney may seek to have the accused 

charged by grand jury indictment when the charge is a felony.  The circuit court files an 

indictment returned by a grand jury.   

  

 Summons or Arrest Warrant 

 

 Once a charging document is filed, the court must issue a summons or arrest warrant.  A 

copy of the charging document accompanies the summons or warrant.  A summons notifies the 

defendant of the time and place to make an initial appearance before the court to answer the 

charges.  It may be served to the defendant by mail or in person.  A summons will be issued 

unless (1) an arrest warrant has been issued; (2) the defendant is in custody; or (3) the charging 

document is a citation. 

 

There are several circumstances in which an arrest warrant may be issued in lieu of a 

summons.  An arrest warrant may be issued from either the District Court or a circuit court if the 

defendant is not in custody and there is a substantial likelihood that the defendant will not 

respond to a summons.  Additionally, the District Court may issue an arrest warrant if either the 

defendant previously failed to respond to a summons or citation or the defendant’s whereabouts 

are unknown, or if there are concerns about the safety of the victim. 
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 Exhibit 3 shows the numbers of applications for a statement of charges made by private 

citizens and law enforcement and the number of arrest warrants issued based on these 

applications in fiscal 2010 and 2011. 

 

 

Exhibit 3 

Applications for Statement of Charges and Warrants Issued Based on 

Applications Made to District Court Commissioners 
 

 Fiscal 2010 Fiscal 2011 

 

Applications by Citizens 28,295 28,095 

 

Applications by Law Enforcement 37,445 40,026 

 

Warrants Issued Based on Citizen 

Applications 

 

13,333 12,907 

Warrants Issued Based on Law Enforcement 

Applications 

15,652 15,152 

 
Source:  Administrative Office of the Courts 

 

 

 According to the Judiciary, in fiscal 2011, the sources for cases appearing before District 

Court commissioners were as follows:  (1) 68,121 from applications for statements of charges 

made by private citizens or law enforcement; (2) 2,303 based on a criminal information; and 

(3) 103,689 from warrantless arrests made by law enforcement officers.  District Court 

commissioners conducted 176,523 initial appearance hearings in fiscal 2011, of which 72,834 

were based on arrest warrants or bench warrants. 

 

 

The Survey 
 

 Methodology 
 

The primary functions of Maryland District Court commissioners are performed by 

individuals in every state.  Preliminary research indicated that the titles of these individuals 

varied by state, and that the requirements for a position in one state could differ greatly from the 

requirements for a position carrying the same title in another state.  For instance, several states 

have “magistrates” who issue arrest warrants or make pretrial release determinations.  However, 

the term “magistrate” is used to refer to individuals with a variety of educational and 

professional requirements, and a person who is a “magistrate” in one state may not be qualified 

to be a “magistrate” in another state. 
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In addition, the available academic research on this topic was not current, was limited in 

scope, or did not contain information on Maryland’s system in order to get a better sense of the 

research techniques or labels/categorization utilized by the authors. 

 

As a result, the Department of Legislative Services contacted officials in 49 states and the 

District of Columbia with a survey on individuals authorized to issue arrest warrants and make 

pretrial release/bail determinations.  The survey contained several questions, including questions 

regarding (1) individuals authorized to issue arrest warrants, determine pretrial release, and issue 

bail; (2) whether individuals who are not attorneys or law school graduates are authorized to 

conduct these functions; (3) the availability of individuals authorized to issue bail or authorize 

pretrial release; and (4) the location of bail/pretrial release determinations. 

 

 Survey Results 

 

Out of the 50 jurisdictions contacted, 30 responded to the survey.  Twenty of the 

respondents indicated that non-attorneys/law school graduates are authorized to issue arrest 

warrants, while nine states reported that only positions requiring a law degree or license to 

practice law are authorized to issue arrest warrants.  Nineteen states indicated that 

non-attorneys/law school graduates are authorized to make pretrial release determinations while 

10 states responded that individuals conducting these duties must have a law degree/law license.  

One responding state (California) did not provide answers to these questions in its survey 

response.  In several states, such as Alabama and North Carolina, non-attorney magistrates were 

the individuals primarily responsible for these functions.  However, some states indicated that 

individuals in these positions, though not primarily responsible for these functions, ensure that 

coverage is available during non-court hours.  Exhibit 4 provides a list of state responses to 

these questions. 
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Exhibit 4 

Authorization for Non-Attorneys/Law School Graduates to Issue Arrest 

Warrants or Make Pretrial Release/Bail Determinations 

 

Arrest Warrants Pretrial Release/Bail Determinations 
    

Non-attorney/law 

school graduate 

positions authorized to 

issue  

arrest warrants 

Non-attorney/law 

school graduate 

positions NOT 

authorized to issue 

arrest warrants 

Non-attorney/law 

school graduate 

positions authorized to 

make pretrial 

release/bail 

determinations 

Non-attorney/law 

school graduate 

positions NOT 

authorized to make 

pretrial release/bail 

determinations 

 

Alabama 

Alaska 

Arizona 

Delaware 

Georgia 

Kentucky 

Maine 

Massachusetts 

Michigan 

Mississippi 

Montana 

New Hampshire 

North Carolina 

Ohio 

Pennsylvania 

South Dakota 

Texas 

Utah 

Virginia
3
 

Washington 

 

Arkansas 

Colorado 

Connecticut 

Florida 

Idaho
4
 

Indiana 

Iowa 

Louisiana 

New Mexico 

 

Alabama 

Alaska 

Arizona 

Colorado 

Connecticut 

Delaware 

Georgia 

Indiana 

Maine 

Massachusetts 

Michigan 

Mississippi 

Montana 

New Hampshire 

North Carolina 

Pennsylvania 

Texas 

Utah 

Virginia
5
 

 

Arkansas 

Florida 

Idaho
6
 

Iowa 

Kentucky 

Louisiana 

New Mexico 

Ohio 

South Dakota 

Washington 

 

Source:  Department of Legislative Services 

 
 

                                                           
 

3
 In Virginia, after 2008 reforms, almost all magistrates have law degrees and/or are licensed attorneys. 

 
4
 Though non-attorney magistrate judges are authorized in statute, Idaho has not had non-attorney 

magistrate judges for several years. 

 
5
 Please see Footnote 3 

 
6
 Please see Footnote 4. 
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Another theme that emerged through the survey responses was the existence and use of 

bail schedules.  Bail schedules prescribe a bail range for specified offenses.  Though the survey 

did not specifically ask about bail schedules, 15 of the 30 responding states indicated that they 

use bail schedules.  The use of these schedules varies by state.  In some states, the schedule is 

advisory in nature or provides a guideline for bail decisions.  In other jurisdictions, specified 

individuals (typically bail commissioners) are required to use the schedules.  Some jurisdictions 

indicated that they use bail schedules as a matter of practice.  However in other states, bail 

schedules provide an opportunity to delegate limited bail setting authority to additional 

personnel.  For instance, in New Mexico, judges make bail determinations.  However, some 

courts in New Mexico have authorized local detention facilities to release arrestees if the arrestee 

posts bail in an amount specified in the bail schedule for the alleged offense.  See Appendix 2 

for detailed information regarding the responses to the survey.  Appendix 3 provides further 

detailed Fact Sheets based on responses to the survey for select states. 
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Appendix 1 

Defendants Ineligible for Pretrial Release by a District Court 

Commissioner 
 

 

Please refer to Criminal Procedure Article, § 5-202 for complete information on 

defendants who are not eligible for pretrial release by a District Court commissioner. 

 

In General 
 

In most cases, pretrial release determinations are made at the defendant’s initial 

appearance before a District Court commissioner.  A commissioner may not, however, authorize 

the release of certain defendants, including defendants who are registered sex offenders and 

defendants charged:    

 

 with a crime punishable by death or life imprisonment; 

 with escaping from a correctional facility or any other place of confinement in the State; 

 as a drug kingpin;  

 with a crime of violence (as defined under Criminal Law Article, § 14-101), if the 

defendant has been previously convicted of a crime of violence under the laws of this 

State or has been convicted under the laws of another state of a crime classified as a 

crime of violence in Maryland; and 

 with violating the provisions of a domestic violence protective order (temporary or 

otherwise) ordering the defendant to refrain from abusing or threatening to abuse a 

person eligible for relief (applies to orders issued by a court in Maryland, another state, or 

by a Native American tribe).  

 

 

Repeat Offender – Defendant Charged with a Specified Crime Who Has a 

Prior Conviction for a Specified Crime 
 

A District Court commissioner may not authorize the pretrial release of a defendant 

charged with one of the following crimes if the defendant has previously been convicted of one 

of the following crimes: 

 

(1) wearing, carrying, or transporting a handgun;  

(2) use of a handgun or an antique firearm in commission of a crime; 

(3) violating prohibitions relating to assault pistols under § 4–303 of the Criminal Law 

Article; 

(4) use of a machine gun in a crime of violence; 

(5) use of a machine gun for an aggressive purpose; 
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(6) possessing, using, wearing, carrying, or transporting a firearm during and in relation to a 

drug trafficking crime under § 5–621 of the Criminal Law Article; 

(7) possession of a regulated firearm under § 5–133 of the Public Safety Article; 

(8) transporting a regulated firearm for unlawful sale or trafficking; or 

(9) possession of a rifle or shotgun by a person with a mental disorder. 

 

 

Repeat Offender – Defendant Charged with Committing a Specified Crime 

While Released on Bail or Personal Recognizance on a Prior Charge of 

Committing a Specified Crime 
 

A District Court commissioner also may not authorize the pretrial release of a defendant 

charged with committing one of the following crimes while the defendant was released on bail 

or personal recognizance for a pending prior charge of committing one of the following 

crimes: 

 

(1) aiding, counseling, or procuring arson in the first degree;  

(2) arson in the second degree or attempting, aiding, counseling, or procuring arson in the 

second degree; 

(3) burglary in the first, second, or third degree; 

(4) child abuse or sexual abuse of a minor;  

(5) manufacture or possession of a destructive device;  

(6) various offenses related to controlled dangerous substances (CDS), except for possessing 

or administering CDS; 

(7) manslaughter by vehicle or vessel; and 

(8) a crime of violence.  
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Appendix 2. 

Individuals Responsible
7
 for the Issuance of Arrest Warrants and Pretrial Release 

Determinations in Jurisdictions Other than Maryland 
 

State 

Issuers of Arrest 

Warrants 

Issuers for 

Whom a Law 

Degree or 

License to 

Practice Law Is 

Not Required 

Individuals 

Who Can 

Authorize 

Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Issuers for 

Whom a Law 

Degree or 

License 

Practice Is Not 

Required 

Availability of 

Individuals 

Authorized to 

Issue Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Location of 

Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Determinations 

Bail 

Schedule
8
 

Alabama Judges, District 

magistrates, circuit 

clerks, municipal 

court clerks, and 

municipal court 

magistrates. 

Clerks and 

magistrates. 

Judges, District 

magistrates, 

circuit clerks, 

municipal court 

clerks, and 

municipal court 

magistrates. 

Clerks and 

magistrates. 

Municipal court 

clerks and 

municipal 

magistrates provide 

night and weekend 

coverage. 

Jail for most 

misdemeanor 

cases; 

courthouse for 

felony cases; 

electronic 

communications 

used in limited 

circumstances. 

Advisory bail 

schedule used 

(Clerks and 

magistrates 

may only 

approve bail 

within ranges 

provided in 

schedule). 

Alaska 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Judges, 

magistrates, and 

deputy magistrates. 

Magistrates and 

deputy 

magistrates. 

Judges, 

magistrates, 

and deputy 

magistrates 

(Corrections 

Office can set 

bail in 

Magistrates and 

deputy 

magistrates. 

Varies by 

jurisdiction, but all 

jurisdictions have 

weekend coverage. 

Varies by 

jurisdiction, but 

may be held in 

jail or 

courthouse.  

May also be 

made via 

Bail schedule 

used for 

certain 

offenses. 

                                                           
 

7
 The repeated referral to a particular position title is not meant to imply that there are uniform educational/professional requirements or occupational 

duties associated with that position among the responding states. 

 
8
 Bail schedules prescribe a set bail amount or bail range based on the offense the arrestee is alleged to have committed.  Though the survey did not 

contain questions regarding the existence or use of bail schedules, the use of these schedules emerged as a recurring theme among responses to the survey. 
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State 

Issuers of Arrest 

Warrants 

Issuers for 

Whom a Law 

Degree or 

License to 

Practice Law Is 

Not Required 

Individuals 

Who Can 

Authorize 

Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Issuers for 

Whom a Law 

Degree or 

License 

Practice Is Not 

Required 

Availability of 

Individuals 

Authorized to 

Issue Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Location of 

Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Determinations 

Bail 

Schedule
8
 

Alaska (cont.) misdemeanor 

cases using bail 

schedule). 

telephone or 

video 

conference. 

Arizona Judges and 

commissioners. 

Municipal court 

judges and Justice 

of the Peace Court 

judges
9
. 

Judges and 

commissioners. 

Municipal 

court judges 

and Justice of 

the Peace Court 

judges. 

Varies by 

jurisdiction, but all 

jurisdictions have 

weekend coverage. 

Courthouse or 

courtroom 

located in a jail. 

Bail schedule 

used for 

misdemeanor 

offenses. 

Arkansas Judges. None. Judges. None. Varies by 

jurisdiction. 

Courthouse for 

overwhelming 

majority of 

cases.  Video 

conference used 

in limited 

circumstances. 

None cited. 

                                                           
 

9
 In Arizona, some jurisdictions require Municipal Court judges to be attorneys.   
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State 

Issuers of Arrest 

Warrants 

Issuers for 

Whom a Law 

Degree or 

License to 

Practice Law Is 

Not Required 

Individuals 

Who Can 

Authorize 

Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Issuers for 

Whom a Law 

Degree or 

License 

Practice Is Not 

Required 

Availability of 

Individuals 

Authorized to 

Issue Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Location of 

Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Determinations 

Bail 

Schedule
8
 

California 

 

Judges acting as 

magistrates. 

Did not respond. Judges acting 

as magistrates 

 

Law 

enforcement 

authorized to 

release persons 

subject to 

certain 

statutory 

limitations. 

Did not 

respond. 

Mandatory night 

court for large 

jurisdictions (CA 

Penal Code 750). 

 

On-call system 

during 

non-business hours 

in other 

jurisdictions (CA 

Penal Code 810). 

Did not respond. Presumptive 

bail schedule 

used (may 

deviate on 

case by case 

basis). 

Colorado Judges and 

magistrates. 

County judges in 

small counties. 

Sheriff’s 

officers (must 

use bond 

schedule, use 

the bail amount 

listed on the 

arrest warrant, 

or call a judge 

(rare)). 

Sheriff’s 

officers. 

Decisions are 

reached 24 hours a 

day by the sheriff’s 

officers. 

Jail. Option to use 

a bond 

schedule. 

Connecticut Judges. None. Police, bail 

staff, and 

judges. 

Police and bail 

staff. 

Day shift 

(8am-5pm) and 

Night shift 

(6pm-3am). 

Police 

departments and 

courthouses. 

None cited. 
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State 

Issuers of Arrest 

Warrants 

Issuers for 

Whom a Law 

Degree or 

License to 

Practice Law Is 

Not Required 

Individuals 

Who Can 

Authorize 

Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Issuers for 

Whom a Law 

Degree or 

License 

Practice Is Not 

Required 

Availability of 

Individuals 

Authorized to 

Issue Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Location of 

Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Determinations 

Bail 

Schedule
8
 

Delaware Judges, 

commissioners, and 

Justices of the 

Peace. 

Justices of the 

Peace. 

Judges, 

commissioners, 

and Justices of 

the Peace. 

Justices of the 

Peace. 

24 hour coverage 

provided by having 

at least one Justice 

of the Peace Court 

open in each 

county. 

Courthouse, but 

may use video 

conferencing. 

Advisory bail 

schedule. 

District of 

Columbia 

Did not respond.       

Florida 

 

Judges. None. Judges, but 

only if arrestee 

cannot post the 

bond amount 

indicated on 

the arrest 

warrant or on 

the bond 

schedule. 

None. Arrestees must be 

seen by judge 

within 24 hours of 

arrest if they do not 

make bail. 

Jail (courtrooms 

inside jail). 

Option to use 

a bond 

schedule. 

Georgia Judges and 

magistrates. 

Magistrates.
10

 Judges and 

magistrates. 

Magistrates. Varies by 

jurisdiction. 

Varies by 

jurisdiction. 

Jurisdictions 

are authorized 

to adopt their 

own bail 

schedules for 

certain 

offenses. 

Hawaii Did not respond.       

                                                           
 

10
 Approximately 12% of Georgia’s counties have passed laws requiring magistrates to be attorneys. 
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State 

Issuers of Arrest 

Warrants 

Issuers for 

Whom a Law 

Degree or 

License to 

Practice Law Is 

Not Required 

Individuals 

Who Can 

Authorize 

Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Issuers for 

Whom a Law 

Degree or 

License 

Practice Is Not 

Required 

Availability of 

Individuals 

Authorized to 

Issue Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Location of 

Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Determinations 

Bail 

Schedule
8
 

Idaho Did not respond. Non-attorney 

magistrate judges 

are authorized in 

statute, but Idaho 

has not had non-

attorney 

magistrate judges 

for several years. 

Judges. Non-attorney 

magistrate 

judges are 

authorized in 

statute, but 

Idaho has not 

had 

non-attorney 

magistrate 

judges for 

several years. 

Magistrate judges 

are generally on 

call 24 hours. 

Courthouse. Bail schedule 

used for 

misdemeanor 

offenses. 

Illinois Did not respond.       

Indiana Judge or 

magistrate. 

None. Judge or 

magistrate. 

 

Jail staff for 

certain charges 

pursuant to bail 

schedule). 

Jail Staff. Normally court 

hours, some 

jurisdictions 

provide 24/7 

judges. 

Courthouse or 

jail (if bail set 

by jail staff). 

Yes—locally 

set. 

Iowa Judicial magistrates 

or judges. 

None. Judicial 

magistrates or 

judges. 

None. Magistrates on call 

24/7, rotational 

duty. 

Court. Bail 

guidelines 

apply, can 

only exceed 

for good 

cause. 

Kansas Did not respond.       
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State 

Issuers of Arrest 

Warrants 

Issuers for 

Whom a Law 

Degree or 

License to 

Practice Law Is 

Not Required 

Individuals 

Who Can 

Authorize 

Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Issuers for 

Whom a Law 

Degree or 

License 

Practice Is Not 

Required 

Availability of 

Individuals 

Authorized to 

Issue Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Location of 

Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Determinations 

Bail 

Schedule
8
 

Kentucky 

 

District Court 

judges (mostly), 

circuit court judges, 

and trial 

commissioners.  

County circuit 

clerks only if all 

others are 

unavailable. 

County circuit 

clerks and trial 

commissioner.
11

  

District Court 

judges. 

None. Off-duty judges 

rotate coverage 

during non-

business hours. 

Wherever 

judges are 

located through 

the e-warrant 

system. 

Yes–for a 

misdemeanor. 

Louisiana District Court 

judges, city court 

judges, or 

magistrates. 

None. District Court 

judge, city 

court judge, or 

magistrates. 

None. 24/7 duty rotations 

based on local 

need. 

Courtroom, jail, 

and/or closed 

circuit television 

to jail. 

None cited. 

Maine Judges (primary). 

 

Clerks with 

approval of Chief 

Judge if other 

judges are not 

available. 

Clerks of Court. Bail 

commissioners 

and judges. 

Bail 

commissioners. 

Judges during court 

hours, bail 

commissioners 

outside of court 

hours. 

Anywhere 

(usually 

courthouse, 

county jail, or 

police station; 

more flexible in 

rural areas). 

None cited. 

Massachusetts 

 

Judges.  

 

Clerks/magistrates. 

Clerks/magistrates. Judges, clerks/ 

magistrates, 

and bail 

commissioners. 

Clerks/ 

magistrates and 

bail 

commissioners. 

24/7 coverage 

(According to the 

survey response, 

bail commissioners 

are used during 

Police stations, 

jails, and 

courthouses. 

None cited. 

                                                           
 

11
 In Kentucky, before a non-attorney trial commissioner can be appointed, the Chief Judge of the District Court must certify to the Chief Justice that no 

attorney is qualified and available to serve as a trial commissioner. 
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State 

Issuers of Arrest 

Warrants 

Issuers for 

Whom a Law 

Degree or 

License to 

Practice Law Is 

Not Required 

Individuals 

Who Can 

Authorize 

Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Issuers for 

Whom a Law 

Degree or 

License 

Practice Is Not 

Required 

Availability of 

Individuals 

Authorized to 

Issue Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Location of 

Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Determinations 

Bail 

Schedule
8
 

non-court hours.  

During court hours, 

arrestees are taken 

to judge for 

arraignment). 

Michigan District and circuit 

court judges and 

magistrates. 

Magistrates. District and 

circuit court 

judges and 

magistrates. 

Magistrates. 24/7. Courthouse. None cited. 

Minnesota Did not respond.       

Mississippi Municipal, county, 

circuit, and justice 

court judges. 

Justice court 

judges. 

Municipal, 

county, circuit, 

and justice 

court judges. 

Justice court 

judges. 

Business hours. Jails. None cited. 

Missouri Did not respond.       

Montana Justices of the 

Peace, city court 

judges, District 

Court judges. 

Justices of the 

Peace. 

District Court 

judges 

(felonies); city 

court judges 

and Justices of 

the Peace 

(misdemeanor) 

Justices of the 

Peace. 

Business hours. Courthouse or 

Jail.  Inmates 

often appear by 

video. 

None cited. 

Nebraska Did not respond.       

Nevada Did not respond.       
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State 

Issuers of Arrest 

Warrants 

Issuers for 

Whom a Law 

Degree or 

License to 

Practice Law Is 

Not Required 

Individuals 

Who Can 

Authorize 

Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Issuers for 

Whom a Law 

Degree or 

License 

Practice Is Not 

Required 

Availability of 

Individuals 

Authorized to 

Issue Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Location of 

Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Determinations 

Bail 

Schedule
8
 

New Hampshire Judges and Justices 

of the Peace. 

Justices of the 

Peace
12

. 

Judge or bail 

commissioner 

(Arresting 

officer may 

choose to 

release arrestee 

on summons 

rather than take 

him/her into 

physical 

custody). 

Bail 

commissioners. 

8am – 4pm, on call 

24 hours (bail 

commissioners 

usually handle 

work after business 

hours, but cannot 

set bail for certain 

offenses and cannot 

change bail amount 

if judge has already 

set bail in a case). 

Court (business 

hours) and law 

enforcement 

agency (outside 

business hours). 

None cited. 

New Jersey Did not respond.       

New Mexico Judges. None. Judges. None. 24/7. Video 

arraignment 

with judge in 

courtroom and 

arrestee in jail. 

Some courts 

have 

designated 

local detention 

facilities to 

release 

arrestees if the 

arrestee posts 

a specified 

bail amount 

for a specified 

offense. 

                                                           
 

12
 According to New Hampshire’s survey response, there are no statutory or constitutional requirements for appointment as a judge.  However, based on 

the New Hampshire Judicial Selection Commission’s application, it is assumed that there is a de facto requirement that judges in most New Hampshire courts be 

licensed attorneys or law school graduates. 
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State 

Issuers of Arrest 

Warrants 

Issuers for 

Whom a Law 

Degree or 

License to 

Practice Law Is 

Not Required 

Individuals 

Who Can 

Authorize 

Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Issuers for 

Whom a Law 

Degree or 

License 

Practice Is Not 

Required 

Availability of 

Individuals 

Authorized to 

Issue Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Location of 

Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Determinations 

Bail 

Schedule
8
 

New York Did not respond.       

North Carolina Magistrates 

(primarily). 

 

Supreme Court 

Justices, Court of 

Appeals judges, 

Supreme Court 

judges, District 

Court judges, and 

clerks. 

Magistrates and 

clerks. 

Supreme Court 

Justices, 

judges, 

magistrates, 

and clerks 

(magistrates 

primarily). 

Magistrates and 

clerks. 

Magistrates – 24 

hour coverage. 

 

Other individuals – 

normal business 

hours. 

Magistrate 

offices (located 

in courthouses 

and jails). 

 

Audio/visual 

transmission 

also available by 

statute. 

None cited. 

North Dakota Did not respond.       

Ohio
13

 Judges, 

magistrates, and 

clerks of court. 

Clerks. Judges. None. Some courts have 

duty judges on call 

during weekends 

and nights. 

Courthouse or 

jail. 

Yes. 

Oklahoma Did not respond.       

Oregon Did not respond.       

Pennsylvania 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Issuing authority” 

(defined as any 

public official 

having the 

authority of a 

magistrate, a 

Philadelphia 

Magisterial district 

judges. 

Magisterial 

district judges, 

magistrates, 

Philadelphia 

arraignment 

court 

magistrates, or 

Magisterial 

district judge. 

Varies by 

jurisdiction.  Each 

judicial district 

must develop local 

rules to provide 

continuous 

coverage. 

Varies by 

jurisdiction.  

May include two-

way 

simultaneous 

audio-visual 

communications. 

None cited. 

                                                           
 

13
 Ohio does not have a unified court system.  Therefore, procedures may vary by jurisdiction. 
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State 

Issuers of Arrest 

Warrants 

Issuers for 

Whom a Law 

Degree or 

License to 

Practice Law Is 

Not Required 

Individuals 

Who Can 

Authorize 

Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Issuers for 

Whom a Law 

Degree or 

License 

Practice Is Not 

Required 

Availability of 

Individuals 

Authorized to 

Issue Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Location of 

Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Determinations 

Bail 

Schedule
8
 

Pennsylvania 

(cont.) 

 

arraignment court 

magistrate, or a 

magisterial district 

judge) 

Appellate 

judges/justices and 

judges for the 

Court of Common 

Pleas. 

the judge with 

jurisdiction 

over the case 

who is 

authorized by 

law to set, 

modify, revoke, 

or deny bail. 

 

Rhode Island Did not respond.       

South Carolina Did not respond.       

South Dakota Magistrate Court 

judges, Circuit 

judges, and clerk 

magistrates. 

Clerk magistrates. Circuit court 

judges 

(felonies) and 

Magistrate 

Court judges 

(misdemeanor). 

None  

(Clerk 

magistrates 

have some 

“technical 

authority” to 

make pretrial 

release/bail 

determinations, 

but it is not 

utilized). 

M – F, 8am – 5pm. 

“sometimes 

weekends”. 

Courthouse. None cited. 

Tennessee Did not respond.       
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State 

Issuers of Arrest 

Warrants 

Issuers for 

Whom a Law 

Degree or 

License to 

Practice Law Is 

Not Required 

Individuals 

Who Can 

Authorize 

Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Issuers for 

Whom a Law 

Degree or 

License 

Practice Is Not 

Required 

Availability of 

Individuals 

Authorized to 

Issue Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Location of 

Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Determinations 

Bail 

Schedule
8
 

Texas Magistrates 

(includes all judges 

and Justices of the 

Peace). 

Justices of the 

Peace and some 

municipal judges. 

Magistrates 

(includes all 

judges and 

Justices of the 

Peace). 

Justices of the 

Peace and 

some municipal 

judges. 

24 hours in larger 

cities; business day 

hours on smaller 

locales. 

Courthouses 

(usually). 

None cited. 

Utah 

 

All judges (“acting 

as magistrates”). 

Judges of courts 

not of record. 

Judges and bail 

commissioners 

for minor 

offenses. 

Bail 

commissioners. 

24/7 for those 

assigned. 

Jails for bail 

commissioners. 

 

Courthouse or 

electronically 

for judges. 

Yes, for bail 

commissioners. 

Vermont Did not respond.       

Virginia Magistrates 

(primary)
14

. 

 

Clerks, deputy 

clerks, and judges 

(rarely). 

Magistrates
15

. 

 

Clerks, deputy 

clerks. 

Magistrates 

(appeals of 

magistrate bail 

decisions go to 

next highest 

court). 

 

Court clerks 

and judges 

(rarely)
16

. 

Magistrates
17

 

and clerks. 

24/7. Magistrate 

offices (located 

in courthouses, 

jails, law 

enforcement 

agency facilities, 

and elsewhere). 

None cited. 

                                                           
 

14
 Pursuant to 2012 change in law, Virginia magistrates cannot issue felony warrants based on a complaint filed by a person other than a law 

enforcement officer unless a law enforcement officer or prosecutor authorizes the magistrate to do so. 

 
15

 In Virginia, after 2008 reforms, almost all magistrates have law degrees and/or are licensed attorneys. 
 

16
 Beginning in July 2011, in situations where a judge issues a capias, Virginia law allows the judge to set bail without conducting a bail hearing and 

note the bail decision on the capias document.  Magistrates are legally bound to follow the judge’s bail decision. 
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State 

Issuers of Arrest 

Warrants 

Issuers for 

Whom a Law 

Degree or 

License to 

Practice Law Is 

Not Required 

Individuals 

Who Can 

Authorize 

Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Issuers for 

Whom a Law 

Degree or 

License 

Practice Is Not 

Required 

Availability of 

Individuals 

Authorized to 

Issue Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Location of 

Bail/Pretrial 

Release 

Determinations 

Bail 

Schedule
8
 

Washington Each local court of 

limited jurisdiction. 

Some “lay judicial 

officers” in 

smaller counties. 

Judges. None.  Varies by court. Varies by 

jurisdiction 

(generally 

courthouses, 

some video). 

None cited. 

West Virginia Did not respond.       

Wisconsin Did not respond.       

Wyoming Did not respond.       

 

  

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   
 

17
 In Virginia, after 2008 reforms, almost all magistrates have law degrees and/or are licensed attorneys. 
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Appendix 3 

Selected States Fact Sheet 
 

 
 

 Based on the responses to the survey, states vary greatly in whom they entrust to issue 

arrest warrants and/or make pretrial release determinations.  One significant theme that emerged 

from the responses was that while many states authorized “magistrates” to conduct these 

functions, the educational/professional requirements of a magistrate and the scope of a 

magistrate’s authority varied from state to state.  Though information on how the responding 

states address these functions can be found in Appendix 2, detailed information on selected 

states is provided below to highlight these disparities. 

 

Issuance of Arrest Warrants 
 

 Alabama 

 

 In Alabama, magistrates are the primary issuers of arrest warrants.  Circuit clerks and 

municipal court clerks are magistrates by virtue of their offices, and district court magistrates 

work under the supervision of the circuit clerks.  Municipal court magistrates are only authorized 

to issue arrest warrants for their respective municipal courts while circuit clerks and District 

Court magistrates may issue arrest warrants that are applicable statewide.   

 

While there are no formal educational requirements for magistrates, they are required to 

become certified by attending various educational seminars.  Circuit and District judges and 

circuit clerks are elected; municipal judges are hired by their respective cities.  Municipal court 

clerks and magistrates are hired by their respective cities and then must also be appointed by the 

Administrative Office of the Courts. 

 

 Arizona 

 

 According to Arizona’s responses, judges and commissioners are the primary issuers of 

arrest warrants.  Commissioners are judicial officers with limited authority.  Judicial officers in 

Arizona are also referred to as magistrates.  With the exception of municipal court judges and 

Justice of the Peace Court judges, judges and commissioners must be licensed attorneys.  

However, larger municipalities may require municipal court judges to be licensed attorneys.  

Superior Court judges are elected in smaller counties, but are appointed in counties with a 

population of 250,000 or more.  Justices of the Peace are elected; municipal court judges and 

commissioners are appointed. 

 

 Colorado 

 

 Colorado indicated that judges and magistrates are the primary issuers of arrest warrants 

in that state.  A magistrate must be a licensed Colorado attorney with at least five years of 

experience.  However, in small counties, magistrates are not subject to the five years of 
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experience requirement.  A district judge must be a qualified elector and licensed to practice law 

in Colorado for at least five years.  A county judge must be a qualified elector and licensed to 

practice law in Colorado.  However, in small counties, county judges are required to have 

graduated from high school or have obtained a general equivalency certificate.  Judges are 

appointed and retained by the voters. 

   

Louisiana 

 

Louisiana indicated in its response that District Court judges are the primary issuers of 

arrest warrants, while city court judges and magistrates are also authorized to conduct this 

function.  Individuals in all of these positions must be practicing attorneys in the state for at least 

eight years prior to qualifying for judicial election. 

 

 

Pretrial Release/Bail Determinations  
 

The same variations that exist among responding states with respect to arrest warrants 

were also evident in how states make pretrial determinations and/or issue bail.   

 

Delaware 

 

In Delaware, Justices of the Peace are the individuals primarily responsible for making 

pretrial release and bail determinations.  Though Justices of the Peace typically conduct an 

arrestee’s first bail hearing, other higher level courts conduct additional bail review hearings and 

arraignments.  While Justices of the Peace typically follow bail guidelines when setting bail, the 

guidelines are not mandatory and bail may be set at the discretion of the Justice of the Peace after 

taking into account the individual circumstances of the case.   

 

At least one Justice of the Peace Court in each county operates on a 24-hour basis, with 

Justices of the Peace on duty during this time with video capabilities available.  While there are 

no statutory educational requirements for Delaware’s Justices of the Peace, all Justice of the 

Peace candidates must take an examination and be reviewed and recommended by the Magistrate 

Screening Committee (established by the Governor) prior to their appointment by the Governor 

and confirmation by the Senate for a first term of four years and subsequent six-year terms.  

Justices of the Peace are salaried.   

 

In addition to their bail hearing duties, Justices of the Peace in Delaware are also 

authorized to issue warrants and hear (1) civil cases with amounts in controversy of up to 

$15,000; (2) landlord/tenant actions (exclusive authority); and (3) most traffic and non-drug 

related misdemeanor cases in which the prison time authorized is less than two years.   

 

Florida 

 

Unlike Delaware, judges are the primary pretrial release decisionmakers in Florida.  

Decisions are made in courtrooms in the jail, and arrestees are seen by a judge within 24 hours of 

arrest if they do not bond out on the amount of bail indicated on the arrest warrant or on the bond 
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schedule approved by the local judges.  Judges are required to be licensed attorneys.  Most 

circuit court and county court judges in Florida are elected.  Florida Supreme Court justices and 

District Courts of Appeal judges are appointed by the Governor and then run in merit retention 

elections to stay in office.  Florida judges are salaried. 

 

Georgia  

 

Georgia indicated in its survey response that magistrates are the primary individuals 

responsible for making pretrial release and bail determinations.  Juvenile court judges, municipal 

court judges, and State court judges also have bail setting authority.  Superior Court judges have 

the exclusive right to grant or set bail for individuals arrested for specified offenses, most of 

which are violent crimes, as well as habeas corpus appeals.  A magistrate is not authorized to 

grant bail in cases (1) involving one of the specified offenses mentioned above; or (2) where the 

bail has been exclusively committed to some other court or officer.   

 

Magistrates must possess a high school diploma or its equivalent.  However, additional 

requirements for the position of chief magistrate or magistrate may be imposed by local law.  

Approximately 12% of Georgia’s counties have passed local laws requiring magistrates to be 

attorneys.  The vast majority of chief magistrates are elected, whereas the majority of magistrates 

are appointed by the chief magistrates.  Full-time chief magistrates receive a minimum annual 

salary that varies based on the population of the jurisdiction.  Full-time magistrates receive a 

minimum monthly salary of approximately $3,850 or 90% of the monthly salary of a chief 

magistrate in the jurisdiction, whichever is less.  However, the salaries of chief magistrates and 

magistrates are usually supplemented by local law.   

 

Superior and State court judges are required to have practiced law in Georgia for seven 

years prior to their election.  Juvenile court judges are required to have practiced law in Georgia 

for five years prior to their election.  Pursuant to legislation enacted in 2011, municipal court 

judges must be licensed to practice law in Georgia and be active members in good standing of 

the State Bar of Georgia.  Municipal court judges serving as of June 30, 2011, can continue to 

serve until retirement without a law license.  Municipal court judges are typically appointed by 

the governing authority of the applicable municipality.  Judges are salaried with some salaries 

supplemented by local law.   

 

According to Georgia’s response, coverage for initial appearances varies by county, with 

larger counties (e.g., Fulton County) being more likely to have 24-hour coverage.  Jurisdictions 

are authorized to adopt their own bail schedules for certain offenses. 

 

Indiana 

 

In Indiana, judges or magistrates make pretrial release/bail determinations.  However, jail 

staff may use a bail schedule set by the judges in each county to determine if (1) an arrestee is to 

be released or held pending their court hearing; and (2) the amount of bond to be set for an 

arrestee if he/she is eligible for release.  If an arrest warrant had been issued for the defendant by 

a judge or magistrate, that judge or magistrate must determine if the arrestee should be held or 

released on bail and the bail amount, if any.   
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Judges and magistrates must be admitted to practice law in Indiana.  While judges are 

elected, magistrates are appointed.  Both judges and magistrates are salaried.  Though jail staff 

provides 24-hour coverage, the availability of a judge or magistrate varies by jurisdiction.  

Indiana indicated in its response that Marion County (Indianapolis) has an arrestee processing 

center with judges who work 24 hours and make all bond determinations. 

 

Maine 

 

Bail commissioners, judges in the District and Superior courts, and Justices of the Peace 

typically make bail and pretrial release determinations in Maine.  However, law enforcement 

officers are authorized to take the personal recognizance, without a fee, of any defendant for a 

Class D or E crime (misdemeanors).  In rare instances, a Clerk of Court, with the approval of the 

judge, can set a bail amount. 

 

Judges and Justices of the Peace must be licensed to practice law in Maine.  Justices of 

the Peace are appointed by the Chief Judge of the District Court.  Judges are nominated by the 

Governor and subject to approval by the legislature.  Judicial salaries are prescribed by statute.  

Justices of the Peace serve at the pleasure of the Chief Judge of the District Court for a term of 

up to five years and for a salary determined by the Chief Judge.     

   

There is no mandatory education level for bail commissioners.  However, commissioners 

must go through mandatory training sessions.  Bail commissioners may charge up to $60 per 

defendant for setting bail.  If a defendant is indigent, the bail commissioner must waive his/her 

fee and do the work pro bono.   

 

While judges set bail at the courthouse during normal business hours, they will, on rare 

occasion, set bail when they approve a nighttime arrest warrant.  Though bail commissioners are 

considered independent contractors, they report to the court.  Bail commissioners in each county 

establish between themselves a rotating schedule to ensure 24-hour availability.  In some of the 

more rural areas, a bail commissioner is presumed available and called as needed.  For instance, 

on one of Maine’s islands, two commissioners are available to set bail but usually average 

10-12 calls per year. 

 




